$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

5 stars
View map of 193 Prince Edward Road West, Kowloon Hong Kong, Hong Kong,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mrsatcomm
Business
New Jersey
Jan 29, 2011

Grand Plaza Hotel

The food spread was excellent. The staff was just OK. The security after Midnight are pain in the ###. It's like I was a terriorst or something..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Tradional Local vendors. Nice coffee house close By. Pacific Coffee.

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dud
Business
Ireland
Jan 11, 2011

great location

staff very helpful and very pleasant.hotel in great location.food and drink a bit expensive in hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

internet expensive in hotel free in shopping center next door.

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dud
Business
Ireland
Jan 11, 2011

great location

staff very helpful and very pleasant.hotel in great location.food and drink a bit expensive in hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

internet expensive in hotel free in shopping center next door.

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jan 7, 2011

Royal plaza hong kong

Hotel is dated and in serious need of renovation. We were given rooms on the lower floors and noticed a strong odor immediately upon entering the rooms. Although we booked non smoking rooms the smell of cigarette smoke was evident. The only plus point of this hotel was the staff who were very apologetic and courteous. Kudos to them for making an impossibly horrible stay bearable. I would not come back again until they renovate/enforce their no smoking policy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom with 2 kids most of the time
Business
Sherman Oaks, CA
Dec 1, 2010

Accessible to food, shopping and transpo

The Family Room was suitable for our family of 4 and the hotel location was very close to a lot of the night markets, next to a large mall, and overall, very accessible to food, transportation and shopping. Depending on where you need to go, this is not the closest walk from hotel to MTR, but easily walkable. The only thing I would note is that the rooms are a bit outdated/old, but clean. We had a great stay and the hotel is an esteemed one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Fa Yuen Street is a very short walk from the hotel and it's a street market where you can find all kinds of deals from everyday items, toys, fruit, to clothing. There are also many little restaurants and street food/stalls with cheap yummies that can fill you up. That's the real Hong Kong experience.

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tesla Fan
Business
Ohio
Nov 22, 2010

Royal Plaza Hotel - Hong Kong

Great room with OK view. A/C worked well (would be real important in summer months). Nice coffee/tea bar in room. Security/room keys were nice addition for elevator access. Grandiose lobby, very gracious staff and a high quality evening buffet! Great location and close to Mongkok East MTR subway station. Two day tours and two days of sightseeing on our own made a perfect mix. Internet service should have been free for a hotel of this high level., Hotel room water was not drinkable, but two bottles of water were provided daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Familiarize yourself with the subway system before traveling. The maps are available online. They are a great time and money saver. Bottled water and groceries can be purchased at the "Welcome" store on the seventh level of the mall located in the same building.

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tesla Fan
Business
Ohio
Nov 22, 2010

Royal Plaza Hotel - Hong Kong

Great room with OK view. A/C worked well (would be real important in summer months). Nice coffee/tea bar in room. Security/room keys were nice addition for elevator access. Grandiose lobby, very gracious staff and a high quality evening buffet! Great location and close to Mongkok East MTR subway station. Two day tours and two days of sightseeing on our own made a perfect mix. Internet service should have been free for a hotel of this high level., Hotel room water was not drinkable, but two bottles of water were provided daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Familiarize yourself with the subway system before traveling. The maps are available online. They are a great time and money saver. Bottled water and groceries can be purchased at the "Welcome" store on the seventh level of the mall located in the same building.

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Albion
Business
New York City N,Y
Nov 20, 2010

totally disaster

hospitality count with money only.Hotel dirty,I didnt like to charge my 3 year like adult prices.If you dont ask they will not give you toilet paper.That much BAD!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tazdoc
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Nov 18, 2010

Royal Plaza Hotel

We have not been in Hong Kong over twenty years and we really did not know what to expect when we tried to choose a hotel. We chose this because of the location and the price. The place was very clean and convenient. It is very close to MTR Mongkok East station which is right at the shopping center. But we used the regular Mongkok MTR station most which get us to TST, YMT and Hong Kong side much easier. There is a skyway connecting the shopping center all the way to Nathan Road. It does require able a 5 to 10 mins walk depends on how fast you walk. I have to say, the most surprising part is we can get to places which have not changed for many years. Having both of us from HK and not gone back for so many years, I was really worried that there are a lot of places which we would not recognize. But we were still able to find old tea houses and the food and retail stalls in Mongkok. Some of these places may be hard for folks who don't know Cantonese though, as most of these restaurants and shops are for locals and everything are in Chinese only. It is definitely not aimed for pure tourist as those places in TST or Central. So if you really want to get a piece of ordinary life in Hong Kong, this area definitely will fit the bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do try different kind of food. There are quite a variety. If you want to find some local recommendations. Try openrice.com. It is the yelp of Hong Kong.

Review of Royal Plaza Hotel Hong Kong

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Oct 29, 2010

Family friendly hotel

The hotel is adjacent to a shopping mall with great food court. The best feature is that there is a playground outside the food court (5th floor of the mall) which is fantastic for my 2 year old twin boys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top