$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

4 stars
View map of 57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, -

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom from China
Business
Guangzhou, PRC
Mar 22, 2010

Good Value for the Money

Close to MTR and nearby to the convention center. Lots of mainland tour groups stay there but plenty of places to go out and visit with the Wharney as your base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coyote's for Mexican or Outback for ribs are within easy walking distances.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lacma
Business
Seoul, Korea
Nov 14, 2010

The good

I just stayed one night and had diner together with my friend at the hotel restaurant(Japanese Style) It was great the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You could see the everything that I meant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Graywall
Business
Seoul
May 29, 2011

Great value, reasonable price.

Clean and good size room, short distance to convention center, reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stampedo
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 19, 2009

Excellent Hotel for the [...] Price

Excellent experience except that the front desk told me that international calls from the hotel (in Hong Kong) would cost $5.50US per call regardless of the duration of the call, and I was later charged $50.00 for the call on the basis that the cost is a minimum $5.50 for the connection and you get charged by the minute after that. They cut the bill to $2.00 as an accommodation when I complained, but I was not entirely pleased with the situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Canny Man Tavern is excellent. Very cozy, good food, reasonable prices, great selection of drinks.Excellent place to get lunch or dinner or hang out for drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stampedo
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 29, 2010

Excellent Value!

Excellent. The staff is helpful and friendly and professional. The rooms are clean and adequately equipped. The WiFi internet was not free, but worked great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Canny Man pub and restaurant is a great place to have a drink and/or a meal..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Qattara
Business
Bogota, Colombia
Aug 15, 2014

Great place in Wan Chai - No families

Cool place in Wan Chai Hong Kong, two blocks away from Wan Chai Metro Station. Clean and comfortable room for the price. Can get all kind of food or bars by walk. I don't recommend this hotels for families or children if they are not prepared for some "Hong Kong" style in the neighborhood (hookers and girls looking for fun).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Every kind of bars and clubs by walk. Some of them "hot".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sternbery
Business
Shanghai
Oct 27, 2014

Very central and worth the relative value

1st: The hotel is under construction currently. It would be nice to have had this on the description when I booked it 2nd: We checked in late and got a room that had not been fully updated although it was still good for the value 3rd: The staff was extremely conscientious of the problems and moved us (++ for great service) 4th: After our move the room was much nicer and created a great jumping pad for the rest of our stay in Hong Kong 5th: It was about a 3 minute walk to the Wan Chai station, so we were able to move around the city and outlying islands super easy 6th: The food and drink around the hotel were cheap relative to the rest of the island. 7th: Overall - Highly recommended for the traveler on a hostel+ budget. I think the premium rooms would also be worth the cost given that we walked inside one of the nicer rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Wan Chai has many avenues on which to walk. If you find yourself looking for a "fun" experience outside of Chunking Mansions, my bet is on this area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bin.474
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Not bad

it is great except a bit small in size for the room. I like the location which is nearby metro, so it is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alex k.
Business
seoul
Feb 15, 2015

Good 4star hotel

I am doing business trip alone so use budget hotel nomally and at this hotel enjoyed sauna too. Even though not the level of 5star hotel sauna, the bell boy helped me to open the sauna door and health amenity was good too. I could feel the grade of proud hotel enoughly, even though not so big hotel. I can say very good hotel is. Thks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacy Love
Business
New Hyde PARK
Mar 10, 2015

great hotel

excellent location for the price paid and lots of local small restaurants, super market and stores nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top