$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
View map of 7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
154 reviews
Arrival/Departure Stay

The Hotel Barcelo was a great place to stay with an excellent value for the money. The room was... See full review

  • Carlos L
  • Apr 18, 2015
Guatemala City 2014

Very comfortable stay, staff very helpful and courteous nice rooms above average amenities. We... See full review

  • Rodney R.
  • Feb 18, 2015
The Barcel Guatemala City hotel is located just 2.5 km for La Aurora International Airport and 4.5 km from the city center. Within the main business area, surrounded by restaurants, shops and entertainment facilities.
This urban five-star hotel offers 395 elegant rooms equipped with everything necessary to ensure an enjoyable business or leisure stay. Within its facilities, this premium category hotel offers a business center, airline offices, travel agency and car rentals. Additionally, you may practice various physical/sports activities including swimming, racquetball, yoga or use our fully-equipped guest fitness center. If you'd like, you may also relax in our Natural Spa, which includes massage rooms and a beauty salon.
Since 2012, the hotel has completed major renovations to improve the rooms and various hotel facilities. In 2013, the hotel installed energy-saving devices in all rooms as one of our efforts to preserve the environment.
Enjoy the hotel's excellent culinary options through our room service or enjoy one of our gourmet international restaurants.
The hotel houses 25 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 1500 people, ideal for holding all types of meetingsfrom business events to conferences, conventions and social functions. Fully equipped and with Wi-Fi in all hotel areas.
Enjoy the high quality of services the Barcel Guatemala City hotel offers with the Barcel Hotels & Resorts Premium guarantee.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Guatemala City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Barcelo Guatemala City Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE CLUB PREMIUM
Junior Suite rooms measure 376 sq Ft. in the upper level bedroom available with one King Size bed or 2 double beds, and 376 Sq Ft. downstairs in the living room.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*They have 2 fully-fitted bathrooms with bathrobe and slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES:

-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing Per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR CLUB PREMIUM
These rooms measure 376 Sq Ft. with one King Size bed or 2 double beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Fully-Fitted Bathroom Bathrobe and Slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*Plasma Television
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room.

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES :

-Special check-in/out
-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room.
DOUBLE ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lobby Bar
Discover a sophisticated location for your most important business meetings. The lobby bar offers wide selection of soft drinks, coffees and wines. Open from 06 am to 11:00 pm
La Pergola
Enjoy the relaxed, friendly atmosphere and a delicious meal next to our jacuzzi or heated swimming pool in La Prgola Restaurant. Open from 10 am to 07:00 pm
La Vista
La Vista restaurant offers its customers a welcoming atmosphere to be enjoyed with friends and family. It has a buffet with different specialities, every day of the week, bringing together different ambiences in a single concept. Open from 6:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Strikers Sports Bar
Enjoy all the thrill of sports in Strikers Sports Bar. This bar offers its customers a safe, exclusive and pleasant atmosphere where they can enjoy the excitement of national and international sporting events, on any of our 11 plasma TVs or on the big screen, all of which are strategically located so that you dont miss a single shot. Open from 11 am to 1:00 am
Kyoto Japanese
Enjoy an unforgettable culinary experience of Japanese haute cuisine in the most exclusive of settings for a business meeting or family event. Open from Monday to Friday 12.00 pm to 03.00 pm Monday to Sunday 06.00 pm to 11.00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GaloV
Business
Los Angeles
May 2, 2015

Excellent for meetings

The internet is not good. All facilities are cleaned and conserved. I recommend for working meetings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tae J.
Business
BOSTON
Apr 27, 2015

Great Hotel, Great Staff and close to the hotel

We stayed here several times because we were traveling to and from Guatemala and the location was great because it was so close to the Airport which is very helpful when you have to fly out at 6:00 AM. The staff was great and the breakfast/lunch was quite good for being a buffet. I would recommend staying here for the value and convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ioana M.
Business
El Paso
Apr 21, 2015

Decent hotel

Decent hotel, i use it for business trips, location is good. Staff is helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlos L
Business
Elk Grove
Apr 18, 2015

Arrival/Departure Stay

The Hotel Barcelo was a great place to stay with an excellent value for the money. The room was clean and comfortable. The complimentary shuttle from and to the airport was very convenient. The front desk staff was professional, friendly, courteous, and very helpful. I am only giving a 3 instead of a 5 for Staff/Service because the waiters and waitresses of their La Vista Restaurant seemed not to care to provide a good service. Given the 5-star rating of Hotel Barcelo I was expecting their restaurant staff to be knowledgeable and trained in how to provide good customer service. But instead I found myself having to get up to look for someone to bring me water, or coffee, or to take my order, or even bring me the check. I must add that I was not being impatient, but I think anyone would be a bit upset if they have to wait 20+ minutes to have anyone stop by to check if you need anything, especially when you see them in a corner chatting and doing nothing. For example, it took over 45 minutes for me to get the dinner I had ordered, and this was not a complicated meal--it was a sandwich. This happened on the two separate nights I ate there, with two different wait staff crews. The other issue I have with Hotel Barcelo is that they do not provide free WiFi. They charge $10 for a 24-hour period. For a 5-star hotel this is ridiculous. It should be complimentary. Besides the shortcoming of the restaurant staff and the WiFi charge, I was very pleased with the comfort of the hotel, and especially the convenience of the airport shuttle. I hope they decide to train their restaurant staff better as well as opt to provide free WiFi access in the not so distant future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rodney R.
Business
Richmond
Feb 18, 2015

Guatemala City 2014

Very comfortable stay, staff very helpful and courteous nice rooms above average amenities. We enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJDC
Business
Miami
Feb 18, 2015

Great value

The rooms were clean, comfy, and the beds, sheets and pillows WONDERFUL, great location as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tae J.
Business
BOSTON
Feb 9, 2015

Great location and Great Staff!

This Hotel has airport pickup which is seamless and very convenient. Their staff is amazing and accommodating. If you are staying in Guatemala for any reason, I would recommend this hotel. Their pool is heated and very comfortable and their hot tub is actually hot and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danny
Business
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

Great staff and nice rooms

The staff at the Barcelo was great. Most everyone spoke decent English and were very accomodating with our needs. The hotel has three superb restaurants and all have freshly prepared food. The breakfast buffet, included with the room amount, was to die for. So many options that breakfast was an adventure every morning. The location of Hotel Barcelo was perfectly centralized. No drive took longer than 10 minutes and the cab fares were $7-$8 each way. We schedule a day trip to Antigua for $37 per person with an english speaking guide. He was extremely informative on the area and it was a splendid trip. The pool was grand and very clean and the jacuzzi was large enough to accommodate 12 people. The gym had everything one could ask for. Spinner bikes, treadmills, weight machines. There is also a full spy, but you got to schedule ahead for a pedicure. My one and only aggravation was that the bed in the room was way too hard for me. Like "no springs" too hard. The hotel was very accommodating and supplied a soft mattress topper which helped, but needless to say, I was very happy to sleep in my own bed again. I highly recommend this hotel if staying in Guatemala City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bengay for a sore back.......

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aerojas
Business
SAN JUAN
Jan 22, 2015

One of the best hotels I've visited

Excellent hotel, excellent staff, excellent service. It has everything: a swimming pool with warm water, bar, gym, spa. It is near the airport, shopping. My husband and I were captivated from the hotel and when we return to Guatemala, here is where we stay again. Thank you very much to all for being part of my great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAVID F.
Business
Littleton
Jan 17, 2015

This was a fun hotel close to shopping and entertainment

The atrium was great. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top