$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Continental Hotel Zara

4 stars
View map of Dohany u 42-44, Budapest, 1174

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
26 reviews
Wonderful city break

We had a wonderful week here and it started by being greeted by the bell boys which made us feel... See full review

  • Mary P.
  • Apr 7, 2015
Fantastic Hotel, I would have no hesitation to recommend it.

There was three of us in our party and we were all delighted with the hotel. All the staff were so... See full review

  • PaulineMcG
  • Oct 8, 2014
Art Nouveau exterior welcomes guests with modern comfort

One of Budapest's newer hotels, the Continental Hotel Zara also has one of the city's most beautiful hotel exteriors. Once inside, guests find an interior that blends art deco details with mid-century modern style. The Art Nouveau-styled Araz Restaurant has both lounge and dining areas. The restaurant also serves a buffet breakfast.

Highlights

  • Stunning Art Nouveau-style façade
  • Close to historic locations including the Great Synagogue of Budapest
  • Relax or work out in style at the wellness and fitness center or on the roof garden
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel

Rooms

The hotel's rooms offer art deco features brought up to date with modern textiles and a soothing color palette. Some rooms have a street or courtyard view. All rooms have complimentary wireless Internet access. Other in-room amenities include LCD televisions with satellite channels, soundproof windows, laptop-sized safes, and 24-hour room service. Guests in deluxe rooms can choose from a variety of pillows and receive a welcome tray with tea, coffee, and treats. The hotel also offers executive rooms with extra space to work and 13 suites that have living rooms and large plasma televisions.

Features

The restaurant focuses on Hungarian cuisine updated through the use of modern culinary techniques. The kitchen relies on local ingredients whenever possible and can prepare dishes specially made for people with food allergies.

 

The hotel's wellness center is located on the roof garden. The center has both indoor and outdoor pools, a Jacuzzi, and two saunas. Indulge in a massage or other treatment that puts natural materials -- including Dead Sea mud, sea salts, and sea algae -- to work. The hotel also has a well-equipped fitness room.

Transportation

  • Blaha Lujza Metro Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Budapest Ferihegy International Airport (10.8 mi/17.4 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Hungarian National Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Hungarian State Opera House (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Great Market Hall (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Castle District (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Budapest Museum of Fine Arts (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Hungarian Parliament (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Hungarian National Gallery (2.6 mi/4.2 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Business services
  • Meeting rooms accommodate up to 400 people
  • Roof garden available for cocktail parties or standing receptions

Top hotels

Continental Hotel Zara Rooms

Standard Rooms
220 standard rooms are designed by the latest art deco trends, featuring a unique atmospheres and style. Offering you individual and tailor-made services and available both street-, and courtyard-view rooms prior to your request.
Executive Rooms
Our spacious and luxurious hotel 8 Executive rooms offer you 33 square meter of space including queen size bed accommodation. Executive guest rooms offer our hotel guests every opportunity to relax, with each room including a chaise longue.
Deluxe Rooms
All deluxe hotel rooms at Continental Hotel Zara have a fresh contemporary feel combining warm colours with richly textured fabrics. Offering you a double bed in a 24 square meter room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Agabe: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 0.5 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 0.6 mi
  • National Opera: 0.6 mi
  • Keleti railway station: 0.6 mi
  • Central European University: 0.8 mi
  • Vaci Street: 0.9 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 1 mi
  • Budapest City Park: 1.1 mi
  • Gellert Spa: 1.1 mi
  • Railway Service: 1.1 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Palace: 1.2 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 1.2 mi
  • Agabe: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 0.5 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 0.6 mi
  • National Opera: 0.6 mi
  • Keleti railway station: 0.6 mi
  • Central European University: 0.8 mi
  • Vaci Street: 0.9 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 1 mi
  • Budapest City Park: 1.1 mi
  • Gellert Spa: 1.1 mi
  • Railway Service: 1.1 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Palace: 1.2 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 1.2 mi
  • Buda Castle: 1.3 mi
  • Fisher Bastion: 1.5 mi
  • St Matthew Church: 1.5 mi
  • Ferenc Puskás Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Margaret Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Szechenyi Spa: 1.7 mi
  • Tropicarium Oceanarium: 1.7 mi
  • Matthias Church: 1.8 mi
  • Budapest National Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Palatinus Strand: 2 mi
  • Kincsem Park: 2.5 mi
  • Óbuda University: 2.9 mi

Dining

ARAZ Restaurant
ontinental Hotel Zara's restaurant and terrace in the courtyard will offer 150 seats and the finest selection of traditional Hungarian and international cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Continental Hotel Zara

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike S
Business
Norwich, UK
Oct 25, 2012

Great Hotel in a very good location.

Lovely room, great breakfast. Nice location away from the main streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Lado cafe just along the road does very nice food, and has live entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Havo
Business
Kings Lynn Norfolk
Dec 10, 2012

excellent city Break

Ideal hotel for couples or adults without chilrden . Quiet, elegant, luxury. Friendly staff, great service.Good location, away from noise but close enough to walk into the city centre or nearby metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louise Pedersen
Business
Denmark
Dec 19, 2012

Excellent value for the money and good service

I can only recommend this great hotel. My boyfriend and I had a lovely stay there in December 2012. Very good service, nice pool and fitness facilities and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CityKids
Business
Tel Aviv, Israeli
Dec 18, 2012

Warm stay in a chilly city

We decided to take a weekend getaway before Christmas and were delighted by all the wonderful amenities our hotel had to offer. The room was clean and perfect for a couple with a great heating system! Breakfast was included in our package and had a great variety of salads, pancakes, meat, eggs and drinks. We spent one night in the pool and sauna which was lovely and another enjoying the Christmas concert. The staff were very helpful during our stay and with ordering a taxi to the airport upon checkout. Overall great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marco81
Business
Paris, Grance
Jan 5, 2013

Fantastic city/Location

I reallt love it! Zara Hotel is a perfect Hotel to enjoy Budapest! Good services, clean room, perfect location... Really good rapport quality/price!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jonnie Boy
Business
Hertfordshire, UK
Jan 24, 2013

Weekend Away

Stayed for just one night at the hotel in January with my wife. Flew in from the UK and then used the airline (Wizz Air) shuttle bus service to drop off in central Budapest. Hotel was a short (10 min) walk away. Well located, only a few minutes from the underground which we later used. Desk staff very helpful. Room was small, but had all the amenities that you would want. Modern and comfortable. We used the pool & saunas on the top floor. Never quite made it to the gym... After a days exploring the city we were going to go out to a restaurant, but decided to use the one connected to the hotel. Although not cheap, the food was good and the service excellent. Very helpful staff helped us explore some local food and made very good recommendations with the wine. Would certainly recommend and use again if we every came back to Budapest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lonah
Business
Florida
Mar 8, 2013

I'll be back ! :-)

Very good location ,nice ,clean,comfortable room,very friendly and helpful staff . /Please ,have a turbo solarium in the Spa !Please ...just for me :-) /

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KatAstrophy
Business
Ireland
Apr 29, 2013

Fabulous in Every Way

From the moment we walked through the doors of the Hotel Continental Zara we were impressed. We were greeted by friendly staff who were only too happy to explain everything about Budapest to us and show us to our room. The hotel is only about a 15 minute walk from the Danube which was perfect and is located close to 2 stops on the Hop On Hop Off bus tours. The amenities in the hotel were second to none and the setting itself was just perfect!!! Cannot recommend it highly enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk out the main door of the hotel and turn right, there is an amazing Italian Restaurant on the opposite corner...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tatochok
Business
Chicago,IL
Jun 15, 2013

Good trip.

The hotel was very good for us in all aspects. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Continental Hotel Zara

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Essexperson
Business
Braintree. Essex, UK
Sep 17, 2013

Good base for a city break

A modern, elegant hotel with courteous and helpful staff, speaking excellent English. Location is about 20 minutes' walk from the river front and quite handy for the Metro and bus services. We had dinner once in the restaurant, which was a very pleasant experience - good value and high quality food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Central Market - fascinating display of everyday foods but also an interesting selection of souvenir items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top