$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
177 reviews
Great Vacation Spot

We met some family members at the hotel for a weekend get-away and had a wonderful experience.... See full review

  • MW12222
  • Jul 10, 2014
Words can't express how great this place was

Free wifi, free gym/pool, free airport shuttle, and free breakfast buffet that honestly was the... See full review

  • Mary and bryan
  • May 25, 2014
The Barcelo Guatemala City hotel is set right in the heart of the city, in the main business district, and surrounded by restaurants, shops and places of entertainment in Guatemala City.

Its elegant 395 rooms offer high-speed Internet connection and numerous facilities to make your stay an enjoyable one, be it for business or pleasure.
Enjoy the cuisine at its restaurants, relax playing sports at its facilities or take a stroll through the ruins of the Mayan city of Tikal.

Whatever your choice of activity, the Barcelo Guatemala City hotel offers you the best option.

Hotel Map

14.5915 -90.5321
Area served
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Nearby airports
La Aurora International Airport.
Area description
It is conveniently located just 15 minutes away from La Aurora International Airport, within the business area, close to restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Guatemala City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Barcelo Guatemala City Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE CLUB PREMIUM
Junior Suite rooms measure 376 sq Ft. in the upper level bedroom available with one King Size bed or 2 double beds, and 376 Sq Ft. downstairs in the living room.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*They have 2 fully-fitted bathrooms with bathrobe and slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES:

-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing Per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR CLUB PREMIUM
These rooms measure 376 Sq Ft. with one King Size bed or 2 double beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Fully-Fitted Bathroom Bathrobe and Slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*Plasma Television
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room.

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES :

-Special check-in/out
-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room.
DOUBLE ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

SIRABELLA RESTAURANT
Italian restaurant, open for lunch and dinner coming soon: Mediterranean Cuisine.
LA VISTA RESTAURANT
International cuisine, open from 6:00 am to 11:00 pm.
STRIKERS SPORTS BAR
Strikers sports bar, offers fast food and bar, open from 11 am to 1:00 am Monday to Sunday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (177)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amor Martinez
Guatemala
Dec 24, 2012

Very bad customer service

I had my reservation for a double room, with two beds or king size bed; without any explanation, they gave me a simple room, similar to the rooms you get at a cheap hotel. When I saw it, I told them that that room was not what I had reserved, and they said the double rooms were not available because they were remodeling them. When I asked for the manager, I was told he was on vacation. A supervisor (Fernanda Mendoza) sent me to the business center to "get help." Two days later, I was on the street with my luggage and no room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scottsdale Az
Jul 7, 2009

BAD EXPERIENCE COMPOUNDED

Checked in on the 3rd of July and all was well. Went to dinner with friends in the city and upon returning to the room, discovered a message slid under door, explaining the water would be turned off from 8:00pm until 3:00am the next morn. This was not disclosed upon arrival. I contacted the Front desk and eventually was put in contact with [...] (I believe is her name) who offered to move us; and told us to await the Bellman. Enough time passed for me to go down and visit with [...], even asking her to help move me herself, since no Bellman had been dispatched. I then asked her why, if this was a 4 star establishment was I discussing moving myself, much less with the Manger's hands on help? She had no answer but assured me we would be moved and a new room in the adjoining Tower would be available; and a Bellman would come to facilitate the move. Twenty minutes later, my son and I moved our luggage. And,while making the move through the Lobby, [...] spotted us, apologized and sent the head Bellman over. He rode up the elevator, never lifted a hand to help and rode the elevator back down. [...] did compensate us with a Free Buffet, which made my son ill (lucky we moved to a room with a toilet). The new room was fine until the TECHNO CLUB next door CRANKED UP THE BASS and rattled us on the 7th floor. When we called the desk and asked when it would close, they couldn't say, but ALLOWED THEY COULD GET US IN, if we wanted to party. Our plane, leaving at 7:00am, required a 4:00am wake up so we passed on the club. I was INCONVENIENCED AND NEGLECTED. I want a REFUND FOR MY TROUBLE.Marriot did a much better job when they owned the establishment.PS The "HOT TUB" was a joke as well, with the pool being a few degrees warmer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Telegua and buy a cell phone for calls back to the states, don't go to the stores in the mall (Claro or Tigo). It is on the corner across the street from the mall.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chayito
Miami
Nov 28, 2012

Security need common sence

Family members were visiting the last day of my stay in the hotel. They required my brother, sister in law and nephew to show an ID. My sister in law was not carrying one. They did not let my sister go to my room. They kept saying it was for my security that they were doing that but I was the one asking them to let her come to my room. The manager at the moment offered me to write a complain in the book they have for that purpose but I didn't want to go through any more trouble. By the time I was already feelling insecure and afraid of that kind of "security" they have. My sister in law had to stay in the living room waiting for her family to come down. I will never use that hotel anymore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lookout J
Los Angeles
Jan 6, 2012

Good Enough, I Guess

For our needs this hotel was sufficient. We had to stay in Guatemala City overnight in order to be at the airport by 5 am for an early international flight. After attempting to book directly on the hotels website, we were unable to because the server was down. After contacting the hotel via email they quoted us a rate that was higher than this site, so we booked through here. Upon arriving, everything seemed nice enough, but was slightly annoyed to learn that it would be $10 extra to have internet in the room. In an era when more and more hotels give you free wi-fi, that feels a bit like being nickel and dimed. It just leaves you with a better feeling when those things are free (also considering they were free where we stayed while in Antigua). When we went to the business center and we were told we could purchase a 12 hour wi-fi package for $7. The room was okay. However, after turning off the tv to go to sleep we could hear an unidentifiable and annoying humming noise the entire time. We turned on the air conditioning to try and drown it out, but that fan made an annoying rattling noise. It was late and our flight was early so I put a pillow over my head and did my best to ignore it. If we were there longer we would have asked to change rooms, which I'm sure they would have accommodated. Just wish they would look after details like these in the first place. Next time I might consider the Tikal Futura, if only because it is attached to a museum and a shopping center which might have been better to wander around in to kill sometime before our flight. The shuttle to the airport was on time and got us to the airport just fine. All in all a rather unremarkable place, I've spent $100 on a hotel before and had places with just a few better extra details that leave you walking away with a good feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
herndon VA
Apr 29, 2011

Looks Good but Bad Service

The Hotel have good location,the room looks clean and neat in general nice presentation but the tv not have good reception that's mean too many channels doesn't works properly and front desk people are rude because they denied parking for visitor and shuttle to airport and don't provide the right information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
herndon VA
Apr 29, 2011

Looks Good but Bad Service

The Hotel have good location,the room looks clean and neat in general nice presentation but the tv not have good reception that's mean too many channels doesn't works properly and front desk people are rude because they denied parking for visitor and shuttle to airport and don't provide the right information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 28, 2009

Didn't think it was so great

We had been travelling for 8 days so arriving at the Barcelo was exciting. We got checked in right away to a small and dingy room. The hotel is very worn down and a first class hotel it was not. It was obvious that we were judged from the moment we walked in; looking as we did having trekked through Guatemala for over a week. The bed was clean, but the rest of the room had mismatched furniture, had a loud air system which kept us up most of the night, and the restaurant/bar downstairs was my first experience with food poisoning in Guatemala (and expensive too -- $30 american for two people eating lunch). When we checked out in the morning I asked for my frequent flier card to be added to the account so that I could obtain miles at which point we were told by one of the staff that because we rented a "cheap Orbitz room", we would not get any miles. The lobby was pretty, but overall, the hotel was very run down. Though we usually stay in 4-5 star hotels when we go away, my husband had stayed in the Clarion Suites in Guatemala City in May with a few friends and he said it was MUCH better than the Barcelo. The area around the hotel (there is a McDonalds and Pizza Hut within walking distance) is pretty grungy too. Not much to do, and all the security guards walking around with guns is very uncomfortable. Nothing fancy about the place; even the soap was cheap. I would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is very close to the airport.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 28, 2009

Didn't think it was so great

We had been travelling for 8 days so arriving at the Barcelo was exciting. We got checked in right away to a small and dingy room. The hotel is very worn down and a first class hotel it was not. It was obvious that we were judged from the moment we walked in; looking as we did having trekked through Guatemala for over a week. The bed was clean, but the rest of the room had mismatched furniture, had a loud air system which kept us up most of the night, and the restaurant/bar downstairs was my first experience with food poisoning in Guatemala (and expensive too -- $30 american for two people eating lunch). When we checked out in the morning I asked for my frequent flier card to be added to the account so that I could obtain miles at which point we were told by one of the staff that because we rented a "cheap Orbitz room", we would not get any miles. The lobby was pretty, but overall, the hotel was very run down. Though we usually stay in 4-5 star hotels when we go away, my husband had stayed in the Clarion Suites in Guatemala City in May with a few friends and he said it was MUCH better than the Barcelo. The area around the hotel (there is a McDonalds and Pizza Hut within walking distance) is pretty grungy too. Not much to do, and all the security guards walking around with guns is very uncomfortable. Nothing fancy about the place; even the soap was cheap. I would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is very close to the airport.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GuaVenture
OC, CA
Aug 2, 2013

A bit disappointed

Room safe never worked and water for shower either cold or hot - also breakfast although plentiful not like others that have more local great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marlborough MA
Jul 2, 2009

Barcelo.com

One of the things I didn't like is that the Internet was not included in the whole package, and that it was super expensive to use in the hotel. [...] was the person in charge and I explain her about the whole thing, but she was blind about. The other thing the pool broke down well overall the lost a customer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top