Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

4 stars
6 Makri Str, Athens, 11742
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
40 reviews
central location friendly atmosphere

Much more than we expected. We are certainly planning a second trip were we would only stay at this... See full review

  • Yehudah senior
  • Dec 5, 2014
Great service by the staff

We went to Athens for our anniversary and they upgraded us to the "penthouse" suite (room 601) that... See full review

  • Rocketman 2013
  • Aug 3, 2013
Free breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi at Athens hotel steps from the Acropolis
Step into the traditional formal lobby at the Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens from off a quiet side street on the edge of the Plaka district. In the heart of the old Athens, historical landmarks surround the hotel. Discover centuries of civilization at the Acropolis, Acropolis Museum and Temple of Olympian Zeus. Dionysiou Aeropagitou Street teems with artwork, live performances and events. Start the day with a free breakfast buffet. Find additional value at the Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens in free high-speed wireless Internet access.
Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access in guest rooms
  • Business center
  • On-site Acropolis Restaurant and Bar
  • Near the Acropolis, Acropolis Museum, metro station and Greek lifestyle in the Plaka area
Rooms
Tap into free high-speed wireless Internet access and order room service 24/7 in the cozy, neutral palette rooms at the Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens. Simple in a classic European-style, some rooms offer a balcony and Acropolis views. All accommodations feature air conditioning, satellite TV, phone, coffee maker, mini-bar, safe, shoe polish machine. Bathrooms at the Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens offer a bathtub, complimentary toiletries and hairdryer. Non-smoking rooms also are available.
Features
A warm, friendly staff adds to a pleasant stay at the smartly-located Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens. An arched ceiling of skylights in the Acropolis Restaurant brings in inviting sun to the Greek cuisine, while guests perch on faux-fur topped barstools to order cocktails or coffee in the contemporary bar. From the hotel, walk just a couple minutes to the Acropolis metro station to reach almost any part of Athens. Additional amenities at the Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens include laundry service, business center, currency exchange and parking facilities (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Athens Eleftherios Venizelos International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Attractions
  • Acropolis and Parthenon (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Garden of Athens (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Syntagma Square (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Athens National Art Gallery (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • National Archaeological Museum (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Piraeus Port (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Glyfada (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Mediterranean Exhibition Center (10 mi/16.2 km)
  • HELEXPO Conference Center (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access in guest rooms
  • Business center
  • Two meeting rooms accommodate up to 200 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens Rooms

Single Room
Room with one twin bed includes Air conditioning, Internet access, Room service, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Valet service, Non-smoking rooms, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer.
Triple Room
Room with one double bed and one twin bed includes Air conditioning, Internet access, Room service, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Valet service, Non-smoking rooms, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer.
Double/Twin Room
Room with one double bed or one twin bed includes Air conditioning, Internet access, Room service, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Valet service, Non-smoking rooms, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Erechtheion: 0.1 mi
  • Parthenon: 0.3 mi
  • Syntagma Square: 0.5 mi
  • The Byzantine and Christian Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Panathinaikon: 0.5 mi
  • Theatre of Dionysus: 0.6 mi
  • Greek Parliament: 0.6 mi
  • New Acropolis Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Agora: 0.6 mi
  • Academy of Athens: 0.7 mi
  • Goulandris Museum of Cycladic Art: 0.9 mi
  • Temple of Hephaestus: 0.9 mi
  • Athens Concert Hall: 1.3 mi
  • National Archaeological Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National and Kapodistrian University of Athens: 2.6 mi
  • Erechtheion: 0.1 mi
  • Parthenon: 0.3 mi
  • Syntagma Square: 0.5 mi
  • The Byzantine and Christian Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Panathinaikon: 0.5 mi
  • Theatre of Dionysus: 0.6 mi
  • Greek Parliament: 0.6 mi
  • New Acropolis Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Agora: 0.6 mi
  • Academy of Athens: 0.7 mi
  • Goulandris Museum of Cycladic Art: 0.9 mi
  • Temple of Hephaestus: 0.9 mi
  • Athens Concert Hall: 1.3 mi
  • National Archaeological Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National and Kapodistrian University of Athens: 2.6 mi
  • Railway Service: 3.7 mi
  • Kifissias avenue: 4.8 mi
  • Olympic Stadium: 5.6 mi
  • Daphni Monastery: 5.7 mi
  • Athens Olympic Sports Complex: 5.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yehudah senior
Business
Hazorea Israel
Dec 5, 2014

central location friendly atmosphere

Much more than we expected. We are certainly planning a second trip were we would only stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

any and every kind of food you may like is very easily accessable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2shea
Business
Kenmore, WA
Aug 9, 2014

No better location!

We stayed in 3 different Athen hotels throughout our trip to Greece and this was by far the best location. The hotel itself is pretty average, but the breakfast was the best we had in our month long visit to Greece in over 7 hotels. Easy to get to anywhere in Athens, including the airport and port. Take the Subway, which is right around the corner (Redline). You can connect from the airport (Blue Line) and the Port (Green Line).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk a few blocks from the hotel further into Plaka before choosing a place to eat. The ones closest to the hotel are not great and prices are higher.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Want to Travel
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 27, 2014

Great place to stay in Athens

Great place to stay in Athens. Extremely close to Acropolis and Acropolis Museum. Short walking distance to other most other sites. Very nice breakfast. Very friendly staff. Rooms significantly above average for most reasonably priced European hotels. Really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2shea
Business
Kenmore, WA
Jul 19, 2014

Location is the best!

Steps to the best sites of Athens! Staff is friendly and helpful. Not fancy, but has everything you need for a comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

1/2 a block to all Plako has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kazwriter
Business
Toronto
Jul 5, 2014

Great value for the money

This is a really nice hotel in downtown Athens. The room was not stunning or anything, but perfectly adequate, clean, quiet, with truly generous and helpful staff. Honestly, it was an honour to tip everyone well. What is unbeatable about this hotel is the location. You are on a quiet street but within two minutes of all Plaka's action and the gates of the Acropolis. This is now our favourite hotel in athens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go around 5 to the Acropolis and take plenty of water and acold bottle of wine. . . If you are discreet it's the perfect place for a nice sundown drink. Check to make sure it's one of the until-8 pm evening. if you have kids, this is a wonderful place to really wander around and have a picnic. . .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Krazy Kat
Business
UK
Jun 20, 2014

Hotel Parthenon

A good hotel near the centre of the tourist area. We only stayed a night which was fine but I wouldn't be so keen for a longer stay just because the rooms are quite basic. Although the foyer area is impressive the rest of the hotel is a bit tired and needs some tlc. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from Acropolis Metro station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sumit83
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 7, 2014

Perfect location

Can't beat this location!! Hotel is right in the middle of downtown, and right near the acropolis metro stop. The staff was very inviting and helpful.. Breakfast buffet was great. We had an early ferry to catch, and the staff accommodated breakfast for us before they actually opened. For some reason, our reservation had three twin beds, which was odd, especially since we had requested one double size room. Rooms were nothing special, especially considering you are in downtown Athens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We signed up for the hop on hop off bus. Athens is really small, so this was a huge value in seeing everything within about a day and half

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Golfrgrl
Business
Landrum, SC
May 4, 2014

Great location!

Hotel is in an excellent location and the breakfast was very good. However, the rooms could use a little refurbishing. But the beds/sheets we're clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jessww
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 24, 2014

AMAZING location, clean and comfortable accommodations for price paid

The best part of Airotel Parthenon is its location. It is a block from the metro and insanely close to the Acropolis Museum and the south entrance to Plaka, and super easy to roll my suitcase from the metro station to the hotel. The hotel is located on a quiet street lined with trees bursting with ripe oranges. The accommodations and hotel lobby are definitely looking about 7 years older than depicted in the photos, so I was initially disappointed in my choice of booking when I checked in. However, the location was just so convenient that I quickly changed my mind and decided I really liked Airotel Parthenon after all. During my trip, I walked by some of the other spots I had considered staying in Athens and I decided I really had made the best decision after all because at least it was in a very quiet location. While the lobby and rooms felt a little dated, I was comfortable in a clean room and the staff was very friendly, and I felt completely safe traveling alone as a female. I booked a double occupancy for 2 nights at Airotel hoping for a double bed, but ended up with a room with 2-twin beds pushed together instead. That's okay, because I used the blanket from the other side when I got chilly at night. Breakfast was super convenient since I had jetlag and was waking up early so I could toddle downstairs to get an early breakfast and then go back upstairs to wash up and get ready for the day. The selection was good and I was grateful for the variety of options to create a healthy breakfast. The things I would recommend to other travelers staying here: 1) You may want to bring or buy a hair dryer because this hotel uses a wall unit hair dryer which is the worst I've ever experienced because it kept shutting off in mid-dry and I have a lot of hair so it takes forever. 2) Pack some simple house slippers because their rooms use a woven laminate floor which is a little odd and chilly. 3) Other than the BBC, there are no channels in English (standard for the area). 4) Earplugs if you are a light sleeper - the doors are somewhat thin but I had no problem with this. 5) I was able to leave my large suitcase with them for 3 nights as I joined my friends in Santorini before returning to Athens to stay at an apartment through airbnb. They didn’t even charge me although the normal charge is 1.5 euros per day. Excellent service. I would absolutely recommend others on a similar budget as mine and wanting a clean place to stay on their travel to Athens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EthanJ
Business
Bangkok, Thailand
Feb 8, 2014

Great experience, but doesn't feel like a 4 star

We enjoyed the convenient location and a staff that was both professional and extremely kind. Immediately upon check-in we were provided with travel tips, a restaurant recommendation, and a map with information/advice on places to see. The breakfast was good with a variety of cheese, meat, some Greek items including yogurt, eggs, and other treats. The problem is that when I see a hotel has four stars, I have certain expectations about room quality. While clean, the room was lacking in other ways. My wife and I were each on single beds that were pushed together, quality of linens/pillows was OK, but not great for a 4 star. The TV was tiny. The room was also small and not particularly aesthetically pleasing. Despite these shortcomings, I still rate the hotel highly and would recommend it because the location is so good, the staff was always helpful, and the breakfast was tasty with plenty of offerings. If you're planning on seeing the sights of Athens, this is certainly a good hotel choice if you can get a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For dining, leave the Plaka area, and go around Monostiraki - it's much cheaper & the food is generally better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top