$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

5 stars
View map of Attica Avenue,40.2km, Between Exits 17 And 18, Athens, 19002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 28, 2010

Great hotel for proximity to airport

brand new and friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London, UK
Apr 7, 2010

Nice hotel, bad location

I was only there for one night, but it was a good place to stay, since it was close to the airport, reliable, and the people spoke English. However, my flight got in after the airport shuttle had stopped running, so I had to get to the hotel from the airport on my own. I spoke to someone at the hotel ahead of time and he told me which bus to take to get there (a taxi driver at the airport told me it was so close that it would not be worth his time to drive me. He seemed to be drunk, so i didn't mind not getting in his car). Unfortunately, I had been told to take the wrong bus and wound up getting very, very lost in Athens in the middle of the night and hardly anybody spoke English. I finally got a taxi, but he had no idea where to go, and charged me a ridiculous rate after he spent about 20 minutes being lost. It was all pretty terrifying. My room was very nice, but there was no one to help me with my bags, or show me where my room was (the numbers did not go in order!), and once I got to the room I could not get the lights to stay on, until I called the front desk and they told me the key had to be kept by this switch next to the door. Once i did that, it was fine, but why couldn't they have a note or explained that when I checked in? In the morning I needed to get to my cruise ship and had been told when I booked that I could take the shuttle. However, the shuttle runs only once an hour or so, and there is no printed schedule, so since I just missed the one I needed, I had to pay a ridiculous fare (again!) to take a taxi to the port. To surmise, if you just need a place to rest, this hotel is very nice, but do yourself a favor and book your own transportation ahead of time and don't rely on them for more than a bed and a very nice bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
operagal
Business
St. Paul MN
Mar 9, 2010

Perfect for the airport

Check-in was efficient and easy. Our room was lovely, large, clean and well-equipped with coffee maker (instant coffee) and a large bathroom. Shuttle between airport and hotel was convenient and quick, about a 10 minute ride. We didn't have to wait to get from the airport to the hotel at all, you just go out the arrivals door, walk to the left to a coach park and the shuttle pulled up. The return to the airport is only once an hour. My only complaint is that the restaurant was very expensive both for dinner and breakfast (25 euros for breakfast). We ate a dinner at a nearby Goody's (Greek fast food) and breakfast in the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Goody's instead of the hotel unless you want to spend up to 100 euros for dinner for two. The food isn't that good, but it was adequate.

Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Oct 14, 2009

15 Minutes from airport

There is nothing around this hotel, so don't plan to walk anywhere if you stay there. It is a good location for getting to the airport for an early morning flight, the shuttle service was good and the hotel is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

WiFi is not free but there are 2 computers in a small room that can be used for free, they are a bit slow but good for short email checking sessions.

Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, TX USA
Sep 30, 2009

Great hotel close to the airport!!

Terrific, ON TIME shuttle service to get us to the airport for our 6:00 a.m. international departure. We left hotel at 4:30 a.m. Restaurant service was slow. They forgot one of the entrees and it came after the rest were finished. Bar staff friendly, good drinks. Room was lovely, very clean with comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

New Acropolis museum is closed on Monday.

Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Jim Slade
Business
Minneapolis, Mn.
Sep 23, 2009

Good n' Bad

The only reason we stayed here was that it was cheaper than Sofitel and somewhat close to the airport. The help at the dask was a man named [...] (yes, I know I probably mispelled his name). Maybe you know the type of guy. The help he gave always came with just enough attitude that he could retain his job. No please. No thank you. He gave us a keycard to the wrong room and didn't apologize when we had to come back downstairs. Then he gave us our wakeup call at 7 instead of 8am (and yes, I believe it was intentional). He made reservations for us on their airport shuttle (a big plus about the hotel) the night before, then gave us attitude when we asked about it in the morning along with everything else. Other than him, the room was nice. The waiter in the restaurant was very friendly and accomodating. And the shuttle was quick and comfortable. Does one bad apple spoil the bunch?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Sep 9, 2009

Staying near airport for 7 am flight

Needed close hotel to airport for one night. Noticed a lot of business people or others in similar situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaryBud
Business
Hollywood,fl / Las Vegas, Nv
Aug 29, 2009

HOLIDAY INN ATTICA NEAR ATHENS AIRPORT

We stayed there to save a buck and be at the airport early for our flight to Paris..They have terrible shuttle service and no one, not even the Airport Info people knew the correct info on where to stand and where to go...After repeated attempts we finally cabbed it for 15 euros...The dude at the front desk could not book us the return shuttle in the am so again we took a cab, this time 24 Euros. After all the time wasted and aggravation the Soffitel would be better but they have you by the short hairs cause they are the only hotel on airport property. In Newark, NJ a room is 90 bucks and the shuttle free free free.no wonder everyone wants to live in america. Europeans bleed the us travelor dry and then some After a 30min wait to get online I got bumped after 10 min and the desk guy blamed me and my companion and I had to beg to get another 15 min. just to email stuff for my bussiness...what a joke...BTW there were kids using the comp at 12am and some guy looking at news while I had critical stuff to do. You must tell people what your situation is cause they are basically oblivious and inconsiderate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

MAKE THE INFO PEOPLE AT THE ATHENS AIRPORT CALL THE HOLIDY INN AND SPEAK WITH THEM AND BE EXPLICIT OR YOU WILL BE STANDING AROUND

Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pa. USA
Aug 27, 2009

Me

Very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Near Airport with airport shuttle

Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Aug 20, 2009

not all that

I needed a hotel near the airport for one night and thought the Holiday Inn would be a convenient choice. It is not that close to the airport--my taxi ride was over 10 minutes from the airport. I was surprised that they advertised internet in the room, but charge 20 euros to use an ethernet cable to connect to the service. The food was passable, if expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring your own ethernet cable.

Back to menu Return to top