$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 11, 2014

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
126 reviews
Great Vacation Spot

We met some family members at the hotel for a weekend get-away and had a wonderful experience.... See full review

  • MW12222
  • Jul 10, 2014
Words can't express how great this place was

Free wifi, free gym/pool, free airport shuttle, and free breakfast buffet that honestly was the... See full review

  • Mary and bryan
  • May 25, 2014
The Barcel Guatemala City hotel is located just 2.5 km for La Aurora International Airport and 4.5 km from the city center. Within the main business area, surrounded by restaurants, shops and entertainment facilities.
This urban five-star hotel offers 395 elegant rooms equipped with everything necessary to ensure an enjoyable business or leisure stay. Within its facilities, this premium category hotel offers a business center, airline offices, travel agency and car rentals. Additionally, you may practice various physical/sports activities including swimming, racquetball, yoga or use our fully-equipped guest fitness center. If you'd like, you may also relax in our Natural Spa, which includes massage rooms and a beauty salon.
Since 2012, the hotel has completed major renovations to improve the rooms and various hotel facilities. In 2013, the hotel installed energy-saving devices in all rooms as one of our efforts to preserve the environment.
Enjoy the hotel's excellent culinary options through our room service or enjoy one of our gourmet international restaurants.
The hotel houses 25 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 1500 people, ideal for holding all types of meetingsfrom business events to conferences, conventions and social functions. Fully equipped and with Wi-Fi in all hotel areas.
Enjoy the high quality of services the Barcel Guatemala City hotel offers with the Barcel Hotels & Resorts Premium guarantee.

Hotel Map

14.5915 -90.5321
Area served
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Nearby airports
La Aurora International Airport.
Area description
It is conveniently located just 15 minutes away from La Aurora International Airport, within the business area, close to restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Guatemala City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Barcelo Guatemala City Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE CLUB PREMIUM
Junior Suite rooms measure 376 sq Ft. in the upper level bedroom available with one King Size bed or 2 double beds, and 376 Sq Ft. downstairs in the living room.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*They have 2 fully-fitted bathrooms with bathrobe and slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES:

-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing Per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR CLUB PREMIUM
These rooms measure 376 Sq Ft. with one King Size bed or 2 double beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Fully-Fitted Bathroom Bathrobe and Slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*Plasma Television
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room.

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES :

-Special check-in/out
-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room.
DOUBLE ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lobby Bar
Discover a sophisticated location for your most important business meetings. The lobby bar offers wide selection of soft drinks, coffees and wines. Open from 06 am to 11:00 pm
La Pergola
Enjoy the relaxed, friendly atmosphere and a delicious meal next to our jacuzzi or heated swimming pool in La Prgola Restaurant. Open from 10 am to 07:00 pm
La Vista
La Vista restaurant offers its customers a welcoming atmosphere to be enjoyed with friends and family. It has a buffet with different specialities, every day of the week, bringing together different ambiences in a single concept. Open from 6:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Strikers Sports Bar
Enjoy all the thrill of sports in Strikers Sports Bar. This bar offers its customers a safe, exclusive and pleasant atmosphere where they can enjoy the excitement of national and international sporting events, on any of our 11 plasma TVs or on the big screen, all of which are strategically located so that you dont miss a single shot. Open from 11 am to 1:00 am
Kyoto Japanese
Enjoy an unforgettable culinary experience of Japanese haute cuisine in the most exclusive of settings for a business meeting or family event. Open from Monday to Friday 12.00 pm to 03.00 pm Monday to Sunday 06.00 pm to 11.00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 126
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amor Martinez
Guatemala
Dec 24, 2012

Very bad customer service

I had my reservation for a double room, with two beds or king size bed; without any explanation, they gave me a simple room, similar to the rooms you get at a cheap hotel. When I saw it, I told them that that room was not what I had reserved, and they said the double rooms were not available because they were remodeling them. When I asked for the manager, I was told he was on vacation. A supervisor (Fernanda Mendoza) sent me to the business center to "get help." Two days later, I was on the street with my luggage and no room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guatemala Traveler
Lake Atitlan, Guatemala
Dec 25, 2012

My go-to hotel in Guatemala City

I stay in Guatemala City a couple of nights every two or three months, and the proximity to the airport is a big plus. I've tried other hotels, but I always end up coming back here. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and the rooms are great, as are the pool and the buffet breakfast. The staff has usually been very helpful, though there's a little room for improvement there. For example, on my latest trip I was left waiting for the early morning airport shuttle because the staff was chatting and didn't realize what time it was. I had to go ask them when the shuttle was coming, and they literally ran to it when they saw how late it was. The hotel is a little further from the Zona Viva restaurants than some of the other big hotels, but don't let that stop you; it's an easy walk or taxi ride. You can usually get one of the better deals on a nicer Guatemala City hotel here. When they have a special, the value is unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Apr 4, 2010

great hotel, fantastic.

It was a nice and clean hotel, friendly staff and helpful, the only thing I did not like was the security, it was a little bit intimidating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are nice restaurants around (good food), malls, boutiques etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoseJose
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Nov 7, 2011

Barceló Guatemala CIty

The service was very good and all the staff was efficient and attentive, I didn't have to wait for anything. Very comfortable over all. However the architecture of the building is not beautiful, your typical high rise and the location is kind of boring, would be nicer near the old center. All you have nearby is the regular americana and all the junk you can find in a strip mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Get to the old town. People say it's dangerous but it's not really and it has much more character and not full of "fresas" like the area around Barceló.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angel with a dream
Riverside, California
Oct 9, 2012

A very good and surprising experience

I was surprise of the exelent service and cleanliness of the room. It has the quality of the best for a good price and a convenient location. The security personel was the only low point, not the best manners and not very profesional. Like they said sometimes less is more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Thursday nights Salsa and Tropical music was excellent. and friday night Rock en Español music wa a very nice experience. By the way did I mention the beer?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbbadboy
Toronto, Canada
Aug 6, 2013

A Great Hotel In Guatemala City

If you're looking for a safe hotel located within minutes of Guatemala City's airport the Barcelo is a great choice. On top of the ample amenities this hotel becomes almost fortress-like with it's security after dark. All staff I encountered were friendly, courteous and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the rooms large and quiet. My only (very minor) criticism is that the full week wifi purchase I opted for needed a new passcode created almost daily but a quick call or visit to the front desk always resolved the issue in a minute, no big deal. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Barcelo again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jossmcboss
Australia
Jun 9, 2009

Quality yet again

I have now stayed at the Barcelo Guatemala City twice, and both times it has been excellent. I arrived well before check in time and they were still able to give me a room straight away. The room was huge and comfortable and the perfect place to recharge before heading off on a long haul flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The local shopping mall has a few good cheap take-away places if you're looking for more variety than room service/ the hotel restaurants offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
single one
LA California
Apr 14, 2012

Very convenient location for airport

I was just needing a hotel close to the airport for an early morning flight

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
calif
Feb 21, 2011

hotel

Breakfast buffet good and weight room good ,,,access to training club very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

antiqua great city only 45 minutes away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
guatemalteco fro sobe
Miami Beach
Apr 30, 2014

As expected

This is a hotel catering to tourists, so do not expect a resort type of atmosphere. Hotel is safe, clean, centrally located, and the staff is very helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the variety of dishes, both local and continental favorites, made each day a unique experience. The one thing that was bothersome to me was the artificial room deodorizer odor in the main lobby... not a fan of artificial strawberry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many fine restaurants to chose from in the Zona Viva. Just across the street from Avenida Reforma.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search