$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

4 stars
View map of 57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, -

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
42 reviews
awesome

My main reason to Honk Kong mostly business and pleasure Wharney is my best choice among many... See full review

  • dale w.
  • Apr 8, 2015
great hotel

excellent location for the price paid and lots of local small restaurants, super market and stores... See full review

  • Stacy Love
  • Mar 10, 2015
Conveniently located in Wan Chai, The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel is a 3-minute walk from Wan Chai MTR station. It features 3 dining options and free Wi-Fi in the guest rooms and lobby. The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel is a 40-minute ride away from Hong Kong International Airport. It is within a few minutes walking distance from the Hong Kong Arts Centre, Government Headquarters and the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. Major shopping areas such as Causeway Bay, Admiralty and Central are all located near the hotel. Each room is equipped with a minibar, in-room safe and a work desk. A private bathroom with amenities is attached in all rooms. Fu Tung Restaurant serves a variety of Cantonese cuisine. For a fulfilling Japanese meal, visit The Ginza Kuraudo Restaurant. Western food, drinks and beers can be found at The Canny Man. Guests can work out at the fitness room or unwind at the swimming pool (closed in winter) and massage centre, which are located in the annex building. Travel and sightseeing arrangements can be made at the concierge desk.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wharney Guang Dong Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Rooms

Superior Room
Superior room is with one double bed or two single beds in 22 sq meter.

Room amenities include: - In-Room Electronic Safe; - Television; - Wake-up Service - International Direct Dialing; - Coffee & Tea Maker; - Refrigerator / Mini Bar; - Hairdryer; - Bathtub with shower;
Executive Room
From 6 Oct 2014 to 31 Jan 2015 the Executive Lounge will be temporarily unavailable. During that time, guests staying on the Executive Floor can enjoy free daily breakfast buffet at the 1st floor restaurant. Executive Room is with one double bed or two single beds in 24 sq meter.

Room amenities include: - In-Room Electronic Safe; - Television; - - Alarm Clock; - Iron and iron board; - Wake-up Service - International Direct Dialing; - Coffee & Tea Maker; - Refrigerator / Mini Bar; - Hairdryer; - Bathtub with shower;
Deluxe Room
This twin/double room has air conditioning, electric kettle and seating area. Room facilities: Safety Deposit Box, Air Conditioning, Desk, Seating Area, Shower, Bath, Hairdryer, Free toiletries, Toilet, Bathroom, TV, Telephone, Radio, Satellite Channels, Minibar, Electric kettle
Executive Plus Room
Located on the highest 2 floors, this room features free access to Lounge 1991. (Lounge will be open March 1, 2015)Guests can enjoy: - Free continental breakfast buffet - Free use of a smartphone with unlimited internet and online City Guide - Local and international (countries selected) calls Room facilities: Safety Deposit Box, Air Conditioning, Desk, Seating Area, Shower, Hairdryer, Free toiletries, Toilet, Bathroom, TV, Telephone, Radio, Satellite Channels, Minibar, Electric kettle

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Harcourt Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Wanchai Market: 0.3 mi
  • Pacific Place: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty: 0.4 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 0.4 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 0.5 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 0.5 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 0.5 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Happy Valley Horse Racing Track: 0.6 mi
  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Harcourt Garden: 0.3 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Wanchai Market: 0.3 mi
  • Pacific Place: 0.4 mi
  • Admiralty: 0.4 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 0.4 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 0.5 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 0.5 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 0.5 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Happy Valley Horse Racing Track: 0.6 mi
  • Central Piers: 0.7 mi
  • St John's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Statue Square: 0.7 mi
  • Hong Kong Times Square: 0.7 mi
  • Central Station: 0.8 mi
  • The Landmark: 0.9 mi
  • Central Star Ferry Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Star Ferry Pier: 0.9 mi
  • International Finance Centre: 0.9 mi
  • World Wide House: 0.9 mi
  • Exchange Square: 0.9 mi
  • St Margaret's Church: 0.9 mi
  • Hong Kong Station: 0.9 mi
  • Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Airport Express: 0.9 mi
  • Ice House: 0.9 mi
  • Lan Kwai Fong: 1 mi
  • Central Market: 1.1 mi
  • The Peak Tram: 1.1 mi
  • Hong Kong Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • SoHo: 1.2 mi
  • Hong Kong Central Library: 1.2 mi
  • Victoria Park: 1.2 mi
  • Happy Valley: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria Peak: 1.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal: 1.4 mi
  • Madame Tussauds Hong Kong: 1.4 mi
  • North Point: 1.5 mi
  • Western Market: 1.5 mi
  • Sheung Wan: 1.5 mi

Dining

Ginza Kuraudo
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner (buffet) and a la carte menu offering genuine Japanese Cuisine.
Fu Tung
Specialising in fine Southern Chinese Cuisine and serving authentic Cantonese cooking which brings out the flavour of natural ingredients without using MSG. Our a- la- carte menu encompasses the full range of Chinese excellence and offers unmatched delights to the palate.
The Canny Man
The Canny Man is Hong Kong's only authentic, traditional Scottish bar. Located in the basement of the Wharney Guang Dong Hotel, The Canny Man boasts a collection of over 180 single malts, 28 artisan beers and a regularly changing selection of guest ales.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lalph
Business
USA
Aug 4, 2012

Great location!

A hotel conveniently located near subway, bus stops, and lots of taxis. Surrounded by good restaurants and pubs. Hotel has professional and friendly staff as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Near subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sands conference goer
Business
Tlajomulco
Apr 20, 2015

Only wifi for 1 device

There is a shuttle service you can get straight from the airport which is great. Be aware that you should not stay in this area if you get offended easily or are with small kids. It is nice and close to the MTR and places to eat. My main complaint in about the wifi. When I booked I was advised wifi was included. I checked into the hotel only to find out you can only use the wifi one device at a time. I was with another person and we both work online so this was not a good option for us as we had to take turns and ended up having to move important meetings around to compensate. The room is ok but has a weird set up and the shower had a soap dispenser which would not dispense soap. The light in the bathroom kept on going on then off. Not a bad stay but not a great stay either

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dale w.
Business
daly city
Apr 8, 2015

awesome

My main reason to Honk Kong mostly business and pleasure Wharney is my best choice among many others,I have been staying there with every visit for the more than ten years,became friends with all staffs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacy Love
Business
New Hyde PARK
Mar 10, 2015

great hotel

excellent location for the price paid and lots of local small restaurants, super market and stores nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alex k.
Business
seoul
Feb 15, 2015

Good 4star hotel

I am doing business trip alone so use budget hotel nomally and at this hotel enjoyed sauna too. Even though not the level of 5star hotel sauna, the bell boy helped me to open the sauna door and health amenity was good too. I could feel the grade of proud hotel enoughly, even though not so big hotel. I can say very good hotel is. Thks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bin.474
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Not bad

it is great except a bit small in size for the room. I like the location which is nearby metro, so it is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sternbery
Business
Shanghai
Oct 27, 2014

Very central and worth the relative value

1st: The hotel is under construction currently. It would be nice to have had this on the description when I booked it 2nd: We checked in late and got a room that had not been fully updated although it was still good for the value 3rd: The staff was extremely conscientious of the problems and moved us (++ for great service) 4th: After our move the room was much nicer and created a great jumping pad for the rest of our stay in Hong Kong 5th: It was about a 3 minute walk to the Wan Chai station, so we were able to move around the city and outlying islands super easy 6th: The food and drink around the hotel were cheap relative to the rest of the island. 7th: Overall - Highly recommended for the traveler on a hostel+ budget. I think the premium rooms would also be worth the cost given that we walked inside one of the nicer rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Wan Chai has many avenues on which to walk. If you find yourself looking for a "fun" experience outside of Chunking Mansions, my bet is on this area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Qattara
Business
Bogota, Colombia
Aug 15, 2014

Great place in Wan Chai - No families

Cool place in Wan Chai Hong Kong, two blocks away from Wan Chai Metro Station. Clean and comfortable room for the price. Can get all kind of food or bars by walk. I don't recommend this hotels for families or children if they are not prepared for some "Hong Kong" style in the neighborhood (hookers and girls looking for fun).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Every kind of bars and clubs by walk. Some of them "hot".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
StudentTraveler01
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 24, 2014

Good value

I was overall very satisfied with my stay at the Wharney Guang Dong Hotel--it is located relatively centrally on Hong Kong Island, a short, roughly 5-minute, walk from Wan Chai MTR station, which itself is just two stops away from Central station. The area in direct proximity to the hotel features a number of good bars and restaurants, though it can seem a bit seedy at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
delightful flyer
Business
USA
Feb 22, 2014

Comfortable stay, courteous reception

I enjoyed my week at Wharney. Comfortable 18th flr room has lrg window. Hallway, and lobby are pleasant.. From H.K. we sailed by ferry to Lantoa Island, and returned by bus/subway. Visited IFC, HK''s tallest skyscraper; from Ozone took shots of spectacular city/ocean view. After busy day, I relaxed in room watching sports and news broadcast via various T.V. stations. Complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea and internet access are ++. Down side, many bars near hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Five minutes walk, accross the street, the famous American Restaurant has excellent Chinese cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wharney Guang Dong Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Brothers NOT
Business
Indonesia
Dec 2, 2013

ok

Location is good, close to good foods, lobby is look nice, rooms is ok, except the bathroom need to rebuild

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinese Foods

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top