$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

4 stars
View map of 6 Makri Str, Athens, 11742

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Golfrgrl
Business
Landrum, SC
May 4, 2014

Great location!

Hotel is in an excellent location and the breakfast was very good. However, the rooms could use a little refurbishing. But the beds/sheets we're clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jessww
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 24, 2014

AMAZING location, clean and comfortable accommodations for price paid

The best part of Airotel Parthenon is its location. It is a block from the metro and insanely close to the Acropolis Museum and the south entrance to Plaka, and super easy to roll my suitcase from the metro station to the hotel. The hotel is located on a quiet street lined with trees bursting with ripe oranges. The accommodations and hotel lobby are definitely looking about 7 years older than depicted in the photos, so I was initially disappointed in my choice of booking when I checked in. However, the location was just so convenient that I quickly changed my mind and decided I really liked Airotel Parthenon after all. During my trip, I walked by some of the other spots I had considered staying in Athens and I decided I really had made the best decision after all because at least it was in a very quiet location. While the lobby and rooms felt a little dated, I was comfortable in a clean room and the staff was very friendly, and I felt completely safe traveling alone as a female. I booked a double occupancy for 2 nights at Airotel hoping for a double bed, but ended up with a room with 2-twin beds pushed together instead. That's okay, because I used the blanket from the other side when I got chilly at night. Breakfast was super convenient since I had jetlag and was waking up early so I could toddle downstairs to get an early breakfast and then go back upstairs to wash up and get ready for the day. The selection was good and I was grateful for the variety of options to create a healthy breakfast. The things I would recommend to other travelers staying here: 1) You may want to bring or buy a hair dryer because this hotel uses a wall unit hair dryer which is the worst I've ever experienced because it kept shutting off in mid-dry and I have a lot of hair so it takes forever. 2) Pack some simple house slippers because their rooms use a woven laminate floor which is a little odd and chilly. 3) Other than the BBC, there are no channels in English (standard for the area). 4) Earplugs if you are a light sleeper - the doors are somewhat thin but I had no problem with this. 5) I was able to leave my large suitcase with them for 3 nights as I joined my friends in Santorini before returning to Athens to stay at an apartment through airbnb. They didn’t even charge me although the normal charge is 1.5 euros per day. Excellent service. I would absolutely recommend others on a similar budget as mine and wanting a clean place to stay on their travel to Athens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EthanJ
Business
Bangkok, Thailand
Feb 8, 2014

Great experience, but doesn't feel like a 4 star

We enjoyed the convenient location and a staff that was both professional and extremely kind. Immediately upon check-in we were provided with travel tips, a restaurant recommendation, and a map with information/advice on places to see. The breakfast was good with a variety of cheese, meat, some Greek items including yogurt, eggs, and other treats. The problem is that when I see a hotel has four stars, I have certain expectations about room quality. While clean, the room was lacking in other ways. My wife and I were each on single beds that were pushed together, quality of linens/pillows was OK, but not great for a 4 star. The TV was tiny. The room was also small and not particularly aesthetically pleasing. Despite these shortcomings, I still rate the hotel highly and would recommend it because the location is so good, the staff was always helpful, and the breakfast was tasty with plenty of offerings. If you're planning on seeing the sights of Athens, this is certainly a good hotel choice if you can get a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For dining, leave the Plaka area, and go around Monostiraki - it's much cheaper & the food is generally better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Soondae
Business
Limassol, Cyprus
Dec 30, 2013

Location Location

Hard to beat the location of this hotel which is why I chose it, right below the Acropolis and at Plaka. However it is noisy and lacking of any facilities other than the basics. Overall I am satisfied because the location is walking distance to all I wanted to accomplish in my long weekend at Athens, however if you want amenities, pass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lovely view of Parthenon and excellent food, stick with Greek menu. Very nice staff to go along with the food. "Strofi athenian restaurant". Shopping in Plaka was alot of fun and great prices on leather goods at the right shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. AB
Business
South Florida
Oct 31, 2013

Best location to the Acropolis

Excellent location with an average old looking hotel. Average service with below average breakfast. Restaurant closes after breakfast and do not open until the next day despite the fact that it advertise dinner availability. Could not be rated more than 3 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Shish Kebab at Thanassis in the PLAKA

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RBMay
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Oct 24, 2013

Location, location, location!

Well, as you can see in the title, this hotel is in a prime location near the Parthenon and near great restaurants and many tourist locations. A very nice staff, helpful and friendly. We had some minor issues with our room which they took care of right away and they were very nice about it. A decent b'fast buffet each morning also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Acropolis and Parthenon is just around the corner and Acropolis Museum also which was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous 4
Business
Athens , Greece
Sep 20, 2013

Great location, but would not stay here again

Friendly staff, great location close to metro and Acropolis. Good breakfast . But room very drab, Floor covered with a plastic burlap -like material that felt strange to walk on, room smelled like stale fried chicken, sign for hotel not lighted up at night, And street was dark at night .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liblady
Business
Charlottesville, Va
Aug 26, 2013

Great location, great staff, good price, fantastic free breakfast

This hotel is located down the street from the Acropolis entrance and museum, near Syntagma Square, around the corner from the Plaka, and near a metro station and the hop on hop off buses. We took the express bus in from the airport and walked from the drop off point to our hotel. We left early in the morning and were able to walk to get the bus, saving us a taxi fare. The lobby is very attractive. The rooms were OK. Everything worked. They were quiet. The staff was very helpful, and the breakfast was good (hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, yoghurt, croissants, OJ, different breads, and some Greek items. All in all we were very happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the express bus in from the Airport to Syntagma Square if you are staying in downtown Athens. You can taxi, metro, or walk from there to your hotel. The bus is 5 euros, the metro 8, and a taxi a lot more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rocketman 2013
Business
L.A.
Aug 3, 2013

Great service by the staff

We went to Athens for our anniversary and they upgraded us to the "penthouse" suite (room 601) that has a rooftop view of the Acropolis. They also provided us a very nice welcome platter & wine. It is a modest hotel but they provided us with the exact experience we were looking for. Location is excellent relative to Metro and Acropolis/Museum. Full breakfast with lots of options for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Airotel Parthenon Hotel Athens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carlos The Forester
Business
Gainesville, FL
Jul 29, 2013

Perfect Location

The Hotel is OK. Very good breakfast. The best is the location: 1 block from Partenon, 2 blocks from Plaka restaurants, 1 block from metro station, 1 block from car rentals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't go to restaurants in Plaka. They are expensive and no so good. Go where Greeks go. If you see too many tourists, don't go in. You can have a lunch for 7 Euros ("crisis menu").

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top