$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
131 reviews
Excellent hotel in a great location

Love this hotel. It's a little older, but it's well staffed, well maintained and in a convenient,... See full review

  • Steffisews
  • Dec 1, 2014
One if the best hotels I've ever stayed at

Amazing, beautiful room, great view. Nothing bad to say about this place. A bit expensive but worth... See full review

  • Joe Blum
  • Nov 28, 2014
The Barcel Guatemala City hotel is located just 2.5 km for La Aurora International Airport and 4.5 km from the city center. Within the main business area, surrounded by restaurants, shops and entertainment facilities.
This urban five-star hotel offers 395 elegant rooms equipped with everything necessary to ensure an enjoyable business or leisure stay. Within its facilities, this premium category hotel offers a business center, airline offices, travel agency and car rentals. Additionally, you may practice various physical/sports activities including swimming, racquetball, yoga or use our fully-equipped guest fitness center. If you'd like, you may also relax in our Natural Spa, which includes massage rooms and a beauty salon.
Since 2012, the hotel has completed major renovations to improve the rooms and various hotel facilities. In 2013, the hotel installed energy-saving devices in all rooms as one of our efforts to preserve the environment.
Enjoy the hotel's excellent culinary options through our room service or enjoy one of our gourmet international restaurants.
The hotel houses 25 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 1500 people, ideal for holding all types of meetingsfrom business events to conferences, conventions and social functions. Fully equipped and with Wi-Fi in all hotel areas.
Enjoy the high quality of services the Barcel Guatemala City hotel offers with the Barcel Hotels & Resorts Premium guarantee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Guatemala City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Barcelo Guatemala City Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE CLUB PREMIUM
Junior Suite rooms measure 376 sq Ft. in the upper level bedroom available with one King Size bed or 2 double beds, and 376 Sq Ft. downstairs in the living room.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*They have 2 fully-fitted bathrooms with bathrobe and slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES:

-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing Per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR CLUB PREMIUM
These rooms measure 376 Sq Ft. with one King Size bed or 2 double beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Fully-Fitted Bathroom Bathrobe and Slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*Plasma Television
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room.

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES :

-Special check-in/out
-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room.
DOUBLE ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lobby Bar
Discover a sophisticated location for your most important business meetings. The lobby bar offers wide selection of soft drinks, coffees and wines. Open from 06 am to 11:00 pm
La Pergola
Enjoy the relaxed, friendly atmosphere and a delicious meal next to our jacuzzi or heated swimming pool in La Prgola Restaurant. Open from 10 am to 07:00 pm
La Vista
La Vista restaurant offers its customers a welcoming atmosphere to be enjoyed with friends and family. It has a buffet with different specialities, every day of the week, bringing together different ambiences in a single concept. Open from 6:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Strikers Sports Bar
Enjoy all the thrill of sports in Strikers Sports Bar. This bar offers its customers a safe, exclusive and pleasant atmosphere where they can enjoy the excitement of national and international sporting events, on any of our 11 plasma TVs or on the big screen, all of which are strategically located so that you dont miss a single shot. Open from 11 am to 1:00 am
Kyoto Japanese
Enjoy an unforgettable culinary experience of Japanese haute cuisine in the most exclusive of settings for a business meeting or family event. Open from Monday to Friday 12.00 pm to 03.00 pm Monday to Sunday 06.00 pm to 11.00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 131
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tourist666
Business
New York
Dec 16, 2014

Great Hotel for Any Traveller

The hotel is huge with every possible think you might want in there. Clean, friendly, welcoming atmosphere. Great facilities, people on the front and tour desks were very friendly and helpful. Nice spa and free fitness classes. The hotel is located in the safe part of the city, there is a big supermarket around the corner, and a restaurant or two inside of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe Blum
Business
Stockton ca
Nov 28, 2014

One if the best hotels I've ever stayed at

Amazing, beautiful room, great view. Nothing bad to say about this place. A bit expensive but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

No tips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
guatemalteco fro sobe
Business
Miami Beach
Apr 30, 2014

As expected

This is a hotel catering to tourists, so do not expect a resort type of atmosphere. Hotel is safe, clean, centrally located, and the staff is very helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the variety of dishes, both local and continental favorites, made each day a unique experience. The one thing that was bothersome to me was the artificial room deodorizer odor in the main lobby... not a fan of artificial strawberry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many fine restaurants to chose from in the Zona Viva. Just across the street from Avenida Reforma.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jackie the runner
Business
Vermont
Apr 4, 2014

vacation

The staff was polite, helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. The room was lovely with a deck to view the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent food served.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bowlegs
Business
London, UK
Mar 25, 2014

Great stopover stay

Though the hotel is 20mins from the historical city centre, it's very convenient for the airport (with free airport shuttle service) so it's perfect for a stopover or final night of luxury. I had fantastic massage in the spa at a really reasonable price and all the staff were friendly and attentive, but not to the point where you felt they were just after a tip. My only gripe is that there's a 10 dollar charge for wifi. Why do so many hotels still charge for this?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gta. fan
Business
San Mateo, CA
Dec 16, 2013

Good for that night before the flight

Very nice room for the price, lovely staff, and FREE SHUTTLE hourly to the airport. Only downside was pricey food with only medium-good cooking (e.g. steak tender but came medium-well when ordered medium-rare), and not the type of neighborhood where we could have walked out and found good local food (only McDonald's and Pizza Hut visible). So, great choice for a restful, one-night transitional stay as long as you're not too food oriented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbbadboy
Business
Toronto, Canada
Aug 6, 2013

A Great Hotel In Guatemala City

If you're looking for a safe hotel located within minutes of Guatemala City's airport the Barcelo is a great choice. On top of the ample amenities this hotel becomes almost fortress-like with it's security after dark. All staff I encountered were friendly, courteous and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the rooms large and quiet. My only (very minor) criticism is that the full week wifi purchase I opted for needed a new passcode created almost daily but a quick call or visit to the front desk always resolved the issue in a minute, no big deal. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Barcelo again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Single girl from Chicago
Business
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Dec 31, 2012

A beautiful hotel and a reasonable price

I was quite impressed with the hotel. Not only was it beautiful, but I felt very safe. The food was a little bit overpriced, but overall it was a wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guatemala Traveler
Business
Lake Atitlan, Guatemala
Dec 25, 2012

My go-to hotel in Guatemala City

I stay in Guatemala City a couple of nights every two or three months, and the proximity to the airport is a big plus. I've tried other hotels, but I always end up coming back here. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and the rooms are great, as are the pool and the buffet breakfast. The staff has usually been very helpful, though there's a little room for improvement there. For example, on my latest trip I was left waiting for the early morning airport shuttle because the staff was chatting and didn't realize what time it was. I had to go ask them when the shuttle was coming, and they literally ran to it when they saw how late it was. The hotel is a little further from the Zona Viva restaurants than some of the other big hotels, but don't let that stop you; it's an easy walk or taxi ride. You can usually get one of the better deals on a nicer Guatemala City hotel here. When they have a special, the value is unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amor Martinez
Business
Guatemala
Dec 24, 2012

Very bad customer service

I had my reservation for a double room, with two beds or king size bed; without any explanation, they gave me a simple room, similar to the rooms you get at a cheap hotel. When I saw it, I told them that that room was not what I had reserved, and they said the double rooms were not available because they were remodeling them. When I asked for the manager, I was told he was on vacation. A supervisor (Fernanda Mendoza) sent me to the business center to "get help." Two days later, I was on the street with my luggage and no room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top