$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2015 Check-out: Oct 4, 2015

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
View map of 7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gerri G
Couples
Woodbridge, Ct
Dec 2, 2013

wonderful cultural experience

the Barcelo was a perfect 4 star hotel. Overall we were very pleased, the food was very good, we did not get sick, that is always a good barometer, The outside of hotel was not as great as the inside but more than good enough. The service was above good also. Overall we were quite happy with our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

a mall and some cute souvenir shops close by

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gta. fan
Single
San Mateo, CA
Dec 16, 2013

Good for that night before the flight

Very nice room for the price, lovely staff, and FREE SHUTTLE hourly to the airport. Only downside was pricey food with only medium-good cooking (e.g. steak tender but came medium-well when ordered medium-rare), and not the type of neighborhood where we could have walked out and found good local food (only McDonald's and Pizza Hut visible). So, great choice for a restful, one-night transitional stay as long as you're not too food oriented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danto
Business
NYC
Jun 7, 2014

the best if you don't need foofy

Of course the Camino Real is more upscale, but to me it is too foofy and there is too much going on. Barcel├│ is nice and it is more laid back. The breakfast is pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Chicago
Apr 4, 2010

great hotel, fantastic.

It was a nice and clean hotel, friendly staff and helpful, the only thing I did not like was the security, it was a little bit intimidating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are nice restaurants around (good food), malls, boutiques etc.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DESTINATION FINDER
Couples
TAVARES, FLORIDA
Apr 4, 2010

"Fantastic family getaway"

WE HAD A GOOD TIME AND GOOD FRESH FOOD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dannyinla
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 16, 2010

Excellent ! Price and location.

Centrally located. For the price was perfect. Could use better food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the airport

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Rumson, NJ
Mar 22, 2010

Barcelo Hotel Guatemala City

We chose the Barcelo due to its location near the airport. We would have preferred a more authentic Guatemalan experience but we were visiting Guatemala and wanted a convenient place to stay one short night between trips outside the city. The hotel was well located and provides an hourly shuttle to the airport. Bathroom and bedroom were comfortable and clean. Hotel is very Americanized. All staff speak English. We dined in the Sports Bar which offers American fare hamburgers and fries. There was a loud band the night we visted playing rock from the 60's. Music could be heard from our room on the third floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Airport shuttle every hour on the hour

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Aug 3, 2009

Excellent businessd environment

Met with different business groups or individuals and there was always good service and environment wheather in lobbie area or resturant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Great buffet or menu in the Restaurante La Vista inside the hotel.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
calif
Feb 21, 2011

hotel

Breakfast buffet good and weight room good ,,,access to training club very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

antiqua great city only 45 minutes away

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pumgod
Friends
Uniondale, New York
May 9, 2014

Great experience!!!

Before i write my review , Please update my name to be Anthony Johnson not Ingrid. My stay at the Barcelo Hotel in Guatemala was pleasant, and i would recommend it to all my friends. I have stayed at several hotels in Guatemala city before, and the amenities at Barcelo far exceed the other four stars hotels i have been to.. I am looking forward in taking advantage of the discount in the future at that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

from hotel and the country airport

Back to menu Return to top