$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
View map of 7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
122 reviews
Had a nice time.

It was my first time in Guatemala,Loved the Airport super modern and huge. Went to the Craft... See full review

  • KAROLY M.
  • Aug 17, 2015
Weekend Getaway

Our stay in this hotel was great we felt very safe at all times although we spent most of our time... See full review

  • Josue P
  • Aug 16, 2015
The Barcel Guatemala City hotel is located just 2.5 km for La Aurora International Airport and 4.5 km from the city center. Within the main business area, surrounded by restaurants, shops and entertainment facilities.
This urban five-star hotel offers 395 elegant rooms equipped with everything necessary to ensure an enjoyable business or leisure stay. Within its facilities, this premium category hotel offers a business center, airline offices, travel agency and car rentals. Additionally, you may practice various physical/sports activities including swimming, racquetball, yoga or use our fully-equipped guest fitness center. If you'd like, you may also relax in our Natural Spa, which includes massage rooms and a beauty salon.
Since 2012, the hotel has completed major renovations to improve the rooms and various hotel facilities. In 2013, the hotel installed energy-saving devices in all rooms as one of our efforts to preserve the environment.
Enjoy the hotel's excellent culinary options through our room service or enjoy one of our gourmet international restaurants.
The hotel houses 25 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 1500 people, ideal for holding all types of meetingsfrom business events to conferences, conventions and social functions. Fully equipped and with Wi-Fi in all hotel areas.
Enjoy the high quality of services the Barcel Guatemala City hotel offers with the Barcel Hotels & Resorts Premium guarantee.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Guatemala City also booked these hotels.

★★★
$90
3.3 / 5 20 reviews
★★★★
$76
4.6 / 5 16 reviews
★★★★
$100
3.5 / 5 6 reviews
★★★★
$80
4.0 / 5 24 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.2 / 5 18 reviews
★★★
$70
3.6 / 5 25 reviews
★★★
$73
3.6 / 5 5 reviews
★★★★
$95
4.2 / 5 14 reviews
★★★★
$109
5.0 / 5 2 reviews

Barcelo Guatemala City Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE CLUB PREMIUM
Junior Suite rooms measure 376 sq Ft. in the upper level bedroom available with one King Size bed or 2 double beds, and 376 Sq Ft. downstairs in the living room.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*They have 2 fully-fitted bathrooms with bathrobe and slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES:

-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing Per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR CLUB PREMIUM
These rooms measure 376 Sq Ft. with one King Size bed or 2 double beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Fully-Fitted Bathroom Bathrobe and Slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*Plasma Television
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room.

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES :

-Special check-in/out
-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room.
DOUBLE ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

La Vista
La Vista restaurant offers its customers a welcoming atmosphere to be enjoyed with friends and family. It has a buffet with different specialities, every day of the week, bringing together different ambiences in a single concept. Open from 6:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Strikers Sports Bar
Enjoy all the thrill of sports in Strikers Sports Bar. This bar offers its customers a safe, exclusive and pleasant atmosphere where they can enjoy the excitement of national and international sporting events, on any of our 11 plasma TVs or on the big screen, all of which are strategically located so that you dont miss a single shot. Open from 11 am to 1:00 am
Kyoto Japanese
Enjoy an unforgettable culinary experience of Japanese haute cuisine in the most exclusive of settings for a business meeting or family event. Open from Monday to Friday 12.00 pm to 03.00 pm Monday to Sunday 06.00 pm to 11.00 pm
Lobby Bar
Discover a sophisticated location for your most important business meetings. The lobby bar offers wide selection of soft drinks, coffees and wines. Open from 06 am to 11:00 pm
La Pergola
Enjoy the relaxed, friendly atmosphere and a delicious meal next to our jacuzzi or heated swimming pool in La Prgola Restaurant. Open from 10 am to 07:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pludema
Family
Massachusetts
Jan 23, 2013

Great hotel

I highly recommend this hotel as a start or end to a trip to Guatemala. I felt safe, comfortable and welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

to airport with free hourly shuttle

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amor Martinez
Single
Guatemala
Dec 24, 2012

Very bad customer service

I had my reservation for a double room, with two beds or king size bed; without any explanation, they gave me a simple room, similar to the rooms you get at a cheap hotel. When I saw it, I told them that that room was not what I had reserved, and they said the double rooms were not available because they were remodeling them. When I asked for the manager, I was told he was on vacation. A supervisor (Fernanda Mendoza) sent me to the business center to "get help." Two days later, I was on the street with my luggage and no room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lookout J
Couples
Los Angeles
Jan 6, 2012

Good Enough, I Guess

For our needs this hotel was sufficient. We had to stay in Guatemala City overnight in order to be at the airport by 5 am for an early international flight. After attempting to book directly on the hotels website, we were unable to because the server was down. After contacting the hotel via email they quoted us a rate that was higher than this site, so we booked through here. Upon arriving, everything seemed nice enough, but was slightly annoyed to learn that it would be $10 extra to have internet in the room. In an era when more and more hotels give you free wi-fi, that feels a bit like being nickel and dimed. It just leaves you with a better feeling when those things are free (also considering they were free where we stayed while in Antigua). When we went to the business center and we were told we could purchase a 12 hour wi-fi package for $7. The room was okay. However, after turning off the tv to go to sleep we could hear an unidentifiable and annoying humming noise the entire time. We turned on the air conditioning to try and drown it out, but that fan made an annoying rattling noise. It was late and our flight was early so I put a pillow over my head and did my best to ignore it. If we were there longer we would have asked to change rooms, which I'm sure they would have accommodated. Just wish they would look after details like these in the first place. Next time I might consider the Tikal Futura, if only because it is attached to a museum and a shopping center which might have been better to wander around in to kill sometime before our flight. The shuttle to the airport was on time and got us to the airport just fine. All in all a rather unremarkable place, I've spent $100 on a hotel before and had places with just a few better extra details that leave you walking away with a good feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
herndon VA
Apr 29, 2011

Looks Good but Bad Service

The Hotel have good location,the room looks clean and neat in general nice presentation but the tv not have good reception that's mean too many channels doesn't works properly and front desk people are rude because they denied parking for visitor and shuttle to airport and don't provide the right information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
looking for a great deal
Couples
san bernardino
Dec 3, 2012

Some what okay hotel

Make sure you take any confirmation numbers with you. They will try to put you in a smoking room even though you requested non-smokers room. Also, if you pay for breakfast make sure you take confirmation number because they will say it wash;t encluded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HALCON
Business
GUA
Jan 19, 2013

SAFETY XCEL

JUST LIKE ALMOST ALL HOTELS U HAVE TO READ A NEWSPAPER TO KNOW WHERE U ARE GLOBALISATION HAS MADE ROBOT HOTELS, NO MORE LOCAL CHARM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

NEAR AIRPORT

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GuaVenture
Couples
OC, CA
Aug 2, 2013

A bit disappointed

Room safe never worked and water for shower either cold or hot - also breakfast although plentiful not like others that have more local great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Marlborough MA
Jul 2, 2009

Barcelo.com

One of the things I didn't like is that the Internet was not included in the whole package, and that it was super expensive to use in the hotel. [...] was the person in charge and I explain her about the whole thing, but she was blind about. The other thing the pool broke down well overall the lost a customer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zacapaneco
Couples
Dallas, Tx
May 17, 2011

Good

It was alright

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Zona viva Guatemala city

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston, MA
Jul 28, 2009

Didn't think it was so great

We had been travelling for 8 days so arriving at the Barcelo was exciting. We got checked in right away to a small and dingy room. The hotel is very worn down and a first class hotel it was not. It was obvious that we were judged from the moment we walked in; looking as we did having trekked through Guatemala for over a week. The bed was clean, but the rest of the room had mismatched furniture, had a loud air system which kept us up most of the night, and the restaurant/bar downstairs was my first experience with food poisoning in Guatemala (and expensive too -- $30 american for two people eating lunch). When we checked out in the morning I asked for my frequent flier card to be added to the account so that I could obtain miles at which point we were told by one of the staff that because we rented a "cheap Orbitz room", we would not get any miles. The lobby was pretty, but overall, the hotel was very run down. Though we usually stay in 4-5 star hotels when we go away, my husband had stayed in the Clarion Suites in Guatemala City in May with a few friends and he said it was MUCH better than the Barcelo. The area around the hotel (there is a McDonalds and Pizza Hut within walking distance) is pretty grungy too. Not much to do, and all the security guards walking around with guns is very uncomfortable. Nothing fancy about the place; even the soap was cheap. I would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is very close to the airport.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guatemala Gal
Family
Newark, DE
Jun 26, 2014

There is room for improvement

The Barceló is convenient, located close to the airport, and they provide a free shuttle, which is great. Our biggest complaint is that there is no free wireless or just plain internet, not even in the business center or lobby. The staff was not particularly friendly. The lobby is very fancy, but our room needed updating. On the positive side, the pool is very nice and the beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: In Hotel

If you have forgotten to buy enough souvenirs for the folks back home, the prices at the hotel gift shops are not too bad, and they have a decent selection.

Back to menu Return to top