$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 20, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

4 stars
View map of 6 Makri Str, Athens, 11742

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WWTD
Business
London
Mar 4, 2013

No real complaints given the price and location.

Great location and (off season) price. The staff was very accomadating with my very late checkout. That said, there was nothing really special about the Airotel Parthenon, rooms were clean albeit dated and could use some freshing up. I would go back to the Airotel Parthenon as it wsa a great value given the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Half Note Jazz club pulls a friendly local crowd with great music. About a 10-15 min walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen W.
Business
Shanghai, China
Feb 14, 2013

The Best Place to Stay in Athens

My wonderful two-week stay in Athens was made even better by the excellent staff at the Airotel Parthenon. I had a good idea of what I wanted to do and see, but I was able to do and see much more thanks to their helpful, friendly advice. I saw all the sights (and more) and I got recommendations for where to shop (January-February sales!), eat, and pamper myself. I learned a lot of Greek, too! If you are a walker like me (at least five miles a day), this hotel is perfect because it is within walking distance of everything. I only took the Metro once during my whole two weeks. I visited every part of the city, the old ruins and the Contemporary Art galleries and museums, churches, tavernas, and practically every neighborhood. The breakfast is outstanding and I was fortified until lunch. After a couple of days, the restaurant staff took note of where I sat, and that I liked cappuccino and the International Herald Tribune each morning. The free Internet service was convenient, though slow at times. You can pay to get a faster connection if needed, however. At first, I was given a room on the 4th floor overlooking the quiet side street, but was then moved to Room 512, which I really enjoyed. There was a nice terrace where I could have my morning coffee and listen to the canaries sing, see the rooftops of Athens, as well as the mountains. I was offered Room 601, the only room I know of with views of the Parthenon, but I preferred 512. One suggestion I have is that the towels should be replaced (they are a little worn out) and it would be nice to have washcloths, too. Otherwise, the amenities, TV, and coffee/tea set-up were great. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well every night I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Athens during the January-February sales. You will not find better deals on well-made clothing and shoes. Furthermore, the weather is pleasant, the city is less crowded with tourists and therefore, more authentic, and you will often have monuments and ruins all to yourself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mea7865
Business
Columbus, OH
Dec 13, 2012

Fantastic Birthday Celebration!

The location of this hotel is perfect! Short walk to the Acropolis, the museum, metro (easy access to the airport), cute little cafes, and a lot of shopping! Accommodations at the hotel were wonderful, breakfast was okay, staff was very friendly and helpful! I would recommend this hotel to anyone desiring to stay in a central location, with walking distance to the acropolis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sammy2kind
Business
Baltimore, MD
Nov 30, 2012

Great place to stay for a few days

I had no problems with the hotel, except it was really noisy at night. Outside dogs were barking, people were rolling things down the street. Bring earplugs just in case! They staff was so friendly, and even on my early flight home, they told me I could go into the breakfast room and grab a bite to eat early, before breakfast started. That was so nice of them! The Wifi signal was weak in my room, as my room was on the end, but in the hallway and everywhere else I got a good connection. I would definitely stay here again, great value, just bring earplugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dips
Business
London
Jul 18, 2012

Great location

This hotel was in a great location, perfectly located for sight seeing, the Metro and loads of great restaurants/taverns. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was clean. However, the breakfast was quite minimal and the room was tiny with quite a noisy AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JEBBY
Business
Cumbria, UK
Jan 1, 2012

Fantastic city location

This hotel is in a fantastic location for sightseeing in Athens. Very handy for metro station which is just round the corner. Breakfast buffet really good with a good choice for everyone. Rooms warm and comfortable with very comfortable beds. Reception area and bar are nicely furnished and made a great area for meeting up with friends. Staff were so helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble. Free in room wifi an added bonus. All I can say is stay here and you won't regret it. Very good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gerge
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 28, 2011

good hotel

all good beside the two singles beds in the room ,in europe is always a problem getting single or queen beds the rest perffect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PVAL
Business
United States
Sep 15, 2011

Great Hotel

Hotel was very easy to find and close to the Metro, Acropolis, and Plaka. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast included a wide variety of fresh fruits, yogurt, breads, cereals, jams, eggs. The room was a bit small as we were a group of 3 and so there were 3 single beds placed in a room intended for 2 single beds however for the price and location it was not a big inconvenience. Room was clean and everything was in working order...while there was no hot water the first night at 11pm, everything was fine the next morning and night with no issues. Would go back to this hotel and would recommend it to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Athens Newbie
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 13, 2011

A real surprise.

I admit my expectations were low given the affordable price of this European hotel. I am very happy to report that instead this hotel surprised me in a very positive way. The location was incredible for the Acropolis and the new Acropolis Museum (a must see!!) as well as for Parliament and several other areas of interest. The Staff let us check in at 10am right from our cruise ship which was a nice surprise. The room had a clean bathroom, a safe, a fridge, ample closet space, overall a huge room by usual European standards. The room had 2 twin beds (pushed together if you wanted a "queen sized" but still two individual beds) with an ugly orange blanket on them but I wasn't expecting the Ritz. I will say that the water pressure in the shower was the BEST I have ever had in my life. No joke, if you took the shower handle off the stand it was like attempting to hold a firehose at full blast....it felt wonderful. The included breakfast was also very nice and not just Continental style. There were scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, bacon and sausage in warmers. Plenty of bread and fruits and juices as well. If the hotel had a rooftop bar I'm sure it would have had a wonderful view of the Acropolis but alas..... Overall for the price, we felt this hotel was an amazing gem. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. One minor thing, our room was right next to the bright hotel sign outside so it gave off a lot of light in the early evening hours but to be honest, we were so tired each night from touring Athens, we did not notice but some might. Obviously given our very early check-in we were just happy to get a room right away so maybe this was the room that was available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are planning to go to the Acropolis, get there early and walk in the minute the ticket window opens at 8:00am. You'll be glad you did as when 9:30 rolls around there are a thousand tour groups clogging up the entire site and you will not get a person-free picture. Also, I would recommend going to the Acropolis Museum the day before going to the actual Acropolis as it will really help out when you are at the Acropolis site.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GordonKG
Business
London
Aug 11, 2011

Stress Free

Comfortable room though not large, very very good breakfast. Polite staff. Excellent location for a tourist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top