$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
View map of 7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
155 reviews
Fantastic beginning to our tour

We had a marvelous time and the hotel staff was just outstanding. The location is situated where... See full review

  • Coco2
  • May 28, 2015
Arrival/Departure Stay

The Hotel Barcelo was a great place to stay with an excellent value for the money. The room was... See full review

  • Carlos L
  • Apr 18, 2015
The Barcel Guatemala City hotel is located just 2.5 km for La Aurora International Airport and 4.5 km from the city center. Within the main business area, surrounded by restaurants, shops and entertainment facilities.
This urban five-star hotel offers 395 elegant rooms equipped with everything necessary to ensure an enjoyable business or leisure stay. Within its facilities, this premium category hotel offers a business center, airline offices, travel agency and car rentals. Additionally, you may practice various physical/sports activities including swimming, racquetball, yoga or use our fully-equipped guest fitness center. If you'd like, you may also relax in our Natural Spa, which includes massage rooms and a beauty salon.
Since 2012, the hotel has completed major renovations to improve the rooms and various hotel facilities. In 2013, the hotel installed energy-saving devices in all rooms as one of our efforts to preserve the environment.
Enjoy the hotel's excellent culinary options through our room service or enjoy one of our gourmet international restaurants.
The hotel houses 25 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 1500 people, ideal for holding all types of meetingsfrom business events to conferences, conventions and social functions. Fully equipped and with Wi-Fi in all hotel areas.
Enjoy the high quality of services the Barcel Guatemala City hotel offers with the Barcel Hotels & Resorts Premium guarantee.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Guatemala City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Barcelo Guatemala City Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE CLUB PREMIUM
Junior Suite rooms measure 376 sq Ft. in the upper level bedroom available with one King Size bed or 2 double beds, and 376 Sq Ft. downstairs in the living room.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*They have 2 fully-fitted bathrooms with bathrobe and slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES:

-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing Per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR CLUB PREMIUM
These rooms measure 376 Sq Ft. with one King Size bed or 2 double beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Fully-Fitted Bathroom Bathrobe and Slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*Plasma Television
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room.

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES :

-Special check-in/out
-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room.
DOUBLE ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Vista
La Vista restaurant offers its customers a welcoming atmosphere to be enjoyed with friends and family. It has a buffet with different specialities, every day of the week, bringing together different ambiences in a single concept. Open from 6:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Strikers Sports Bar
Enjoy all the thrill of sports in Strikers Sports Bar. This bar offers its customers a safe, exclusive and pleasant atmosphere where they can enjoy the excitement of national and international sporting events, on any of our 11 plasma TVs or on the big screen, all of which are strategically located so that you dont miss a single shot. Open from 11 am to 1:00 am
Kyoto Japanese
Enjoy an unforgettable culinary experience of Japanese haute cuisine in the most exclusive of settings for a business meeting or family event. Open from Monday to Friday 12.00 pm to 03.00 pm Monday to Sunday 06.00 pm to 11.00 pm
Lobby Bar
Discover a sophisticated location for your most important business meetings. The lobby bar offers wide selection of soft drinks, coffees and wines. Open from 06 am to 11:00 pm
La Pergola
Enjoy the relaxed, friendly atmosphere and a delicious meal next to our jacuzzi or heated swimming pool in La Prgola Restaurant. Open from 10 am to 07:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 155
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coco2
Business
San Antonio
May 28, 2015

Fantastic beginning to our tour

We had a marvelous time and the hotel staff was just outstanding. The location is situated where it's within walking distance to the downtown area and there's even a grocery store a couple of blocks away. The area is absolutely safe to wander around, even at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tae J.
Business
BOSTON
Apr 27, 2015

Great Hotel, Great Staff and close to the hotel

We stayed here several times because we were traveling to and from Guatemala and the location was great because it was so close to the Airport which is very helpful when you have to fly out at 6:00 AM. The staff was great and the breakfast/lunch was quite good for being a buffet. I would recommend staying here for the value and convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlos L
Business
Elk Grove
Apr 18, 2015

Arrival/Departure Stay

The Hotel Barcelo was a great place to stay with an excellent value for the money. The room was clean and comfortable. The complimentary shuttle from and to the airport was very convenient. The front desk staff was professional, friendly, courteous, and very helpful. I am only giving a 3 instead of a 5 for Staff/Service because the waiters and waitresses of their La Vista Restaurant seemed not to care to provide a good service. Given the 5-star rating of Hotel Barcelo I was expecting their restaurant staff to be knowledgeable and trained in how to provide good customer service. But instead I found myself having to get up to look for someone to bring me water, or coffee, or to take my order, or even bring me the check. I must add that I was not being impatient, but I think anyone would be a bit upset if they have to wait 20+ minutes to have anyone stop by to check if you need anything, especially when you see them in a corner chatting and doing nothing. For example, it took over 45 minutes for me to get the dinner I had ordered, and this was not a complicated meal--it was a sandwich. This happened on the two separate nights I ate there, with two different wait staff crews. The other issue I have with Hotel Barcelo is that they do not provide free WiFi. They charge $10 for a 24-hour period. For a 5-star hotel this is ridiculous. It should be complimentary. Besides the shortcoming of the restaurant staff and the WiFi charge, I was very pleased with the comfort of the hotel, and especially the convenience of the airport shuttle. I hope they decide to train their restaurant staff better as well as opt to provide free WiFi access in the not so distant future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rodney R.
Business
Richmond
Feb 18, 2015

Guatemala City 2014

Very comfortable stay, staff very helpful and courteous nice rooms above average amenities. We enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danny
Business
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

Great staff and nice rooms

The staff at the Barcelo was great. Most everyone spoke decent English and were very accomodating with our needs. The hotel has three superb restaurants and all have freshly prepared food. The breakfast buffet, included with the room amount, was to die for. So many options that breakfast was an adventure every morning. The location of Hotel Barcelo was perfectly centralized. No drive took longer than 10 minutes and the cab fares were $7-$8 each way. We schedule a day trip to Antigua for $37 per person with an english speaking guide. He was extremely informative on the area and it was a splendid trip. The pool was grand and very clean and the jacuzzi was large enough to accommodate 12 people. The gym had everything one could ask for. Spinner bikes, treadmills, weight machines. There is also a full spy, but you got to schedule ahead for a pedicure. My one and only aggravation was that the bed in the room was way too hard for me. Like "no springs" too hard. The hotel was very accommodating and supplied a soft mattress topper which helped, but needless to say, I was very happy to sleep in my own bed again. I highly recommend this hotel if staying in Guatemala City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bengay for a sore back.......

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickname1234
Business
Tennessee
Jun 29, 2014

Good place

Good business class hotel. Needs free WIFI. Airport shuttle ran on time as promised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
April S
Business
upland, california
Jun 22, 2014

Beautiful place to stay

i was very impressed with how helpful the staff was. The hotel was clean and had lots to do. I found it to be in a great location. The room was very comfortable, the pool was great. I would definitly stay again. The only minor set back was the wifi at $10.00 a day it was a little steep. But overall loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary and bryan
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
May 25, 2014

Words can't express how great this place was

Free wifi, free gym/pool, free airport shuttle, and free breakfast buffet that honestly was the best buffet I've ever been at (would've been worth the cost of the room alone) - after staying here, we considered flying to Guatemala again JUST to stay here. Amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Choycita
Business
Martinez, Ca
Apr 26, 2014

Guatemala Experience

Staff was awesome!!! Great security, cleaning, restaurants, information center, very helpful receptionist, and of course very luxurious clean hotel!!! I would so recommend it!!! Unjust didn't like that they didn't offer wifi for free knowing that you need it when your far away from your own country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Seafood buffet

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guiller77
Business
Ft lauderdale,fl
Jan 28, 2014

Family trip

Great hotel,great staff,great city!!!the hotel verry clean,staff is awsome and verry quiet rooms! Love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top