$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

4 stars
88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Kowloon, Hong Kong,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
49 reviews
Good

Clean, Convenience, Comfortable. Free smart phone with 3G internet is awesome!!! See full review

  • JerryLi
  • Nov 20, 2014
Great place to stay for vacation

Had a wonderful stay here! Hotel is clean and the room I had a terrific view coming from the 16th... See full review

  • Weng94
  • Sep 21, 2014
Stylish modern accommodations in bustling, historic Kowloon

Built in 2010, the modern Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong is located at Tai Kok Tsui in Kowloon and offers 285 tasteful rooms and suites with high ceilings and large windows. All rooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi access, complimentary use of smart phone with free 3G Internet and personal hotspot for multi-device connectivity, local calls and IDD calls to US, UK, Australia, Singapore and China, flat-screen TVs, coffee/tea makers and mini bars. Mosaic bathrooms include rainfall showerheads. A short stroll brings guests to a variety of Hong Kong's famous day and night markets. The hotel operates a free shuttle service to popular shopping destinations such as Canton Road and Langham Place Mall. All indoor areas within Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong are smoke-free--a rare hotel feature in Hong Kong--the hotel also encourages guests to recycle as a part of its strong green policy, which also includes using refillable toiletries in hotel rooms.

Reasons to stay
  • Located in Tai Kok Tsui in Kowloon, an easy walk to amenities and transportation

  • Minutes from famous shopping streets and markets

  • All non-smoking rooms and suites

Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong rooms
Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong has 285 rooms and suites furnished with large windows and high ceilings. Families are catered for with Quad rooms which have one double and two single beds, as well as a DVD player and cartoon library ready to entertain younger guests. All rooms and suites at the Dorsett Mongkok Hotel have mini bar, coffee- and tea-making facilities, phone, and flat-screen television. High-speed Internet connections are available (fees apply).
Things to do nearby
  • Ladies Market (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • Temple Street (1.1 mi/1.9 km)

  • Ocean Terminal (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

  • Harbour City (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

  • Clock Tower (2.0 mi/3.2 km)

  • Wong Tai Sin Temple (2.4 mi/3.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong Rooms

Room Executive w/ 2 breakfasts n lounge access
Choice of one queen-size double, one king-size double or one twin with 2 (single) beds with high quality 300-thread-count linen and duvet topper. Choice of soft feather pillow. Free access to Dorsett Lounge for with free coffee and entertainment. Free enjoyment includes usage of notebook and iPad (advanced request required), iPod docking, buffet breakfast, tea and coffee maker, as well as water bar. Most of the rooms overlook the glamorous city and selected rooms enjoy the mountain view as well. High ceiling with full length window for ultimate spaciousness. Approximately 210 square feet (20 square meters). Mosaic bathroom features massage shower with rain shower head. 26-inch flat screen TV with satellite and cable channels. Hair dryer, slippers and in-room safe.
Suite Premier with city view
Choice of one queen-size double, one king-size double or one twin with 2 (single) beds plus one sofa bed for a maximum of 3 guests. Approximately 40 square feet (42 square meters). High quality 300-thread-count linen and duvet topper. Choice of super-sized duvet pillow. Free enjoyment includes usage of notebook and iPad (advanced request required), iPod docking, tea and coffee maker, as well as water bar. Mosaic bathroom features rain shower head. 32-inch flat screen TV with satellite/cable channels and DVD player (on request). Hair dryer, quality slippers and in-room safe.
Family Quad
One queen-size double and two twin (single) bed for a maximum of 4 guests. Approximately 440 square meters (42 square feet). Welcome gift for kids. Baby bathroom amenities (by request) Free enjoyment includes usage of notebook and iPad (advanced request required), iPod docking, tea and coffee maker, as well as water bar. Mosaic bathroom features stylish bathtub and rain shower head. 32-inch flat screen TVs with satellite/cable channels and DVD player with cartoon library. Microwave (by request), hair dryer, quality slippers and in-room safe. 300-thread count linen. Super-sized duvet pillow. Located on high floors.
Room Comfort
One queen-size double bed or one twin with 2 (single) beds. Approximately 190 square feet (18 square meters). Mosaic bathroom features massage shower with rain shower head. 26-inch flat screen TV with satellite and cable channels. Well-stocked mini bar with coffee and tea maker, hair dryer, slippers and in-room safe.
Room Superior - City view
One queen-size bed or one twin with 2 (single) beds. Most of the rooms overlook the glamorous city and selected rooms enjoy the mountain view as well. High ceiling with full length window for ultimate spaciousness. Approximately 210 square feet (20 square meters). Mosaic bathroom features massage shower with rain head shower. 26-inch flat screen TV with satellite and cable channels. Well-stocked mini bar with coffee and tea maker, hair dryer, slippers and in-room safe. Complimentary bottles of water.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Prince Edward Station: 0.4 mi
  • Sai Yeung Choi Street: 0.5 mi
  • Tung Choi Street: 0.5 mi
  • Fa Yuen Street: 0.5 mi
  • Mong Kok: 0.7 mi
  • Yau Ma Tei Station: 0.8 mi
  • Temple Street: 1.1 mi
  • Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal: 2.3 mi
  • Star Ferry Pier: 2.4 mi
  • Central Star Ferry Pier: 2.4 mi
  • Western Market: 2.5 mi
  • International Finance Centre: 2.5 mi
  • Hong Kong Station: 2.5 mi
  • Airport Express: 2.5 mi
  • Sheung Wan: 2.6 mi
  • Prince Edward Station: 0.4 mi
  • Sai Yeung Choi Street: 0.5 mi
  • Tung Choi Street: 0.5 mi
  • Fa Yuen Street: 0.5 mi
  • Mong Kok: 0.7 mi
  • Yau Ma Tei Station: 0.8 mi
  • Temple Street: 1.1 mi
  • Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal: 2.3 mi
  • Star Ferry Pier: 2.4 mi
  • Central Star Ferry Pier: 2.4 mi
  • Western Market: 2.5 mi
  • International Finance Centre: 2.5 mi
  • Hong Kong Station: 2.5 mi
  • Airport Express: 2.5 mi
  • Sheung Wan: 2.6 mi
  • Exchange Square: 2.6 mi
  • Central Piers: 2.6 mi
  • Central Market: 2.6 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 2.6 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 2.7 mi
  • Sai Wan: 2.7 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 2.7 mi
  • World Wide House: 2.7 mi
  • City Hall: 2.7 mi
  • Statue Square: 2.7 mi
  • Victoria Peak: 2.7 mi
  • Central Station: 2.7 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 2.7 mi
  • SoHo: 2.8 mi
  • The Landmark: 2.8 mi
  • Lan Kwai Fong: 2.8 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 2.8 mi
  • Ice House: 2.8 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 2.9 mi
  • Mid Levels: 2.9 mi
  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 2.9 mi
  • Admiralty: 2.9 mi
  • St John's Cathedral: 2.9 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 2.9 mi
  • Harcourt Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 2.9 mi
  • University of Hong Kong: 3 mi
  • Pacific Place: 3 mi
  • Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens: 3 mi
  • North Point: 3 mi

Dining

Thai Pad
Renders appetizing Thai delicacies and cozy atmosphere. You can taste diverse dining choice, sit back and relax in the vibrant ambiance Total: 80 seats for indoor and 40 seats for outdoor Business hour: 6:30am - 10:00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 49
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
just a review
Business
Worldwide
Oct 2, 2014

Bed covers does not get changed!

Small hotel rooms, bad wifi reception, bed covers does not get changed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AsiaRocks
Business
Vancouver, BC
Sep 23, 2014

Tiny room but amenities make up for it

We stayed at Dorsett in between a side trip to Singapore. First time,we got a queen bed and the room was super tiny (even for HK standards). The second time, they ran out of queens and gave us a room with 2 twin beds put together. It was still small but actually had a bit more room compared to the queen. I would stay at Dorsett again just for the usage of the phone and free shuttle. If it wasn't for these perks, I would rather stay at the Empire Hotel which was about the same price but had a better location with a nicer and more spacious room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stuff and Brad
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 16, 2014

Free Phone!

Great middle of the city location, close to the stations, and free shuttle. The room was small but very comfortable, The staff was wonderful and the free smart phone had everything we needed, We would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dave2014march
Business
Manila
Mar 29, 2014

Very small normal rooms - cramped

The basic rooms are the smallest I have ever seen. There isn't enough room for two people to move around without bumping into each other. The rooms are essentially bare - no hotel directory, no television lineup, no ref. The breakfast is overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay at a hotel closer to where you want to shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suan Wa
Business
Milpitas, CA
Apr 30, 2013

Family Trip to HK

My wife and I brought our first 7-month old child to visit families & friends and stayed in Cosmo for 10 consecutive days. Room is a little small, but very clean since this hotel is still pretty new. All the hotel staffs that we have encountered during our stay were very friendly and helpful. Cosmo provides free bus service to few locations around the area. However it's 1-hr apart for each free ride. There are quite a few pf restaurants and shops nearby, so its convenience. I would consider staying here again next time if travel in a small group of three :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HK visitors
Business
new york, NY
Mar 29, 2013

Cosmo Hotel MK

We stayed at Cosmo Hotel MK for 7 nights. We choose this hotel mainly because of it's price & location. Pros: 1. Reasonable price (US $125 per night) comparing to the other hotels in the area 2. Location is OK, it's about 10-15 mins walk to the MK station on Nathan Rd. 3. Free shuttle bus every 1/2 hr from hotel to Langham place mall --> Tsim Sha Tsui --> Kowloon Station --> hotel 4. Staffs/front desk are helpful Cons: 1. Carpet isn't that clean. This is a relatively new hotel; however, their carpet already has many stains. 2. Room is small as expected (reasonable at this price range); however, there is not enough circulation in the room. Be ready to feel the humidity in the room after shower and other odor from the bathroom. Since the shuttle bus only goes 1 direction, so if you want to get back to the hotel from Langham place mall, you will need to stop at the other stations first (TST and Kowloon station) before it headed back to the hotel. (it's about 40 mins). I would probably give this hotel an overall 3.5 out of 5 stars rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris E
Business
Bucks, UK
Mar 18, 2013

Cosmo Mongkok

Location okay for us as we're keen walkers but may be slightly far away for some. Takes about 10 mins to walk to the MTR. Clean, comfortable and friendly staff, although as with all HK hotels it's rather compact..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EADAm
Business
Seoul, South Korea
Feb 16, 2013

Solid Hotel Near Mongkok/Kowloon Area

We stayed here for four nights. When we first arrived to the hotel we were brought to our room which we were surprised to see was considerably smaller than what we expected. We did not mind, but then I laid down and my legs from my calves down hung off the bed (I'm about 190cm or 6ft. 3inches). I quickly went downstairs and the lady at the desk was most accommodating, personally bringing me to see what an upgrade room looked like. The room we had was essentially two rooms: one a living space (with a sofa/bed) and desk area which through a door you can enter the bedroom and bathroom. The space was excellent, cozy and the view from our room was quite nice. It was in this room only that you can see the "boutique" aspects of this hotel, in regards to a funky feathered overhanging light and a very nice mosaic-like tiled bathroom. The tub was nice for a nice relaxed bath, or for a couple. For newer couples or friends staying together, this room and even the first room we tried had glass doors into the bathroom, which might make for uneasiness for some. Of course, these doors were still frosted in all the right spots, but from the ankles down and (at least for a tall person) the eyes up this was clear see-through glass. The gym had a treadmill and a bike and the breakfast buffet was good, if not simple enough (delicious yogurt as well as eggs, bread, ham, tater-tots, and the like). The staff, especially the doormen, security and room cleaners went out of their way to talk to us or help out. We are not the biggest talkers, but we found ourselves having warm and friendly conversations with all three of these people. We spend a bit more than we should have, given the fact that it WAS the Lunar New Year after all, however, with their usual rates I would stay there again if I had business in the Mongkok area. There were many good supermarkets and delicious local eateries in the area, giving a less touristy, local feel to our, admittedly, very touristy trip. Lastly, the subway (to Olympic station) and Mongkok areas are within easily and enjoyable walking distance (maybe 15minutes, slow walking), and we were happy to walk, but for older couples, or people who wanted more ease of travel, the hotels location could be considered a "bit out of the way".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice, non touristy, local-feeling restaurants very near to the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vacationSssstravel
Business
nyc
Jan 27, 2013

Good value

Convenient location. The shuttle bus departs frequently to the train station and other shopping areas. Close by late night stores and restaurant that stay open late in to the night. Excellent and courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Located across the street from a 24h McDonald and 7-eleven and circle-K convenience store. Train station is about a 10-15 minute walk away. If you book directly through their hotel website, there is an offer for free wifi included with the room charge. This may or may not be worth it depending on your rate. Otherwise, wifi is free in the hotel lobby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobcat
Business
London
Jan 16, 2013

Nice hotel, good price, WIFI is not free in rooms though!!

Beware those who rely on WIFI to plans routes/keen in touch whilst abroad since this hotel advertises free wifi, but this is just in the communal areas so you see a lot of people camped out by the reception as this is the only place that they can get reception - the wifi in the rooms is charged by the hour and very expensive. The room was nice, with a beautiful shower/washing cubicle. Bed was not terribly comfortable but satisfactory I suppose. Would probably visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McDonalds opposite hotel for breakfast if you want to save money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top