Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
View map of 7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Antigua fan
Business
Granite Bay, CA
Mar 15, 2011

Barcelo a quality hotel

Staff is very friendly and helpful, the hotel is very clean, and the breakfast was awesome. The only weakness, from our perspective, was the bed which was extremely firm. We upgraded to an executive level room that included many niceties, but the bed was only slightly softer. The hotel is located in a decent area where we felt safe. After five weeks in antigua, we returned to Guatemala City but opted for the Crown Plaza. Now that was great. We got all the benies required an upgrade at Barcelo. If we return, we'll opt for the Crown Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 16, 2010

I would have stayed more days!

The hotel is close to the airport and the staff is very professional and friendly. There was a musician playing piano while people ate at the restaurant. Overall, a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Centro de Ancianos + Elderly Center
Business
Attleboro, MA
Aug 11, 2011

Confort at its best

The hotel was gorgeous! The rooms were very nice, confortable and clean. The check-in was quick and easy. There were somethings missing though, the WI-FI service should have been complimentary of the hotel instead of having customers pay for it. Also shuttle services should be available more often, maybe every 30 minutes instead of every hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

When exchanging currency do it at the front desk at the hotel instead of the airport because here they pay at a higher rate.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eireboy1962
Business
Chicago, IL
May 31, 2009

Barcelo Guatemala City

Great hotel...excellent price...great staff...would stay again without hesitation...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
May 31, 2009

Sorpresa

Was a fantastic expeience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco CA
Jan 14, 2011

Better than I expected

I've stayed here twice in the last year. It's clean, they have a lot of visible security, and there is a restaurant (American Style) on the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 13, 2010

Fantastic experience

The hotel is beutiful , one of the staff members in the front desk were not very friendly, other then that the experience was greath

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dios es verdad
Business
Panamá, CA
Jul 29, 2010

Our visit barceló hotel in guatemal

take brekfast and dinner and some wine in the hotel, travel to almolonga city, to the Zoo in the city No, all was enjoyable in this travel. The previus trip was imposible because the Pacaya volcano close the airport Aurora in guatemala city may 28th 2010

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Travel to Almolonga city. In the way The military ask us for a portable document and passport. We stay the passpor at the hotel. They want that we pay money but I answer: No. we have ID, Card and we do not pay you for nothing and we goin to the city of God, Almolonga. The military said, ok no problem and now I know that God was with us. Aleluya!

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Nov 28, 2010

Great staff attitude

Staff was very friendly, spoke english and had great attitudes. Service was great. Staff had there own elevator. Everything you need in one place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Three restuarants in the hotel make it an easy choice to stay in, but just across the street are also some fine eateries. Room service was great.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dr.kathy
Business
Queensbury, NY
Oct 25, 2010

good place to stay

The room was great, comfortable and clean. The public bathroom in the hotel lobby, however, had only one functional stall...Free shuttle to nearby airport. The best part was the was the Saturday night grilled steak/fish/ribs buffet: all you can eat for Q169 (about $21!) Breakfast at the hotel was included when it was the Marriott, but the Barcelo charges separately. It is a great buffet, however, and worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

There is a great underground handicrafts market in Guatemala City. Ask for a taxi to take you there from the hotel. It is 3 levels deep, with amazing items to sell. Be sure to bargain!

Back to menu Return to top