$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
131 reviews
Excellent hotel in a great location

Love this hotel. It's a little older, but it's well staffed, well maintained and in a convenient,... See full review

  • Steffisews
  • Dec 1, 2014
One if the best hotels I've ever stayed at

Amazing, beautiful room, great view. Nothing bad to say about this place. A bit expensive but worth... See full review

  • Joe Blum
  • Nov 28, 2014
The Barcel Guatemala City hotel is located just 2.5 km for La Aurora International Airport and 4.5 km from the city center. Within the main business area, surrounded by restaurants, shops and entertainment facilities.
This urban five-star hotel offers 395 elegant rooms equipped with everything necessary to ensure an enjoyable business or leisure stay. Within its facilities, this premium category hotel offers a business center, airline offices, travel agency and car rentals. Additionally, you may practice various physical/sports activities including swimming, racquetball, yoga or use our fully-equipped guest fitness center. If you'd like, you may also relax in our Natural Spa, which includes massage rooms and a beauty salon.
Since 2012, the hotel has completed major renovations to improve the rooms and various hotel facilities. In 2013, the hotel installed energy-saving devices in all rooms as one of our efforts to preserve the environment.
Enjoy the hotel's excellent culinary options through our room service or enjoy one of our gourmet international restaurants.
The hotel houses 25 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 1500 people, ideal for holding all types of meetingsfrom business events to conferences, conventions and social functions. Fully equipped and with Wi-Fi in all hotel areas.
Enjoy the high quality of services the Barcel Guatemala City hotel offers with the Barcel Hotels & Resorts Premium guarantee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Guatemala City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Barcelo Guatemala City Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE CLUB PREMIUM
Junior Suite rooms measure 376 sq Ft. in the upper level bedroom available with one King Size bed or 2 double beds, and 376 Sq Ft. downstairs in the living room.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*They have 2 fully-fitted bathrooms with bathrobe and slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES:

-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing Per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR CLUB PREMIUM
These rooms measure 376 Sq Ft. with one King Size bed or 2 double beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Fully-Fitted Bathroom Bathrobe and Slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*Plasma Television
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room.

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES :

-Special check-in/out
-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room.
DOUBLE ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lobby Bar
Discover a sophisticated location for your most important business meetings. The lobby bar offers wide selection of soft drinks, coffees and wines. Open from 06 am to 11:00 pm
La Pergola
Enjoy the relaxed, friendly atmosphere and a delicious meal next to our jacuzzi or heated swimming pool in La Prgola Restaurant. Open from 10 am to 07:00 pm
La Vista
La Vista restaurant offers its customers a welcoming atmosphere to be enjoyed with friends and family. It has a buffet with different specialities, every day of the week, bringing together different ambiences in a single concept. Open from 6:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Strikers Sports Bar
Enjoy all the thrill of sports in Strikers Sports Bar. This bar offers its customers a safe, exclusive and pleasant atmosphere where they can enjoy the excitement of national and international sporting events, on any of our 11 plasma TVs or on the big screen, all of which are strategically located so that you dont miss a single shot. Open from 11 am to 1:00 am
Kyoto Japanese
Enjoy an unforgettable culinary experience of Japanese haute cuisine in the most exclusive of settings for a business meeting or family event. Open from Monday to Friday 12.00 pm to 03.00 pm Monday to Sunday 06.00 pm to 11.00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 131
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pumgod
Business
Uniondale, New York
May 9, 2014

Great experience!!!

Before i write my review , Please update my name to be Anthony Johnson not Ingrid. My stay at the Barcelo Hotel in Guatemala was pleasant, and i would recommend it to all my friends. I have stayed at several hotels in Guatemala city before, and the amenities at Barcelo far exceed the other four stars hotels i have been to.. I am looking forward in taking advantage of the discount in the future at that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

from hotel and the country airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minnesota gril
Business
Minnesota
Apr 15, 2013

adventure

Nice hotel, all the facilities are beautiful, lots of security, several dining options. Prices of food and drinks are very high, and we ate quesadillas were made with a sweet barbecue, to my taste were very bad. The staff is very serious and hardly answer a question. If you go by the facilities and safety is a good option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LeslieandFaye
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Jan 15, 2013

Very Luxurious Sanctuary in Guatemala City

This hotel exceeded our expectations. Staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The security was excellent. The breakfast was very delicious every morning and filled us up for the whole day! We usually only had to eat a light dinner! The pool and hot tub were a great temperature and very clean. If I ever went back to Guatemala City I would stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iceman1
Business
NY
Sep 23, 2012

Nice place to relax or use as base

awesome!!! Nice place to relax or use as base to visit other places in the country

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guilietta
Business
Ohio, USA
Apr 10, 2012

My comfortable stay

The staff were very friendly. The facilities were beautiful and well maintained. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, A great place to stay when in Guatemala City!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mogo12
Business
Monterey, Ca
Jan 3, 2012

Great place to stay In Guatemala City

Guatemala City has little to offer to tourists. But if you need to stay in the city for transit to another location in Guatemala, or for business, then this is a great place to stay. Nice and clean, and has all the amenities of a 4-5 star hotel. One big negative is no free wi-fi. Rooms are nice and have all the regular amenities. There is a business center, restaurants, spa, and pool. There is a free airport shuttle which is nice, but we had a slight issue with it, as they took us to the wrong terminal for our flight. The driver never asked us our airline, and we did not know that the local airline operates out of a different (far away) terminal. So we were in a panic to get the right spot in time for our flight. So if you do use the shuttle, make sure to tell the driver your airline. (the error was partly their fault for not asking, and partly ours for assuming it was all at the same place). The hotel is near to the airport and very convenient for coming in/out of Guatemala City. Other than our airport mix up, we were very happy with the room/our stay at the Barcelo, and recommend it to anyone. Was also a very good price and value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dr.kathy
Business
Queensbury, NY
Oct 25, 2010

good place to stay

The room was great, comfortable and clean. The public bathroom in the hotel lobby, however, had only one functional stall...Free shuttle to nearby airport. The best part was the was the Saturday night grilled steak/fish/ribs buffet: all you can eat for Q169 (about $21!) Breakfast at the hotel was included when it was the Marriott, but the Barcelo charges separately. It is a great buffet, however, and worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

There is a great underground handicrafts market in Guatemala City. Ask for a taxi to take you there from the hotel. It is 3 levels deep, with amazing items to sell. Be sure to bargain!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
funnyfaces
Business
Oakland, CA
Apr 4, 2010

Great hotel!

Airport pick up was great! Walking distance to La Zona Viva.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nom aka World Traveler in a Jiffy!
Business
Los Angeles, California, USA
Jan 12, 2010

Guatemala in 4 days!

This hotel is a jewel of this city. It's proximity to the airport as well as an hourly airport shuttle makes it possible for one to explore the surrounding vicinity and even far flung community. One could fly to Flores early am to visit Tikal and be back at night of the same day. The staff were very courteous and helpful that one particular gentleman who offered us to come to our room early as we were tired from a red eye flight direct from Los Angeles. Thank you so much guys for my wonderful stay and keep up the excellent job. This hotel I highly recommend to all travelers esp first timers in Guatemala City in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's proximity to Zona Viva and all the other restaurants and mall makes this hotel a gem of the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top