$40 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

Budapest Museum Central

3 stars
Museum KRT, 39, Budapest, 1053
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
18 reviews
Great price/location

A bit hard to find but once you do you can't beat the price. Staff was nice. See full review

  • Ali and Justin Colorado
  • Jun 19, 2014
Great Hotel for the Price

This hotel reminded me of a really clean, nice dorm. Don't expect anything fancy. On the other... See full review

  • MIRabbit
  • Aug 21, 2013
19th c. building houses hotel in center of Budapest's historical area
The Budapest Museum Central is housed in a beautiful 19th-century building. One of Budapest?s most popular attractions, the Hungarian National Museum, is across the street. Some of the hotel rooms feature stunning views of the museum. The Budapest Museum Central is in easy walking distance to the city?s main business and cultural institutions. There are five rooms at Budapest Museum Central. Guests can use the hotel kitchen.
Highlights
  • Located across the street from the Hungarian National Museum
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Heated room floors provide comfort in cooler weather
  • Use of the kitchen facilities
Rooms
Budapest Museum Central is home to five rooms featuring decor that blends traditional and contemporary elements. Rooms are spacious with high ceilings. The rooms feature work areas. Air conditioning and heated floors enhance guest comfort. Guest room windows are sound proofed. Other amenities include satellite television and free high-speed Internet access.
Features
The home-like accommodations and excellent location usually exceed visitor expectations for a budget-friendly property. The Hungarian National Museum’s permanent exhibitions focus on the country’s history. A visit to the museum provides context for other city attractions. The 19th-century building features a traditional inner courtyard. The building’s design is an attraction itself for the hotel’s guests.

Nearby attractions include the Vaci Street shopping area, the pedestrian-friendly Raday Street featuring restaurants and cafes, and the majestic Danube.
Transportation
  • Kalvin Ter Metro Station (0 mi/0.1 km)
  • Astoria Metro Station (0.3/0.5 km)
  • Budapest East Train Station (1.4 mi/2.4 km)
  • Budapest Ferihegy International Airport (11.9 mi/19.8 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Museum of Applied Art (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Saint Stephen’s Basilica (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hungarian State Opera House (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Parliament Buildings(1.4 mi/2.4 km)
  • Castle district (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Hungarian National Gallery (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Heroes’ Square (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Vajdahunyad Castle (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Széchenyi Thermal Baths (2.5 mi/4.2 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (2.7 mi/4.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Spacious rooms with work areas
  • Small and quiet property
  • Walking distance to metro station

Hotel Map

47.4903 19.0616
Area served
Budapest historical center.
Nearby airports
Budapest International Airport.
Area description
The Budapest Museum Central is located in the very city center in a 19th century building directly across from the Hungarian National Museum. It is only a 4 minute walk from the Astoria Metro station and a 1 minute walk from the Kalvin Ter Metro station. Visitors cannot find a more central location with all major transportation hubs only minutes away, two nice guarded parking areas within easy walking distance and a short distance to the best, traditional thermal spas of Budapest.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Budapest Museum Central also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Budapest Museum Central Rooms

Studio with Jacuzzi and Kitchen in Block B
Our studios are located in a 5 minute walk from our main building. Each unit has a modern-classical design and is painted, decorated and furnished tastefully to ensure that our guests have a pleasant and relaxing stay. The windows and rooms are sound proof. Each unit is equipped with LCD TV with International channels, DVD, air conditioning, 24h free high speed Internet, telephone with free local calls and a work area. Each studio has twin beds and a chair-bed. The baths feature a Jacuzzi with water massage. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen with everything our guests need to prepare their own meals. The studios come with daily maid service. An English speaking concierge is also at our guest's disposal, only a telephone call away, and is on hand 24 hours to help and answer any questions. To ensure our guests comfort, at arrival we will provide free transport by car from our main reception to the annex.
Standard Twin/Double
Every room has twin or double beds and is large enough to accommodate an extra bed for families. Every room is equipped with LCD television with International channels, 24h free high speed Internet, telephone with free local calls, work area, sound proof windows, air conditioning, heated floor and a nice private bathroom with shower and radiators for towels. In particular the air conditioning and heated floors make the accomodation comfortable during any season. A daily maid service in the room price. Many of the rooms have great view onto the National Museum of Hungary. The rooms all have high ceilings and are painted in light colors giving our visitors a nice sense of space, light and calm which is always good after a long day of sightseeing or work. Each room is also fully sound proofed, allowing for a relaxing time away from the noise and bustle of the city.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 0.1 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 0.4 mi
  • Vaci Street: 0.5 mi
  • Gellert Spa: 0.6 mi
  • Agabe: 0.7 mi
  • Central European University: 0.9 mi
  • National Opera: 1 mi
  • Royal Palace: 1 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Keleti railway station: 1.1 mi
  • Buda Castle: 1.2 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 1.4 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 1.4 mi
  • Budapest National Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 0.1 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 0.4 mi
  • Vaci Street: 0.5 mi
  • Gellert Spa: 0.6 mi
  • Agabe: 0.7 mi
  • Central European University: 0.9 mi
  • National Opera: 1 mi
  • Royal Palace: 1 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Keleti railway station: 1.1 mi
  • Buda Castle: 1.2 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 1.4 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 1.4 mi
  • Budapest National Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Fisher Bastion: 1.5 mi
  • Railway Service: 1.5 mi
  • St Matthew Church: 1.5 mi
  • Budapest City Park: 1.6 mi
  • Matthias Church: 1.6 mi
  • Margaret Bridge: 1.7 mi
  • Ferenc Puskás Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Szechenyi Spa: 2.2 mi
  • Tropicarium Oceanarium: 2.2 mi
  • Palatinus Strand: 2.3 mi
  • Kincsem Park: 2.8 mi
  • Óbuda University: 3.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Budapest Museum Central

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 18
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Budapest Museum Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newly retirees
Falls Church, VA
Jun 9, 2013

Great staff, great value

We booked this hotel because of the location, value and the reviews it received. We were not disappointed. The price was unbeatable. The service was excellent. The staff was quite helpful and very friendly. The room was quite basic, but we had everything we needed. Bring your own toilettries if you are picky of what you use. The bedsheets were rough, probably needed a little bit of fabric softener. The hotel is 5-10 minutes walk to Grand Market and Astoria hotel. These are stops on hop on, hop off bus routes. From the hotel, you can walk to major attractions within 30-40 minutes, but it all depends on how often you want to stop along the way. There are bakeries, restaurants, a grocery and a pharmacy near by. The Turkish restaurant next door has very good food. We had dinner there a few times. Budapest is not as cheap as we thought, so we also saved money by going there. Ask for an interior room if you like to sleep in late as the street traffic can be noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get the brochure for a free walking tour at front desk. Do it yourself or meet up with a tourguide. A great way to explore the city. Visit Grand Market for some food Hungarian beer.

Review of Budapest Museum Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
siira
vancouver, bc
Jun 5, 2012

good place for the price

decent location. close to the Centre and all the touristic places. the Stairs are pain if you have heavy luggage. old elevator that can carru only two people with two small luggage . they provided a bottle of house wine on the house which was nice but getting to the room with luggage or small children not recommneded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Budapest Museum Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Horace
England
Dec 1, 2011

We liked it

Only problem was when we arrived there was no one there in reception to meet us so we stood out in the cold unable to get past the locked wooden door untill someone arrived,and even then did not explane very well about the breakfast vouchers.but apart from that we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Budapest Museum Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long weekend travellers
Helsinki, Suomi
Nov 22, 2011

Real value for money

Budapest Museum Central is great value for money. A small family owned hotel, where the staff is extremely helpful and rooms are really clean & nice looking. It was a new experience for us to get a breakfast coupong and have breakfast at a cafe nearby, but it turned out as a positive surprise as well. The only thing that we missed was a refrigerator in the room. We definately recommend this hotel and will use it ourselves when we go to Budapest for the next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Budapest Museum Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nemmus
Serbia Europe
Dec 8, 2010

Perfect location, fantastic room!!

Some of the rooms are located minutes away form the front desk, in separate buildings all of them at least a 100 years old, high ceilings big windows. Nicely decorated, perfectly clean and a fully operational kitchen. A wine quark screw, microwave oven, everything!!! and the best thing a jacuzzi bath tub!! a perfect getaway for a weekend, or a place to stay if sightseeing in the fourth most popular destination in Europe!!! Loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Budapest Museum Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
debrecen, HU
Nov 22, 2010

Fantastic

Great place, great value, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Budapest Museum Central

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
debrecen, HU
Nov 22, 2010

Fantastic

Great place, great value, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top