$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

The Cityview Hong Kong

4 stars
23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
39 reviews
Great location, decent price

Good for shopping and MRT, English friendly staff, strong AC See full review

  • Edwin Pbear
  • Dec 13, 2013
perfect for all travellers

thourghly enjoyed our stay in the city view. we lost our mobile phone somewhere in the hotel and... See full review

  • rana
  • May 12, 2013
A comfortable stay in Yau Ma Tei, downtown Kowloon

The Cityview offers much to recommend beyond the hotel's advantageous location in the downtown Kowloon area. This value-for-money hotel is located next to the Yau Ma Tei MTR station, which makes all of Hong Kong a subway ride away. Nearby, the shopping on Nathan Road and Ladies' Market works up an appetite for sampling the specialties at many local restaurants. Hotel rooms upgraded with basic contemporary style. The hotel is also within convenient access to hong Kong destinations like Electrical Appliance Street, Computer Centre, and Chinese Opera Theatre.

Highlights
  • Near Nathan Road and Ladies' Market
  • Convenient Yau Ma Tei locale
Rooms

All 422 rooms and suites include kettle, fridge, broadband Internet access (fees apply) and in-room safe. Accommodations are cozy and practical for the most part, although executive rooms step up the style with bold stripes and colorful artwork brightening the more spacious, contemporary rooms. Rain showers put the spa experience into guest rooms, while generous desk space and in-room Wi-Fi facilitate business after-hours. 

Features

Three restaurants meet the dining needs of guests. City Cafe serves a buffet from breakfast to dinner, while The Atrium provides an atmospheric lounge for wine and beer with sandwiches and appealing snacks. The Balcony serves delicious, traditional dim sum.

Corporate guests can make use of the contemporary ballrooms for conference and banquet events.

Transportation
  • Yau Ma Tei MTR station (adjacent to hotel)
  • Hong Kong International Airport (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
Attractions
  • Nathan Road (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Ladies' Market (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Yau Ma Tei Fruit Market (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Temple Street Night Market (.6 mi/.9 km)
  • Fa Yuen Street (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Flower Market (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Goldfish Market (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Sports Street (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Two spacious banquet halls for events and conferences
  • In-room wired and wireless broadband Internet access (fees apply)
  • Small business center offers Internet access, print and faxing capabilities
Policies and fees
  • The indoor swimming pool will be temporarily closed for maintenance from 15 Mar to 4 Apr, 2014. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
  • Coach Service at HK$140 per person per trip
  • Limousine Service at HK$600 per car per trip

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.3136 114.1718
Area served
Within 1-minute walk away from Yau Ma Tei MTR Station and Nathan Road. 5-minute walk away from Ladies' Market, Electrical Appliance Street, Computer Centre, Sport Street, Chinese Opera Theatre and Fruit Market.
Nearby airports
Hong Kong International Airport
Area description
Kowloon

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cityview Hong Kong also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

The Cityview Hong Kong Rooms

Premier Room
The 225 sq.ft. (21 sq.m.) Premier Rooms offer you ample space with elegant guestroom ambiance. Perfectly designed to suit every needs of business travelers, all Premier Rooms are equipped with large executive desk and Wi-Fi access for them to keep pace with the world. In-room amenities with standard bathtub are inclusive to provide guests with warm and comfortable place to stay. Room amenities include: - Wi-Fi internet access; - LCD TV ; - 26 local & international TV channels ; - Individual thermostat control ; - Mini refrigerator ; -In-room tea / coffee making facilities; - Electric kettlel; - Hair dryer; - In-room electronic safe deposit box ; - Personal safe; - Hair dryer and non-smoking room.
Executive Room
Contemporary-designed Executive Rooms are equipped with spacious work corner, high speed Wi-Fi internet access and a choice of bath tub or shower cubicle with rain shower facilities. Some of them can even connect to other guestrooms to cater the needs of executives and their families. Most of the Executive Room Packages are also included free breakfast and unlimited Wi-Fi access to serve guests better. Room amenities include: - Wi-Fi access; - LCD TV ; - 26 local & international TV channels ; - Individual thermostat control ; - Mini refrigerator ; -In-room tea / coffee making facilities; - Electric kettlel; - Hair dryer; - In-room electronic safe deposit box ; - Personal safe; - Hair dryer; - A choice of bathtub or shower cubicle and non-smoking room.
Deluxe Room
The 200 sq.ft. (19 sq.m.) Deluxe Room offers you exquisite comfort with a lush greenery hillside view as backdrop. All Deluxe Rooms are equipped with bathtub and full range of in-room amenities. Room amenities include: - Wi-Fi access; - LCD TV ; - 26 local & international TV channels ; - Individual thermostat control ; - Mini refrigerator ; -In-room tea / coffee making facilities; - Electric kettlel; - Hair dryer; - In-room electronic safe deposit box ; - Personal safe; - Hair dryer and non-smoking room.
Superior Room
The 140 sq.ft. (13sq.m.) spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms feature a full range of modern in-room amenities. All Superior Rooms are equipped with shower facilities in bathroom and smoking room is upon request. Room amenities include: - Wi-Fi internet access; - LCD TV ; - 26 local & international TV channels ; - Individual thermostat control ; - Mini refrigerator ; -In-room tea / coffee making facilities; - Electric kettlel; - Hair dryer; - In-room electronic safe deposit box ; - Personal safe; - Hair dryer; - A choice of bathtub or shower cubicle; - Smoking and non-smoking room.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Yau Ma Tei Station: 0.1 mi
  • Temple Street: 0.4 mi
  • Sai Yeung Choi Street: 0.5 mi
  • Fa Yuen Street: 0.5 mi
  • Tung Choi Street: 0.5 mi
  • Mong Kok: 0.5 mi
  • Jordan: 0.6 mi
  • Prince Edward Station: 0.8 mi
  • Star Ferry Pier: 2 mi
  • Central Star Ferry Pier: 2 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 2 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 2 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 2 mi
  • Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal: 2.1 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 2.1 mi
  • Yau Ma Tei Station: 0.1 mi
  • Temple Street: 0.4 mi
  • Sai Yeung Choi Street: 0.5 mi
  • Fa Yuen Street: 0.5 mi
  • Tung Choi Street: 0.5 mi
  • Mong Kok: 0.5 mi
  • Jordan: 0.6 mi
  • Prince Edward Station: 0.8 mi
  • Star Ferry Pier: 2 mi
  • Central Star Ferry Pier: 2 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 2 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 2 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 2 mi
  • Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal: 2.1 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 2.1 mi
  • International Finance Centre: 2.1 mi
  • Hong Kong Station: 2.2 mi
  • Airport Express: 2.2 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 2.2 mi
  • Central Piers: 2.2 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 2.2 mi
  • Exchange Square: 2.2 mi
  • North Point: 2.3 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 2.3 mi
  • Western Market: 2.3 mi
  • City Hall: 2.3 mi
  • Central Market: 2.3 mi
  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Statue Square: 2.3 mi
  • World Wide House: 2.3 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 2.3 mi
  • Central Station: 2.4 mi
  • Sheung Wan: 2.4 mi
  • Victoria Park: 2.4 mi
  • The Landmark: 2.4 mi
  • Harcourt Garden: 2.4 mi
  • Admiralty: 2.4 mi
  • Lan Kwai Fong: 2.5 mi
  • SoHo: 2.5 mi
  • Ice House: 2.5 mi
  • Pacific Place: 2.5 mi
  • Victoria Peak: 2.5 mi
  • Hong Kong Times Square: 2.5 mi
  • St John's Cathedral: 2.5 mi
  • Hong Kong Central Library: 2.6 mi

Dining

The Balcony
Complement with a backdrop of gracious service, the restaurant's simple interior has a flair of Chinese classic door. With the traditional homemade Cantonese delicacies, The Balcony provides diners with an exceptional dining experience.
City Cafe
The refreshing lime-green color transforms the restaurant to an appealing urban vibe while parchment color of the oak wood ceiling and wall evokes the beauty of nature that creates an energetic pulse throughout the dining room. The open style kitchen enables the Chef to demonstrate his cooking skills in front of diners, as well as the bar counter to fill your desire of special drinks.
The Atrium
Features with a glass fade that look straight in the sky, the Atrium offers a relaxing atmosphere for the enjoyment of delightful cocktails and fine wines.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Crystal Ballroom With its plush carpeting, exquisite crystal ceiling fixture, rich wall coverings and luxurious fabrics, the Ballroom provides an ideal venue for every occasion. The absence of pillars that enhances the spaciousness as well as the exclusive, new-generation lighting system makes it a multifunctional place for special dinners, large conferences and incentive events. The Ballroom also offers an adjacent balcony-style area which is adorned by natural daylight. It can accommodate at any one time up to 250 guests for a reception and 200 at a banquet. Diamond Room With plush carpeting and elegant wall coverings, Diamond Room is designed to provide the ideal venue for cocktail parties, wedding reception, luncheon gathering, dinner parties, meeting & convention with full audio-visual equipment. The Diamond Room can accommodate at any one time up to 140 guests for cocktail reception and 120 at a banquet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for The Cityview Hong Kong

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms lim
singapore
Mar 25, 2013

delightful stay

this has been my favorite hotel every time I visit hk. Warm and helpful staff. Location is superb, within very short walking distance from mtr, and other buses accessible to others too. A wonderful delighter with free upgrade for my last visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Petros0007
Beijing
Mar 16, 2013

City view turnaround

I'm sorry to report that I did not have a very good experience at this hotel. I chose it because of the recommendations that I read online but my actual experience was very different. The 1st room that I was put in did not have the twin bed that I requested and while they did slide 2 single beds together it was impossible to sleep comfortably with that crack in the middle. Further, the carpets were stained the furniture throughout the room was badly scratched and damaged and there were no frills which you might expect in a four-star rated hotel. For example, no bathrobe, only 2 small bottles of water, and an empty minibar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located in an area very close to a multitude of small market shops. Don't expect any high-end merchandise but plan on spending a lot of time searching through this maze of stores. It is very conveniently located to public transportation which gets you quick access to shopping areas in downtown Beijing.

Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jojokini
Business
Shanghai, China
Nov 13, 2012

great week-end for my husband and I

We went to Hong Kong for medical reasons. We accomplished our purpose for making the trip and enjoyed staying at the Cityview. It was a great location for us and the hotel staff could not have been more accomodating. We were able to get a late check-out on our departure day. We loved the breakfast there and also the attrium for drinks and snacks. The YMCA swimming pool that we were able to use worked out. We wish that they would have provided wash cloths in our bathroom, but we survived...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The high speed train to then airport was very convenient and reasonably priced. We would use that again.

Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OK business person doha
Doha
Oct 17, 2012

ok stay but we liked closer to the city

thank you. a little pricy. but ok. we ate nearby. the train was close. we were there just one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fast food chinese

Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
clickme
bangkok
Aug 5, 2012

good location

the location is near mtr station . the room is a little old but comfy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mjama
Tanzania
Feb 10, 2012

Well located no frills hotel

The hotel was clean although the rooms were small, but this probably expected of a downtown Hong Kong hotel. Very conveniently located near the metro which makes getting around a breeze. Rooms were freezing with no heating so make sure you request for an extra blanket if you go in winter. Breakfast was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DDT1
Toronto, ON, Canada
Nov 22, 2011

Hong Kong hotel

I was given the smallest room with a temperature that was so frigid that no human could live in it. When I asked for repair, the housemaid who didn't speak English, came in and turned off the thermostat and fan as though that was the repair. I finally got a room, much better, and everything worked. They really need to work on customer service otherwise they make you feel as though you are a real bother to them. Very rude in general similar to other comments in this space. Location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mayjang24
Thailand
Nov 18, 2011

Fantastic !!!

The cityviw hotel is nice hotel, near MTR station just few minutes walk and also near shopping place. It is very convenient to stay here. I really enjoy to stay here, surely I will back to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just few minutes walk to MTR station and also shopping place there

Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
piranha
Ohio, USA
Oct 23, 2011

broken air, hard beds, boogers on the walls and door

The room they show inthe picture is not the room you will get. They tried to give me a dingey old dirty room but I put up a fuss. So they moved us to the newly remodeled side. The bed was hard as a board, there were boogers on the door and walls, and the AC was broken. I stayed one night and checked out early for another hotel. I strongly discourage anyone from staying here. Its an old YMCA. And heres another piece of advice. When booking Hong Kong, count on spending about $300 per night and only book 5 star hotels. Otherwise your going to get a dump.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Cityview Hong Kong

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fernley, NV
Jun 4, 2011

Check in time policy is bad..

Arrived at 1:30 a/m on the 1st of Jun, but was allowed to check in until later in the day...I had to wait in the lobby until their normal time to check in on the 1st of June. Once I got a room it was what I had requested..but my flt out on HK was at 1 a/m on the 5th of Jun, but I had to check out on the 4th of Jun at 1 p/m. They allowed me one hour late check out...so I had to kill time in the lobby again and late at the HK airport. They were not flexible on my travel time table...which I was unable to control.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To the tourist traps like Temple St night market, the Jade market and Mong kong ladies street market...next to train and bus lines.

Back to menu Return to top