$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Hotel La Catedral

3 stars
View map of 4a. Avenida Sur No. 4, Antigua,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
5 reviews
Second Honey Moon!

Excellent location, beautiful colonial architecture in the best area of restaurants and shops,... See full review

  • Ivoneli
  • Apr 1, 2015
Comfortable

I found my stay to be very comfortable. I would stay here again. See full review

  • Neodog
  • Mar 26, 2014
Hotel La Catedral is an authentic Spanish Colonial house , originally built as part of the "Palacio de los Capitanes Generales" in the center of Antigua, Guatemala.
Its construction began in 1558. The space was named "Palacio Chico" (Little Palace) , it was rebuilt in 1754 and it was used as the residence of the General Capitan.

The hotel is located one block from the Central Park and the Cathedral (Catedral de Santiago). It is within a minute or two walking distance from many restaurants, cafes, boutiques, and Spanish Colonial ruins.
As one of the original structures in Antigua, Hotel La Catedral preserves its charm and elegance and it has been completely restored to bring you all the comfort and rest you're looking for during your stay.
It has a very cozy and romantic environment, just like Antigua itself.
The hotel has 8 rooms each individually decorated to give you a slightly different feel each time you visit them. Each room is equipped with Flat Panel TV set, DVD Player, Cable TV, Security Box, Wireless Internet (at no additional cost), telephone and alarm clock. All designer bathrooms are stylishly designed with antique marble. All toiletries and hair dryer also included.
Their rates come with Continental Breakfast and all taxes are already included . A-la-carte breakfast is also available. Their hotel also has private parking in the adjacent lot. The hotel also offers dry cleaning and reception.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel La Catedral also booked these hotels.

★★★
$97
0.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed
★★★★
$95
4.2 / 5 14 reviews
★★★★
$92
4.3 / 5 122 reviews
★★
$39
3.4 / 5 8 reviews
★★★
$60
5.0 / 5 1 reviews
★★
$61
3.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed
★★★★
$109
5.0 / 5 2 reviews
★★★★
$131
5.0 / 5 5 reviews
★★★
$94
4.0 / 5 1 reviews

Hotel La Catedral Rooms

Standard King
Standard King offers one king bed with amenities like Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Internet access, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Telephone and Video player. Flat Screen TV with Cable, DVD, Safety Deposit Box.
Bathrooms decorated with ancient marble and designer amenities and hairdryer.
Standard Two Double
Standard offers two double beds with amenities like with amenities like Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Internet access, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Telephone and Video player. Standard room also features Flat Screen TV with Cable, DVD, and Safety Deposit Box.
Bathrooms decorated with ancient marble and designer amenities and hairdryer.
Standard One Double
Standard 1 offers one double bed with amenities like Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Internet access, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Room service, Telephone and Video player. Standard 1 also features Flat Screen TV with Cable, DVD, Safety Deposit Box.
Bathrooms decorated with ancient marble and designer amenities and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Pitaya Juice Bar
Pitaya Juice Bar offering natural and healthy dishes and beverages.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel La Catedral

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
5
Value:
5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel La Catedral

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denver Traveler III
Couples
Denver, CO
Oct 5, 2012

Cozy Hotel in the heart of Antigua

Perfect Location in Antigua. Nice cozy hotel, staff was friendly and very responsive to requests. And to make this hotel even better there is a sports bar 3 blocks away that has ALL the NFL games and plays College Football as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The crazy monkey bar Monoloco I believe is the name, good food, good atmosphere, Plays the NFL

Review of Hotel La Catedral

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ivoneli
Couples
N/A
Apr 1, 2015

Second Honey Moon!

Excellent location, beautiful colonial architecture in the best area of restaurants and shops, security both inside and outside of the hotel is like home, excellent food, including parking, I love this hotel++++++ I plan to always return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel La Catedral

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neodog
Business
Goldsboro, NC
Mar 26, 2014

Comfortable

I found my stay to be very comfortable. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel La Catedral

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC travelerr
Single
Tampa, FL
Sep 21, 2013

Fantastic value

Location, location, location!! Outstanding staff ready to provide answers to all 'tourist related' queries. Extremely quiet and comfortable boutique hotel ---my room had everything that I needed---am sure I could have had an iron if I wanted one. Breakfast menu offered at least five choices....outstanding value!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at least one meal at Rafa's Bistrot, 4a Avenida Norte No. 2----outstanding food!!

Review of Hotel La Catedral

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blu816305
Friends
New York
Mar 27, 2013

Amazing gem in the middle of everything

There is literally no better place to stay during Semana Santa than Hotel La Catedral. It is steps away from the Cathedral and the central square, excellent restaurants and beautiful sights. We were having a glass of wine in the courtyard, heard the drums and stepped outside our door to the incredible sight of 20+ men carrying the 6000 pound floats. Unbelievable. We even watched people making the flower carpets, alfombras on the street our hotel was on. As far as comfort, the rooms are nicely appointed and beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are stone and lovely. My friends did have smaller rooms, 1 and 3 I believe. I had room 5 and it was by far the largest. The courtyard is beautiful and service was excellent. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro Cinque was fantastic French food and Sobremesa is quirky and fun.

Back to menu Return to top