$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Budapest Museum Central

3 stars
View map of Museum KRT, 39, Budapest, 1053

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
17 reviews
Budapest Museum Central Hotel

Staying at the Budapest Museum Central Hotel was a great choice! The staff were beyond friendly and... See full review

  • Rebecca R.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Steps away from everything

What an amazing location. Everything is within walking distance such as Vaci street, the market... See full review

  • Honeyka
  • Jul 7, 2014
The Budapest Museum Central is housed in a beautiful 19th-century building. One of Budapest?s most popular attractions, the Hungarian National Museum, is across the street. Some of the hotel rooms feature stunning views of the museum. The Budapest Museum Central is in easy walking distance to the city?s main business and cultural institutions. There are five rooms at Budapest Museum Central. Guests can use the hotel kitchen.
Rooms
Budapest Museum Central is home to five rooms featuring decor that blends traditional and contemporary elements. Rooms are spacious with high ceilings. The rooms feature work areas. Air conditioning and heated floors enhance guest comfort. Guest room windows are sound proofed. Other amenities include satellite television and free high-speed Internet access.
Property features
The home-like accommodations and excellent location usually exceed visitor expectations for a budget-friendly property. The Hungarian National Museum’s permanent exhibitions focus on the country’s history. A visit to the museum provides context for other city attractions. The 19th-century building features a traditional inner courtyard. The building’s design is an attraction itself for the hotel’s guests.

Nearby attractions include the Vaci Street shopping area, the pedestrian-friendly Raday Street featuring restaurants and cafes, and the majestic Danube.
Highlights
  • Located across the street from the Hungarian National Museum
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Heated room floors provide comfort in cooler weather
  • Use of the kitchen facilities
Nearby attractions
  • Museum of Applied Art (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Saint Stephen’s Basilica (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hungarian State Opera House (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Parliament Buildings(1.4 mi/2.4 km)
  • Castle district (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Hungarian National Gallery (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Heroes’ Square (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Vajdahunyad Castle (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Széchenyi Thermal Baths (2.5 mi/4.2 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (2.7 mi/4.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Spacious rooms with work areas
  • Small and quiet property
  • Walking distance to metro station
Transportation
  • Kalvin Ter Metro Station (0 mi/0.1 km)
  • Astoria Metro Station (0.3/0.5 km)
  • Budapest East Train Station (1.4 mi/2.4 km)
  • Budapest Ferihegy International Airport (11.9 mi/19.8 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Budapest Museum Central also booked these hotels.

★★★
$57
3.5 / 5 16 reviews
★★★★
$75
3.4 / 5 17 reviews
★★★★
$80
4.2 / 5 25 reviews
★★★★
$84
4.7 / 5 6 reviews
★★★★
$70
3.8 / 5 25 reviews
★★★
$53
3.6 / 5 10 reviews
★★★
$49
4.0 / 5 1 reviews
★★★
$65
4.4 / 5 9 reviews
★★★
$66
4.0 / 5 1 reviews

Budapest Museum Central Rooms

Studio with Jacuzzi and Kitchen in Block B
Our studios are located in a 5 minute walk from our main building. Each unit has a modern-classical design and is painted, decorated and furnished tastefully to ensure that our guests have a pleasant and relaxing stay. The windows and rooms are sound proof. Each unit is equipped with LCD TV with International channels, DVD, air conditioning, 24h free high speed Internet, telephone with free local calls and a work area. Each studio has twin beds and a chair-bed. The baths feature a Jacuzzi with water massage. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen with everything our guests need to prepare their own meals. The studios come with daily maid service. An English speaking concierge is also at our guest's disposal, only a telephone call away, and is on hand 24 hours to help and answer any questions. To ensure our guests comfort, at arrival we will provide free transport by car from our main reception to the annex.
Standard Twin/Double
Every room has twin or double beds and is large enough to accommodate an extra bed for families. Every room is equipped with LCD television with International channels, 24h free high speed Internet, telephone with free local calls, work area, sound proof windows, air conditioning, heated floor and a nice private bathroom with shower and radiators for towels. In particular the air conditioning and heated floors make the accomodation comfortable during any season. A daily maid service in the room price. Many of the rooms have great view onto the National Museum of Hungary. The rooms all have high ceilings and are painted in light colors giving our visitors a nice sense of space, light and calm which is always good after a long day of sightseeing or work. Each room is also fully sound proofed, allowing for a relaxing time away from the noise and bustle of the city.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 0.1 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 0.4 mi
  • Vaci Street: 0.5 mi
  • Gellert Spa: 0.6 mi
  • Agabe: 0.7 mi
  • Gresham Palace: 0.9 mi
  • National Opera: 1 mi
  • Royal Palace: 1 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Keleti railway station: 1.1 mi
  • Buda Castle: 1.2 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 1.4 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 1.4 mi
  • Budapest National Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Corvinus University of Budapest: 0.1 mi
  • Semmelweis University: 0.4 mi
  • Vaci Street: 0.5 mi
  • Gellert Spa: 0.6 mi
  • Agabe: 0.7 mi
  • Gresham Palace: 0.9 mi
  • National Opera: 1 mi
  • Royal Palace: 1 mi
  • Chain Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • Keleti railway station: 1.1 mi
  • Buda Castle: 1.2 mi
  • WestEnd City Center: 1.4 mi
  • House of Parliamant: 1.4 mi
  • Budapest National Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Fisher Bastion: 1.5 mi
  • Railway Service: 1.5 mi
  • St Matthew Church: 1.5 mi
  • Budapest City Park: 1.6 mi
  • Matthias Church: 1.6 mi
  • Margaret Bridge: 1.7 mi
  • Ferenc Puskás Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Szechenyi Spa: 2.2 mi
  • Budapest Museum of Fine Arts: 2.2 mi
  • Palatinus Strand: 2.3 mi
  • Kincsem Park: 2.8 mi
  • Óbuda University: 3.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Budapest Museum Central

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Budapest Museum Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Horace
Couples
England
Dec 1, 2011

We liked it

Only problem was when we arrived there was no one there in reception to meet us so we stood out in the cold unable to get past the locked wooden door untill someone arrived,and even then did not explane very well about the breakfast vouchers.but apart from that we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Budapest Museum Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
siira
Couples
vancouver, bc
Jun 5, 2012

good place for the price

decent location. close to the Centre and all the touristic places. the Stairs are pain if you have heavy luggage. old elevator that can carru only two people with two small luggage . they provided a bottle of house wine on the house which was nice but getting to the room with luggage or small children not recommneded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Budapest Museum Central

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BUDAPEST
Single
New York
Jun 16, 2012

good location

Very nice staff. Good location. I was missing a refrigerator in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Budapest Museum Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long weekend travellers
Couples
Helsinki, Suomi
Nov 22, 2011

Real value for money

Budapest Museum Central is great value for money. A small family owned hotel, where the staff is extremely helpful and rooms are really clean & nice looking. It was a new experience for us to get a breakfast coupong and have breakfast at a cafe nearby, but it turned out as a positive surprise as well. The only thing that we missed was a refrigerator in the room. We definately recommend this hotel and will use it ourselves when we go to Budapest for the next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Budapest Museum Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Law Student Vacationer
Friends
Boston, MA
Aug 24, 2012

Eurotrip with friends

Really enjoyed the hotel and thought it was a great deal for the money. I stayed in the jacuzzi room with 2 friends and had plenty of room for a rollaway third bed. The hotel staff was also very helpful with directions, tips on what to see, and coordinating rides to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If going to Parliament, take the train past Parliament like you're going to the Church on the other side of the river. The views are great, and if you weren't planning on taking a tour of the inside of Parliament, you save time by getting a better view than you would have walking around on the Parliament building grounds.

Review of Budapest Museum Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yichen L.
Single
New York, NY
Nov 26, 2012

Great Location and Price!!

Nothing can beat its location! It is right across the National Museum, and very close to Gellert Bath, Grand Market Hall, the Synagogue, Vaci utca, and other tourist spots are just a few stops away. You have tram and metro stations just outside the door. It is not a fancy hotel, but really good if you are traveling under a budget. Staffs are very nice and helpful, room is clean, and good price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Budapest Museum Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newly retirees
Couples
Falls Church, VA
Jun 9, 2013

Great staff, great value

We booked this hotel because of the location, value and the reviews it received. We were not disappointed. The price was unbeatable. The service was excellent. The staff was quite helpful and very friendly. The room was quite basic, but we had everything we needed. Bring your own toilettries if you are picky of what you use. The bedsheets were rough, probably needed a little bit of fabric softener. The hotel is 5-10 minutes walk to Grand Market and Astoria hotel. These are stops on hop on, hop off bus routes. From the hotel, you can walk to major attractions within 30-40 minutes, but it all depends on how often you want to stop along the way. There are bakeries, restaurants, a grocery and a pharmacy near by. The Turkish restaurant next door has very good food. We had dinner there a few times. Budapest is not as cheap as we thought, so we also saved money by going there. Ask for an interior room if you like to sleep in late as the street traffic can be noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get the brochure for a free walking tour at front desk. Do it yourself or meet up with a tourguide. A great way to explore the city. Visit Grand Market for some food Hungarian beer.

Review of Budapest Museum Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MIRabbit
Family
Seattle, WA
Aug 21, 2013

Great Hotel for the Price

This hotel reminded me of a really clean, nice dorm. Don't expect anything fancy. On the other hand, the staff is super helpful and friendly. The hotel is just across from the Hungarian National Museum and just a few blocks away from 2 different subway lines. There's AC in the room and the staff can make you coffee in the morning, Overall a great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Voros Postakocsi is a short walk from the hotel and although it's just as pricey as the other places on Raday utca, the service was good and the food was great. (Try the goose liver, for sure.)

Review of Budapest Museum Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ali and Justin Colorado
Friends
Denver, CO
Jun 19, 2014

Great price/location

A bit hard to find but once you do you can't beat the price. Staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Budapest Museum Central

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Outta town visitor
Single
Reno
Jun 8, 2015

Great for extended vacation

I loved this place. It was initially a little annoying to have to check in upstairs in another poorly marked building and then to have to walk about three blocks away, but after checking in, I loved the privacy of the place. The room itself was a studio apartment complete with washing machine. It was perfect for a week long stay. It was very clean and mostly quiet. Walking to the apartment at night was a little intimidating as a single female, but I had no issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top