$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

4 stars
6 Makri Str, Athens, 11742
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
43 reviews
The most fantastic adventure

My husband and I loved this hotel, we stayed there last January. It was in the perfect location to... See full review

  • Carla P.
  • Jan 22, 2015
central location friendly atmosphere

Much more than we expected. We are certainly planning a second trip were we would only stay at this... See full review

  • Yehudah senior
  • Dec 5, 2014
Free breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi at Athens hotel steps from the Acropolis
Step into the traditional formal lobby at the Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens from off a quiet side street on the edge of the Plaka district. In the heart of the old Athens, historical landmarks surround the hotel. Discover centuries of civilization at the Acropolis, Acropolis Museum and Temple of Olympian Zeus. Dionysiou Aeropagitou Street teems with artwork, live performances and events. Start the day with a free breakfast buffet. Find additional value at the Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens in free high-speed wireless Internet access.
Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access in guest rooms
  • Business center
  • On-site Acropolis Restaurant and Bar
  • Near the Acropolis, Acropolis Museum, metro station and Greek lifestyle in the Plaka area
Rooms
Tap into free high-speed wireless Internet access and order room service 24/7 in the cozy, neutral palette rooms at the Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens. Simple in a classic European-style, some rooms offer a balcony and Acropolis views. All accommodations feature air conditioning, satellite TV, phone, coffee maker, mini-bar, safe, shoe polish machine. Bathrooms at the Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens offer a bathtub, complimentary toiletries and hairdryer. Non-smoking rooms also are available.
Features
A warm, friendly staff adds to a pleasant stay at the smartly-located Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens. An arched ceiling of skylights in the Acropolis Restaurant brings in inviting sun to the Greek cuisine, while guests perch on faux-fur topped barstools to order cocktails or coffee in the contemporary bar. From the hotel, walk just a couple minutes to the Acropolis metro station to reach almost any part of Athens. Additional amenities at the Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens include laundry service, business center, currency exchange and parking facilities (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Athens Eleftherios Venizelos International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Attractions
  • Acropolis and Parthenon (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Garden of Athens (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Syntagma Square (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Athens National Art Gallery (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • National Archaeological Museum (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Piraeus Port (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Glyfada (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Mediterranean Exhibition Center (10 mi/16.2 km)
  • HELEXPO Conference Center (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access in guest rooms
  • Business center
  • Two meeting rooms accommodate up to 200 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens Rooms

Single Room
Room with one twin bed includes Air conditioning, Internet access, Room service, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Valet service, Non-smoking rooms, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer.
Triple Room
Room with one double bed and one twin bed includes Air conditioning, Internet access, Room service, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Valet service, Non-smoking rooms, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer.
Double/Twin Room
Room with one double bed or one twin bed includes Air conditioning, Internet access, Room service, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Valet service, Non-smoking rooms, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Erechtheion: 0.1 mi
  • Parthenon: 0.3 mi
  • Syntagma Square: 0.5 mi
  • The Byzantine and Christian Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Panathinaikon: 0.5 mi
  • Theatre of Dionysus: 0.6 mi
  • Greek Parliament: 0.6 mi
  • New Acropolis Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Agora: 0.6 mi
  • Academy of Athens: 0.7 mi
  • Goulandris Museum of Cycladic Art: 0.9 mi
  • Temple of Hephaestus: 0.9 mi
  • Athens Concert Hall: 1.3 mi
  • National Archaeological Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National and Kapodistrian University of Athens: 2.6 mi
  • Erechtheion: 0.1 mi
  • Parthenon: 0.3 mi
  • Syntagma Square: 0.5 mi
  • The Byzantine and Christian Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Panathinaikon: 0.5 mi
  • Theatre of Dionysus: 0.6 mi
  • Greek Parliament: 0.6 mi
  • New Acropolis Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Agora: 0.6 mi
  • Academy of Athens: 0.7 mi
  • Goulandris Museum of Cycladic Art: 0.9 mi
  • Temple of Hephaestus: 0.9 mi
  • Athens Concert Hall: 1.3 mi
  • National Archaeological Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National and Kapodistrian University of Athens: 2.6 mi
  • Railway Service: 3.7 mi
  • Kifissias avenue: 4.8 mi
  • Olympic Stadium: 5.6 mi
  • Daphni Monastery: 5.7 mi
  • Athens Olympic Sports Complex: 5.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 43
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jessww
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 24, 2014

AMAZING location, clean and comfortable accommodations for price paid

The best part of Airotel Parthenon is its location. It is a block from the metro and insanely close to the Acropolis Museum and the south entrance to Plaka, and super easy to roll my suitcase from the metro station to the hotel. The hotel is located on a quiet street lined with trees bursting with ripe oranges. The accommodations and hotel lobby are definitely looking about 7 years older than depicted in the photos, so I was initially disappointed in my choice of booking when I checked in. However, the location was just so convenient that I quickly changed my mind and decided I really liked Airotel Parthenon after all. During my trip, I walked by some of the other spots I had considered staying in Athens and I decided I really had made the best decision after all because at least it was in a very quiet location. While the lobby and rooms felt a little dated, I was comfortable in a clean room and the staff was very friendly, and I felt completely safe traveling alone as a female. I booked a double occupancy for 2 nights at Airotel hoping for a double bed, but ended up with a room with 2-twin beds pushed together instead. That's okay, because I used the blanket from the other side when I got chilly at night. Breakfast was super convenient since I had jetlag and was waking up early so I could toddle downstairs to get an early breakfast and then go back upstairs to wash up and get ready for the day. The selection was good and I was grateful for the variety of options to create a healthy breakfast. The things I would recommend to other travelers staying here: 1) You may want to bring or buy a hair dryer because this hotel uses a wall unit hair dryer which is the worst I've ever experienced because it kept shutting off in mid-dry and I have a lot of hair so it takes forever. 2) Pack some simple house slippers because their rooms use a woven laminate floor which is a little odd and chilly. 3) Other than the BBC, there are no channels in English (standard for the area). 4) Earplugs if you are a light sleeper - the doors are somewhat thin but I had no problem with this. 5) I was able to leave my large suitcase with them for 3 nights as I joined my friends in Santorini before returning to Athens to stay at an apartment through airbnb. They didn’t even charge me although the normal charge is 1.5 euros per day. Excellent service. I would absolutely recommend others on a similar budget as mine and wanting a clean place to stay on their travel to Athens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous 4
Business
Athens , Greece
Sep 20, 2013

Great location, but would not stay here again

Friendly staff, great location close to metro and Acropolis. Good breakfast . But room very drab, Floor covered with a plastic burlap -like material that felt strange to walk on, room smelled like stale fried chicken, sign for hotel not lighted up at night, And street was dark at night .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen W.
Business
Shanghai, China
Feb 14, 2013

The Best Place to Stay in Athens

My wonderful two-week stay in Athens was made even better by the excellent staff at the Airotel Parthenon. I had a good idea of what I wanted to do and see, but I was able to do and see much more thanks to their helpful, friendly advice. I saw all the sights (and more) and I got recommendations for where to shop (January-February sales!), eat, and pamper myself. I learned a lot of Greek, too! If you are a walker like me (at least five miles a day), this hotel is perfect because it is within walking distance of everything. I only took the Metro once during my whole two weeks. I visited every part of the city, the old ruins and the Contemporary Art galleries and museums, churches, tavernas, and practically every neighborhood. The breakfast is outstanding and I was fortified until lunch. After a couple of days, the restaurant staff took note of where I sat, and that I liked cappuccino and the International Herald Tribune each morning. The free Internet service was convenient, though slow at times. You can pay to get a faster connection if needed, however. At first, I was given a room on the 4th floor overlooking the quiet side street, but was then moved to Room 512, which I really enjoyed. There was a nice terrace where I could have my morning coffee and listen to the canaries sing, see the rooftops of Athens, as well as the mountains. I was offered Room 601, the only room I know of with views of the Parthenon, but I preferred 512. One suggestion I have is that the towels should be replaced (they are a little worn out) and it would be nice to have washcloths, too. Otherwise, the amenities, TV, and coffee/tea set-up were great. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well every night I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Athens during the January-February sales. You will not find better deals on well-made clothing and shoes. Furthermore, the weather is pleasant, the city is less crowded with tourists and therefore, more authentic, and you will often have monuments and ruins all to yourself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sammy2kind
Business
Baltimore, MD
Nov 30, 2012

Great place to stay for a few days

I had no problems with the hotel, except it was really noisy at night. Outside dogs were barking, people were rolling things down the street. Bring earplugs just in case! They staff was so friendly, and even on my early flight home, they told me I could go into the breakfast room and grab a bite to eat early, before breakfast started. That was so nice of them! The Wifi signal was weak in my room, as my room was on the end, but in the hallway and everywhere else I got a good connection. I would definitely stay here again, great value, just bring earplugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC Metro
Sep 15, 2009

HOTEL PARTHENON

I loved the location, however there was no pool. My room didn't have a view of the Acropolis, but they do have rooms with this view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to metro system, and Acropolis

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top