$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

4 stars
33 Hennessy Road, Wan Chai Hong Kong, Hong Kong,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
16 reviews
Great location with good foods nearby

Located in Wanchai, very convenient to go places. Some nice foods within walking distance. Will... See full review

  • life is a journey
  • Aug 24, 2013
very bad trip

it was a nightmare. this hotel hs not water for 36 hours. we want a refund for two nights. We... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 4, 2009
Convenient, lively Wan Chai locale between Central and Causeway Bay

Seasoned travelers do not always require serious luxury. For those seeking a comfortable, convenient and central location in Hong Kong without unnecessary extras, the Empire in Wan Chai is a suitable choice. Within walking distance of the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Center, the hotel is well-placed between Central and Causeway Bay, with the Wan Chai MTR station nearby for easy access to points beyond. Wan Chai nightlife lies just outside the door.

Highlights
  • Convenient, central location in Wan Chai
  • Rooftop pool on the 21st floor
  • Good value
Rooms

With higher ceilings and relatively roomy dimensions, the hotel's rooms have all the usual comforts. Broadband Internet access, flat-screen TV with satellite and cable channels, plus in-room safes come standard. The decor is clean and modern, with glass-topped desks and modular glass shelving. Empire club rooms offer vast amounts of space, with glass-walled bathrooms contributing to the feeling of expansiveness. Some rooms have harbor views.

Features

A newly-renovated lobby greets guests at this centrally-located hotel. Guests can relax with a drink in the lobby lounge, or have a bite of Pacific Rim–inspired Western food at Cafe 33 on Hennessy. For guests in the empire club rooms and suites, the Empire Club Lounge provides a welcoming atmosphere for working or enjoying complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktails. The hotel's excellent location is within walking distance to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and Wan Chai MTR station for access to the rest of Hong Kong. Near the hotel, pubs and many local restaurants spice up the area nightlife. A fitness center looks out at the rooftop pool on the 21st floor.

Transportation
  • Wan Chai MTR station (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Trams run one block south along Johnston Road
  • Hong Kong International Airport (24.5 mi/39.5 km)
Attractions
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Pacific Place (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Hong Kong Arts Centre (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Sogo Department Store (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Times Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Hong Kong Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Victoria Peak (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • High-speed wired Internet access
Policies and fees
  • The hotel pool will be closed during the winter time, from 16 Dec 2014 to 28 Feb 2015 inclusive for an annual overhaul and maintenance.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai Rooms

Empire Club
Room offers a double bed or two twin beds.
Amenities include: Broadband internet access; Telephone system with voice mail, international direct dialing functions; 42" LCD television sets in suites; Cable TV and satellite TV channels; Mini Bar; Tea & coffee making facility; Hair dryers; Complimentary toiletries; Personal / PC safes
City View Room
Room offers a double bed or two twin beds.
Amenities include: Broadband internet access; Telephone system with voice mail, international direct dialing functions; 42" LCD television sets in suites; Cable TV and satellite TV channels; Mini Bar; Tea & coffee making facility; Hair dryers; Complimentary toiletries; Personal / PC safes

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Harcourt Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Pacific Place: 0.3 mi
  • Admiralty: 0.3 mi
  • Wanchai Market: 0.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 0.5 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 0.5 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 0.6 mi
  • St John's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Harcourt Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Pacific Place: 0.3 mi
  • Admiralty: 0.3 mi
  • Wanchai Market: 0.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 0.5 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 0.5 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 0.5 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 0.6 mi
  • St John's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Happy Valley Horse Racing Track: 0.7 mi
  • Central Piers: 0.7 mi
  • Statue Square: 0.7 mi
  • Central Station: 0.8 mi
  • Hong Kong Times Square: 0.8 mi
  • The Landmark: 0.8 mi
  • International Finance Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Central Star Ferry Pier: 0.8 mi
  • World Wide House: 0.9 mi
  • Star Ferry Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Exchange Square: 0.9 mi
  • Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Ice House: 0.9 mi
  • Hong Kong Station: 0.9 mi
  • Airport Express: 0.9 mi
  • Lan Kwai Fong: 0.9 mi
  • St Margaret's Church: 1 mi
  • Central Market: 1 mi
  • The Peak Tram: 1.1 mi
  • SoHo: 1.1 mi
  • Hong Kong Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Hong Kong Central Library: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria Park: 1.3 mi
  • Victoria Peak: 1.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds Hong Kong: 1.4 mi
  • Happy Valley: 1.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal: 1.4 mi
  • Western Market: 1.4 mi
  • Sheung Wan: 1.4 mi
  • Mid Levels: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 15, 2010

Under construction, not 4 star!

Definitely not a 4 star hotel! Hugely disappointed. We arrived there in a rainstorm and could not even find the front door because the entire front is covered in scaffolding. Then we went inside and the lobby was being worked on, lines at the check in desk and no seating whatsoever. We got upstairs and the hallways were stale and old and the rooms even worse. Dingy, smelly, and tiny. We requested non-smoking and the rooms definitely smelled of smoke. When we called to switch, we were told there was no rooms available. Apparantly, this is where all the tour group bring their guests which means it's cheap and overused. No internet, we called and was transferred to the internet company who finally helped to resolve the issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid at all costs the red light district, which is Lockhart Street, and next door to the hotel. At night, the ladies at the door are super aggressive. No single man will be able to get through that street alone. We saw so many get pulled into bars against their wills. Beware!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 18, 2010

Stay away!

Hotel under construction, can't see the front door from the street. Room were dingy, small, and smelly. Hotel staff was understaffed and overworked so any requests took forever to fulfilled. This is where all the tour groups bring their guests so you know it's cheap. Hotel is right next to Lockhart, the red light district, so unless you like sleezy clubs, stay away from this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
etee
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 14, 2011

don't book it!

location: close to lockhart rd but also close to a sketchy part of town. if you are not leaving or returning the hotel after dark, you might be okay. room cleanliness was really not up to our standards. sticky sheets, mold in bathroom, dirt in vents. if you have allergies, this is not the place for you! wallpaper was peeling off the wall. don't be deceived with the photos as we were, we got there and left the next day. orbitz was great and was able to get a refund for all the other days. lobby is remodeled and the rest of the hotel needs a upgrade badly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MyOwnAmazingRace
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 18, 2009

Horrible on so many levels

Online the hotel seemed like any other '4 star' hotel in downtown Hong Kong, we knew the rooms would be small but we didnt know there would be mold, we didn't realize the toilet would only flush every third time and we didn't realize that the main light in the room was going to only work some of the time. We alertted guest services but it was satisfactory to them that they worked sometimes. The elevators do not have safety sensors and I nearly lost my arm one night. DO NOT PLUG YOUR COMPUTER IN TO THE INTERNET!!!! I payed for the service and as soon as I did mine went haywire and destroyed itself with a nasty virus. There were other minor annoyances as well but I feel like these are the overshadowing important things to know about staying at the Empire in Hong Kong Wan Chai. They were also very fussy about holding our bags when we checked in early and when we checked out early. '30 minutes maximum' they told us at the bell desk. This hotel felt like a 2 star... maximum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a lot to see on the streets, new and old. we walked to central almost everyday and the walk took us past some great achitecture and historic streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EZZZ
Business
Santa Monica, CA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Convenient Location for HK Hotel

Location is this hotel's best asset, easily reachable by MTR, Trams, and Taxi, and walkable to Central and Wan Chai. I think the hotel has been upgraded with some changes in the lobby area, but in my opinion its all cosmetics. The service is OK, but not great, the rooms are functional, but mostly on the small side and by no means luxurious. However, for the value, I would recommend this hotel. I have also noticed that the majority of the clients at this hotel seem to be from Mainland China, so the social conduct in the public areas, including the lobby, might take a bit of getting used to, (if one is not familiar with how people behave in Mainland China !)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the breakfast at Hotel and try the many local eateries in Wan Chai for noodles or Congee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Asia is my second home
Business
Boston, MA, USA
May 1, 2014

Business as usual

Location was excellent for night life and business. Bathroom was so crammed, even a smaller person would have an issue. Nothing spectacular about the hotel, very basic. The restaurant was in the lower level under the lobby and not very good. Would not recommend eating at their restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent night life all around the hotel. Many places to eat, many options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Singapore
Jun 28, 2011

Empire Wan Chai

I got a kingsize bed with a quite good maitress and enough room for two. Silent aircon, mini bar were ok, but bathroom wall close bathtub was not that clean for my standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Hollywood road on Fri and Sat night is really impressive experience. Crowded of beaultiful westerns and asian women :o) The light show at the harbor also offers an unforgettable view of one of the most amazing skylines I ever saw.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
G_G
Business
Lyon, France
Dec 21, 2009

Empire Hotel WanChai

The location is very good near Wanchai Mtr. Room are goods for Hong Kong standard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Brothers NOT
Business
Indonesia
Jun 18, 2014

Great place for biz hotel

Nothing special. I like the location. For front desk staffs are mostly impolite, typical young hongky, no experience, beginning job, arrogance. Feel he is hongkonese, smarter than everybody, and he is no nothing, have to learn more... need to see other world...have to learn something!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very good BBQ foods

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Hotel Hong Kong Wan Chai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Domingao
Business
China
Sep 21, 2011

Very good relation price quality

Very good relation price quality, perfect if you need to be in Hong Kong Island

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top