$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 2, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

4 stars
57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, -
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
36 reviews
Very central and worth the relative value

1st: The hotel is under construction currently. It would be nice to have had this on the... See full review

  • Sternbery
  • Oct 27, 2014
Great place in Wan Chai - No families

Cool place in Wan Chai Hong Kong, two blocks away from Wan Chai Metro Station. Clean and... See full review

  • Qattara
  • Aug 15, 2014
Conveniently located in Wan Chai, The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel is a 3-minute walk from Wan Chai MTR station. It features 3 dining options and free Wi-Fi in the guest rooms and lobby. The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel is a 40-minute ride away from Hong Kong International Airport. It is within a few minutes walking distance from the Hong Kong Arts Centre, Government Headquarters and the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. Major shopping areas such as Causeway Bay, Admiralty and Central are all located near the hotel. Each room is equipped with a minibar, in-room safe and a work desk. A private bathroom with amenities is attached in all rooms. Fu Tung Restaurant serves a variety of Cantonese cuisine. For a fulfilling Japanese meal, visit The Ginza Kuraudo Restaurant. Western food, drinks and beers can be found at The Canny Man. Guests can work out at the fitness room or unwind at the swimming pool (closed in winter) and massage centre, which are located in the annex building. Travel and sightseeing arrangements can be made at the concierge desk.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wharney Guang Dong Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Rooms

Superior Room
Superior room is with one double bed or two single beds in 22 sq meter.

Room amenities include: - In-Room Electronic Safe; - Television; - Wake-up Service - International Direct Dialing; - Coffee & Tea Maker; - Refrigerator / Mini Bar; - Hairdryer; - Bathtub with shower;
Executive Room
From 6 Oct 2014 to 31 Jan 2015 the Executive Lounge will be temporarily unavailable. During that time, guests staying on the Executive Floor can enjoy free daily breakfast buffet at the 1st floor restaurant. Executive Room is with one double bed or two single beds in 24 sq meter.

Room amenities include: - In-Room Electronic Safe; - Television; - - Alarm Clock; - Iron and iron board; - Wake-up Service - International Direct Dialing; - Coffee & Tea Maker; - Refrigerator / Mini Bar; - Hairdryer; - Bathtub with shower;

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Harcourt Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Wanchai Market: 0.3 mi
  • Pacific Place: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty: 0.4 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 0.4 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 0.5 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 0.5 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 0.5 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Happy Valley Horse Racing Track: 0.6 mi
  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Harcourt Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Wanchai Market: 0.3 mi
  • Pacific Place: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty: 0.4 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 0.4 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 0.5 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 0.5 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 0.5 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Happy Valley Horse Racing Track: 0.6 mi
  • Central Piers: 0.7 mi
  • St John's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Statue Square: 0.7 mi
  • Hong Kong Times Square: 0.7 mi
  • Central Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Landmark: 0.9 mi
  • Central Star Ferry Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Star Ferry Pier: 0.9 mi
  • International Finance Centre: 0.9 mi
  • World Wide House: 0.9 mi
  • Exchange Square: 0.9 mi
  • St Margaret's Church: 0.9 mi
  • Hong Kong Station: 0.9 mi
  • Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Airport Express: 0.9 mi
  • Ice House: 0.9 mi
  • Lan Kwai Fong: 1 mi
  • Central Market: 1.1 mi
  • The Peak Tram: 1.1 mi
  • Hong Kong Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • SoHo: 1.2 mi
  • Hong Kong Central Library: 1.2 mi
  • Victoria Park: 1.2 mi
  • Happy Valley: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria Peak: 1.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal: 1.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds Hong Kong: 1.4 mi
  • North Point: 1.5 mi
  • Western Market: 1.5 mi
  • Sheung Wan: 1.5 mi

Dining

Ginza Kuraudo
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner (buffet) and a la carte menu offering genuine Japanese Cuisine.
Fu Tung
Specialising in fine Southern Chinese Cuisine and serving authentic Cantonese cooking which brings out the flavour of natural ingredients without using MSG. Our a- la- carte menu encompasses the full range of Chinese excellence and offers unmatched delights to the palate.
The Canny Man
The Canny Man is Hong Kong's only authentic, traditional Scottish bar. Located in the basement of the Wharney Guang Dong Hotel, The Canny Man boasts a collection of over 180 single malts, 28 artisan beers and a regularly changing selection of guest ales.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 36
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boricua en la china
Business
Puerto Rico
Sep 4, 2010

Excelente Hotel

This not a fancy hotel, but is excellent.. Excelente, super bueno

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tito
Business
Miami Beach, FL
Apr 19, 2010

Excellent location, great room

I always go online to check on other people's experiences when trying to book a hotel specially if I'm going to a country that I've never been before, like China in this case. What bothers me is that most of the people that review their hotel stays never compare apples to apples. I stayed with my dad from april 14 to april 19, 2010 and we payed about $90/night which for us was very cheap for a business trip. The $90/night was for a new and renovated small (for american standards) room but comfortable enough for the both of us. We stayed in room 1212. The bathroom was also small (for american standards) but was completely renovated and very clean. The room was also very clean and actually quite nice. We had a 32" LCD TV with a few channels like BBC, CNN, Discovery, and some others. About 12 channels in total. The room had two single/full beds with orthopedic mattresses which are NOT soft matresses. They feel kinda hard for the first 2 minutes but I've actually slept great and woke up with no back pain, contrary to my $4,000 matress in america :S Our room faced the main street which is very noisy on tuesdays, fridays and saturdays. There are tons of irish pubs, clubs, bars, restaurants, strip clubs, metro stations, bus stops, etc. on that street so the area has a lot of people wondering around all day and night. I personally didn't even realize about the noise until my father mentioned it. I normally sleep with my TV on, so the noise really didn't bothered me. It's not like you hear it all the time, but from time to time you could hear someone screaming, or a really loud song,laughter, stuff like that. We were too tired from walking all day to even mind about that, so honestly that didn't bother us. Overall, the room was great. It doesn't have an ironing machine so bring yours if you need one, although the hotel has a full laundry/dry cleaning/press service which I didn't mind paying (it's more expensive than a regular dry cleaner of course, and they also have a rush service for 20% more of their regular fee). There was a coffee machine and a small refrigerator, as well as a digital lock box in the closet which was extremely useful. The room was clean, new, renovated, had view over the main street, non smoking room, nice and clean bathroom, cozy and comfortable. I mean, paid $90/night, we really weren't expecting something as nice as this. Definitively, it is worth more than $90/night. The staff was OK. I'm not the type of person that demands too much, or has complaints about every little detail, like many americans do. I go, check in and if I need something I ask politely for it. Remember: In china people are EXTREMELY POLITE. Not all of them speak PERFECT english. And they certainly won't understand any modisms you might have. So, talk to them using proper english language, and be explanatory if they don't understand what you're talking about. THE LOCATION WAS THE BEST PART OF STAYING HERE. We went to the convention center (our trip motif) for the electronics fair for three consecutive days and every single day we felt great for choosing this hotel, seriously. The hotel is literally 5 minutes walking from the convention center. Not only that, but the metro station is about 1 block from the hotel entrance so it doesn't get any better than that. The bus stop is also 1 block from the hotel. There are many restaurants right outside the hotel door, three 7 eleven convenient stores, market, boulangeries, breakfast places, starbucks, etc, etc etc. All within a 30 second walk. We had a GREAT time in Hong Kong and staying in this hotel was a good choice. If you are expecting persian rugs and chandeliers for $90/nights please do yourself a favor and WAKE UP!. This is a GREAT hotel, from all points of view, but it certainly isn't the Marriott or the Hyatt. The Marriott and the Hyatt are also great hotels, but they go for $400/night or more, so comparing apples to apples.... If you are looking for an extremely, extremely, ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the metro

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lalph
Business
USA
Aug 4, 2012

Great location!

A hotel conveniently located near subway, bus stops, and lots of taxis. Surrounded by good restaurants and pubs. Hotel has professional and friendly staff as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Near subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lobo11598
Business
New York, NY
Sep 29, 2013

Always good

This is my second time staying at The Wharney. I've stayed a total of 5 nights overall and am supremely pleased with the cleanliness, location, and customer service. There are many places to stay in the area, but this is the best value by far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the airport train to Central and then transfer to the free shuttle, I think it's the B1 route, which drops you off at the front-door of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jul 5, 2011

Great Hotel--Times SQ Honkey Tonk Neighb

The hotel was great near a subway stop but its in a Times Sq type neighborhood. Perfects for younger bar-hoppers or business men looking for female companionship. The hotel itself is perfectly fine and very professional and well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the subway system and bus system get an Octopus card. Avoid any of the restaurants near the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom from China
Business
Guangzhou, PRC
Mar 22, 2010

Good Value for the Money

Close to MTR and nearby to the convention center. Lots of mainland tour groups stay there but plenty of places to go out and visit with the Wharney as your base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coyote's for Mexican or Outback for ribs are within easy walking distances.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lacma
Business
Seoul, Korea
Nov 14, 2010

The good

I just stayed one night and had diner together with my friend at the hotel restaurant(Japanese Style) It was great the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You could see the everything that I meant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Graywall
Business
Seoul
May 29, 2011

Great value, reasonable price.

Clean and good size room, short distance to convention center, reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stampedo
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 19, 2009

Excellent Hotel for the [...] Price

Excellent experience except that the front desk told me that international calls from the hotel (in Hong Kong) would cost $5.50US per call regardless of the duration of the call, and I was later charged $50.00 for the call on the basis that the cost is a minimum $5.50 for the connection and you get charged by the minute after that. They cut the bill to $2.00 as an accommodation when I complained, but I was not entirely pleased with the situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Canny Man Tavern is excellent. Very cozy, good food, reasonable prices, great selection of drinks.Excellent place to get lunch or dinner or hang out for drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stampedo
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 29, 2010

Excellent Value!

Excellent. The staff is helpful and friendly and professional. The rooms are clean and adequately equipped. The WiFi internet was not free, but worked great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Canny Man pub and restaurant is a great place to have a drink and/or a meal..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top