$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2015 Check-out: Oct 4, 2015

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
View map of 7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Louisville Cajun
Single
louisville ,ky
Apr 10, 2011

Just Right

People were very nice and very helpful. If You don't know the area don't rent a car. I'm from the states and the driving is crazy Plenty of cabs, ask for price before going There is no cab meters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel footprint
Business
Orlando, FL USA
Apr 18, 2011

Good hotel. Very comfortable.

I was on business and having the additional charge for Internet use was incovenient. However, charges were accurate (for what I actually used). They are very secure -guards everywhere (no visible guns, thank goodness). Bring your swimming suite -great pool and sauna.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC Biz Traveler
Business
New York City
Apr 16, 2011

Great location, hard bed, avg gym.

Travelled there for business and the experience was solid. High speed Internet available. Solid restaurants, including Strikers, a sports bar. Great customer service, able to conduct foreign exchange transactions 24/7 at competitive rates. Very safe. Guards demand identity of all visitors after midnight. Great location near Zona Viva. One downer for me, the fitness center, equipment needs major upgrade (both fitness center, the large one and the smaller one). Also the beds are too hard and pillows are below average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Strikers sports bar offers a wide array of meals and a great sporting ambiance.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Gitano
Single
Union City, CA
Jun 2, 2011

Hotel Layover

This was one of the best hotels for the price I've ever stayed in. The room was perfect. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. I had a tenth floor room facing the mountains. The view was perfect. I like the small touches like a shower robe to lounge around in. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great travel store located in hotel

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Guatemala City
Feb 23, 2011

Excellent

Very nice experience. The Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The Hotel was very clean. I highly recommend this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Short Cab ride to the Malls.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jun 1, 2011

Great Service!!

The location of the hotel it's perfect. They have a free shuttle from the airport to the hotel and viceversa. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The most I liked it was the service from the Barcelo employees in Guatemala City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
guatemala
Jul 2, 2010

guate

great hotel with a very amenaible location. first time i stayed in guatemala city and will stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

although it can be dangerous around guaye city we had excellent help getting a safe taxi.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jossmcboss
Single
Australia
Jun 9, 2009

Quality yet again

I have now stayed at the Barcelo Guatemala City twice, and both times it has been excellent. I arrived well before check in time and they were still able to give me a room straight away. The room was huge and comfortable and the perfect place to recharge before heading off on a long haul flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The local shopping mall has a few good cheap take-away places if you're looking for more variety than room service/ the hotel restaurants offer.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Tennessee
Jun 4, 2011

Great place to stay near the airport

We had the basic room, which was extremely comfortable and had great amenities. Our location had a lousy view, but that was fine because of the discounted price. This place is first class. I hope to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Near the airport...the shuttle was exactly five minutes, although we left very early in the morning.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canrosa
Family
Seattle, WA
Nov 30, 2009

Barcelo Guatemala City

The hotel is located within 10 minutes reach to the airport. It is a nice 5 star hotel with spacious rooms, a big pool, well equipped gym and we appreciated the luxury after a couple of weeks travelling around Guatemala and staying in rather simple, basic accomodations. The only downside for us was, that they obviously had some construction work going on, all through the night. We had to switch rooms in the middle of the night because we simply couldn't stand it anymore. But apart from that it is a nice place, a good variety of restaurants and an excellent breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We had to spend a day in Guatemala City, which is usually not the safest and nicest thing to do. We ended up in the Zoo and enjoyed to be the only 'Gringos' between all the Guatemalan families and many, many kids. The Zoo is nicely kept in a beautiful tropical garden with a great variety of interesting animals which we usually don't find in our Zoos. So as a safe and relaxing recreational activity for everybody who happens to have to spend some hours in the city, I can only recommend it.

Back to menu Return to top