$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 18, 2015

Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

5 stars
View map of 193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon Hong Kong, Hong Kong,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jan 7, 2011

Royal plaza hong kong

Hotel is dated and in serious need of renovation. We were given rooms on the lower floors and noticed a strong odor immediately upon entering the rooms. Although we booked non smoking rooms the smell of cigarette smoke was evident. The only plus point of this hotel was the staff who were very apologetic and courteous. Kudos to them for making an impossibly horrible stay bearable. I would not come back again until they renovate/enforce their no smoking policy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom with 2 kids most of the time
Business
Sherman Oaks, CA
Dec 1, 2010

Accessible to food, shopping and transpo

The Family Room was suitable for our family of 4 and the hotel location was very close to a lot of the night markets, next to a large mall, and overall, very accessible to food, transportation and shopping. Depending on where you need to go, this is not the closest walk from hotel to MTR, but easily walkable. The only thing I would note is that the rooms are a bit outdated/old, but clean. We had a great stay and the hotel is an esteemed one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Fa Yuen Street is a very short walk from the hotel and it's a street market where you can find all kinds of deals from everyday items, toys, fruit, to clothing. There are also many little restaurants and street food/stalls with cheap yummies that can fill you up. That's the real Hong Kong experience.

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Albion
Business
New York City N,Y
Nov 20, 2010

totally disaster

hospitality count with money only.Hotel dirty,I didnt like to charge my 3 year like adult prices.If you dont ask they will not give you toilet paper.That much BAD!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tazdoc
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Nov 18, 2010

Royal Plaza Hotel

We have not been in Hong Kong over twenty years and we really did not know what to expect when we tried to choose a hotel. We chose this because of the location and the price. The place was very clean and convenient. It is very close to MTR Mongkok East station which is right at the shopping center. But we used the regular Mongkok MTR station most which get us to TST, YMT and Hong Kong side much easier. There is a skyway connecting the shopping center all the way to Nathan Road. It does require able a 5 to 10 mins walk depends on how fast you walk. I have to say, the most surprising part is we can get to places which have not changed for many years. Having both of us from HK and not gone back for so many years, I was really worried that there are a lot of places which we would not recognize. But we were still able to find old tea houses and the food and retail stalls in Mongkok. Some of these places may be hard for folks who don't know Cantonese though, as most of these restaurants and shops are for locals and everything are in Chinese only. It is definitely not aimed for pure tourist as those places in TST or Central. So if you really want to get a piece of ordinary life in Hong Kong, this area definitely will fit the bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do try different kind of food. There are quite a variety. If you want to find some local recommendations. Try openrice.com. It is the yelp of Hong Kong.

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Oct 29, 2010

Family friendly hotel

The hotel is adjacent to a shopping mall with great food court. The best feature is that there is a playground outside the food court (5th floor of the mall) which is fantastic for my 2 year old twin boys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
In love with Hong Kong
Business
Michigan City, IN
Oct 25, 2010

Excellent Hotel !

This is a great hotel for so many reasons. First, the hotel lobby is elegant, yet simple. The staff are quite friendly and very helpful. The location is perfect, in the heart of one of the major shopping districts, close to Lady's Market and Night Market. Additionally, the hotel is attached to a large shopping mall with a host of restaurants, stores (clothing, jewelry, etc.) and there is even a movie theatre. There is also an MTR stop (subway station) in the shopping centre. The hotel bar is a bit pricey and their cocktail options are limited, but it is open late if you just want a drink without leaving the hotel. Room service is also limited, and as pricey as any other hotel's room service is. I also appreciated that the hotel provides free bottles of water, unlike many American hotels, where you pay an arm and a leg for the bottled water in the room. My only complaint is that the hotel does not provide wireless Internet, only with a LAN cable connection. So if you choose this hotel, make sure your laptop has a LAN modem in it. They do provide the cable. The Internet service is for an additional fee that is quite reasonable, either on an hourly basis or for a 24-hour period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are street markets all around this area. The shop owners can be very pushy, especially if you stop to look. Don't give in to the first one or two. Look around first, and then don't be afraid to bargain; they expect it. These markets are open late (most stick around until 11pm, some close between 9 & 10).

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moonlightgavot
Business
Lancaster
Sep 28, 2010

moonlightgavot[@]

great hotel ,but the pool area was on the 8th floor you had to pass through the fittness centre to reach the pool but then you had to go through a shower to access the pool area, this is were the problems start. you can not just take a book or a camera out with you because it will get wet as you go through the shower. there is no other access to this area this is not an area that you can just use a sun lounger or sit outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there are a lot of markets some near by and some a short bus ride away go and explore

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moonlightgavot
Business
Lancaster
Sep 28, 2010

moonlightgavot[@]

great hotel ,but the pool area was on the 8th floor you had to pass through the fittness centre to reach the pool but then you had to go through a shower to access the pool area, this is were the problems start. you can not just take a book or a camera out with you because it will get wet as you go through the shower. there is no other access to this area this is not an area that you can just use a sun lounger or sit outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there are a lot of markets some near by and some a short bus ride away go and explore

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 27, 2010

avoid hotel

Royal Plaza Hotel is as royal as duck, not at all. Avoid this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 19, 2010

Ok

The location of the hotel is not good and many tours traveling so its always packed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top