$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Silka West Kowloon Hotel (Formerly Known As Dorsett Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong)

3 stars
48 Anchor Street Tai Kok Tsui, Kowloon Hong Kong, Hong Kong,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
16 reviews
Great value for money

The hotel is really near to the subway station and it is very convenient to go anywhere. The staff... See full review

  • outlier0901
  • Jun 27, 2013
Simple and quaint

Although the room was smaller than I am used to, I must say that it worked out great. The hotel is... See full review

  • acosta1975
  • Feb 10, 2014
Silka West Kowloon Hotel (Formerly Known As Dorsett Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong) is situated in one of Kowloon's new booming city Tai Kok Tsui. This Hong Kong hotel provides easy access to Hong Kong's major shopping areas. The hotel is near subway and railway stations (Mongkok KCR train station and MTR Olympic station) within driving distance of around 8 minutes. Airport shuttle and free in town hotel shuttle bus service are provided by this Hong Kong hotel. It is only 30 minutes drive away from the Hong Kong International Airport. This hotel is just a stroll away from the Hong Kong's bustling commercial, shopping and entertainment district MongKok and Tsim Sha Tsui. The hotel is easily connected to shopping areas which are accessible from the hotel includes the Argyle Centre, Mongkok commercial padium, Olympian City 2 shopping mall, Langham Place and Pioneer Centre. For sightseeing aboard, such as the Ladies Market on Tung Choi Street, Sportshoes Market on Fa Yuen Street, Electronic goods Market on Sai Yeung Choi Street, Night Market on Temple Street and the Jade Market. Silka West Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong has 141 guest rooms that are tastefully designed and decorated with comfort and convenience in mind. All rooms are well equipped, including FREE Wifi services for high-speed internet access, to bring our guests a superior experience with good value for money.

Hotel Map

22.3204 114.1626
Area served
Other popular spots nearby include the Ladies Market on Tung Choi Street, Sportshoes Market on Fa Yuen Street, Electronic Goods Market on Sai Yeung Choi Street, Night Market on Temple Street and the Jade Market.
Nearby airports
Silka West Kowloon Hotel is around 35 minutes away from Hong Kong International Airport by car.
Area description
Silka West Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong is located in Tai Kok Tsui and is just a stroll away from the Hong Kong's bustling commercial, shopping and entertainment districts of MongKok and Tsim Sha Tsui. Nearby shopping areas include the Argyle Centre, Mongkok Commercial Podium, Olympian City 2 Shopping Mall, Langham Place and Pioneer Centre.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Silka West Kowloon Hotel (Formerly Known As Dorsett Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Silka West Kowloon Hotel (Formerly Known As Dorsett Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong) Rooms

Standard or Superior Room
Room size is 11.15 sq.m. On the lower floors of the hotel, Standard Rooms are tastefully designed and decorated and enjoy an open dynamic city view. Superior Rooms are on the higher floors
Deluxe Room
Room size is 11.15 sq.m. On the higher floors of the Hotel, our Deluxe Rooms are tastefully designed and decorated. Some of the rooms enjoy a partial view of the harborside.
Silka Suite
The Silka Suite is a spacious room in an open studio type configuration with a sitting and writing desk area.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Prince Edward Station: 0.5 mi
  • Sai Yeung Choi Street: 0.5 mi
  • Tung Choi Street: 0.5 mi
  • Fa Yuen Street: 0.5 mi
  • Mong Kok: 0.6 mi
  • Yau Ma Tei Station: 0.7 mi
  • Temple Street: 1 mi
  • Jordan: 1.2 mi
  • Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal: 2.2 mi
  • Star Ferry Pier: 2.3 mi
  • Central Star Ferry Pier: 2.3 mi
  • Western Market: 2.4 mi
  • International Finance Centre: 2.5 mi
  • Hong Kong Station: 2.5 mi
  • Airport Express: 2.5 mi
  • Prince Edward Station: 0.5 mi
  • Sai Yeung Choi Street: 0.5 mi
  • Tung Choi Street: 0.5 mi
  • Fa Yuen Street: 0.5 mi
  • Mong Kok: 0.6 mi
  • Yau Ma Tei Station: 0.7 mi
  • Temple Street: 1 mi
  • Jordan: 1.2 mi
  • Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal: 2.2 mi
  • Star Ferry Pier: 2.3 mi
  • Central Star Ferry Pier: 2.3 mi
  • Western Market: 2.4 mi
  • International Finance Centre: 2.5 mi
  • Hong Kong Station: 2.5 mi
  • Airport Express: 2.5 mi
  • Sheung Wan: 2.5 mi
  • Exchange Square: 2.5 mi
  • Central Piers: 2.6 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 2.6 mi
  • Central Market: 2.6 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 2.6 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 2.6 mi
  • Sai Wan: 2.6 mi
  • World Wide House: 2.6 mi
  • City Hall: 2.7 mi
  • Statue Square: 2.7 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 2.7 mi
  • Victoria Peak: 2.7 mi
  • Central Station: 2.7 mi
  • SoHo: 2.7 mi
  • The Landmark: 2.7 mi
  • Lan Kwai Fong: 2.8 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 2.8 mi
  • Ice House: 2.8 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 2.8 mi
  • Mid Levels: 2.8 mi
  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 2.8 mi
  • Admiralty: 2.9 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 2.9 mi
  • St John's Cathedral: 2.9 mi
  • Harcourt Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 2.9 mi
  • Pacific Place: 2.9 mi
  • University of Hong Kong: 3 mi
  • Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens: 3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Hotel restaurant serves delightful Asian and Western specialties
Maroon Caf
Maroon Caf is a restaurant with contemporary decoration offering a casual atmosphere to our patrons. Located at the 1st floor, the cafe serves delightful Asian and Western specialties. Our guests can choose from sumptuous buffet breakfast to a range of a-la-carte selections throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi services is offered in the caf for your high-speed internet access. An internet corner is also available in the caf to offer our guests 2 desktop computers and broadband ports for computer usage and internet access. Maroon caf is a great place for convenient dining and meeting friends or business associates. ************************************ Opening Hours:7.00am to 10.00pm daily Daily Buffet Breakfast:7.00am to 10.30am Semi Buffet Express Lunch: 12.00pm - 2.30pm (Mon-Sat) Daily Set Dinner with range of a-la-carte menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Silka West Kowloon Hotel (Formerly Known As Dorsett Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong)

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Silka West Kowloon Hotel (Formerly Known As Dorsett Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Mar 17, 2011

Dorsett Kowloon

I thought overall that the Dorsett Kowloon was a good value for money. While the room and bathroom were small they were comfortable and clean. I did find the bed a bit short and my feet hung off the end. There is no chair for the desk so it is difficult to work unless you plan to do do so in bed. Location is fairly convenient to the Olympic Metro station and the Olympian 2 mall. If you plan to do most of your HK trip outside the hotel, this hotel should meet your needs admirably. Can't speak to the food, never ate at the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silka West Kowloon Hotel (Formerly Known As Dorsett Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mistermagic4u
Business
Sacramento Ca.
Nov 27, 2009

You get what you pay for!

Not the greatest location! But like they say you get what you pay for, I just know that for the money I have done Much better in The U.S.Lots of noisy construstion. I could not recomend this place even on price. The resturant manager stiffed me ten dollars, the one time I ate there. My trip overall was good,I will visit Hong Kong again just make sure I pick a better location and Hotel. Just wished I had investigated the hotel and the part of town I was staying in a little more.Dirty carpet,small rooms,small beds, and very unfriendly staff. Sorry but you asked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay in Tai Kok Tsui Kowloon. It is better to pick some place on Nathan rd. Tsim Sha Tusi, Kowloon

Review of Silka West Kowloon Hotel (Formerly Known As Dorsett Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mistermagic4u
Business
Sacramento Ca.
Nov 27, 2009

You get what you pay for!

Not the greatest location! But like they say you get what you pay for, I just know that for the money I have done Much better in The U.S.Lots of noisy construstion. I could not recomend this place even on price. The resturant manager stiffed me ten dollars, the one time I ate there. My trip overall was good,I will visit Hong Kong again just make sure I pick a better location and Hotel. Just wished I had investigated the hotel and the part of town I was staying in a little more.Dirty carpet,small rooms,small beds, and very unfriendly staff. Sorry but you asked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay in Tai Kok Tsui Kowloon. It is better to pick some place on Nathan rd. Tsim Sha Tusi, Kowloon

Review of Silka West Kowloon Hotel (Formerly Known As Dorsett Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge, LA
Jun 3, 2009

Second Hong Kong Stay

Economical in price. Also, economical in size. It had all the necessities, but very small in size. I didn't like the fact that the refrigerator was very small and did not keep anything cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket around the corner. Mong Kok market a must for bargains. Around the corner, on Tai Kok Shui Rd, some great little places to eat with very low prices.

Review of Silka West Kowloon Hotel (Formerly Known As Dorsett Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge, LA
Jun 3, 2009

Second Hong Kong Stay

Economical in price. Also, economical in size. It had all the necessities, but very small in size. I didn't like the fact that the refrigerator was very small and did not keep anything cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket around the corner. Mong Kok market a must for bargains. Around the corner, on Tai Kok Shui Rd, some great little places to eat with very low prices.

Review of Silka West Kowloon Hotel (Formerly Known As Dorsett Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
asia traveller
New York, NY
May 31, 2009

Good value for short stays

small clean room. hard to find location in western kowloon off the beaten tourist path. hotel could've provided more value by adding 1 or 2 computer terminals in lobby with internet access. seems like the majority of visitors come for its close proximity to airport transportation links, NOT for its proximity to sites in HK. also, noisy ventilation system in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top