Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

4 stars
57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, -
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
35 reviews
Great place in Wan Chai - No families

Cool place in Wan Chai Hong Kong, two blocks away from Wan Chai Metro Station. Clean and... See full review

  • Qattara
  • Aug 15, 2014
Comfortable stay, courteous reception

I enjoyed my week at Wharney. Comfortable 18th flr room has lrg window. Hallway, and lobby are... See full review

  • delightful flyer
  • Feb 22, 2014
The hotel is located within walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, Hong Kong Arts Centre and public transport including the MTR underground railway, trams and the famous Star Ferry.

The hotel offers you 356 modern and elegant rooms. It is a convenient location for business travellers, 45 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport and just 5 minutes from the central business district of Wanchai. For leisure travellers its an ideal choice, since its located in the very lively Wanchai district well known for its nightlife and plethora of bars, as well as many affordable restaurants offering a wide range of international cuisines. All this right at the hotel's doorstep. The hotel is also equipped with stylish executive floors and complimentary leisure facilities such as the Gymtonik Health Club, open air swimming pool with jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath.

Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Rooms

Superior Room
Superior room is with one double bed or two single beds in 22 sq meter.

Room amenities include: - In-Room Electronic Safe; - Television; - Wake-up Service - International Direct Dialing; - Coffee & Tea Maker; - Refrigerator / Mini Bar; - Hairdryer; - Bathtub with shower;
Executive Room
Executive Room is with one double bed or two single beds in 24 sq meter.

Room amenities include: - In-Room Electronic Safe; - Television; - - Alarm Clock; - Iron and iron board; - Wake-up Service - International Direct Dialing; - Coffee & Tea Maker; - Refrigerator / Mini Bar; - Hairdryer; - Bathtub with shower;

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Hotel Map

22.2783 114.1709
Area served
Hong Kong.
Nearby airports
Hong Kong International Airport.
Area description
Hong Kong. Wanchai district. The Wanchai district is located between the popular business and shopping districts of Admiralty on the west and Causeway Bay on the east. It could be described as one of the more vibrant parts of Hong Kong Island with nightclubs, discotheques, restaurants, hotels, shops and more.

Nearby points of interest

  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Harcourt Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Wanchai Market: 0.3 mi
  • Pacific Place: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty: 0.4 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 0.4 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 0.5 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 0.5 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 0.5 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Happy Valley Horse Racing Track: 0.6 mi
  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Harcourt Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Wanchai Market: 0.3 mi
  • Pacific Place: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty: 0.4 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 0.4 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 0.5 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 0.5 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 0.5 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Happy Valley Horse Racing Track: 0.6 mi
  • Central Piers: 0.7 mi
  • St John's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Statue Square: 0.7 mi
  • Hong Kong Times Square: 0.7 mi
  • Central Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Landmark: 0.9 mi
  • Central Star Ferry Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Star Ferry Pier: 0.9 mi
  • International Finance Centre: 0.9 mi
  • World Wide House: 0.9 mi
  • Exchange Square: 0.9 mi
  • St Margaret's Church: 0.9 mi
  • Hong Kong Station: 0.9 mi
  • Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Airport Express: 0.9 mi
  • Ice House: 0.9 mi
  • Lan Kwai Fong: 1 mi
  • Central Market: 1.1 mi
  • The Peak Tram: 1.1 mi
  • Hong Kong Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • SoHo: 1.2 mi
  • Hong Kong Central Library: 1.2 mi
  • Victoria Park: 1.2 mi
  • Happy Valley: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria Peak: 1.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal: 1.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds Hong Kong: 1.4 mi
  • North Point: 1.5 mi
  • Western Market: 1.5 mi
  • Sheung Wan: 1.5 mi

Dining

Ginza Kuraudo
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner (buffet) and a la carte menu offering genuine Japanese Cuisine.
Fu Tung
Specialising in fine Southern Chinese Cuisine and serving authentic Cantonese cooking which brings out the flavour of natural ingredients without using MSG. Our a- la- carte menu encompasses the full range of Chinese excellence and offers unmatched delights to the palate.
The Canny Man
The Canny Man is Hong Kong's only authentic, traditional Scottish bar. Located in the basement of the Wharney Guang Dong Hotel, The Canny Man boasts a collection of over 180 single malts, 28 artisan beers and a regularly changing selection of guest ales.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
May 31, 2007

Very caring staff

The location and price were really the highlight of this hotel. It has a lovely lobby and the room was fine. What really blew us away was our last day when my husband was feeling ill and our flight wasn't until 11pm. The frontdesk staff was very concerned and got the manager who was so helpful. She let us have an extra late check-out time of 6pm. Those hours of extra rest saved his long travel day. The staff at the Wharney Guang Dong, HongKong is the best!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boricua en la china
Business
Puerto Rico
Sep 4, 2010

Excelente Hotel

This not a fancy hotel, but is excellent.. Excelente, super bueno

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
May 23, 2010

Very nice stay

nice room and stay, they upgraded us to the executive level. Close to bars so can get very noisy at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lobo11598
Business
New York, NY
Sep 29, 2013

Always good

This is my second time staying at The Wharney. I've stayed a total of 5 nights overall and am supremely pleased with the cleanliness, location, and customer service. There are many places to stay in the area, but this is the best value by far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the airport train to Central and then transfer to the free shuttle, I think it's the B1 route, which drops you off at the front-door of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jul 5, 2011

Great Hotel--Times SQ Honkey Tonk Neighb

The hotel was great near a subway stop but its in a Times Sq type neighborhood. Perfects for younger bar-hoppers or business men looking for female companionship. The hotel itself is perfectly fine and very professional and well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the subway system and bus system get an Octopus card. Avoid any of the restaurants near the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly Flyer
Philadelphia, PA
May 10, 2010

Wharney Guang

This isn't the best hotel in Hong Kong, however it is great value and if you want to be in the centre of things, an unbeatable location. Getting there from the airport is fast and easy. Just catch the airport express train to Hong Station, then use the free H2 shuttle bus. The hotel is in the middle of the Wan Chai nightlife area and while there are certainly some dubious clubs, there are plenty of other places to suit all tastes. The hotel is also across the road from the subway station making all parts of Hong Kong easily accessable. The rooms are not huge but adequate however be warned that Westerners may find the bed hard and the bath small. The only negative for me was the breakfast buffet. I wasn't impressed either with the cleanliness of the japanese restaurant it was held in, nor the quality of the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

For transport to and from the airport, use the Airport Express and free H2 shuttle bus. It is much cheaper and faster than using taxi's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
delightful flyer
USA
Feb 22, 2014

Comfortable stay, courteous reception

I enjoyed my week at Wharney. Comfortable 18th flr room has lrg window. Hallway, and lobby are pleasant.. From H.K. we sailed by ferry to Lantoa Island, and returned by bus/subway. Visited IFC, HK''s tallest skyscraper; from Ozone took shots of spectacular city/ocean view. After busy day, I relaxed in room watching sports and news broadcast via various T.V. stations. Complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea and internet access are ++. Down side, many bars near hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Five minutes walk, accross the street, the famous American Restaurant has excellent Chinese cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnops100
Singapore
Jun 5, 2013

Johnops100

Great value! The best value for money in HK. Rooms are a bit small, but great location...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Turkish restaurant across the street.l

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lacma
Business
Seoul, Korea
Nov 14, 2010

The good

I just stayed one night and had diner together with my friend at the hotel restaurant(Japanese Style) It was great the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You could see the everything that I meant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tito
Business
Miami Beach, FL
Apr 19, 2010

Excellent location, great room

I always go online to check on other people's experiences when trying to book a hotel specially if I'm going to a country that I've never been before, like China in this case. What bothers me is that most of the people that review their hotel stays never compare apples to apples. I stayed with my dad from april 14 to april 19, 2010 and we payed about $90/night which for us was very cheap for a business trip. The $90/night was for a new and renovated small (for american standards) room but comfortable enough for the both of us. We stayed in room 1212. The bathroom was also small (for american standards) but was completely renovated and very clean. The room was also very clean and actually quite nice. We had a 32" LCD TV with a few channels like BBC, CNN, Discovery, and some others. About 12 channels in total. The room had two single/full beds with orthopedic mattresses which are NOT soft matresses. They feel kinda hard for the first 2 minutes but I've actually slept great and woke up with no back pain, contrary to my $4,000 matress in america :S Our room faced the main street which is very noisy on tuesdays, fridays and saturdays. There are tons of irish pubs, clubs, bars, restaurants, strip clubs, metro stations, bus stops, etc. on that street so the area has a lot of people wondering around all day and night. I personally didn't even realize about the noise until my father mentioned it. I normally sleep with my TV on, so the noise really didn't bothered me. It's not like you hear it all the time, but from time to time you could hear someone screaming, or a really loud song,laughter, stuff like that. We were too tired from walking all day to even mind about that, so honestly that didn't bother us. Overall, the room was great. It doesn't have an ironing machine so bring yours if you need one, although the hotel has a full laundry/dry cleaning/press service which I didn't mind paying (it's more expensive than a regular dry cleaner of course, and they also have a rush service for 20% more of their regular fee). There was a coffee machine and a small refrigerator, as well as a digital lock box in the closet which was extremely useful. The room was clean, new, renovated, had view over the main street, non smoking room, nice and clean bathroom, cozy and comfortable. I mean, paid $90/night, we really weren't expecting something as nice as this. Definitively, it is worth more than $90/night. The staff was OK. I'm not the type of person that demands too much, or has complaints about every little detail, like many americans do. I go, check in and if I need something I ask politely for it. Remember: In china people are EXTREMELY POLITE. Not all of them speak PERFECT english. And they certainly won't understand any modisms you might have. So, talk to them using proper english language, and be explanatory if they don't understand what you're talking about. THE LOCATION WAS THE BEST PART OF STAYING HERE. We went to the convention center (our trip motif) for the electronics fair for three consecutive days and every single day we felt great for choosing this hotel, seriously. The hotel is literally 5 minutes walking from the convention center. Not only that, but the metro station is about 1 block from the hotel entrance so it doesn't get any better than that. The bus stop is also 1 block from the hotel. There are many restaurants right outside the hotel door, three 7 eleven convenient stores, market, boulangeries, breakfast places, starbucks, etc, etc etc. All within a 30 second walk. We had a GREAT time in Hong Kong and staying in this hotel was a good choice. If you are expecting persian rugs and chandeliers for $90/nights please do yourself a favor and WAKE UP!. This is a GREAT hotel, from all points of view, but it certainly isn't the Marriott or the Hyatt. The Marriott and the Hyatt are also great hotels, but they go for $400/night or more, so comparing apples to apples.... If you are looking for an extremely, extremely, ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the metro

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top