$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Barcelo Guatemala City

4 stars
7 Ave 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
133 reviews
Had a flight to catch the next day.

The the hotel and rooms where super clean, Nice restaurant and pool. And only 10 minutes from the... See full review

  • norberto c.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Excellent hotel in a great location

Love this hotel. It's a little older, but it's well staffed, well maintained and in a convenient,... See full review

  • Steffisews
  • Dec 1, 2014
The Barcel Guatemala City hotel is located just 2.5 km for La Aurora International Airport and 4.5 km from the city center. Within the main business area, surrounded by restaurants, shops and entertainment facilities.
This urban five-star hotel offers 395 elegant rooms equipped with everything necessary to ensure an enjoyable business or leisure stay. Within its facilities, this premium category hotel offers a business center, airline offices, travel agency and car rentals. Additionally, you may practice various physical/sports activities including swimming, racquetball, yoga or use our fully-equipped guest fitness center. If you'd like, you may also relax in our Natural Spa, which includes massage rooms and a beauty salon.
Since 2012, the hotel has completed major renovations to improve the rooms and various hotel facilities. In 2013, the hotel installed energy-saving devices in all rooms as one of our efforts to preserve the environment.
Enjoy the hotel's excellent culinary options through our room service or enjoy one of our gourmet international restaurants.
The hotel houses 25 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 1500 people, ideal for holding all types of meetingsfrom business events to conferences, conventions and social functions. Fully equipped and with Wi-Fi in all hotel areas.
Enjoy the high quality of services the Barcel Guatemala City hotel offers with the Barcel Hotels & Resorts Premium guarantee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Guatemala City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Barcelo Guatemala City Rooms

JUNIOR SUITE CLUB PREMIUM
Junior Suite rooms measure 376 sq Ft. in the upper level bedroom available with one King Size bed or 2 double beds, and 376 Sq Ft. downstairs in the living room.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*They have 2 fully-fitted bathrooms with bathrobe and slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES:

-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing Per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR CLUB PREMIUM
These rooms measure 376 Sq Ft. with one King Size bed or 2 double beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Fully-Fitted Bathroom Bathrobe and Slippers
*Hairdryer
*Two Telephone Line
*Minibar
*Iron and ironing board
*Plasma Television
*Cable TV
*Safe in Room.

SPECIAL CLUB PREMIUM SERVICES :

-Special check-in/out
-Free 30-Minute Internet Access
-Local Press and Magazines
-Two Items of Ironing per Stay
-A Fruit, Soft Drinks and Sandwiches Area
-Courtesy National Drink at Night and Concierge Service
SUPERIOR ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room.
DOUBLE ROOM
344 square feet rooms, These rooms are fitted with a King-Size Bed or 2 Queen-Size Beds.

IN ROOM AMENITIES

*Balcony and Views of the Volcano or Swimming Pool
*29" TV
*Cable TV
*Fully-Fitted Bathroom
*Hairdryer
*Air Conditioning
*Two Telephone Lines
*Minibar
*Iron and Ironing Board
*Safe in Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Vista
La Vista restaurant offers its customers a welcoming atmosphere to be enjoyed with friends and family. It has a buffet with different specialities, every day of the week, bringing together different ambiences in a single concept. Open from 6:00 am to 11:00 pm.
Strikers Sports Bar
Enjoy all the thrill of sports in Strikers Sports Bar. This bar offers its customers a safe, exclusive and pleasant atmosphere where they can enjoy the excitement of national and international sporting events, on any of our 11 plasma TVs or on the big screen, all of which are strategically located so that you dont miss a single shot. Open from 11 am to 1:00 am
Kyoto Japanese
Enjoy an unforgettable culinary experience of Japanese haute cuisine in the most exclusive of settings for a business meeting or family event. Open from Monday to Friday 12.00 pm to 03.00 pm Monday to Sunday 06.00 pm to 11.00 pm
Lobby Bar
Discover a sophisticated location for your most important business meetings. The lobby bar offers wide selection of soft drinks, coffees and wines. Open from 06 am to 11:00 pm
La Pergola
Enjoy the relaxed, friendly atmosphere and a delicious meal next to our jacuzzi or heated swimming pool in La Prgola Restaurant. Open from 10 am to 07:00 pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Guatemala City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zonia sosa
Business
los angeles california
Nov 26, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

unbeatable location for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dr.kathy
Business
Queensbury, NY
Oct 25, 2010

good place to stay

The room was great, comfortable and clean. The public bathroom in the hotel lobby, however, had only one functional stall...Free shuttle to nearby airport. The best part was the was the Saturday night grilled steak/fish/ribs buffet: all you can eat for Q169 (about $21!) Breakfast at the hotel was included when it was the Marriott, but the Barcelo charges separately. It is a great buffet, however, and worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

There is a great underground handicrafts market in Guatemala City. Ask for a taxi to take you there from the hotel. It is 3 levels deep, with amazing items to sell. Be sure to bargain!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
massachusetts
Sep 28, 2010

barcelo

I only spent a couple of days and it was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 16, 2010

I would have stayed more days!

The hotel is close to the airport and the staff is very professional and friendly. There was a musician playing piano while people ate at the restaurant. Overall, a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dios es verdad
Business
Panamá, CA
Jul 29, 2010

Our visit barceló hotel in guatemal

take brekfast and dinner and some wine in the hotel, travel to almolonga city, to the Zoo in the city No, all was enjoyable in this travel. The previus trip was imposible because the Pacaya volcano close the airport Aurora in guatemala city may 28th 2010

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Travel to Almolonga city. In the way The military ask us for a portable document and passport. We stay the passpor at the hotel. They want that we pay money but I answer: No. we have ID, Card and we do not pay you for nothing and we goin to the city of God, Almolonga. The military said, ok no problem and now I know that God was with us. Aleluya!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 13, 2010

Fantastic experience

The hotel is beutiful , one of the staff members in the front desk were not very friendly, other then that the experience was greath

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Friend of the Seniors
Business
Dahlonega GA
Jul 12, 2010

Never Tried the Barcelo Chain Before but

I had never stayed in a Barcelo property before, but this hotel was great. The rooms are very comfortable and my bathroom had many amenities. The TV pulls in dozens of channels, several of them in English. The staff was very helpful, a number of them speak English. What I liked most is that the hotel has a number of eating options - a somewhat formal restuarant with terrific food (try the buffet), a sports bar with fine, easygoing fare, a Japanese restaurant (I didn't try it), as well as a lobby bar where you can get coffee or an icy beer, etc., and a snack bar in the pool area with approrpiate eats and drinks. Although I did hear one guest whining on his cell phone that his breakfast was more than another hotel's, I thought the prices were quite reasonable at each spot I tried. My room in the main building had a little patio where I could catch the breeze or watch the rain come in, and was very comfy. (I don't think the newer building has these.) The pool area has a regular pool and a large spa and plenty of sunny and shady areas to lounge or sit at a table. (My room had a bathrobe and slippers to make getting to the pool easy.) The hotel is fairly close to La Aurora - the international airport - and has a shuttle that will take you there or pick you up every hour on the hour. This will save you from having to change money in the airport - you can get a better rate at the hotel. ALthough I did not use them, there is a Hertz and a local tour operator right in the lobby. One really nice touch was that on the Fourth of July staff bought me a cupcake decorated with the American flag as a holiday treat. I believe this is a "premium" Barcelo hotel - apparently they have three or four "levels" - but I certainly would choose to stay at any one of their places after enjoying this one so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The front desk can give you a map of the neighborhood; it shows a "supermercado" a block away on La Reforma and 14th street. Don't get your hopes up - its really a glorified convenience store - but it's open 7 days a week and has water, sodas, beer, wine, some liquors, snacks, candy, sunscreen, etc., just about anything you would want, just ask the friendly staff. PS La Reforma becomes a pedestrian mall on Sundays, so you can jog or stroll here; just watch out for the big yellow ropes the traffic cops use to control the flow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
guatemala
Jul 2, 2010

guate

great hotel with a very amenaible location. first time i stayed in guatemala city and will stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

although it can be dangerous around guaye city we had excellent help getting a safe taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ruth50
Business
Dutchess county NY
Jun 6, 2010

Barcelo in Guatemala City

The hotel was first class serivce all the way. The staff was friendly (spoke english and spanish)The rooms were great and the food was great as well! We dint get a chance to use the pool or fitness, but we had a great experience and would definitely go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

They had a gift shop in the hotel for last minute purchases

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Guatemala City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young business
Business
Miami FL
May 20, 2010

Barcelo Guatemala

I spend a night before bussines, it was restful and I started OK the week

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

everything 1 km away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top