$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Jan 31, 2015

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
136 reviews
One of the best hotels I've visited

Excellent hotel, excellent staff, excellent service. It has everything: a swimming pool with warm... See full review

  • aerojas
  • Jan 22, 2015
Great Hotel for Any Traveller

The hotel is huge with every possible think you might want in there. Clean, friendly, welcoming... See full review

  • Tourist666
  • Dec 29, 2014
The Barcel Guatemala City hotel is located just 2.5 km for La Aurora International Airport and 4.5 km from the city center. Within the main business area, surrounded by restaurants, shops and entertainment facilities.
This urban five-star hotel offers 395 elegant rooms equipped with everything necessary to ensure an enjoyable business or leisure stay. Within its facilities, this premium category hotel offers a business center, airline offices, travel agency and car rentals. Additionally, you may practice various physical/sports activities including swimming, racquetball, yoga or use our fully-equipped guest fitness center. If you'd like, you may also relax in our Natural Spa, which includes massage rooms and a beauty salon.
Since 2012, the hotel has completed major renovations to improve the rooms and various hotel facilities. In 2013, the hotel installed energy-saving devices in all rooms as one of our efforts to preserve the environment.
Enjoy the hotel's excellent culinary options through our room service or enjoy one of our gourmet international restaurants.
The hotel houses 25 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 1500 people, ideal for holding all types of meetingsfrom business events to conferences, conventions and social functions. Fully equipped and with Wi-Fi in all hotel areas.
Enjoy the high quality of services the Barcel Guatemala City hotel offers with the Barcel Hotels & Resorts Premium guarantee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Guatemala City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Barcelo Guatemala City Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE CLUB PREMIUM
Junior Suite rooms measure 376 sq Ft. in the upper level bedroom available with one King Size bed or 2 double beds, and 376 Sq Ft. downstairs in the living room.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*They have 2 fully-fitted bathrooms with bathrobe and slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES:

-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing Per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR CLUB PREMIUM
These rooms measure 376 Sq Ft. with one King Size bed or 2 double beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Fully-Fitted Bathroom Bathrobe and Slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*Plasma Television
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room.

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES :

-Special check-in/out
-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room.
DOUBLE ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Vista
La Vista restaurant offers its customers a welcoming atmosphere to be enjoyed with friends and family. It has a buffet with different specialities, every day of the week, bringing together different ambiences in a single concept. Open from 6:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Strikers Sports Bar
Enjoy all the thrill of sports in Strikers Sports Bar. This bar offers its customers a safe, exclusive and pleasant atmosphere where they can enjoy the excitement of national and international sporting events, on any of our 11 plasma TVs or on the big screen, all of which are strategically located so that you dont miss a single shot. Open from 11 am to 1:00 am
Kyoto Japanese
Enjoy an unforgettable culinary experience of Japanese haute cuisine in the most exclusive of settings for a business meeting or family event. Open from Monday to Friday 12.00 pm to 03.00 pm Monday to Sunday 06.00 pm to 11.00 pm
Lobby Bar
Discover a sophisticated location for your most important business meetings. The lobby bar offers wide selection of soft drinks, coffees and wines. Open from 06 am to 11:00 pm
La Pergola
Enjoy the relaxed, friendly atmosphere and a delicious meal next to our jacuzzi or heated swimming pool in La Prgola Restaurant. Open from 10 am to 07:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (136)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 136
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale Az
Jul 7, 2009

BAD EXPERIENCE COMPOUNDED

Checked in on the 3rd of July and all was well. Went to dinner with friends in the city and upon returning to the room, discovered a message slid under door, explaining the water would be turned off from 8:00pm until 3:00am the next morn. This was not disclosed upon arrival. I contacted the Front desk and eventually was put in contact with [...] (I believe is her name) who offered to move us; and told us to await the Bellman. Enough time passed for me to go down and visit with [...], even asking her to help move me herself, since no Bellman had been dispatched. I then asked her why, if this was a 4 star establishment was I discussing moving myself, much less with the Manger's hands on help? She had no answer but assured me we would be moved and a new room in the adjoining Tower would be available; and a Bellman would come to facilitate the move. Twenty minutes later, my son and I moved our luggage. And,while making the move through the Lobby, [...] spotted us, apologized and sent the head Bellman over. He rode up the elevator, never lifted a hand to help and rode the elevator back down. [...] did compensate us with a Free Buffet, which made my son ill (lucky we moved to a room with a toilet). The new room was fine until the TECHNO CLUB next door CRANKED UP THE BASS and rattled us on the 7th floor. When we called the desk and asked when it would close, they couldn't say, but ALLOWED THEY COULD GET US IN, if we wanted to party. Our plane, leaving at 7:00am, required a 4:00am wake up so we passed on the club. I was INCONVENIENCED AND NEGLECTED. I want a REFUND FOR MY TROUBLE.Marriot did a much better job when they owned the establishment.PS The "HOT TUB" was a joke as well, with the pool being a few degrees warmer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Telegua and buy a cell phone for calls back to the states, don't go to the stores in the mall (Claro or Tigo). It is on the corner across the street from the mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marlborough MA
Jul 2, 2009

Barcelo.com

One of the things I didn't like is that the Internet was not included in the whole package, and that it was super expensive to use in the hotel. [...] was the person in charge and I explain her about the whole thing, but she was blind about. The other thing the pool broke down well overall the lost a customer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guatemala Gal
Business
Newark, DE
Jun 26, 2014

There is room for improvement

The Barceló is convenient, located close to the airport, and they provide a free shuttle, which is great. Our biggest complaint is that there is no free wireless or just plain internet, not even in the business center or lobby. The staff was not particularly friendly. The lobby is very fancy, but our room needed updating. On the positive side, the pool is very nice and the beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

If you have forgotten to buy enough souvenirs for the folks back home, the prices at the hotel gift shops are not too bad, and they have a decent selection.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chapin
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Good

An overall good review. A little expensive, but the location makes it for it. Safe neighborhood. Breakfast is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I recommend using the taxis parked in the hetel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jun1973
Business
Connecticut, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Personal

I spend one nite good place and nex time I hope can stay more to enjoy the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chepe pan de a cinco
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Awesome and good location!!!

My Wife and I used this hotel 3 years ago and we love to stay here. Wish they can offer free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For breakfast we went to los cebollines at the Plazuela España Zona 9, very good food and and affordable. To conmute within the city use taxi. is worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elfego
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 24, 2012

staff

People are very warm and helpful! I enjoyed it! It also is close to international airport (15 minutes); their shuttle services every hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask for tips in hotel (always).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Heart
Business
Long Beach, California
Dec 19, 2012

Gorgeous Hotel in Guatemala City

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is incredible. My sister became ill in the middle of the night and the staff located a 24 hour pharmacy, which also happened to deliver medicine to the hotel! I already recommended this hotel to family and friends, which is also how I heard about Barcelo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rumson, NJ
Mar 22, 2010

Barcelo Hotel Guatemala City

We chose the Barcelo due to its location near the airport. We would have preferred a more authentic Guatemalan experience but we were visiting Guatemala and wanted a convenient place to stay one short night between trips outside the city. The hotel was well located and provides an hourly shuttle to the airport. Bathroom and bedroom were comfortable and clean. Hotel is very Americanized. All staff speak English. We dined in the Sports Bar which offers American fare hamburgers and fries. There was a loud band the night we visted playing rock from the 60's. Music could be heard from our room on the third floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Airport shuttle every hour on the hour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dios es verdad
Business
Panamá, CA
Jul 29, 2010

Our visit barceló hotel in guatemal

take brekfast and dinner and some wine in the hotel, travel to almolonga city, to the Zoo in the city No, all was enjoyable in this travel. The previus trip was imposible because the Pacaya volcano close the airport Aurora in guatemala city may 28th 2010

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Travel to Almolonga city. In the way The military ask us for a portable document and passport. We stay the passpor at the hotel. They want that we pay money but I answer: No. we have ID, Card and we do not pay you for nothing and we goin to the city of God, Almolonga. The military said, ok no problem and now I know that God was with us. Aleluya!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top