$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

4 stars
View map of 88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Kowloon, Hong Kong,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hong Kongers
Business
Cottage Grove, MN, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Family vacation

We spent 4 days in Hong Kong. The rooms are very small but the beds are very comfortable, the hotel very new and clean. The guest services staff were very helpful and spoke English, if not they would find someone who could. The shuttle to different locations is a plus, we used the shuttle every day and sometimes more than once. The area surrounding the hotel has many places to buy food or drinks. The view from our room was amazing, would definitely recommend and go back if we would ever get there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The ferry crossing Victoria Harbor and watching the lights of the city go on as we sat on the end of a pier, will never forget. The cable car ride in the Crystal car to the Big Buddha, the view was spectacular.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seoul, Korea
Jul 5, 2011

good value / but not good location

hotel was nice and all looks brand new. whole staff was kind and nice. but some staff cannot speak english. and hotel's laundry service was good and cheap. but when i checkout, they charged internet service fee even my confirmation mail wrote 'free wireless internet'. I claimed that and hotel manager makes it free. Check out your receipt before you checkout hotel. + if you visit this hotel at summer and just arrived kowloon ael station or other mtr station(mongkok or ~), do not walk. take a taxi. weather is too hot and not too close to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

near mongkok station / langham place is good for shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Jun 6, 2011

For Shopper

It is a great location to shop. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The bus shuttle to airport is outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Consistent
Business
Beijing - China
Feb 28, 2011

Trying hard but NOT ENOUGH !!

The rooms are smaller than anything I ever experienced anywhere in the world, I did travel extensively for more than 30 years. No space to hang your cloths or even to place your luggage. No lounge or any other place to hang around. The restaurant is equally small and limited. The house keepers are very noisy if you are trying to rest during the day!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI/Shanghai, China
Feb 26, 2011

Cheap, nice hotel in Kowloon. Recommend.

Just stayed a couple days and this was totally fine. Price was only about $80/night and the room was nice. That's pretty cheap by my standards. Very easy to find and get to. Take the airport express to Kowloon then head over to Olympic. The hotel is shown on the tourist map at the airport which makes it even easier. Really though, I just took a glance at Google maps, drew a 2 second diagram with the street name. Found it no problem. Room is small and not ideal if you have a ton of luggage, but otherwise does everything you need it to -- clean, comfy bed, shower, toilet, sink, tv, and internet. I stayed with a friend and that was fine, but we didn't have any luggage. Unless you are someone who stays in the room all day, I'd recommend this place. BTW, we just picked the standard room. I'm sure they have some bigger rooms too. To me, there is no difference between this or a Mandarin Oriental if all you need to do is sleep in the bed and use a bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You're in Kowloon and there is no shortage of anything. I'm sure the hotel could give you suggestions, but you can easily just wander around and explore HK while running into a million places. Also, the metro is very close, so you can pretty much get anywhere pretty quick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snurok
Business
miami, FL
Feb 3, 2011

Great new place

Great new hotel in an excellent location with free shuttle service to trains and downtown. The rooms are small so if your HUGE go elswhere and theres no free internet. Also no healting, if its cold ask them to bring you a heater. Who builds hotels with no HEAT?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gunter69
Business
Korea
Jan 17, 2011

Nice service but dinky-size room

The bell service and concierge were just excellent--even compared against the true brand-name five star hotels. The housekeeping did not do such a thorough job. The size of the room was truly small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Student Dave
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Dec 25, 2010

Very nice hotel

I really liked the hotel. Its a 15 min walk to the nearest metro station. I found the hotel hard to find at first and would recommend getting a taxi to it. It is good value for money. Finding your way around HK can be difficult, bring a map.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roger J
Business
Georgia USA
Dec 5, 2010

Terrific hotel

5 star location - free shuttle to airport express Kowloon station; Very clean, modern furnitured, the staff are very nice. Well deserve the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorsett Mongkok, Hong Kong

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Oct 14, 2010

Awsome Service!!!

The hotel staff was awsome!!! Super nice and very helpful. The hotel was in an awsome location closed to mtr stations which practically connects to everything.Small room ( Superior ) but we didn't mind since we were hardly at the hotel due to sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to Langham Place ( Mong Kok area ) also short distance to Olympic Station 5 min walk and Mcdonald's across the street along with Watson's and 7-11!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top