$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
View map of 7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RayJ
Business
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Jan 28, 2013

Top Class Hotel.

I have stayed before and will stay there again. No need to look elsewhere Location, comfort, security, facilities, food, service, all first class. Excellent value for money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OsoM
Business
Woodland Hills, California
Feb 19, 2013

Dreamy Barcelo

Wonderful!!! The luxury with the quaint touch of the Guatemalan culture and friendliness was excellent, definetly will stay there again and would like to visit other Barcelo locations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RayJ
Business
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Jan 28, 2013

Top Class Hotel.

I have stayed before and will stay there again. No need to look elsewhere Location, comfort, security, facilities, food, service, all first class. Excellent value for money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pludema
Business
Massachusetts
Jan 23, 2013

Great hotel

I highly recommend this hotel as a start or end to a trip to Guatemala. I felt safe, comfortable and welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

to airport with free hourly shuttle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parrotheadchris
Business
Dexter, Maine
Jan 21, 2013

Great Hotel

I only stayed for one night but it was my third time staying at the hotel. The is great and the Japanese Rest. downstairs is great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Japanese rest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HALCON
Business
GUA
Jan 19, 2013

SAFETY XCEL

JUST LIKE ALMOST ALL HOTELS U HAVE TO READ A NEWSPAPER TO KNOW WHERE U ARE GLOBALISATION HAS MADE ROBOT HOTELS, NO MORE LOCAL CHARM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

NEAR AIRPORT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LeslieandFaye
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Jan 15, 2013

Very Luxurious Sanctuary in Guatemala City

This hotel exceeded our expectations. Staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The security was excellent. The breakfast was very delicious every morning and filled us up for the whole day! We usually only had to eat a light dinner! The pool and hot tub were a great temperature and very clean. If I ever went back to Guatemala City I would stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enamorados
Business
Denver
Jan 13, 2013

A Wonderful Experience!!!

The location is perfect it is close to places we wanted to go, airport distance was a good factor that help us a lot. We have had the opportunity of going to other Four Star Hotels there is no comparison this hotel deserves them Four and a bit more. Security wise, it was good to know that no one touched anything from our stuff. The swimming pool's and jacuzzi temperature was great for sure we'd like to comeback!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Single girl from Chicago
Business
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Dec 31, 2012

A beautiful hotel and a reasonable price

I was quite impressed with the hotel. Not only was it beautiful, but I felt very safe. The food was a little bit overpriced, but overall it was a wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guatemala Traveler
Business
Lake Atitlan, Guatemala
Dec 25, 2012

My go-to hotel in Guatemala City

I stay in Guatemala City a couple of nights every two or three months, and the proximity to the airport is a big plus. I've tried other hotels, but I always end up coming back here. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and the rooms are great, as are the pool and the buffet breakfast. The staff has usually been very helpful, though there's a little room for improvement there. For example, on my latest trip I was left waiting for the early morning airport shuttle because the staff was chatting and didn't realize what time it was. I had to go ask them when the shuttle was coming, and they literally ran to it when they saw how late it was. The hotel is a little further from the Zona Viva restaurants than some of the other big hotels, but don't let that stop you; it's an easy walk or taxi ride. You can usually get one of the better deals on a nicer Guatemala City hotel here. When they have a special, the value is unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amor Martinez
Business
Guatemala
Dec 24, 2012

Very bad customer service

I had my reservation for a double room, with two beds or king size bed; without any explanation, they gave me a simple room, similar to the rooms you get at a cheap hotel. When I saw it, I told them that that room was not what I had reserved, and they said the double rooms were not available because they were remodeling them. When I asked for the manager, I was told he was on vacation. A supervisor (Fernanda Mendoza) sent me to the business center to "get help." Two days later, I was on the street with my luggage and no room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top