$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
View map of 7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
harryK
Business
switzerland
Oct 23, 2014

good product at good location

Product is solid and has good price-quality ratio. close to the airport, in zone 10 of GT city close to good restaurants. Hotel is not new and not a high-end shiny type of hotel but covers all needs in with a good comfort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

some great restaurants close to the intercontinental hotel, 5 min walking distance. 1 block farther away is a great latin american steak house, good service, food and ambient. sorry, but forgot name

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luis el colombiano
Business
mystic, connecticut
Sep 22, 2014

business trip in guatemala 4 days

i would like to start by the great location, 10 min away from the airport, at arrival i was greeted very courteously and was helped promptly, staff was very friendly but professional, the lobby and architecture definitely feels like a 4-5* hotel, the room was clean, bathroom was spotless (that's a big one for me) and the only complaint about the room was the bed! way too hard for my taste, I'm sure i could have asked for a softer bed/room but the room had an excellent view. the pool area was great didn't get to enjoy it due to the weather but i can see myself having a great time there, plenty of room, bar and good service. the food was decent, however i only tried two restaurants, the sports bar ( nothing special and $$$) however live music everyday some good some terrible. the other was the breakfast buffet, nothing especial either, for $13 dollars it didn't feel complete. i would definitely recommend it but planned on eating out for a really good meal, and before settling in feel the bed, as mine was too hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

for purchasing souvenirs take a taxi to "la plaza central" all the prices at the hotels shop are multiply by 20

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MW12222
Family
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Jul 10, 2014

Great Vacation Spot

We met some family members at the hotel for a weekend get-away and had a wonderful experience. Great food, pool exercise room and restaurants near by!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickname1234
Couples
Tennessee
Jun 29, 2014

Good place

Good business class hotel. Needs free WIFI. Airport shuttle ran on time as promised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guatemala Gal
Family
Newark, DE
Jun 26, 2014

There is room for improvement

The Barceló is convenient, located close to the airport, and they provide a free shuttle, which is great. Our biggest complaint is that there is no free wireless or just plain internet, not even in the business center or lobby. The staff was not particularly friendly. The lobby is very fancy, but our room needed updating. On the positive side, the pool is very nice and the beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: In Hotel

If you have forgotten to buy enough souvenirs for the folks back home, the prices at the hotel gift shops are not too bad, and they have a decent selection.

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
April S
Couples
upland, california
Jun 22, 2014

Beautiful place to stay

i was very impressed with how helpful the staff was. The hotel was clean and had lots to do. I found it to be in a great location. The room was very comfortable, the pool was great. I would definitly stay again. The only minor set back was the wifi at $10.00 a day it was a little steep. But overall loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danto
Business
NYC
Jun 7, 2014

the best if you don't need foofy

Of course the Camino Real is more upscale, but to me it is too foofy and there is too much going on. Barceló is nice and it is more laid back. The breakfast is pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary and bryan
Couples
Cincinnati, OH, USA
May 25, 2014

Words can't express how great this place was

Free wifi, free gym/pool, free airport shuttle, and free breakfast buffet that honestly was the best buffet I've ever been at (would've been worth the cost of the room alone) - after staying here, we considered flying to Guatemala again JUST to stay here. Amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pumgod
Friends
Uniondale, New York
May 9, 2014

Great experience!!!

Before i write my review , Please update my name to be Anthony Johnson not Ingrid. My stay at the Barcelo Hotel in Guatemala was pleasant, and i would recommend it to all my friends. I have stayed at several hotels in Guatemala city before, and the amenities at Barcelo far exceed the other four stars hotels i have been to.. I am looking forward in taking advantage of the discount in the future at that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

from hotel and the country airport

Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
guatemalteco fro sobe
Single
Miami Beach
Apr 30, 2014

As expected

This is a hotel catering to tourists, so do not expect a resort type of atmosphere. Hotel is safe, clean, centrally located, and the staff is very helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the variety of dishes, both local and continental favorites, made each day a unique experience. The one thing that was bothersome to me was the artificial room deodorizer odor in the main lobby... not a fan of artificial strawberry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

many fine restaurants to chose from in the Zona Viva. Just across the street from Avenida Reforma.

Back to menu Return to top