$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Mingle by The Park Hong Kong

3 stars
143 Wanchai Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
178 reviews
perfect short stay hotel

For a short trip to H.K. on a budget this hotel is perfect. Very small rooms but comfy and clean... See full review

  • Mr B in China
  • Jun 19, 2014
Great simple clean hotel for cheap money in HK

This is the second time I've stayed here. It's a little hard to find as the front isn't big and... See full review

  • Monster Matt
  • May 2, 2014
An authentic, vintage 1960's old Chinese residential building with splashes of colonial architectural style (e.g. small balconies facing the main street). It was carefully restored without touching anything that can make it less authentic right down to the 60s-style floor tiles and railings, raw concrete walls, basic and simple old Chinese dcor, and honest 1960's utensils and toiletries. You'll be able to LIVE like how it was lived in 1960's old Hong Kong. But as with any AUTHENTIC experience, there comes the sacrifices, for example, rooms tend to be smaller and more crampy any less so and it will not be a REAL 60's Hong Kong building.

And there is NO ELEVATOR, which is not available in most 1960's Hong Kong residential buildings; instead you walk up the stairs like everybody else before you decades ago at most 5 stories, the average height of old Hong Kong buildings!

So if you plan to bring heavy luggage, request a room from a lower floor. Amenities providing by the property are Business center, Concierge, Currency exchange, Dry cleaning, Internet access High-Speed, Internet access Wireless, Lift / Elevator, Laundry service, Lobby, Non-smoking rooms, Reception, Safe deposit box and Secretarial services. No Elevator in hotel, but Bell service is available.

Hotel Map

22.2767 114.1763
Area served
Wanchai.
Nearby airports
Hong Kong International Airport - 35KM.
Area description
Mingle Place by the Park is a mere 5 minutes' walk from the MTR (subway) station, which takes you to everywhere else in Hong Kong. It is 5 minutes by taxi (or two subway stops) to Central (CBD), 5 minutes by taxi (or one subway stop) to Causeway Bay (prime Hong Kong shopping and tourist district), 5 minutes by taxi across the Harbour Tunnel (or two subway stops) to Tsim Sha Tsui (another prime Hong Kong shopping and tourist district), and 15 minutes to the peak (great view!). What is more, 10 minutes' walk takes also you to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, where the largest exhibitions and events in Asia are constantly hosted.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mingle by The Park Hong Kong also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Mingle by The Park Hong Kong Rooms

Double Value Room
Room with double bed equipped with Air conditioning Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Double Value Room is with 4 feet double bed. Room amenities includes: - Spaceous work desk; - FREE high speed wireless (802.11g Wi-Fi) and wired (100Mbps) broadband Internet access; - High-definition 26" LCD television; FREE in-room entertainment; - FREE audio/visual library with 500+ movies, 2,000+ songs, and 50,000+ Internet radio stations; - 1960s-style telephone set and utensils; - Audio input jacks for iPods, MP3 players, notebooks computers etc.; - In-room DVD player; - Fully-stocked mini bar; - Complementary coffee and tea
Queen Double Room
Queen Double Roomis with queen size double bed. Room amenities includes: - Spaceous work desk; - FREE high speed wireless (802.11g Wi-Fi) and wired (100Mbps) broadband Internet access; - High-definition 26" LCD television; FREE in-room entertainment; - FREE audio/visual library with 500+ movies, 2,000+ songs, and 50,000+ Internet radio stations; - 1960s-style telephone set and utensils; - Audio input jacks for iPods, MP3 players, notebooks computers etc.; - In-room DVD player; - Fully-stocked mini bar; - Complementary coffee and tea
Standard Room w/ Balcony
Standard Room with Balcony is with one king-size double bed or two single beds. Room amenities includes: - Spaceous work desk; - FREE high speed wireless (802.11g Wi-Fi) and wired (100Mbps) broadband Internet access; - High-definition 26" LCD television; FREE in-room entertainment; - FREE audio/visual library with 500+ movies, 2,000+ songs, and 50,000+ Internet radio stations; - 1960s-style telephone set and utensils; - Audio input jacks for iPods, MP3 players, notebooks computers etc.; - In-room DVD player; - Fully-stocked mini bar; - Complementary coffee and tea

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Wanchai Market: 0.2 mi
  • Happy Valley Horse Racing Track: 0.3 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 0.3 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 0.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 0.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 0.5 mi
  • St Margaret's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 0.6 mi
  • Harcourt Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Pacific Place: 0.7 mi
  • Wanchai Market: 0.2 mi
  • Happy Valley Horse Racing Track: 0.3 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 0.3 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 0.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Times Square: 0.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 0.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 0.5 mi
  • St Margaret's Church: 0.6 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 0.6 mi
  • Harcourt Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Pacific Place: 0.7 mi
  • Admiralty: 0.7 mi
  • Hong Kong Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Hong Kong Central Library: 0.9 mi
  • Victoria Park: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 1 mi
  • Happy Valley: 1 mi
  • Central Piers: 1.1 mi
  • St John's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Statue Square: 1.1 mi
  • Central Station: 1.2 mi
  • Central Star Ferry Pier: 1.2 mi
  • North Point: 1.2 mi
  • Star Ferry Pier: 1.2 mi
  • The Landmark: 1.2 mi
  • International Finance Centre: 1.2 mi
  • World Wide House: 1.3 mi
  • Exchange Square: 1.3 mi
  • Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Hong Kong Station: 1.3 mi
  • Airport Express: 1.3 mi
  • Ice House: 1.3 mi
  • Lan Kwai Fong: 1.4 mi
  • The Peak Tram: 1.4 mi
  • Central Market: 1.4 mi
  • SoHo: 1.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds Hong Kong: 1.7 mi
  • Victoria Peak: 1.7 mi
  • Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal: 1.8 mi
  • Western Market: 1.8 mi
  • Sheung Wan: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (178)

Ratings and reviews for Mingle by The Park Hong Kong

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
178 out of 178
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mingle by The Park Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bbmm
Los Angeles
Feb 27, 2014

Its fine

Cheap small room. In good location. Worth it if you're looking to save some cash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Mingle by The Park Hong Kong

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Qattara
Business
Bogota, Colombia
Aug 15, 2014

Small but cheap

Hotel is three blocks away Wan Chai MTR Station who is two stations from Central Station. Clean, nice staff but we ask for a two-single bed room and they send us to a "semi-double" bed. I´ve never been in such small hotel room, i guess is part of the charm of Hong Kong. We only stay for a night. Crowded and nice neighborhood. Good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

MTR Wan Chai Station is three blocks away.

Review of Mingle by The Park Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr B in China
Business
China
Jun 19, 2014

perfect short stay hotel

For a short trip to H.K. on a budget this hotel is perfect. Very small rooms but comfy and clean and the reception staff are very friendly and helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mingle by The Park Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monster Matt
Business
Dover, NH
May 2, 2014

Great simple clean hotel for cheap money in HK

This is the second time I've stayed here. It's a little hard to find as the front isn't big and load on the street. It is Clean and functional and so long as you aren't out to impress anyone it will work fine for a business traveler willing to save money by not having the pomp and circumstance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mingle by The Park Hong Kong

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
expat4
Guangzhou
Jan 24, 2014

A shoebox in HK!

The place is nice enough inside. The room was in the adjoining building, so I had to go up to the 7th floor, walk outside on roof of the other building, and walk down a few flights. Not too big of a problem. The issue was a the size of the room- it's SO small. I am 6' 2" tall and had to sleep in the fetal position all night since I was too tall to fit in the space where the bed is set. The bed itself was comfortable, though, and I usually sleep in this position (I survived). The thing that bugged me was you have to pay for water - 10 HKD, and then they added a 10% fee on top of that - which I thought was ridiculous. I paid almost 800HKD for this room, and it was not at all worth the money. Lucky only to stay one night. Better to stay at a hostel instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Mingle by The Park Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lite traveller
California, Bay Area
Dec 13, 2013

Small room, good location

I read other reviews saying that this hotel's rooms were small - I thought no big deal. But, I wasn't expecting it to be as small as it was. The double bed touched 3 of the 4 walls of the room - thats how small it was. Thankfully me and my wife were trying out traveling 'super minimalist style' so we didn't have any luggage - I had a backpack and she had a purse - if we had 1 or 2 bigger luggage's it would have been much worse. The location was great. We were there to get visa's for China and from the hotel we could walk to the China visa office which was very convenient. We mainly stayed there because of the proximity to the China visa office - and also because we had some Orbucks to spend. I'm not sure if we would stay there again if we personally had to pay the full price. Would probably opt for somewhere on Kowloon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Mingle by The Park Hong Kong

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Canadian Couple in China
Guangzhou
Nov 25, 2013

Double Value Room is a shoebox

We have stayed at Mingle on the Wing many times, and enjoyed it overall. Sure, the rooms aren't huge, but we know what to expect in Hong Kong. For years, rooms were around 110 US dollars, but in the last couple of years, rates have skyrocketed, and those same rooms go for about 200, so we tried this other Mingle branch. First we found out there was no elevator, so we had to climb 5 flights of stairs, but that wasn't a huge deal - at least it wasn't summer. But when we saw our room, I had to do a double take. My wife and I were both going to fit in this room -- on that bed?! Ten years ago, we used to stay in hostels, like Alisan, Wang Fat or Noble House, Clean Guest House, all located in Causeway Bay, and all around 50-70 dollars per night. They were clean, but tiny, and at least we had our own bathroom. There was a communal fridge. And we always had a window. This place, sizewise reminded me of those days. Sure, they'd tried to make up for it by having a cupboard, mini bar fridge, toiletries and nice towels, but for the two of us to move around, one of us would need to go onto the bed, so the other one could pass by. When you entered the bathroom, you'd need to fully enter, close the door and then move back to look in the mirror. Moving around that place, I felt like I was parking a car in a crowded lot, or trying to get out of IKEA on a Saturday afternoon. When I complained at the desk, the reception helpfully (?) told us that the room we were in was the smallest room they had. There was no option to move to a bigger one, however, nor for us to get our money refunded. So, even though I found a place around the corner with 50% more space and for a price that was about 30% cheaper, the only option we could take was to either suck it up, or pay for both rooms. We tried to not let it ruin our stay, but it definitely was a bad start, and a black mark on the Mingle name, in our opinion. They should be more forthcoming about the extremely compact nature of that room, especially if they're renting it as suitable for two people!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Mingle by The Park Hong Kong

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D Around the world
China
Aug 28, 2013

Visa run--good location

Hotel is fine for a quick trip to the China visa office. The rooms were small, but many in Hong Kong are. I was just a bit concerned about safety since the entrance leading to the rooms was an open doorway accessible to anyone on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's not too far from the ferry. You can take the ferry across the harbor at night to see the Hong Kong skyline.

Review of Mingle by The Park Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMMM4
Business
Shanghai, China
Aug 17, 2013

China Visa Run Perfection

I live on mainland China for most of the year and I travel Honk Kong to renew my visa once a year. This hotel is located about a 10-minute walk from the China visa office, a 5-minute walk from the metro station, and close enough by metro to all the major tourist locations. I happen to like to the Wanchai area because it’s a great way to experience how locals live and eat, and I like to stay away from tourist traps. The hotel room was small, but it was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The beef and egg noodle soupin small shops is the best! Try it!

Review of Mingle by The Park Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ADAMC
Singapore
Aug 9, 2013

Value for money

Plus : Convenient, clean n staff helpful. Minus; minimal choices of TV channel, no lift n local calls charges $2 each call

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search