$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

5 stars
View map of 193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon Hong Kong, Hong Kong,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
In love with Hong Kong
Business
Michigan City, IN
Oct 25, 2010

Excellent Hotel !

This is a great hotel for so many reasons. First, the hotel lobby is elegant, yet simple. The staff are quite friendly and very helpful. The location is perfect, in the heart of one of the major shopping districts, close to Lady's Market and Night Market. Additionally, the hotel is attached to a large shopping mall with a host of restaurants, stores (clothing, jewelry, etc.) and there is even a movie theatre. There is also an MTR stop (subway station) in the shopping centre. The hotel bar is a bit pricey and their cocktail options are limited, but it is open late if you just want a drink without leaving the hotel. Room service is also limited, and as pricey as any other hotel's room service is. I also appreciated that the hotel provides free bottles of water, unlike many American hotels, where you pay an arm and a leg for the bottled water in the room. My only complaint is that the hotel does not provide wireless Internet, only with a LAN cable connection. So if you choose this hotel, make sure your laptop has a LAN modem in it. They do provide the cable. The Internet service is for an additional fee that is quite reasonable, either on an hourly basis or for a 24-hour period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are street markets all around this area. The shop owners can be very pushy, especially if you stop to look. Don't give in to the first one or two. Look around first, and then don't be afraid to bargain; they expect it. These markets are open late (most stick around until 11pm, some close between 9 & 10).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moonlightgavot
Business
Lancaster
Sep 28, 2010

moonlightgavot[@]

great hotel ,but the pool area was on the 8th floor you had to pass through the fittness centre to reach the pool but then you had to go through a shower to access the pool area, this is were the problems start. you can not just take a book or a camera out with you because it will get wet as you go through the shower. there is no other access to this area this is not an area that you can just use a sun lounger or sit outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there are a lot of markets some near by and some a short bus ride away go and explore

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moonlightgavot
Business
Lancaster
Sep 28, 2010

moonlightgavot[@]

great hotel ,but the pool area was on the 8th floor you had to pass through the fittness centre to reach the pool but then you had to go through a shower to access the pool area, this is were the problems start. you can not just take a book or a camera out with you because it will get wet as you go through the shower. there is no other access to this area this is not an area that you can just use a sun lounger or sit outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there are a lot of markets some near by and some a short bus ride away go and explore

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 27, 2010

avoid hotel

Royal Plaza Hotel is as royal as duck, not at all. Avoid this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 19, 2010

Ok

The location of the hotel is not good and many tours traveling so its always packed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hotelier From Asia
Business
WA, USA
Sep 10, 2010

ROYAL PLAZA: GOOD HOTEL BUT RIP OFF ATTI

Internet was included in my room rate when I booked. They asked for about US$20 a day to connect. I objected and the FO man asked me to prove it. I said I had to connect to the internet to show him the email. He said it is OK, do it fast. I connected my notebook and showed him the email confirming internet was included. He said he will ask the manager. They did not call me as promised but left a message after midnight saying internet was not included, despite proof. I chose to buy internet access cards from 7/11 (US$2.50 a day) and on check out they had billed me for one day of internet! I said I did not use your service though. The girl said I had used it by checking that one email. I raised my voice a bit and after a 15 minute hold up, she said management was KINDLY!!!! removing that charge this time. I said you won't have to worry about a next time. Printing each sheet of paper at business center: $10. Also: do NOT tell the bell boy where you want to go. He quotes you the charge and arranges with the taxi driver to take you for a long long circular drive until his quoted price shows up and then the driver charges you for the computer bag !!! How much? You guessed it: $10. Dishonesty abounds here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Seven Eleven in shopping mall: buy a PCCW Card for internet connection: $2.50 a day. Breakfast in the trendy restaurants of the shopping mall was a fraction of the cost of the hotel charged. And a better quality breakfast away from the noise. If they offer to take you to the 19th floor for check-in: refuse! Rip off artists lurking there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PDX Traveler
Business
Portland, OR
May 14, 2010

"Great Place in Kowloon"

Great place to take off from and sightsee. Very close to the MTR lines and to attractions in Kowloon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the night (street) markets for shopping - there are many within walking distance of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PDX Traveler
Business
Portland, OR
May 14, 2010

"Great Place in Kowloon"

Great place to take off from and sightsee. Very close to the MTR lines and to attractions in Kowloon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the night (street) markets for shopping - there are many within walking distance of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
usa
Apr 26, 2010

royal plaza hotel, hong kong

very good location, and spaceful room considered in HK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to shopping street, and next to the shopping mall and short walk to the Mong Kok subway station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Apr 22, 2010

Unbeatable Price and Location

Met up with family and friends And did some shopping since it's near all the shopping places. Hotel even provide free shuttle bus to good shopping places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top