$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
126 reviews
Great Vacation Spot

We met some family members at the hotel for a weekend get-away and had a wonderful experience.... See full review

  • MW12222
  • Jul 10, 2014
Words can't express how great this place was

Free wifi, free gym/pool, free airport shuttle, and free breakfast buffet that honestly was the... See full review

  • Mary and bryan
  • May 25, 2014
The Barcel Guatemala City hotel is located just 2.5 km for La Aurora International Airport and 4.5 km from the city center. Within the main business area, surrounded by restaurants, shops and entertainment facilities.
This urban five-star hotel offers 395 elegant rooms equipped with everything necessary to ensure an enjoyable business or leisure stay. Within its facilities, this premium category hotel offers a business center, airline offices, travel agency and car rentals. Additionally, you may practice various physical/sports activities including swimming, racquetball, yoga or use our fully-equipped guest fitness center. If you'd like, you may also relax in our Natural Spa, which includes massage rooms and a beauty salon.
Since 2012, the hotel has completed major renovations to improve the rooms and various hotel facilities. In 2013, the hotel installed energy-saving devices in all rooms as one of our efforts to preserve the environment.
Enjoy the hotel's excellent culinary options through our room service or enjoy one of our gourmet international restaurants.
The hotel houses 25 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 1500 people, ideal for holding all types of meetingsfrom business events to conferences, conventions and social functions. Fully equipped and with Wi-Fi in all hotel areas.
Enjoy the high quality of services the Barcel Guatemala City hotel offers with the Barcel Hotels & Resorts Premium guarantee.

Hotel Map

14.5915 -90.5321
Area served
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Nearby airports
La Aurora International Airport.
Area description
It is conveniently located just 15 minutes away from La Aurora International Airport, within the business area, close to restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Guatemala City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Barcelo Guatemala City Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE CLUB PREMIUM
Junior Suite rooms measure 376 sq Ft. in the upper level bedroom available with one King Size bed or 2 double beds, and 376 Sq Ft. downstairs in the living room.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*They have 2 fully-fitted bathrooms with bathrobe and slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES:

-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing Per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR CLUB PREMIUM
These rooms measure 376 Sq Ft. with one King Size bed or 2 double beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Fully-Fitted Bathroom Bathrobe and Slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*Plasma Television
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room.

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES :

-Special check-in/out
-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room.
DOUBLE ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lobby Bar
Discover a sophisticated location for your most important business meetings. The lobby bar offers wide selection of soft drinks, coffees and wines. Open from 06 am to 11:00 pm
La Pergola
Enjoy the relaxed, friendly atmosphere and a delicious meal next to our jacuzzi or heated swimming pool in La Prgola Restaurant. Open from 10 am to 07:00 pm
La Vista
La Vista restaurant offers its customers a welcoming atmosphere to be enjoyed with friends and family. It has a buffet with different specialities, every day of the week, bringing together different ambiences in a single concept. Open from 6:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Strikers Sports Bar
Enjoy all the thrill of sports in Strikers Sports Bar. This bar offers its customers a safe, exclusive and pleasant atmosphere where they can enjoy the excitement of national and international sporting events, on any of our 11 plasma TVs or on the big screen, all of which are strategically located so that you dont miss a single shot. Open from 11 am to 1:00 am
Kyoto Japanese
Enjoy an unforgettable culinary experience of Japanese haute cuisine in the most exclusive of settings for a business meeting or family event. Open from Monday to Friday 12.00 pm to 03.00 pm Monday to Sunday 06.00 pm to 11.00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shelia
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 3, 2012

As good as it gets!

Exceeded all our expectations. Will recommend this hotel to all our friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the wonderful hotel buffet breakfast!

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hanryss
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Jan 1, 2014

Really Fancy Hotel

Good location, excellent facilities, great bathroom and bed qualities.. Wifi is $10 per day though. Jacuzzi and swimming pool are plus ones. You will love this place for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RayJ
Business
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Jan 28, 2013

Top Class Hotel.

I have stayed before and will stay there again. No need to look elsewhere Location, comfort, security, facilities, food, service, all first class. Excellent value for money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jcgonzalez
Business
Puerto Rico
Jan 15, 2012

My trip to Guatemala

A perfect place for both business and leisure...will definitely come back soon!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room Service and hotel restaurants were both inexpensive and beautiful.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jossmcboss
Australia
May 18, 2009

Relax and unwind

After travelling around Guatemala for a month, and hearing lots of terrible stories about Guatemala City, this hotel was the perfect remedy. Out of the main CBD, in the Zona Viva, it is quiet yet close to everything you need. The staff are incredibly friendly, the food great, and the surroundings really nice. The best way to unwind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Parque Central in the CBD is a 10km drive away. It's an interesting way to pass a few hours and the nearby market has plenty of souvenirs at the lowest prices you will find anywhere.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
funnyfaces
Oakland, CA
Apr 4, 2010

Great hotel!

Airport pick up was great! Walking distance to La Zona Viva.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MH2012
San Juan
Sep 18, 2012

Great value for money

Excellent hotel & excellent value for money. The hotel was clean, with great amenities. Close to shops and restaurants in the city (zona 10). Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JayNy1
Vero Beach FL
Aug 1, 2011

Wonderful

This is in the dead heart of Guatemala City I am happy with the hotel you feel safe there. The breakfast every day was wonderful you can take up the hot tube and pool until late. The pool bar closes early but i guess thats life. I was about a half hour from the volcanoes which I climbed and Antigua which was about half hour as well. Remember no Myan ruins but overall cool experience. It is a little 3rd world everyone carries shotguns or AK-47 and the kids just dont know how to stop begging but they have nothing. Just be carful when you are there it may not be a family vacation spot but for extreme climbing and great food every where and the fact it was cheap for 4 days I spent like 600 bucks on gifts food and cocktails.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Change over your american currancy as soon as you get there buy 500.00 bucks of there money. If you are at the hotel see how far you have to walk to get some where or you will blow through money for a block away. It is a ton of fun and the fact that Mcdonalds delivers unreal. If you go to the Volcano find Oscar for a tour guide he is cool and makes your journey even more fun!!!!

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mogo12
Monterey, Ca
Jan 3, 2012

Great place to stay In Guatemala City

Guatemala City has little to offer to tourists. But if you need to stay in the city for transit to another location in Guatemala, or for business, then this is a great place to stay. Nice and clean, and has all the amenities of a 4-5 star hotel. One big negative is no free wi-fi. Rooms are nice and have all the regular amenities. There is a business center, restaurants, spa, and pool. There is a free airport shuttle which is nice, but we had a slight issue with it, as they took us to the wrong terminal for our flight. The driver never asked us our airline, and we did not know that the local airline operates out of a different (far away) terminal. So we were in a panic to get the right spot in time for our flight. So if you do use the shuttle, make sure to tell the driver your airline. (the error was partly their fault for not asking, and partly ours for assuming it was all at the same place). The hotel is near to the airport and very convenient for coming in/out of Guatemala City. Other than our airport mix up, we were very happy with the room/our stay at the Barcelo, and recommend it to anyone. Was also a very good price and value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pludema
Massachusetts
Jan 23, 2013

Great hotel

I highly recommend this hotel as a start or end to a trip to Guatemala. I felt safe, comfortable and welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

to airport with free hourly shuttle

Back to menu Return to top

Change search