$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
133 reviews
Had a flight to catch the next day.

The the hotel and rooms where super clean, Nice restaurant and pool. And only 10 minutes from the... See full review

  • norberto c.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Excellent hotel in a great location

Love this hotel. It's a little older, but it's well staffed, well maintained and in a convenient,... See full review

  • Steffisews
  • Dec 1, 2014
The Barcel Guatemala City hotel is located just 2.5 km for La Aurora International Airport and 4.5 km from the city center. Within the main business area, surrounded by restaurants, shops and entertainment facilities.
This urban five-star hotel offers 395 elegant rooms equipped with everything necessary to ensure an enjoyable business or leisure stay. Within its facilities, this premium category hotel offers a business center, airline offices, travel agency and car rentals. Additionally, you may practice various physical/sports activities including swimming, racquetball, yoga or use our fully-equipped guest fitness center. If you'd like, you may also relax in our Natural Spa, which includes massage rooms and a beauty salon.
Since 2012, the hotel has completed major renovations to improve the rooms and various hotel facilities. In 2013, the hotel installed energy-saving devices in all rooms as one of our efforts to preserve the environment.
Enjoy the hotel's excellent culinary options through our room service or enjoy one of our gourmet international restaurants.
The hotel houses 25 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 1500 people, ideal for holding all types of meetingsfrom business events to conferences, conventions and social functions. Fully equipped and with Wi-Fi in all hotel areas.
Enjoy the high quality of services the Barcel Guatemala City hotel offers with the Barcel Hotels & Resorts Premium guarantee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Guatemala City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Barcelo Guatemala City Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE CLUB PREMIUM
Junior Suite rooms measure 376 sq Ft. in the upper level bedroom available with one King Size bed or 2 double beds, and 376 Sq Ft. downstairs in the living room.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*They have 2 fully-fitted bathrooms with bathrobe and slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES:

-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing Per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR CLUB PREMIUM
These rooms measure 376 Sq Ft. with one King Size bed or 2 double beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Fully-Fitted Bathroom Bathrobe and Slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*Plasma Television
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room.

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES :

-Special check-in/out
-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room.
DOUBLE ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Vista
La Vista restaurant offers its customers a welcoming atmosphere to be enjoyed with friends and family. It has a buffet with different specialities, every day of the week, bringing together different ambiences in a single concept. Open from 6:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Strikers Sports Bar
Enjoy all the thrill of sports in Strikers Sports Bar. This bar offers its customers a safe, exclusive and pleasant atmosphere where they can enjoy the excitement of national and international sporting events, on any of our 11 plasma TVs or on the big screen, all of which are strategically located so that you dont miss a single shot. Open from 11 am to 1:00 am
Kyoto Japanese
Enjoy an unforgettable culinary experience of Japanese haute cuisine in the most exclusive of settings for a business meeting or family event. Open from Monday to Friday 12.00 pm to 03.00 pm Monday to Sunday 06.00 pm to 11.00 pm
Lobby Bar
Discover a sophisticated location for your most important business meetings. The lobby bar offers wide selection of soft drinks, coffees and wines. Open from 06 am to 11:00 pm
La Pergola
Enjoy the relaxed, friendly atmosphere and a delicious meal next to our jacuzzi or heated swimming pool in La Prgola Restaurant. Open from 10 am to 07:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pludema
Massachusetts
Jan 23, 2013

Great hotel

I highly recommend this hotel as a start or end to a trip to Guatemala. I felt safe, comfortable and welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

to airport with free hourly shuttle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chepe pan de a cinco
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Awesome and good location!!!

My Wife and I used this hotel 3 years ago and we love to stay here. Wish they can offer free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For breakfast we went to los cebollines at the Plazuela España Zona 9, very good food and and affordable. To conmute within the city use taxi. is worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shelia
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 3, 2012

As good as it gets!

Exceeded all our expectations. Will recommend this hotel to all our friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the wonderful hotel buffet breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nelo
Business
Quito, Ecuador
Mar 26, 2012

Great Hotel!

Good breakfast, good location and staff were very helpfull

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike in Guatemala
Business
Florida, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Excellent Value in Guatemala City

Very nice, modern hotel in good part of the city. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ingrid mi bella dama
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 30, 2012

excellent atmospheric

Can't complain, every thing was great and save, and was a really great experience to be in Barcelo Hotel , I can go back to the same one again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

yes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jcgonzalez
Business
Puerto Rico
Jan 15, 2012

My trip to Guatemala

A perfect place for both business and leisure...will definitely come back soon!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room Service and hotel restaurants were both inexpensive and beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lookout J
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 6, 2012

Good Enough, I Guess

For our needs this hotel was sufficient. We had to stay in Guatemala City overnight in order to be at the airport by 5 am for an early international flight. After attempting to book directly on the hotels website, we were unable to because the server was down. After contacting the hotel via email they quoted us a rate that was higher than this site, so we booked through here. Upon arriving, everything seemed nice enough, but was slightly annoyed to learn that it would be $10 extra to have internet in the room. In an era when more and more hotels give you free wi-fi, that feels a bit like being nickel and dimed. It just leaves you with a better feeling when those things are free (also considering they were free where we stayed while in Antigua). When we went to the business center and we were told we could purchase a 12 hour wi-fi package for $7. The room was okay. However, after turning off the tv to go to sleep we could hear an unidentifiable and annoying humming noise the entire time. We turned on the air conditioning to try and drown it out, but that fan made an annoying rattling noise. It was late and our flight was early so I put a pillow over my head and did my best to ignore it. If we were there longer we would have asked to change rooms, which I'm sure they would have accommodated. Just wish they would look after details like these in the first place. Next time I might consider the Tikal Futura, if only because it is attached to a museum and a shopping center which might have been better to wander around in to kill sometime before our flight. The shuttle to the airport was on time and got us to the airport just fine. All in all a rather unremarkable place, I've spent $100 on a hotel before and had places with just a few better extra details that leave you walking away with a good feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mogo12
Business
Monterey, Ca
Jan 3, 2012

Great place to stay In Guatemala City

Guatemala City has little to offer to tourists. But if you need to stay in the city for transit to another location in Guatemala, or for business, then this is a great place to stay. Nice and clean, and has all the amenities of a 4-5 star hotel. One big negative is no free wi-fi. Rooms are nice and have all the regular amenities. There is a business center, restaurants, spa, and pool. There is a free airport shuttle which is nice, but we had a slight issue with it, as they took us to the wrong terminal for our flight. The driver never asked us our airline, and we did not know that the local airline operates out of a different (far away) terminal. So we were in a panic to get the right spot in time for our flight. So if you do use the shuttle, make sure to tell the driver your airline. (the error was partly their fault for not asking, and partly ours for assuming it was all at the same place). The hotel is near to the airport and very convenient for coming in/out of Guatemala City. Other than our airport mix up, we were very happy with the room/our stay at the Barcelo, and recommend it to anyone. Was also a very good price and value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marito
Business
Lafayette, IN, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Short Stay

We have stayed at the Barcelo Hotel several times. Each time we have been extremely pleased. Everybody: shuttle bus driver, receptionist and restaurant personnel, are profesional/very attentive and seem to be proud of their work. I do not have any hesitance to recommend this Hotel. By the way, the Restaurant food is extremely delicious and offers a great variety of items. The seafood soup is very tasty!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are numerous good restaurants in the proximity of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jld125
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Excellent stay

From what I'd heard and seen in passing, I was leary about arriving in Guate. Add to that I was quite ill that day, and I really needed a safe and comfortable place. The room was lovely, the staff friendly and helpful. I will return when in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top