$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
View map of 7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandy viajero
Business
Sonoma County California
Jul 28, 2012

overnight for morning travel

We enjoyed our overall stay here.- very comfortable. We were catching a plane early in the morning and had to be at the airport at 4:15 a.m. The hotel advertises a free shuttle. For some reason the shuttle didn't work and they sent us to the airport in a cab. My husband in one and me in another- not the greatest but okay. The cabdriver asked for money but my husband refused and gave him the hotel info. It all worked out. We will probably stay at the Barcelo again the next time we are in Guatemala City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Paranoid
Business
Los Angeles
May 6, 2012

Safe Hotel

Me and my husband spent our last day in guatemala and im a paranoid person and since i feel the city is dangerous i wanted a secure hotel and it was just that no need to leave the hotel to have a fun day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elfego
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 24, 2012

staff

People are very warm and helpful! I enjoyed it! It also is close to international airport (15 minutes); their shuttle services every hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask for tips in hotel (always).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skipper999
Business
Rhode Island
Apr 17, 2012

Juice had extra crunch

Check-in was extremely slow. I was lucky to be there early since some time later the line was very long and they still had just the same two people working the desk. Other than that things went smoothly. It was Semana Santa so most of the city was closed. There were many families at the pool so it took over an hour to get a chair. Breakfast offered many choices. I'd stay away from the papaya juice, though, unless you crave insects in your diet. Breakfast got so busy after nine o'clock that when I got up to get more I came back to my table to find that the chairs were gone. I'd stay again if the price were right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Under ten minute walk to Hooter's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
single one
Business
LA California
Apr 14, 2012

Very convenient location for airport

I was just needing a hotel close to the airport for an early morning flight

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Running World Traveler
Business
Rockford, IL, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Best Hotel in Guatemala City

A wonderful hotel, I've stayed at Barcelo three times and always been extremely happy with it! The staff here is excellent, from helping you arrange transportation connections to planning a day trip (like hiking up a volcano). The front desk staff speaks excellent English and clearly wants to be helpful. It's also less than 5 minutes by their free shuttle to the Guatemala City airport, so convenient too. The rooms are spacious and extremely clean. The room service prices are affordable (the veggie lovers pizza is delicious). The workout room has TVs and treadmills, among other exercise equipment, with plenty of large towels and cold water. There is a wonderful huge hot tub next to the large heated pool, that can accommodate large numbers of people comfortably, without you feeling packed in or shoulder to shoulder with the other people in the pool. The restaurants in the hotel are great (especially the sports bar Strikers, if you're into watching soccer... go Barca!). The beds are soft and comfortable, and there are a number of English-language television stations in your room if you like to watch a show to help you fall asleep. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the veggie lovers pizza from room service... it's delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guilietta
Business
Ohio, USA
Apr 10, 2012

My comfortable stay

The staff were very friendly. The facilities were beautiful and well maintained. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, A great place to stay when in Guatemala City!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chepe pan de a cinco
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Awesome and good location!!!

My Wife and I used this hotel 3 years ago and we love to stay here. Wish they can offer free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For breakfast we went to los cebollines at the Plazuela España Zona 9, very good food and and affordable. To conmute within the city use taxi. is worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shelia
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 3, 2012

As good as it gets!

Exceeded all our expectations. Will recommend this hotel to all our friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the wonderful hotel buffet breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nelo
Business
Quito, Ecuador
Mar 26, 2012

Great Hotel!

Good breakfast, good location and staff were very helpfull

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top