$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Melia Athens

4 stars
14, Chalkokondili Str. & 28th October (Patission), Athens, 10677
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
24 reviews
Mr

Very good hotel with roof pool and great views. The room was cleaned every day and new towels... See full review

  • Noel
  • Oct 8, 2012
Good price and location

Stayed here for a couple of nights, located a few blocks away from the national museum, and few... See full review

  • giarcsr1980
  • Jul 30, 2012
This landmark luxury hotel with a view of Acropolis (at 20 min), free health club and seasonal outdoor pool & Jacuzzi (mid May - mid October) features panoramic fine-dining, and everything for meetings. A few minutes from two metro stations, Meli Athens is located in the heart of the Greek capital. Sumptuous premium guestrooms are air-conditioned, completely soundproofed, and decorated in earth tones with sycamore furniture and paintings signed by contemporary Greek artists. Marble bathrooms features whirlpool bathtub and jet massage shower cabin. High-speed Internet at a fee. On the top floor, the free, air-conditioned Health Club includes a sauna & Turkish steam baths. For meetings, there are private rooms available (Capacity 10 people) with natural light & AV equipment & high-speed Internet. Operating daily on 24 hours basis, the business centre located on the Mezzanine floor features a host of ancillary services, including laptop hire, high-speed internet connection (available either on cable or on Wi-Fi), printing, faxing and photocopying. During the summer months, the hotel offers the possibility of hosting open-air events with spectacular views of the Acropolis & Lycabettus Hill and a capacity of up to 100 people.

Hotel Map

37.986 23.7301
Area served
Athens
Nearby airports
Athens Intl Eleftherios Venizelos, (ATH), 35.00, KM, SW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Melia Athens also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Melia Athens Rooms

THE LEVEL EXPERIENCE
With The Level Experience a second person, can join the room free of charge.Special treatment is provided with welcome VIP amenities, bottle of water in room daily, complimentary buffet breakfast at the main restaurant, coffee machine & 2 espresso cups, kettle & Tea facilities, HiFi , slippers, bathrobes, luxury Meli bathroom Amenities & weight scale as well as one complimentary glass of house wine per day in our F&B outlets. The Level Experience offers high speed Internet access in room, one daily newspaper per day, daily Turn Down service, complimentary ironing (1 piece per day), Express Laundry Service, pillow menu and late check out until 4 p.m., subject to availability.
MELIA GUEST ROOM
Melia Guest Rooms are available as Queen Size or Twin beds and are totally soundproofed with large triple glazed windows.


All rooms are decorated in warm and earthy tones, the furniture is made of sycamore wood, and the original paintings are signed by famous contemporary Greek artists. There is also a finishing touch of sycamore wood on the walls. Fabrics are of fine silk and 100% cotton.
SUPREME ROOM
Supreme rooms are available as King size or Twin beds, all totally soundproofed with large triple glazed windows.

All rooms have luxurious marble bathroom with Jacuzzi bath tub and jet massage shower cabins. The decoration is held in warm and earthy tones, the furniture is made of sycamore wood, and the original paintings are signed by famous contemporary Greek artists.



There is also a finishing touch of sycamore wood on the walls. Fabrics are of silk and 100% cotton.
EXECUTIVE - JR_SUITE
Melia Athens boast a selection of 10 luxurious, 39 sqm Executive Suites, all featuring King size beds and directly overlooking the city centre.

Each suite features a living room with sofa bed ,armchairs and a separate bedroom, decorated in warm tones with sycamore wood furniture, roomy wardrobes and LCD TV 30' on rotating base.The fabrics are of silk and 100% cotton, the bedside and living room lamps are in Murano crystal. A touch of sycamore wood also graces the walls, while all the paintings are signed by the renowned Greek artist Thellos.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • National Archaeological Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Academy of Athens: 0.4 mi
  • New Acropolis Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Goulandris Museum of Cycladic Art: 0.7 mi
  • Temple of Hephaestus: 0.7 mi
  • Syntagma Square: 0.8 mi
  • Greek Parliament: 0.8 mi
  • Agora: 0.9 mi
  • Parthenon: 1 mi
  • Erechtheion: 1.1 mi
  • Athens Concert Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Byzantine and Christian Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Theatre of Dionysus: 1.2 mi
  • Panathinaikon: 1.3 mi
  • National and Kapodistrian University of Athens: 2.2 mi
  • National Archaeological Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Academy of Athens: 0.4 mi
  • New Acropolis Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Goulandris Museum of Cycladic Art: 0.7 mi
  • Temple of Hephaestus: 0.7 mi
  • Syntagma Square: 0.8 mi
  • Greek Parliament: 0.8 mi
  • Agora: 0.9 mi
  • Parthenon: 1 mi
  • Erechtheion: 1.1 mi
  • Athens Concert Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Byzantine and Christian Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Theatre of Dionysus: 1.2 mi
  • Panathinaikon: 1.3 mi
  • National and Kapodistrian University of Athens: 2.2 mi
  • Kifissias avenue: 4 mi
  • Railway Service: 4.2 mi
  • Olympic Stadium: 4.7 mi
  • Athens Olympic Sports Complex: 5 mi
  • Daphni Monastery: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Melia Athens

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
2.8
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Athens

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amber Bamberos
Rosemead Ca.
Nov 30, 2012

Not Recommended

They gave us a smoking room although we had booked a non-smoking then gave us a twin bed room. The carpet was very dirty and the central heating could not be controlled so we had to open the window that had no screen and we had a bad mosquito problem. They tried to double charge use for a meal we had paid for already and the woman at the front desk all had unprofessional attitudes. I would not recommend this hotel as a 4 star but a 3 star. Also the breakfast was not included although the description on this site said it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Melia Athens

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
london
Feb 17, 2011

Bad area, no spa

Do not opt for a massage, the standard poor. 80 euros was the going rate for a 1hour massage. The masseuse was appalling. Hotel is located close to a street where prostitutes are day and night. Poor area to have a four star hotel. Lack of dining choices. Room and hotel interrior were good. Considering Athens is not that big, any other hotel in any location would be a better choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Melia Athens

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amber Bamberos
Rosemead Ca.
Nov 30, 2012

Terrible Experience

This is a 3 star hotel at best. Room was a smoking room although we specifically asked for a non-smoking room. They gave us a two twin bed room instead. Very dirty carpet, the window had no screen so we had tons of mosquitos and we could not turn off the central heating that got uncomfortably hot throughout the night. The women at the front desk always had attitude and they charged us twice for one meal although we had paid for it at the time with cash. Overall very bad experience and will never use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Melia Athens

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Xavi Ramirez
Business
Brussels, Belgium
Jan 11, 2014

Needs some renovation

Melia Athens could definitely use some renovation at all levels. From furniture, flooring, carpets, to bed linens and towels which are now grey/yellowish (I believe some day used to be white?). Room temperature is definitely an issue, and the poor window isolation makes you feel unpleasantly closer to the outside both from a temperature and noise perspective.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
South Flyier
Business
Montreal, QC, Canada
Apr 29, 2012

Average to good hotel in a complex neighbourhood

Easy access from the airport by metro, three blocks from metro station. Don't walk the area after sunset with your luggage. Plenty of junkies and pick pockets. Some anti-riot police during the day. Check in OK. Room internet at extra charge. Room OK but small, bathroom nice and good size, towels just so so. For a change (I think this is becoming a standard in many hotels) at check out they wanted to charge me for mini bar that I never even open. Breakfast was good and service excellent at the restaurant. Hotel is walking distance to many attractions including the Acropolis, Parliament, Ancient Olympic Stadium and so on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

20-25 min walk to Acropolis

Review of Melia Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PRCS
Michigan
May 18, 2012

recent vacation

The hotel was fine and the staff was very nice. The rooftop pool area was particularly enjoyable. Wireless service was odd, free in some places on the property but not in your room and the location of the hotel is not in a great area unfortunately. The best thing about the location was its proximity to the subway but it was not an area where I felt comfortable walking after dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

buying the week long subway pass was the best thing we did. Easy to use and saved a lot of time and trouble when going to visit different areas of the city.

Review of Melia Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kimojohn
lancaster, calif
May 1, 2012

Won't be back!

First off, they have two twin beds pushed together to make one bed. You would think with two adults checking in, they would provide a room with one queen size bed. to make matters worth, the twin beds were not secured, so they woud separate when we got in them. There was no clock, the room was very small, and they did not provide any hand towels. The primary reason I chose this hotel is because it was located close to where my fiance lived. Next time I go to Athens, I will spend more money to get a quality hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Melia Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
danW
NY NY
Jun 8, 2012

just ok....

no frills, most staff unfriendly, clean room, amenities were ok, but restricted, including wifi...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great night life around the acropolis...

Review of Melia Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tel Aviv Israel
Aug 11, 2010

Melia Athens

Hotel is 4 star not 5 star...but clean and comfortable. I have been to other Melia Hotels and they were 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Alot of the stores were having big sales. Like 50-60% off on major namebrands. [...]

Review of Melia Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dimitraki
Business
Hampton Roads, Virginia
Nov 6, 2011

Oh Omonia!

A very nice hotel in a neighborhood that is in transition. Because of the neighborhood I would say that first time visitors would have an impression that is less than favorable. Although is it close to the main thoroughfares and metro, there are seedy areas closeby. I would avoid late night walks especially during the weekend. I had only one breakfast which was good. My room needed the carpets cleaned or replaced and more comfortable chairs would have been nice. The staff were always courteous. My biggest issue was they forgot to replace the coffee cartridge which caused this writer great effort to wake up. If I was to bring my family along I would seek another location. As a business man, it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top