$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

4 stars
33 Hennessy Road, Wan Chai Hong Kong, Hong Kong,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
16 reviews
Great location with good foods nearby

Located in Wanchai, very convenient to go places. Some nice foods within walking distance. Will... See full review

  • life is a journey
  • Aug 24, 2013
very bad trip

it was a nightmare. this hotel hs not water for 36 hours. we want a refund for two nights. We... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 4, 2009
Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai is situated in a Central Business District of Hong Kong island between Central and Causeway Bay. The hotel is just within minutes of walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre, a colourful array of nightlife entertainments nearby and well-designed shopping malls catering to every taste and budget in the neighbouring Causeway Bay and Admiralty.

Please to inform that hotel swimming pool will be closed during wintertime from 16 December 2013 to 28 February 2014 inclusive for an annual overhaul. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Hotel Map

22.2779 114.1701
Area served
Hong Kong.
Nearby airports
Hong Kong International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel is situated in Wanchai on Hong Kong island, a central urban area sandwiched between Central and Causeway Bay. It is just within minutes of walking distance to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, Hong Kong Arts Centre, a colourful array of nightlife entertainments and major shopping areas - everything you could possibly wish for in the City of Lights.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Rooms

Empire Club
Room offers a double bed or two twin beds.
Amenities include: Broadband internet access; Telephone system with voice mail, international direct dialing functions; 42" LCD television sets in suites; Cable TV and satellite TV channels; Mini Bar; Tea & coffee making facility; Hair dryers; Complimentary toiletries; Personal / PC safes
City View Room
Room offers a double bed or two twin beds.
Amenities include: Broadband internet access; Telephone system with voice mail, international direct dialing functions; 42" LCD television sets in suites; Cable TV and satellite TV channels; Mini Bar; Tea & coffee making facility; Hair dryers; Complimentary toiletries; Personal / PC safes

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Harcourt Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Pacific Place: 0.3 mi
  • Admiralty: 0.3 mi
  • Wanchai Market: 0.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 0.5 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 0.5 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 0.6 mi
  • St John's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Harcourt Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Pacific Place: 0.3 mi
  • Admiralty: 0.3 mi
  • Wanchai Market: 0.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 0.5 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 0.5 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 0.6 mi
  • St John's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Happy Valley Horse Racing Track: 0.7 mi
  • Central Piers: 0.7 mi
  • Statue Square: 0.7 mi
  • Central Station: 0.8 mi
  • Hong Kong Times Square: 0.8 mi
  • The Landmark: 0.8 mi
  • International Finance Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Central Star Ferry Pier: 0.8 mi
  • World Wide House: 0.9 mi
  • Star Ferry Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Exchange Square: 0.9 mi
  • Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Ice House: 0.9 mi
  • Hong Kong Station: 0.9 mi
  • Airport Express: 0.9 mi
  • Lan Kwai Fong: 0.9 mi
  • St Margaret's Church: 1 mi
  • Central Market: 1 mi
  • The Peak Tram: 1.1 mi
  • SoHo: 1.1 mi
  • Hong Kong Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Hong Kong Central Library: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria Park: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria Peak: 1.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds Hong Kong: 1.4 mi
  • Happy Valley: 1.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal: 1.4 mi
  • Western Market: 1.4 mi
  • Sheung Wan: 1.4 mi
  • Mid Levels: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 16
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Brothers NOT
Business
Indonesia
Jun 18, 2014

Great place for biz hotel

Nothing special. I like the location. For front desk staffs are mostly impolite, typical young hongky, no experience, beginning job, arrogance. Feel he is hongkonese, smarter than everybody, and he is no nothing, have to learn more... need to see other world...have to learn something!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very good BBQ foods

Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Asia is my second home
Business
Boston, MA, USA
May 1, 2014

Business as usual

Location was excellent for night life and business. Bathroom was so crammed, even a smaller person would have an issue. Nothing spectacular about the hotel, very basic. The restaurant was in the lower level under the lobby and not very good. Would not recommend eating at their restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent night life all around the hotel. Many places to eat, many options.

Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Domingao
Business
China
Nov 11, 2011

Very good located

the hotel was very good, the aminities, confort and cleanliness were perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

ccc

Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Domingao
Business
China
Sep 21, 2011

Very good relation price quality

Very good relation price quality, perfect if you need to be in Hong Kong Island

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
G_G
Business
Lyon, France
Dec 21, 2009

Empire Hotel WanChai

The location is very good near Wanchai Mtr. Room are goods for Hong Kong standard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
arnold, maryland
Dec 4, 2009

very bad trip

it was a nightmare. this hotel hs not water for 36 hours. we want a refund for two nights. We change hotels to park lane at 150.00 usd per night. I hope that you can offer mesome type of refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MyOwnAmazingRace
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 18, 2009

Horrible on so many levels

Online the hotel seemed like any other '4 star' hotel in downtown Hong Kong, we knew the rooms would be small but we didnt know there would be mold, we didn't realize the toilet would only flush every third time and we didn't realize that the main light in the room was going to only work some of the time. We alertted guest services but it was satisfactory to them that they worked sometimes. The elevators do not have safety sensors and I nearly lost my arm one night. DO NOT PLUG YOUR COMPUTER IN TO THE INTERNET!!!! I payed for the service and as soon as I did mine went haywire and destroyed itself with a nasty virus. There were other minor annoyances as well but I feel like these are the overshadowing important things to know about staying at the Empire in Hong Kong Wan Chai. They were also very fussy about holding our bags when we checked in early and when we checked out early. '30 minutes maximum' they told us at the bell desk. This hotel felt like a 2 star... maximum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a lot to see on the streets, new and old. we walked to central almost everyday and the walk took us past some great achitecture and historic streets.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search