$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
177 reviews
Great Vacation Spot

We met some family members at the hotel for a weekend get-away and had a wonderful experience.... See full review

  • MW12222
  • Jul 10, 2014
Words can't express how great this place was

Free wifi, free gym/pool, free airport shuttle, and free breakfast buffet that honestly was the... See full review

  • Mary and bryan
  • May 25, 2014
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City.

Its elegant 395 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure.
Enjoy the cuisine at its restaurants, relax playing sports at its facilities or take a stroll through the ruins of the Mayan city of Tikal.

Whatever your choice of activity, the Barcelo Guatemala City hotel offers you the best option.

Hotel Map

14.5915 -90.5321
Area served
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Nearby airports
La Aurora International Airport.
Area description
It is conveniently located just 15 minutes away from La Aurora International Airport, within the business area, close to restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Guatemala City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Barcelo Guatemala City Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE CLUB PREMIUM
Junior Suite rooms measure 376 sq Ft. in the upper level bedroom available with one King Size bed or 2 double beds, and 376 Sq Ft. downstairs in the living room.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*They have 2 fully-fitted bathrooms with bathrobe and slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES:

-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing Per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR CLUB PREMIUM
These rooms measure 376 Sq Ft. with one King Size bed or 2 double beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Fully-Fitted Bathroom Bathrobe and Slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*Plasma Television
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room.

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES :

-Special check-in/out
-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room.
DOUBLE ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

SIRABELLA RESTAURANT
Italian restaurant, open for lunch and dinner coming soon: Mediterranean Cuisine.
LA VISTA RESTAURANT
International cuisine, open from 6:00 am to 11:00 pm.
STRIKERS SPORTS BAR
Strikers sports bar, offers fast food and bar, open from 11 am to 1:00 am Monday to Sunday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (177)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Gitano
Union City, CA
Jun 2, 2011

Hotel Layover

This was one of the best hotels for the price I've ever stayed in. The room was perfect. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. I had a tenth floor room facing the mountains. The view was perfect. I like the small touches like a shower robe to lounge around in. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great travel store located in hotel

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoseJose
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Nov 7, 2011

Barceló Guatemala CIty

The service was very good and all the staff was efficient and attentive, I didn't have to wait for anything. Very comfortable over all. However the architecture of the building is not beautiful, your typical high rise and the location is kind of boring, would be nicer near the old center. All you have nearby is the regular americana and all the junk you can find in a strip mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Get to the old town. People say it's dangerous but it's not really and it has much more character and not full of "fresas" like the area around Barceló.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angel with a dream
Riverside, California
Oct 9, 2012

A very good and surprising experience

I was surprise of the exelent service and cleanliness of the room. It has the quality of the best for a good price and a convenient location. The security personel was the only low point, not the best manners and not very profesional. Like they said sometimes less is more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Thursday nights Salsa and Tropical music was excellent. and friday night Rock en Español music wa a very nice experience. By the way did I mention the beer?

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Antigua fan
Granite Bay, CA
Mar 15, 2011

Barcelo a quality hotel

Staff is very friendly and helpful, the hotel is very clean, and the breakfast was awesome. The only weakness, from our perspective, was the bed which was extremely firm. We upgraded to an executive level room that included many niceties, but the bed was only slightly softer. The hotel is located in a decent area where we felt safe. After five weeks in antigua, we returned to Guatemala City but opted for the Crown Plaza. Now that was great. We got all the benies required an upgrade at Barcelo. If we return, we'll opt for the Crown Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbbadboy
Toronto, Canada
Aug 6, 2013

A Great Hotel In Guatemala City

If you're looking for a safe hotel located within minutes of Guatemala City's airport the Barcelo is a great choice. On top of the ample amenities this hotel becomes almost fortress-like with it's security after dark. All staff I encountered were friendly, courteous and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the rooms large and quiet. My only (very minor) criticism is that the full week wifi purchase I opted for needed a new passcode created almost daily but a quick call or visit to the front desk always resolved the issue in a minute, no big deal. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Barcelo again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parrotheadchris
Business
Dexter, Maine
Jan 21, 2013

Great Hotel

I only stayed for one night but it was my third time staying at the hotel. The is great and the Japanese Rest. downstairs is great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Japanese rest.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canrosa
Seattle, WA
Nov 30, 2009

Barcelo Guatemala City

The hotel is located within 10 minutes reach to the airport. It is a nice 5 star hotel with spacious rooms, a big pool, well equipped gym and we appreciated the luxury after a couple of weeks travelling around Guatemala and staying in rather simple, basic accomodations. The only downside for us was, that they obviously had some construction work going on, all through the night. We had to switch rooms in the middle of the night because we simply couldn't stand it anymore. But apart from that it is a nice place, a good variety of restaurants and an excellent breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We had to spend a day in Guatemala City, which is usually not the safest and nicest thing to do. We ended up in the Zoo and enjoyed to be the only 'Gringos' between all the Guatemalan families and many, many kids. The Zoo is nicely kept in a beautiful tropical garden with a great variety of interesting animals which we usually don't find in our Zoos. So as a safe and relaxing recreational activity for everybody who happens to have to spend some hours in the city, I can only recommend it.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pauleywog113
St Albans, WV, USA
Oct 24, 2012

close to airport

very clean, great staff,very comforable. food good but expensive...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tennessee
Jun 4, 2011

Great place to stay near the airport

We had the basic room, which was extremely comfortable and had great amenities. Our location had a lousy view, but that was fine because of the discounted price. This place is first class. I hope to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Near the airport...the shuttle was exactly five minutes, although we left very early in the morning.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Unbunuy
Business
Mattehws, NC
Feb 25, 2013

Good Hotel for business travelers

Located in the Zona Viva, close to the Airport and has excellent staff. Breakfast was included with the room rate and is an excellent value . My only complaint was the time it took for the Hotel to send a shuttle which had been requested in advance, and check in was slow because they had only one person handling all the arrivals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top