$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
View map of 7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zacapaneco
Business
Dallas, Tx
May 17, 2011

Good

It was alright

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Zona viva Guatemala city

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 28, 2009

Didn't think it was so great

We had been travelling for 8 days so arriving at the Barcelo was exciting. We got checked in right away to a small and dingy room. The hotel is very worn down and a first class hotel it was not. It was obvious that we were judged from the moment we walked in; looking as we did having trekked through Guatemala for over a week. The bed was clean, but the rest of the room had mismatched furniture, had a loud air system which kept us up most of the night, and the restaurant/bar downstairs was my first experience with food poisoning in Guatemala (and expensive too -- $30 american for two people eating lunch). When we checked out in the morning I asked for my frequent flier card to be added to the account so that I could obtain miles at which point we were told by one of the staff that because we rented a "cheap Orbitz room", we would not get any miles. The lobby was pretty, but overall, the hotel was very run down. Though we usually stay in 4-5 star hotels when we go away, my husband had stayed in the Clarion Suites in Guatemala City in May with a few friends and he said it was MUCH better than the Barcelo. The area around the hotel (there is a McDonalds and Pizza Hut within walking distance) is pretty grungy too. Not much to do, and all the security guards walking around with guns is very uncomfortable. Nothing fancy about the place; even the soap was cheap. I would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is very close to the airport.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guatemala Gal
Business
Newark, DE
Jun 26, 2014

There is room for improvement

The Barceló is convenient, located close to the airport, and they provide a free shuttle, which is great. Our biggest complaint is that there is no free wireless or just plain internet, not even in the business center or lobby. The staff was not particularly friendly. The lobby is very fancy, but our room needed updating. On the positive side, the pool is very nice and the beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

If you have forgotten to buy enough souvenirs for the folks back home, the prices at the hotel gift shops are not too bad, and they have a decent selection.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aramis 0811
Business
Puerto Rico
Jan 7, 2014

Very good

Excellent breakfast ,nice rooms,great service! Location the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Paseo Cayala

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bowlegs
Business
London, UK
Mar 25, 2014

Great stopover stay

Though the hotel is 20mins from the historical city centre, it's very convenient for the airport (with free airport shuttle service) so it's perfect for a stopover or final night of luxury. I had fantastic massage in the spa at a really reasonable price and all the staff were friendly and attentive, but not to the point where you felt they were just after a tip. My only gripe is that there's a 10 dollar charge for wifi. Why do so many hotels still charge for this?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Choycita
Business
Martinez, Ca
Apr 26, 2014

Guatemala Experience

Staff was awesome!!! Great security, cleaning, restaurants, information center, very helpful receptionist, and of course very luxurious clean hotel!!! I would so recommend it!!! Unjust didn't like that they didn't offer wifi for free knowing that you need it when your far away from your own country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Seafood buffet

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
guatemalteco fro sobe
Business
Miami Beach
Apr 30, 2014

As expected

This is a hotel catering to tourists, so do not expect a resort type of atmosphere. Hotel is safe, clean, centrally located, and the staff is very helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the variety of dishes, both local and continental favorites, made each day a unique experience. The one thing that was bothersome to me was the artificial room deodorizer odor in the main lobby... not a fan of artificial strawberry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many fine restaurants to chose from in the Zona Viva. Just across the street from Avenida Reforma.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Myers, FL
Dec 9, 2009

Wonderful weekend

Very nice restful hotel, most like USA. Food service employees very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Beach
Dec 28, 2009

Very nice hotel

We requested a non-smoking room and were given a smoke smell room. That was dissapointed. Other than that everything else was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lewis Holmes
Business
Middlebury, VT
Dec 28, 2010

Very friendly hotel in Guatemala City

Nice place, very helpful staff that are happy to speak English or Spanish. Good room, small but serviceable fitness room, decent restaurant with very friendly and helpful staff (changed all of the TVs to football without my asking as they knew I was interested in seeing what had happened that day).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top