$161 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

5 stars
ATTICA AVENUE 40.2 KM,BETWEEN EXITS 17 AND 18, Athens, 19002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
54 reviews
Very Nice Hotel

Hotel is modern, very nice place. The restaurant also worked out quite well for us. Be careful... See full review

  • MIke my man
  • Jul 7, 2014
holiday inn Athens greece

Very nice to have the shuttle pick us up at the airport and bring us to the hotel and then back to... See full review

  • Maryann M
  • May 5, 2014
Contemporary business class hotel with indoor pool near Athens airport
The Holiday Inn Athens is among the closest hotels to the Athens airport and offers a free shuttle to and from it. A variety of business amenities make it an ideal hotel for executive travelers coming and going to exhibition halls and the Attica Avenue business district. This six-story hotel was built in 2004, in a contemporary nautical style with modern fixtures. Visitors easily recognize its distinctive blue and yellow exterior. Guests enjoy the indoor swimming pool and sauna. Get a rigorous workout in the Holiday Inn Athens' fitness center.
Highlights

  • Free airport shuttle
  • Six meeting rooms
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
  • Indoor swimming pool and sauna
  • Fitness center

Location

The Holiday Inn Athens is located on Attica Highway/Attica Avenue between the airport and the city center. Easily reach the Maroussi business district and Mediterranean Exhibition Center via metro, bus or taxi.

Rooms
The 180 standard rooms and 11 suites at the Holiday Inn Athens are styled with contemporary furniture and blue, brown and purple accents. Hi-tech amenities include high-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply), satellite TVs, DVD players, individual digital temperature control and in-room laptop safes. Spacious private bathrooms include hairdryers, magnified mirrors, bidets, tubs and showers. Additional amenities include fully-stocked mini-bars, coffee makers and iron/ironing boards. The Holiday Inn Athens offers 10 accessible rooms.
Features
Start a productive travel day with a free newspaper and current flight information in the lobby of the Holiday Inn Athens. Outgoing travelers park their car in the free underground garage and depart using the free airport shuttle. All guests of the Holiday Inn Athens have access to an indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and fitness center.
Dining
The Holiday Inn Athens restaurant and bar serves a large breakfast buffet daily. Lunch and dinner menus feature signature Greek dishes. Guests relax with a cocktail or cigar at one of the lounge tables. Room service at the Holiday Inn Athens is available until midnight.
Transportation

  • Athens Eleftherios Venizelos International Airport (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • Metro stop (Kantza) (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Complimentary hourly airport shuttle (limited hours)
  • Located along bus route

Attractions

  • Mediterranean Exhibition Center (MEC) (3.1 mi/5km)
  • HELEXPO Conference Center (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • Olympic Athletic Center of Athens (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Rafina Port (10.9 mi/17.5 km)
  • Acropolis and Parthenon (12.8 mi/20.6 km)

Business

  • Six meeting rooms accommodate up to 200 people
  • Projectors and whiteboards
  • 24-hour business center with half-hour per day of complimentary Internet use on two computers
  • Fax services (fees apply)
  • Currency exchange
  • In-room desks
  • Executive level

Hotel Map

37.9726 23.8838
Nearby airports
EL.VENIZELOS, (ATH), 10.00, KM;
Area description
Airport, airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Safe
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub
Bidet

Nearby points of interest

  • Kifissias avenue: 6.1 mi
  • National and Kapodistrian University of Athens: 6.3 mi
  • Olympic Stadium: 6.8 mi
  • Athens Olympic Sports Complex: 6.9 mi
  • Athens Concert Hall: 7.3 mi
  • Panathinaikon: 7.8 mi
  • The Byzantine and Christian Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Goulandris Museum of Cycladic Art: 7.9 mi
  • Greek Parliament: 8 mi
  • Syntagma Square: 8.1 mi
  • Erechtheion: 8.4 mi
  • Academy of Athens: 8.4 mi
  • National Archaeological Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Parthenon: 8.6 mi
  • New Acropolis Museum: 8.6 mi
  • Kifissias avenue: 6.1 mi
  • National and Kapodistrian University of Athens: 6.3 mi
  • Olympic Stadium: 6.8 mi
  • Athens Olympic Sports Complex: 6.9 mi
  • Athens Concert Hall: 7.3 mi
  • Panathinaikon: 7.8 mi
  • The Byzantine and Christian Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Goulandris Museum of Cycladic Art: 7.9 mi
  • Greek Parliament: 8 mi
  • Syntagma Square: 8.1 mi
  • Erechtheion: 8.4 mi
  • Academy of Athens: 8.4 mi
  • National Archaeological Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Parthenon: 8.6 mi
  • New Acropolis Museum: 8.6 mi
  • Agora: 8.8 mi
  • Theatre of Dionysus: 8.9 mi
  • Temple of Hephaestus: 8.9 mi
  • Railway Service: 11.9 mi
  • Daphni Monastery: 13.5 mi

Dining

Ruby Restaurant
Ruby in Style. Enjoy your meals in a cozy enviroment with excellent service.
Golden Bar
Romantic atmosphere, cozy couches that embrace the tired travelers, smell from expensive Havana cigars and liquers matured through time...

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aon Stay
Md
Aug 30, 2011

My stay

good stay. I would recommend this hotel for a quick stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aon Stay
Md
Aug 30, 2011

My stay

good stay. I would recommend this hotel for a quick stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD, USA
Jul 26, 2011

Things you should know

The hotel was nice, but I am disappointed in the shuttle service provided by the airport. Since this hotel is considered an airport hotel, I think that they would be more accomodating. The shuttle bus only runs from 5:30am to 9:30pm - so this is an issue if your flight leaves at six in the morning. Now, there is a express city bus - that you can pick up across the street for 5 euro (runs about every 20 minutes, but that might be only in the high season - not really sure. It just would have been nice if the hotel specified their shuttle bus hours/schedule on their website. They should also mention that the hotel can be reached by express bus. And the location of where you can pick up the shuttle when at the airport, would be helpful. If you didn't take the shuttle or the express bus, you can taxi (that is if they are not on strike) but it is 30 - 35 euro so you might as well just pay a little extra and stay in the hotel on airport property if you have an early or late flight. I will say the room was nice and large, but the bathroom shower looked as if it had not been cleaned in a few weeks. Also, don't recommend staying here unless you don't plan to be out in the city. The metro system is great and takes you directly from airport to city in less than 45 minutes - so it is not really worth it to stay at hotel unless you are in for just a night and need to catch a flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check the timing of your flights before you book this hotel. Free shuttle bus only runs from 5:30am to 9:30/10pm. Therefore, if you are booking for the sole purpose of using the shuttle you should know it does not always run.

Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 25, 2010

basics missing

My flight got in at 11:30pm and the hotel shuttle stops running at 7pm. The taxi driver had to be forced to take me to the hotel by the airport taxi stand manager because the hotel was too close to be worth his time. Then he drove 140km/hr while texting! And he wanted me to pay for putting my luggage in the trunk! I don't think so! My hotel room had no information about breakfast and no informational booklet about the hotel. I had to go down to the front desk to ask about breakfast at the hotel restaurant and see if they had a fitness room. My bed had no flat sheet, just a sheet on the mattress and a thin comforter. There was no clock and no washcloths in the room either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 25, 2010

basics missing

My flight got in at 11:30pm and the hotel shuttle stops running at 7pm. The taxi driver had to be forced to take me to the hotel by the airport taxi stand manager because the hotel was too close to be worth his time. Then he drove 140km/hr while texting! And he wanted me to pay for putting my luggage in the trunk! I don't think so! My hotel room had no information about breakfast and no informational booklet about the hotel. I had to go down to the front desk to ask about breakfast at the hotel restaurant and see if they had a fitness room. My bed had no flat sheet, just a sheet on the mattress and a thin comforter. There was no clock and no washcloths in the room either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ireland
Aug 12, 2010

restaurant prices rip off

lovely hotel, bad location if u want to do anything more then sleep. The hotel restaurant was a total rip off €5 for a coca cola (madness) no wonder it was empty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

try not book this hotel, great rooms but there is nothing else.. expensive restaurant, no nightlife, just isolated !

Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jun 28, 2010

Great hotel for proximity to airport

brand new and friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jun 28, 2010

Great hotel for proximity to airport

brand new and friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
London, UK
Apr 7, 2010

Nice hotel, bad location

I was only there for one night, but it was a good place to stay, since it was close to the airport, reliable, and the people spoke English. However, my flight got in after the airport shuttle had stopped running, so I had to get to the hotel from the airport on my own. I spoke to someone at the hotel ahead of time and he told me which bus to take to get there (a taxi driver at the airport told me it was so close that it would not be worth his time to drive me. He seemed to be drunk, so i didn't mind not getting in his car). Unfortunately, I had been told to take the wrong bus and wound up getting very, very lost in Athens in the middle of the night and hardly anybody spoke English. I finally got a taxi, but he had no idea where to go, and charged me a ridiculous rate after he spent about 20 minutes being lost. It was all pretty terrifying. My room was very nice, but there was no one to help me with my bags, or show me where my room was (the numbers did not go in order!), and once I got to the room I could not get the lights to stay on, until I called the front desk and they told me the key had to be kept by this switch next to the door. Once i did that, it was fine, but why couldn't they have a note or explained that when I checked in? In the morning I needed to get to my cruise ship and had been told when I booked that I could take the shuttle. However, the shuttle runs only once an hour or so, and there is no printed schedule, so since I just missed the one I needed, I had to pay a ridiculous fare (again!) to take a taxi to the port. To surmise, if you just need a place to rest, this hotel is very nice, but do yourself a favor and book your own transportation ahead of time and don't rely on them for more than a bed and a very nice bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn ATHENS - ATTICA AV, AIRPORT W

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
London, UK
Apr 7, 2010

Nice hotel, bad location

I was only there for one night, but it was a good place to stay, since it was close to the airport, reliable, and the people spoke English. However, my flight got in after the airport shuttle had stopped running, so I had to get to the hotel from the airport on my own. I spoke to someone at the hotel ahead of time and he told me which bus to take to get there (a taxi driver at the airport told me it was so close that it would not be worth his time to drive me. He seemed to be drunk, so i didn't mind not getting in his car). Unfortunately, I had been told to take the wrong bus and wound up getting very, very lost in Athens in the middle of the night and hardly anybody spoke English. I finally got a taxi, but he had no idea where to go, and charged me a ridiculous rate after he spent about 20 minutes being lost. It was all pretty terrifying. My room was very nice, but there was no one to help me with my bags, or show me where my room was (the numbers did not go in order!), and once I got to the room I could not get the lights to stay on, until I called the front desk and they told me the key had to be kept by this switch next to the door. Once i did that, it was fine, but why couldn't they have a note or explained that when I checked in? In the morning I needed to get to my cruise ship and had been told when I booked that I could take the shuttle. However, the shuttle runs only once an hour or so, and there is no printed schedule, so since I just missed the one I needed, I had to pay a ridiculous fare (again!) to take a taxi to the port. To surmise, if you just need a place to rest, this hotel is very nice, but do yourself a favor and book your own transportation ahead of time and don't rely on them for more than a bed and a very nice bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top