$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Melia Athens

4 stars
14, Chalkokondili Str. & 28th October (Patission), Athens, 10677
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
24 reviews
Mr

Very good hotel with roof pool and great views. The room was cleaned every day and new towels... See full review

  • Noel
  • Oct 8, 2012
Good price and location

Stayed here for a couple of nights, located a few blocks away from the national museum, and few... See full review

  • giarcsr1980
  • Jul 30, 2012
This landmark luxury hotel with a view of Acropolis (at 20 min), free health club and seasonal outdoor pool & Jacuzzi (mid May - mid October) features panoramic fine-dining, and everything for meetings. A few minutes from two metro stations, Meli Athens is located in the heart of the Greek capital. Sumptuous premium guestrooms are air-conditioned, completely soundproofed, and decorated in earth tones with sycamore furniture and paintings signed by contemporary Greek artists. Marble bathrooms features whirlpool bathtub and jet massage shower cabin. High-speed Internet at a fee. On the top floor, the free, air-conditioned Health Club includes a sauna & Turkish steam baths. For meetings, there are private rooms available (Capacity 10 people) with natural light & AV equipment & high-speed Internet. Operating daily on 24 hours basis, the business centre located on the Mezzanine floor features a host of ancillary services, including laptop hire, high-speed internet connection (available either on cable or on Wi-Fi), printing, faxing and photocopying. During the summer months, the hotel offers the possibility of hosting open-air events with spectacular views of the Acropolis & Lycabettus Hill and a capacity of up to 100 people.

Hotel Map

37.986 23.7301
Area served
Athens
Nearby airports
Athens Intl Eleftherios Venizelos, (ATH), 35.00, KM, SW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Athens also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Melia Athens Rooms

THE LEVEL EXPERIENCE
With The Level Experience a second person, can join the room free of charge.Special treatment is provided with welcome VIP amenities, bottle of water in room daily, complimentary buffet breakfast at the main restaurant, coffee machine & 2 espresso cups, kettle & Tea facilities, HiFi , slippers, bathrobes, luxury Meli bathroom Amenities & weight scale as well as one complimentary glass of house wine per day in our F&B outlets. The Level Experience offers high speed Internet access in room, one daily newspaper per day, daily Turn Down service, complimentary ironing (1 piece per day), Express Laundry Service, pillow menu and late check out until 4 p.m., subject to availability.
MELIA GUEST ROOM
Melia Guest Rooms are available as Queen Size or Twin beds and are totally soundproofed with large triple glazed windows.


All rooms are decorated in warm and earthy tones, the furniture is made of sycamore wood, and the original paintings are signed by famous contemporary Greek artists. There is also a finishing touch of sycamore wood on the walls. Fabrics are of fine silk and 100% cotton.
SUPREME ROOM
Supreme rooms are available as King size or Twin beds, all totally soundproofed with large triple glazed windows.

All rooms have luxurious marble bathroom with Jacuzzi bath tub and jet massage shower cabins. The decoration is held in warm and earthy tones, the furniture is made of sycamore wood, and the original paintings are signed by famous contemporary Greek artists.



There is also a finishing touch of sycamore wood on the walls. Fabrics are of silk and 100% cotton.
EXECUTIVE - JR_SUITE
Melia Athens boast a selection of 10 luxurious, 39 sqm Executive Suites, all featuring King size beds and directly overlooking the city centre.

Each suite features a living room with sofa bed ,armchairs and a separate bedroom, decorated in warm tones with sycamore wood furniture, roomy wardrobes and LCD TV 30' on rotating base.The fabrics are of silk and 100% cotton, the bedside and living room lamps are in Murano crystal. A touch of sycamore wood also graces the walls, while all the paintings are signed by the renowned Greek artist Thellos.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • National Archaeological Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Academy of Athens: 0.4 mi
  • New Acropolis Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Goulandris Museum of Cycladic Art: 0.7 mi
  • Temple of Hephaestus: 0.7 mi
  • Syntagma Square: 0.8 mi
  • Greek Parliament: 0.8 mi
  • Agora: 0.9 mi
  • Parthenon: 1 mi
  • Erechtheion: 1.1 mi
  • Athens Concert Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Byzantine and Christian Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Theatre of Dionysus: 1.2 mi
  • Panathinaikon: 1.3 mi
  • National and Kapodistrian University of Athens: 2.2 mi
  • National Archaeological Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Academy of Athens: 0.4 mi
  • New Acropolis Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Goulandris Museum of Cycladic Art: 0.7 mi
  • Temple of Hephaestus: 0.7 mi
  • Syntagma Square: 0.8 mi
  • Greek Parliament: 0.8 mi
  • Agora: 0.9 mi
  • Parthenon: 1 mi
  • Erechtheion: 1.1 mi
  • Athens Concert Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Byzantine and Christian Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Theatre of Dionysus: 1.2 mi
  • Panathinaikon: 1.3 mi
  • National and Kapodistrian University of Athens: 2.2 mi
  • Kifissias avenue: 4 mi
  • Railway Service: 4.2 mi
  • Olympic Stadium: 4.7 mi
  • Athens Olympic Sports Complex: 5 mi
  • Daphni Monastery: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Athens

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 24
Amenities:
4.8
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
1.8
Value:
3.8
Sort by:
Review of Melia Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eva and Jana
Ont. Canada
Oct 2, 2011

very comfortable stay

Everything was perfect except breakfast price - 16 EU per person for an ordinary buffet . Otherwise it was perfect (the night view of Acropolis included).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Melia Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
toronto, ontaro, canada
Nov 19, 2010

excellent, great hotel but bad location

My mom and I stayed at Melia Athens for 10 days. Melia Athens is an excellent hotel, with really friendly staff. It was very clean, the beds were very comfortable, and the greatest feature was the jacuzzi bath and shower. Unfortunatelly, the location was not the best,actually downright scary, as it was very close to Omonia square, which looked unsafe,dirty, with unsavoury people hanging around. There were all kinds of ugly grafitti on the walls all over that area, and it looked very scary. There were loud and violent demonstrations at night due to the economic collapse of the country, and people were throwing rocks and breaking windows. The hotel in order to protect its windows looked like a fortress at night, with the entrance all blocked off. Lots of police and army uniform officers in riot gear were present and standing guard front of the hotel. I never experienced anything like that,I felt like a civil war or revolution can break out anytime. I really enjoy going out at night, but in Athens in that area it was unwise to walk around after dark. I have travelled quite extensively all over Europe and I never felt so unsafe in any other European city. I realize this is not the hotel's fault, and I understand that citizens have the right to express their frustration and anger towards Greece's terrible socio-economic situation. But it made our stay less enjoyable, as we were concerned for our own safety. We visited the Acropolis, went to the Plaka area, walked around a lot, and the weather was wonderful, sunny and warm. I would really recommend this hotel, but it would be much better if it was in a different area of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Archeological museum is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel, and it is a must see! I enjoyed it immensely, and loved the sculpture and the egyptian exhibition part of it. Sundays are free to get in, and for student's any day is 3 euro, but you need to bring your student card. (otherwise it is 7 euro). The best sightseeing bus company is Athens City tour,cost 15 euros, but you can use your ticket for 2 or even 3 days. One of its stops is on Omonia Square, 2 minutes walk from the hotel. The shops close to Omonia square are reasonably priced, and at the Honda center, they have a big department store as well. Very close to the hotel, there is a supermarket, food is cheap there. They have really tasty orange juice and oranges for very little. There is a clothing store as well, called pin up with fashionable women's clothing, reasonably priced. An other great store is called the shoe bank 1 minute walk from the hotel, you can buy 10 euros boots and shoes there.

Review of Melia Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
toronto, ontaro, canada
Nov 19, 2010

excellent, great hotel but bad location

My mom and I stayed at Melia Athens for 10 days. Melia Athens is an excellent hotel, with really friendly staff. It was very clean, the beds were very comfortable, and the greatest feature was the jacuzzi bath and shower. Unfortunatelly, the location was not the best,actually downright scary, as it was very close to Omonia square, which looked unsafe,dirty, with unsavoury people hanging around. There were all kinds of ugly grafitti on the walls all over that area, and it looked very scary. There were loud and violent demonstrations at night due to the economic collapse of the country, and people were throwing rocks and breaking windows. The hotel in order to protect its windows looked like a fortress at night, with the entrance all blocked off. Lots of police and army uniform officers in riot gear were present and standing guard front of the hotel. I never experienced anything like that,I felt like a civil war or revolution can break out anytime. I really enjoy going out at night, but in Athens in that area it was unwise to walk around after dark. I have travelled quite extensively all over Europe and I never felt so unsafe in any other European city. I realize this is not the hotel's fault, and I understand that citizens have the right to express their frustration and anger towards Greece's terrible socio-economic situation. But it made our stay less enjoyable, as we were concerned for our own safety. We visited the Acropolis, went to the Plaka area, walked around a lot, and the weather was wonderful, sunny and warm. I would really recommend this hotel, but it would be much better if it was in a different area of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Archeological museum is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel, and it is a must see! I enjoyed it immensely, and loved the sculpture and the egyptian exhibition part of it. Sundays are free to get in, and for student's any day is 3 euro, but you need to bring your student card. (otherwise it is 7 euro). The best sightseeing bus company is Athens City tour,cost 15 euros, but you can use your ticket for 2 or even 3 days. One of its stops is on Omonia Square, 2 minutes walk from the hotel. The shops close to Omonia square are reasonably priced, and at the Honda center, they have a big department store as well. Very close to the hotel, there is a supermarket, food is cheap there. They have really tasty orange juice and oranges for very little. There is a clothing store as well, called pin up with fashionable women's clothing, reasonably priced. An other great store is called the shoe bank 1 minute walk from the hotel, you can buy 10 euros boots and shoes there.

Review of Melia Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tel Aviv Israel
Aug 11, 2010

Melia Athens

Hotel is 4 star not 5 star...but clean and comfortable. I have been to other Melia Hotels and they were 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Alot of the stores were having big sales. Like 50-60% off on major namebrands. [...]

Back to menu Return to top