$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 12, 2015

Butterfly on Wellington Boutique Hotel

4 stars
View map of 122 Wellington Street, Hong Kong,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
28 reviews
Amazing Boutique

Exceeded my expectations, great location, great value! See full review

  • Mr Claudio
  • Apr 6, 2015
Excellent Stay

We had an excellent stay at The Butterfly. Staff are very switched on and are very well drilled on... See full review

  • larrymull
  • Dec 29, 2014
The address says it all. Located on one of Centrals liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, Butterfly on Wellington is a magnet for those looking for a classic boutique hotel experience in the heart of it all. From designer boutiques at the Landmark and the ifc, the nightlife of Soho and Lan Kwai Fong to the art and heritage profusion along Hollywood Road and the Central Escalator, everything you need to keep your finger on the big city pulse is right here on your doorstep. Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel combine contemporary decor with branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk and sophisticated technology to create a perfect environment dedicated to both leisure and business travellers. Think device friendly docking station, or even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, Wi-Fi tethering, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Given all the helpful tools, getting to know the neighbourhoods diverse fabric of life is easy! But before you step outside, be sure to consult our Local Ambassadors who might just have a story or two for you.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Butterfly on Wellington Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Butterfly on Wellington Boutique Hotel Rooms

Suite Room
Approximate 500 sq.ft. with King-size bed and branded mattress & quality bed linens . All guest rooms are equipped with a free smartphone offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, Wi-Fi. Facilities include free Wi-Fi and high speed internet access, Nespresso coffee machine, Sony 5.1 home theatre, smart device-friendly multimedia docking station, LCD television with satellite and cable channels, DVD player, spacious wardrobe, stylish bathroom amenities, complimentary coffee and tea making facilities etc.
Superior Room
Facilities include free Wi-Fi & high speed internet access, branded mattress & quality bed linens, smart device-friendly multimedia docking station, LCD HDTV with satellite and cable channels, stylish bathroom amenities, complimentary coffee and tea making facilities etc. All guest rooms are equipped with a free smartphone offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, Wi-Fi.
Deluxe Room
Approximate 250 sq.ft. with Queen-size bed / Twin beds and branded mattress & quality bed linens. All guest rooms are equipped with a free smartphone offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, Wi-Fi. Facilities include free Wi-Fi, high speed internet access, smart device-friendly multimedia docking station, LCD television with satellite and cable channels, spacious wardrobe, stylish bathroom amenities, complimentary coffee and tea making facilities etc.
Wellington Executive
Approximate 300 sq.ft. with King-size bed and branded mattress & quality bed linens. All guest rooms are equipped with a free smartphone offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, Wi-Fi. Facilities include free Wi-Fi, high speed internet access, Nespresso coffee machine, smart device-friendly multimedia docking station, LCD television with satellite and cable channels, spacious wardrobe, stylish bathroom amenities, complimentary coffee and tea making facilities etc.
Signature Room
Approximate 380 sq.ft. with King-size bed and branded mattress & quality bed linens. All guest rooms are equipped with a free smartphone offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, Wi-Fi. Facilities include free Wi-Fi, high speed internet access, Nespresso coffee machine, smart device-friendly multimedia docking station, LCD television with satellite and cable channels, spacious wardrobe, stylish bathroom amenities, complimentary coffee and tea making facilities etc.
Pure Air Deluxe Room With FREE Handy Phone
Approximate 250 sq.ft. with King-size bed / Twin beds and branded mattress & quality bed linens. Each room features an air purifier that reduces airborne particles to minimize the presence of potential irritants which allows you to rest comfortably, sleep better and awake refreshed so you can enjoy your stay. All guest rooms are equipped with a free smartphone offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, Wi-Fi. Facilities include free Wi-Fi, high speed internet access, smart device-friendly multimedia docking station, LCD television with satellite and cable channels, spacious wardrobe, stylish bathroom amenities, complimentary coffee and tea making facilities etc.
Pure Air Wellington - Executive Room - With FREE Handy Phone
Approximate 300 sq.ft. with King-size bed and branded mattress & quality bed linens. Each room features an air purifier that reduces airborne particles to minimize the presence of potential irritants which allows you to rest comfortably, sleep better and awake refreshed so you can enjoy your stay. All guest rooms are equipped with a free smartphone offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, Wi-Fi. Facilities include free Wi-Fi, high speed internet access, Nespresso coffee machine, smart device-friendly multimedia docking station, LCD television with satellite and cable channels, spacious wardrobe, stylish bathroom amenities, complimentary coffee and tea making facilities etc.
Pure Air Signature Room With FREE Handy Phone
Approximate 380 sq.ft. with King-size bed and branded mattress & quality bed linens. Each room features an air purifier that reduces airborne particles to minimize the presence of potential irritants which allows you to rest comfortably, sleep better and awake refreshed so you can enjoy your stay. All guest rooms are equipped with a free smartphone offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, Wi-Fi. Facilities include free Wi-Fi, high speed internet access, Nespresso coffee machine, smart device-friendly multimedia docking station, LCD television with satellite and cable channels, spacious wardrobe, stylish bathroom amenities, complimentary coffee and tea making facilities etc.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Central Market: 0.1 mi
  • SoHo: 0.1 mi
  • Lan Kwai Fong: 0.2 mi
  • World Wide House: 0.3 mi
  • Victoria Peak: 0.3 mi
  • Ice House: 0.3 mi
  • Airport Express: 0.3 mi
  • Exchange Square: 0.3 mi
  • Hong Kong Station: 0.3 mi
  • The Landmark: 0.3 mi
  • Sheung Wan: 0.3 mi
  • Western Market: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Finance Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Mid Levels: 0.4 mi
  • Central Market: 0.1 mi
  • SoHo: 0.1 mi
  • Lan Kwai Fong: 0.2 mi
  • World Wide House: 0.3 mi
  • Victoria Peak: 0.3 mi
  • Ice House: 0.3 mi
  • Airport Express: 0.3 mi
  • Exchange Square: 0.3 mi
  • Hong Kong Station: 0.3 mi
  • The Landmark: 0.3 mi
  • Sheung Wan: 0.3 mi
  • Western Market: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • International Finance Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Mid Levels: 0.4 mi
  • Statue Square: 0.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Hong Kong Macau Ferry Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Central Piers: 0.5 mi
  • St John's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Central Star Ferry Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Star Ferry Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Admiralty: 0.8 mi
  • Sai Wan: 0.8 mi
  • The Peak Tram: 0.8 mi
  • Pacific Place: 0.8 mi
  • Madame Tussauds Hong Kong: 0.9 mi
  • Harcourt Garden: 0.9 mi
  • University of Hong Kong: 1 mi
  • Hong Kong Arts Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Expo Promenade: 1.2 mi
  • Immigration Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Forever Blooming Bauhinia Sculpture: 1.2 mi
  • Golden Bauhinia Square: 1.3 mi
  • Wan Chai Ferry Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wanchai Market: 1.4 mi
  • Wan Chai Sports Ground: 1.5 mi
  • Wan Chai Waterfront Promenade: 1.6 mi
  • Happy Valley Horse Racing Track: 1.8 mi
  • Hong Kong Times Square: 1.9 mi
  • Temple Street: 2 mi
  • St Margaret's Church: 2.1 mi
  • Victoria Park: 2.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
-

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 AM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Butterfly on Wellington Boutique Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Butterfly on Wellington Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CompleteDisappointment
Business
Shanghai, China
Sep 16, 2013

Absolutely Horrendous, Will Never Stay at the Butterfly Chain Again

From the very beginning, the hotel failed to offer any semblance of hospitality, service, or quality. We booked multiple rooms, where members of our party had different arrival times into Hong Kong. Half of the groups' flight was greatly delayed, so we called the hotel in advance to forewarn the hotel we would need to check in very late and also asked the hotel to tell our other party members when they checked in that we would be delayed so they didn't have to worry. Both items were completely ignored. After a treacherous 5 hour flight delay and arriving very early in the morning, instead of being welcomed with hospitality, we were met hostility. Our reservations were for the Deluxe rooms with two twin beds. Not only did the hotel assign us the wrong rooms with single queen beds, but we first told two twin beds is just a "request" and the hotel does not have to fulfill requests, despite the fact that we paid additional money specifically for the two twin beds. Then, after I had clearly pointed out on our reservation where it stated two twin beds, the hotel attendant proceeded to blame the hotel's mistake on us because we were the last ones to check in, despite the ample notice that our international flight had been delayed. Because the upgraded rooms we paid for were given to other people, we would have to wait until the next night to get the rooms we were supposed to be assigned (no compensation or even a simple apology was given). My boyfriend and I decided we didn't need to change our room, but the other four members of our party wanted separate beds, so they changed two of the rooms the next day. We came to find out that the "deluxe" rooms we were given the first night were substantially smaller than the deluxe double twin rooms the other four members of our party moved into, making it apparent that the hotel placed us in their cheaper superior rooms, hoping we wouldn't notice. When confronted, the hotel manager said that the deluxe twin rooms that were given on the second night was an even greater upgraded room that the hotel conveniently does not advertise in any of their room offerings online. And moving onto the actual hotel and rooms. The one good thing I can say is the hotel is located in a convenient area 10 minutes walking distance from Central, but it is at a difficult to find address on a poor unkempt street. In addition, everything within the hotel was clearly poorly maintained. In the hotel room, we were met with dingy, dirty carpet that was damp, along with the bed sheets and comforter. Despite the air conditioner being on all day at an automatic 22 degrees, or perhaps in spite of it, sleeping in the bed was a truly wet and uncomfortable experience. Without a doubt, a complete disappointment in every regard. Needless to say, all six of us will never stay at Butterfly on Wellington again, nor any other hotel in the Butterfly chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Butterfly on Wellington Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Firelegion
Business
New York
Mar 29, 2014

Good location

Great price for the value! Close to the MTR station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Lan Kwan Fong.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Butterfly on Wellington Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spit Jack
Business
Vermont
Jun 5, 2012

Good location

The carpeting looks like it could use an update but other than that it was a pleasant stay. Generally clean room and close to the mid-levels incline. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

LKF bar area is just a short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Butterfly on Wellington Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlingame, CA
Mar 4, 2011

Great location, value moderate

We actually stayed here 2 nights flying through HK. Lobby and reception staff were great and courteous. Got a room on 7th floor which was very cute, clean, but something from the bathroom pipes really SMELLED and given the room is so tiny, it permeated through our room. The 2nd night we stayed (a week later), we checked in late. Staff again were courteous. We likely got the worst room in the hotel b/c they were booked full that night. On 2nd floor, carpets were stained. This room was actually smaller than the first, but no smell from the pipes. Had we had the room on the 7th floor with no smell from the pipes, this would have been an AMAZING stay. The hotel is centrally located and all in all, it is a great value for the $. I am wondering if we just had a little bad luck with the rooms we got. Service was also quite good and everyone was incredibly helpful with free internet access in lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Butterfly on Wellington Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jose G.
Business
Mexico
Apr 6, 2015

Business trip

For one or two nights is excellent. Great location above all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Butterfly on Wellington Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreamz2Go
Business
Orlando, FL
Mar 31, 2014

Repeat customer

FABulous location. Just what I needed for a couple day business trip. The staff is great, the location easy to find and the room just enough for comfort and peace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

FOOD is everywhere including immediately across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Butterfly on Wellington Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kourt
Business
Singapore
Mar 8, 2012

Perfect Boutique Hotel Chain

I recommend staying at the Butterfly on Wellington, but they had to move us to the Morrison location, which was fine. But the Wellington is super well located, in the middle of shopping and restaurants. The location of the Butterfly Morrison is far from Central, but near shopping at Times Square. The staff at the Morrison were great, very friendly and inviting. They made us feel very comfortable. The room was small, but nice amenities and clean room and bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Butterfly on Wellington Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oribtzguru
Business
Erie, PA, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Amazing Location

The Butterfly Wellington Hotel is Right in the downtown. The Crosswalk bridge is accessible in a few minutes leading to all the major sites in HongKong & the Train station!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Butterfly on Wellington Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WorldTraveler
Business
Texas
Jun 4, 2012

Hotel near Lan Kwai Fong

So I would recommend this place for anyone traveling alone and wants to check out the nearby bar scene. The room is spacious for one person, might be a little cramped for two ppl. The shower was great, not much space in the bathroom though. The staff is friendly and the wi-fi was decent. If you're carrying light luggage, you can actually walk to/from the airport express station (even make use of the escalators through the town). Otherwise, it's cheap to take a cab HK$25 from the station. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short 10 min walk to Lan Kwai Fong, highly recommend the value in the hotel for such a good location near the bar scene. Definitely nice to be able to walk back home after hitting the bar scene.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Butterfly on Wellington Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
slm269
Business
Baltimore MD
Aug 13, 2012

Great Time in Hong Kong

This was a small Boutique Hotel, so no real Ammenities, but it was a perfect location. Right off the escalator (an elevated walkway that makes it easy to get around), close to the main LKF bar area, shopping and metro. Nice Room. And good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If your luggage is portable, I would not get a taxi from the Train (train is easiest way to get from the Airport to Hong Kong). It is about a 5-10 min walk up hill on the escalator, in the evening the escalator moves up the hill, but you can still walk either way. Wellington St. is right after the first motorized portion. The hotel is a block down the hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top