$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
View map of 7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickname1234
Business
Tennessee
Jun 29, 2014

Good place

Good business class hotel. Needs free WIFI. Airport shuttle ran on time as promised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guatemala Gal
Business
Newark, DE
Jun 26, 2014

There is room for improvement

The Barceló is convenient, located close to the airport, and they provide a free shuttle, which is great. Our biggest complaint is that there is no free wireless or just plain internet, not even in the business center or lobby. The staff was not particularly friendly. The lobby is very fancy, but our room needed updating. On the positive side, the pool is very nice and the beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

If you have forgotten to buy enough souvenirs for the folks back home, the prices at the hotel gift shops are not too bad, and they have a decent selection.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
April S
Business
upland, california
Jun 22, 2014

Beautiful place to stay

i was very impressed with how helpful the staff was. The hotel was clean and had lots to do. I found it to be in a great location. The room was very comfortable, the pool was great. I would definitly stay again. The only minor set back was the wifi at $10.00 a day it was a little steep. But overall loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danto
Business
NYC
Jun 7, 2014

the best if you don't need foofy

Of course the Camino Real is more upscale, but to me it is too foofy and there is too much going on. Barceló is nice and it is more laid back. The breakfast is pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary and bryan
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
May 25, 2014

Words can't express how great this place was

Free wifi, free gym/pool, free airport shuttle, and free breakfast buffet that honestly was the best buffet I've ever been at (would've been worth the cost of the room alone) - after staying here, we considered flying to Guatemala again JUST to stay here. Amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pumgod
Business
Uniondale, New York
May 9, 2014

Great experience!!!

Before i write my review , Please update my name to be Anthony Johnson not Ingrid. My stay at the Barcelo Hotel in Guatemala was pleasant, and i would recommend it to all my friends. I have stayed at several hotels in Guatemala city before, and the amenities at Barcelo far exceed the other four stars hotels i have been to.. I am looking forward in taking advantage of the discount in the future at that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

from hotel and the country airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
guatemalteco fro sobe
Business
Miami Beach
Apr 30, 2014

As expected

This is a hotel catering to tourists, so do not expect a resort type of atmosphere. Hotel is safe, clean, centrally located, and the staff is very helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the variety of dishes, both local and continental favorites, made each day a unique experience. The one thing that was bothersome to me was the artificial room deodorizer odor in the main lobby... not a fan of artificial strawberry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many fine restaurants to chose from in the Zona Viva. Just across the street from Avenida Reforma.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Choycita
Business
Martinez, Ca
Apr 26, 2014

Guatemala Experience

Staff was awesome!!! Great security, cleaning, restaurants, information center, very helpful receptionist, and of course very luxurious clean hotel!!! I would so recommend it!!! Unjust didn't like that they didn't offer wifi for free knowing that you need it when your far away from your own country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Seafood buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jackie the runner
Business
Vermont
Apr 4, 2014

vacation

The staff was polite, helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. The room was lovely with a deck to view the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent food served.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bowlegs
Business
London, UK
Mar 25, 2014

Great stopover stay

Though the hotel is 20mins from the historical city centre, it's very convenient for the airport (with free airport shuttle service) so it's perfect for a stopover or final night of luxury. I had fantastic massage in the spa at a really reasonable price and all the staff were friendly and attentive, but not to the point where you felt they were just after a tip. My only gripe is that there's a 10 dollar charge for wifi. Why do so many hotels still charge for this?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top