$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

5 stars
View map of Bayerstrasse 12, MUENCHEN, 80335

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
26 reviews
Trip of a life time

The Sofitel Hotel in Munich was in an excellent location plus the service from staff was superb!... See full review

  • Dissatisfied Americans
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great weekend away

First class hotel, breakfast was a bit steep in price and the bar prices were expensive but loved... See full review

  • Big col
  • Dec 1, 2014

Under its formal, 19th-century exterior, the Sofitel Munich Bayerpost hotel surprises with a modern German hotel that delivers posh amenities and superb service. A spectacular floating staircase and avant-garde architecture create a cosmopolitan hotel culture in the heart of Munich. Soak up the atmosphere at the restaurant, meet for drinks at the bar or walk to city attractions and the trains from this 5-star hotel. Guests of the Sofitel Munich Bayerpost hotel have complimentary access to a fitness center and the artfully designed So Spa facilities.

Rooms

Choose a tailored amount of space and level of luxury from six room categories at the Sofitel Munich Bayerpost hotel. In a central Munich location, the 396 rooms offer garden or city views, king beds and swiveling flat-screen TVs with satellite and pay-per-view options. Run the air conditioning, brew coffee with the Nespresso machine and order room service 24 hours a day. Guests appreciate superior comfort on exclusive Sofitel MyBeds and in-room wireless Internet access (fees apply), along with a hairdryer and a radio in the bathroom. Pet-friendly rooms are available at the Sofitel Munich Bayerpost hotel (fees apply).

               

Property features

Guests of the Sofitel Munich Bayerpost hotel take a short walk to a variety of public transportation options as well as the downtown area restaurants and historic landmarks. Book full-service treatments at So Spa or take advantage of the indoor swimming pool, steam room, sauna and contemporary fitness center. As evening falls the Brasserie Delice invites guests to take a gastronomic voyage through French cuisine while being seated under high ceilings in a setting  of chic urban design. The Schwarz&Weiz restaurant offers an extraordinarily rich breakfast buffet with the best Croissants in whole Munich, finest Munich "Weissewurst", freshly sliced Vulcano Bacon and delicious French cheese. Take the train from the airport and walk easily from the station or park the car right on site (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Indoor swimming pool, sauna and steam room
  • A restaurant, a bar and 24-hour room service
  • Full-service spa
  • Extensive meeting facilities for up to 800 people
Nearby attractions
  • Frauenkirche, Church of Our Lady (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Marienplatz central square (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rathaus-Glockenspiel (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hofbräuhaus beer hall (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Munich Residence (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • German Museum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Olympic Stadium (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Munich Botanical Gardens (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • The English Garden (4.8 mi/7.7 km)

               

Business
  • Wi-Fi available (fees apply)
  • Business center
  • 20 meeting rooms
  • Event hall accommodates up to 800 people and features a hydraulic stage
Transportation
  • Munich Airport (25.5 mi/41 km)
  • Next to the central railway station

 

Policies

The pool and spa area will be closed from 12 to 22 July 2015 due to renovation.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Munich Bayerpost also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Rooms

1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY - 291 sq. ft (27 sq. m) with view of leafy courtyard and of Munich from higher floors. Pure relaxation: Enjoy the natural stone spa bathroom with rain shower and partly with bathtub. Functional workspace, free WIFI, iPod station, 32" TV, 0.5-l Evia
1 Kg bed Sup
Superior - relaxation and accessibility, up to290 sq. ft. (27 sq. m.). Functional workspace and free WIFI, natural stone bathroom with rain shower, iPod station, 32" TV and Nespresso/tea-making facilities. Free extra bed for 1 child aged up to 11 (childre
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - more than 431 sq. ft. (40 sq. m.) generosity and urban elegance. Refined design: newly renovated Suite with generous seating area, spacious natural stone spa bathroom with bathtub and separate rain shower, Hermes toiletries, Nespresso/tea-m
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE - modern loft style with city chic, up to 646 sq. ft. (60 sq. m.). Cool, young and stylish: two-story loft suite with staggering ceiling height of 16 ft (5m). Retro chic and rock star luxury combined with clear lines and color accents. Nesp
JrSuite 1 Qn bed
Duplex Junior Suite - from 441 sq. ft (41 sq. m), with views of the Alps or the city. Welcome to your dreams: newly renovated Duplex Suite on the 8th and highest floor of the hotel, with an impressive glass front spanning both floors, spacious seating are
1 Kg bed Clc
CLASSIC - with every comfort, up to 269 sq. ft. (25 sq. m.). The ideal retreat: elegant interior, natural stone bathroom with rain shower and underfloor heating, a Nespresso machine and tea-making facilities, 32" flat-screen TV, free WIFI, iPod station an
Suite 1 Kg bed Dlx
OPERA SUITE - for very special stays, up to 969 sq. ft. (90 sq. m). An extraordinary experience: individually designed themed suites with original decor, from oriental magic to chalet style. Spacious living area, natural stone spa bathroom with rain showe
Suite 1 Kg bed Dlx
OPERA SUITE - for very special stays, up to 969 sq. ft. (90 sq. m). An extraordinary experience: individually designed themed suites with original decor, from oriental magic to chalet style. Spacious living area, natural stone spa bathroom with rain showe

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Sauna
Disco
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Ludwigsvorstadt: 0.1 mi
  • Railway Service: 0.2 mi
  • Church of Holy Trinity: 0.4 mi
  • Justizpalast: 0.4 mi
  • Stachus: 0.4 mi
  • Karlstor: 0.5 mi
  • Isarvorstadt-Ludwigsvorstadt: 0.5 mi
  • Oktoberfest Tents: 0.5 mi
  • Burgersaal: 0.5 mi
  • Staatliche Antikensammlungen: 0.5 mi
  • Glyptothek: 0.6 mi
  • Sendlinger Tor: 0.6 mi
  • Lenbachhaus: 0.6 mi
  • St Michael Kirche: 0.6 mi
  • Asamkirche: 0.7 mi
  • Ludwigsvorstadt: 0.1 mi
  • Railway Service: 0.2 mi
  • Church of Holy Trinity: 0.4 mi
  • Justizpalast: 0.4 mi
  • Stachus: 0.4 mi
  • Karlstor: 0.5 mi
  • Isarvorstadt-Ludwigsvorstadt: 0.5 mi
  • Oktoberfest Tents: 0.5 mi
  • Burgersaal: 0.5 mi
  • Staatliche Antikensammlungen: 0.5 mi
  • Glyptothek: 0.6 mi
  • Sendlinger Tor: 0.6 mi
  • Lenbachhaus: 0.6 mi
  • St Michael Kirche: 0.6 mi
  • Asamkirche: 0.7 mi
  • Maximiliansplatz: 0.7 mi
  • Frauenkirche: 0.7 mi
  • Maxvorstadt: 0.8 mi
  • Munich Stadtmuseum: 0.8 mi
  • Glockenbachviertel: 0.8 mi
  • Palais Porcia: 0.8 mi
  • Salvatorkirche: 0.8 mi
  • Schwanthalerhohe: 0.9 mi
  • Palais Holnstein: 0.9 mi
  • Marien Square: 0.9 mi
  • Rathaus Glockenspiel: 0.9 mi
  • New Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Palais Pinakothek: 0.9 mi
  • Pinakothek der Moderne: 0.9 mi
  • Marienplatz: 0.9 mi
  • Peterskirche: 0.9 mi
  • Isarvorstadt: 0.9 mi
  • Theatinerkirche: 0.9 mi
  • Viktualienmarkt: 0.9 mi
  • Old City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Palais Preysing: 1 mi
  • Heiliggeistkirche: 1 mi
  • Kunstareal: 1 mi
  • Odeonsplatz: 1 mi
  • Neue Pinakothek: 1 mi
  • Alter Hof: 1 mi
  • Royal Residence: 1 mi
  • Alte Pinakothek: 1 mi
  • Bavarian opera house: 1 mi
  • Residenztheater: 1 mi

Dining

DÉLICE LA BRASSERIE
Casual elegance and French style: Enjoy the setting provided by the high ceilings and stylish, urban design at our new restaurant. Be inspired by our open show kitchen, offering the very best in French brasserie cuisine
ISARBAR
The bar is named after the River Isar, which flows into Munich from the Alps. The decor combines green silk, dark wood and black leather, and patrons can enjoy various spirits, contemporary cocktails and delicious snacks such as Bayerpost curried sausage.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate LO woo
Business
Sheffield
Jan 1, 2014

Fantastic shirt break

Everything at this hotel was perfect and the staff were really friendly. The room was great, clean and very comfortable. The shower is simply amazing and was a bonus to the room. We felt relaxed at this hotel and it felt like they would have done anything for us. We flew late in the evening and the hotel allowed us to collect our baggage later. Overall, we had a fantastic time in Munich and at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flier
Business
UK
Apr 3, 2013

easter break

Really pleased! Very modern but still warm and friendly. Staff and service excellent throughout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the food hall on the station next door

Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chinese girl
Business
Zug
Jul 24, 2013

Nice hotel

I love the apples they supply in the reception, and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Tax refund is good.

Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sayeda
Business
London
Nov 5, 2013

Romantic relaxing babymoon

This is te best hotel we have ever stayed in!!! In every way it was perfect, it was honestly difficult for us to have to leave. Service was amazing all around the hotel. All staff were well manered and offered help without being asked. we made many service calls asking for different things, tea bags, cutlery to eat our own food that we brought in. Facilities were amazing, lounge area was so relaxing to chill in. Location was unbelievably close to all you need, really couldn't get any closer to the main station. Room facilities were lovely, tea bags, coffe machine, complimentary water everyday, fruit on arrival, we asked for an iron and board and kept it throughout our stay. We had a room on the 3rd floor with shower and bathtub (bother well used). Green luscious apples were placed in bowls complimentary for guests (yes I did take 1 a day). The whole atmosphere from entrance and lobbies to room had an aura of relaxation. Negatives, not many at all: room view was the inside court of the hotel so we could see the hallway and entrances to other rooms ( we weren't really fussed), tv didn't have many channels in English or with English subtitles (but how much tv do u really want to watch), no free breakfast and was quite pricey ( we were quite annoyed about this especially because I'm pregnant and would rather have filled my tum before I went out) however food is everywhere as soon as u step out. we were a little disappointed that the sauna area in the spa was a nude area. We don't really feel comfortable seeing nude people so only ended up using the sauna area once when it happened to be empty. (I wouldn't have used it that much anyway, but hubby was quite sad). Swimming pool was soooo magical I could have stayed there forever. However once there were white bits in the pool, Spa in general was a lovely place to relax and have a drink too. Treatments were quite pricey so I didn't end up having any. All in all still the best trip we have ever had! P.s we got a little rubber duck with sofitel hotel printed on it for our little babies 1st holiday souvenir.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We visited the enchanting Neucwenstein castle in Fussen village. You can take a 2hr train from the main station. Only was about €25 for 2tickets return, which you can use on the bus as well. Deff a must see!!!!

Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WDBNYC
Business
New York, NY
Aug 27, 2010

Ultra-Modern Gem with Historic Exterior

Extremely convenient hotel adjacent to Munich's central rail station...with lots of options for food and tours. All staff members we encountered were extremely friendly and spoke perfect English. Modern, stylish rooms with tons of amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie5411
Business
Charlotte, NC USA
Jun 16, 2010

Great hotel!

Our stay at the Sofitel Munich came at the end of our Europe travels. It was a great finish! Since we were traveling by train, the location next to the Munich main station was perfect. No worries about noisy rooms - this hotel is high-end with great amenities. Quiet and peaceful. The front of the hotel is a historic postal building...but the rest of the hotel is modern and trendy. We loved the convenient location since we used the train system so much - traveling on day trips to Dachau Concentration Camp, to Neuschwanstein castle, etc. Overall a great hotel. As is typical in upper-end hotels, the food is pricey; we used room service one evening - the food was better than most room service meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MBO
Business
Austin,Texas
Jun 8, 2010

Very nice and very convenient

Great location next to the main train station. Take the S8 train in from the airport and the hotel is right there. We took day tours on the Gray Line which picked up passengers in front of the Karstadt Department store about a block away from the hotel. You can walk anywhere very easily and feel safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Whole Foods like supermarket in the basement of the Karstadt Department store a short walk from the hotel. Also,we ate most of our meals at the train station. Since we were on the go most of the time, it worked out fine to get quick meals there. You'll have to take a taxi to the Hofbrauhaus.

Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ATB
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 18, 2009

Munich getaway

VERY nioe and swanky hotel, walking distance to the downtown train station and tour companies. Very cool bar and spa. Rooms and showers are very nice as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a great location if using the train station for travel and/or guided tours. I highly recommend if affordable to you.

Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jan 9, 2011

Trendy, High End, Great Servicce Hotel

This hotel is amazing. 15 minutes from Marienplatz. A block away from the train station. Check-in staff is fantastic. Only downside is the lighting in the rooms is a bit dark - but too be expected from high-end, trendy hotel. Super pet friendly - room service menu for your furry friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

15 minutes to Marienplatz walking.

Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Millrae, CA
Jun 2, 2010

Greate Location, Modern High-Tech Room

The hotel is located adjacent to the central station of Munich. That was convenient for us as I returned rental car at the station and took airport bus departing from the station. U-bahn, S-bahn and Tram are all within a few minutes walk. When I felt like it, I walked 10 minutes to city center for meal and/or beer. The building of the hotel looks impressive - well worth of 5 star hotel. The room is very modern and high-tech. I would imagine some like it and others do not. I personally liked it, but I can easily imagine family with little child would not appreciate sharp corners and glass doors everywhere. I liked the bed. It was big, and soft enough for me. There was a Bose audio that you can connect your iPod. There were connectors for HDMI, USB, PC Video, and S-Video that I assume you can connect your device to playback on a flat TV in the room. Very nice shower. Slow filling but good bath tab. The vanity was a little too modern to me and I found it a little hard to use. I did not like the toilet as it was small and was not completely isolated from the rest of the room. Overall, I could not believe that they asked for less than $200 per night for such a nice room. I would need to pay double or more in the states for a similar hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Spend 5 minutes and learn public transportation. Take tram in front of Hotel to go around the town. For example, Tram 18 to Deutsches Museum, Tram 19 to Residenz. Take S-bahn to Marienplatz.

Back to menu Return to top