$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

4 stars
6 Makri Str, Athens, 11742
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
40 reviews
Great service by the staff

We went to Athens for our anniversary and they upgraded us to the "penthouse" suite (room 601) that... See full review

  • Rocketman 2013
  • Aug 3, 2013
No better location!

We stayed in 3 different Athen hotels throughout our trip to Greece and this was by far the best... See full review

  • 2shea
  • Aug 9, 2014
Free breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi at Athens hotel steps from the Acropolis
Step into the traditional formal lobby at the Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens from off a quiet side street on the edge of the Plaka district. In the heart of the old Athens, historical landmarks surround the hotel. Discover centuries of civilization at the Acropolis, Acropolis Museum and Temple of Olympian Zeus. Dionysiou Aeropagitou Street teems with artwork, live performances and events. Start the day with a free breakfast buffet. Find additional value at the Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens in free high-speed wireless Internet access.
Highlights
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access in guest rooms
  • Business center
  • On-site Acropolis Restaurant and Bar
  • Near the Acropolis, Acropolis Museum, metro station and Greek lifestyle in the Plaka area
Rooms
Tap into free high-speed wireless Internet access and order room service 24/7 in the cozy, neutral palette rooms at the Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens. Simple in a classic European-style, some rooms offer a balcony and Acropolis views. All accommodations feature air conditioning, satellite TV, phone, coffee maker, mini-bar, safe, shoe polish machine. Bathrooms at the Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens offer a bathtub, complimentary toiletries and hairdryer. Non-smoking rooms also are available.
Features
A warm, friendly staff adds to a pleasant stay at the smartly-located Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens. An arched ceiling of skylights in the Acropolis Restaurant brings in inviting sun to the Greek cuisine, while guests perch on faux-fur topped barstools to order cocktails or coffee in the contemporary bar. From the hotel, walk just a couple minutes to the Acropolis metro station to reach almost any part of Athens. Additional amenities at the Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens include laundry service, business center, currency exchange and parking facilities (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Athens Eleftherios Venizelos International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Attractions
  • Acropolis and Parthenon (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Garden of Athens (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Syntagma Square (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Athens National Art Gallery (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • National Archaeological Museum (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Piraeus Port (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Glyfada (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Mediterranean Exhibition Center (10 mi/16.2 km)
  • HELEXPO Conference Center (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access in guest rooms
  • Business center
  • Two meeting rooms accommodate up to 200 people

Hotel Map

37.9692 23.7306
Area served
Athens.
Nearby airports
Athens International Airport.
Area description
In the heart of the old Athens, ready to live your "myth". Everything is close by. Around you unravels a history of thousands of years, a civilization of centuries. Only steps away is the Acropolis, unbelievably magic, day and night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens Rooms

Single Room
Room with one twin bed includes Air conditioning, Internet access, Room service, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Valet service, Non-smoking rooms, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer.
Triple Room
Room with one double bed and one twin bed includes Air conditioning, Internet access, Room service, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Valet service, Non-smoking rooms, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer.
Double/Twin Room
Room with one double bed or one twin bed includes Air conditioning, Internet access, Room service, Balcony / Terrace, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Valet service, Non-smoking rooms, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Erechtheion: 0.1 mi
  • Parthenon: 0.3 mi
  • Syntagma Square: 0.5 mi
  • The Byzantine and Christian Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Panathinaikon: 0.5 mi
  • Theatre of Dionysus: 0.6 mi
  • Greek Parliament: 0.6 mi
  • New Acropolis Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Agora: 0.6 mi
  • Academy of Athens: 0.7 mi
  • Goulandris Museum of Cycladic Art: 0.9 mi
  • Temple of Hephaestus: 0.9 mi
  • Athens Concert Hall: 1.3 mi
  • National Archaeological Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National and Kapodistrian University of Athens: 2.6 mi
  • Erechtheion: 0.1 mi
  • Parthenon: 0.3 mi
  • Syntagma Square: 0.5 mi
  • The Byzantine and Christian Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Panathinaikon: 0.5 mi
  • Theatre of Dionysus: 0.6 mi
  • Greek Parliament: 0.6 mi
  • New Acropolis Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Agora: 0.6 mi
  • Academy of Athens: 0.7 mi
  • Goulandris Museum of Cycladic Art: 0.9 mi
  • Temple of Hephaestus: 0.9 mi
  • Athens Concert Hall: 1.3 mi
  • National Archaeological Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National and Kapodistrian University of Athens: 2.6 mi
  • Railway Service: 3.7 mi
  • Kifissias avenue: 4.8 mi
  • Olympic Stadium: 5.6 mi
  • Daphni Monastery: 5.7 mi
  • Athens Olympic Sports Complex: 5.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. AB
Business
South Florida
Oct 31, 2013

Best location to the Acropolis

Excellent location with an average old looking hotel. Average service with below average breakfast. Restaurant closes after breakfast and do not open until the next day despite the fact that it advertise dinner availability. Could not be rated more than 3 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Shish Kebab at Thanassis in the PLAKA

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RBMay
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Oct 24, 2013

Location, location, location!

Well, as you can see in the title, this hotel is in a prime location near the Parthenon and near great restaurants and many tourist locations. A very nice staff, helpful and friendly. We had some minor issues with our room which they took care of right away and they were very nice about it. A decent b'fast buffet each morning also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Acropolis and Parthenon is just around the corner and Acropolis Museum also which was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous 4
Business
Athens , Greece
Sep 20, 2013

Great location, but would not stay here again

Friendly staff, great location close to metro and Acropolis. Good breakfast . But room very drab, Floor covered with a plastic burlap -like material that felt strange to walk on, room smelled like stale fried chicken, sign for hotel not lighted up at night, And street was dark at night .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liblady
Business
Charlottesville, Va
Aug 26, 2013

Great location, great staff, good price, fantastic free breakfast

This hotel is located down the street from the Acropolis entrance and museum, near Syntagma Square, around the corner from the Plaka, and near a metro station and the hop on hop off buses. We took the express bus in from the airport and walked from the drop off point to our hotel. We left early in the morning and were able to walk to get the bus, saving us a taxi fare. The lobby is very attractive. The rooms were OK. Everything worked. They were quiet. The staff was very helpful, and the breakfast was good (hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, yoghurt, croissants, OJ, different breads, and some Greek items. All in all we were very happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the express bus in from the Airport to Syntagma Square if you are staying in downtown Athens. You can taxi, metro, or walk from there to your hotel. The bus is 5 euros, the metro 8, and a taxi a lot more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rocketman 2013
Business
L.A.
Aug 3, 2013

Great service by the staff

We went to Athens for our anniversary and they upgraded us to the "penthouse" suite (room 601) that has a rooftop view of the Acropolis. They also provided us a very nice welcome platter & wine. It is a modest hotel but they provided us with the exact experience we were looking for. Location is excellent relative to Metro and Acropolis/Museum. Full breakfast with lots of options for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carlos The Forester
Business
Gainesville, FL
Jul 29, 2013

Perfect Location

The Hotel is OK. Very good breakfast. The best is the location: 1 block from Partenon, 2 blocks from Plaka restaurants, 1 block from metro station, 1 block from car rentals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't go to restaurants in Plaka. They are expensive and no so good. Go where Greeks go. If you see too many tourists, don't go in. You can have a lunch for 7 Euros ("crisis menu").

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WWTD
Business
London
Mar 4, 2013

No real complaints given the price and location.

Great location and (off season) price. The staff was very accomadating with my very late checkout. That said, there was nothing really special about the Airotel Parthenon, rooms were clean albeit dated and could use some freshing up. I would go back to the Airotel Parthenon as it wsa a great value given the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Half Note Jazz club pulls a friendly local crowd with great music. About a 10-15 min walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen W.
Business
Shanghai, China
Feb 14, 2013

The Best Place to Stay in Athens

My wonderful two-week stay in Athens was made even better by the excellent staff at the Airotel Parthenon. I had a good idea of what I wanted to do and see, but I was able to do and see much more thanks to their helpful, friendly advice. I saw all the sights (and more) and I got recommendations for where to shop (January-February sales!), eat, and pamper myself. I learned a lot of Greek, too! If you are a walker like me (at least five miles a day), this hotel is perfect because it is within walking distance of everything. I only took the Metro once during my whole two weeks. I visited every part of the city, the old ruins and the Contemporary Art galleries and museums, churches, tavernas, and practically every neighborhood. The breakfast is outstanding and I was fortified until lunch. After a couple of days, the restaurant staff took note of where I sat, and that I liked cappuccino and the International Herald Tribune each morning. The free Internet service was convenient, though slow at times. You can pay to get a faster connection if needed, however. At first, I was given a room on the 4th floor overlooking the quiet side street, but was then moved to Room 512, which I really enjoyed. There was a nice terrace where I could have my morning coffee and listen to the canaries sing, see the rooftops of Athens, as well as the mountains. I was offered Room 601, the only room I know of with views of the Parthenon, but I preferred 512. One suggestion I have is that the towels should be replaced (they are a little worn out) and it would be nice to have washcloths, too. Otherwise, the amenities, TV, and coffee/tea set-up were great. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well every night I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Athens during the January-February sales. You will not find better deals on well-made clothing and shoes. Furthermore, the weather is pleasant, the city is less crowded with tourists and therefore, more authentic, and you will often have monuments and ruins all to yourself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mea7865
Business
Columbus, OH
Dec 13, 2012

Fantastic Birthday Celebration!

The location of this hotel is perfect! Short walk to the Acropolis, the museum, metro (easy access to the airport), cute little cafes, and a lot of shopping! Accommodations at the hotel were wonderful, breakfast was okay, staff was very friendly and helpful! I would recommend this hotel to anyone desiring to stay in a central location, with walking distance to the acropolis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sammy2kind
Business
Baltimore, MD
Nov 30, 2012

Great place to stay for a few days

I had no problems with the hotel, except it was really noisy at night. Outside dogs were barking, people were rolling things down the street. Bring earplugs just in case! They staff was so friendly, and even on my early flight home, they told me I could go into the breakfast room and grab a bite to eat early, before breakfast started. That was so nice of them! The Wifi signal was weak in my room, as my room was on the end, but in the hallway and everywhere else I got a good connection. I would definitely stay here again, great value, just bring earplugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top