$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

5 stars
View map of Bayerstrasse 12, MUENCHEN, 80335

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
California
Jun 24, 2010

Suites not very sweet!

We reserved a prestige suite with a mountain view that was suppose to be very roomy. The reality is that there are no mountains to see and the suite was 2 story, tiny to the extreme and filthy. This hotel has a beautiful lobby and common areas, but the rooms are horrible and the suites are a joke. Felt totally ripped off, and asked to move multiple times. The suite we ended up with had a bathroom only a child could fit in and the carpet was buckled and the walls had big black marks on them against the stained furniture. The window looked into the train station. The hotel shows beautiful pictures of the lobby, but the reason you don't see suite pictures is because no one would ever book there if they did. Sofitel should be ashamed of themseleves for putting their name on this property. The desk manager said they didn't have money to fix the rooms...sorry I pre-paid in full and could not move. Also, the train station which is next to the hotel is in a rather seedy neighborhood...BEWARE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Tetters is the most fabulous shoe store I have ever seen, and it's a short walk toward the Marianplatz from the hotel.

Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie5411
Family
Charlotte, NC USA
Jun 16, 2010

Great hotel!

Our stay at the Sofitel Munich came at the end of our Europe travels. It was a great finish! Since we were traveling by train, the location next to the Munich main station was perfect. No worries about noisy rooms - this hotel is high-end with great amenities. Quiet and peaceful. The front of the hotel is a historic postal building...but the rest of the hotel is modern and trendy. We loved the convenient location since we used the train system so much - traveling on day trips to Dachau Concentration Camp, to Neuschwanstein castle, etc. Overall a great hotel. As is typical in upper-end hotels, the food is pricey; we used room service one evening - the food was better than most room service meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MBO
Family
Austin,Texas
Jun 8, 2010

Very nice and very convenient

Great location next to the main train station. Take the S8 train in from the airport and the hotel is right there. We took day tours on the Gray Line which picked up passengers in front of the Karstadt Department store about a block away from the hotel. You can walk anywhere very easily and feel safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Whole Foods like supermarket in the basement of the Karstadt Department store a short walk from the hotel. Also,we ate most of our meals at the train station. Since we were on the go most of the time, it worked out fine to get quick meals there. You'll have to take a taxi to the Hofbrauhaus.

Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Millrae, CA
Jun 2, 2010

Greate Location, Modern High-Tech Room

The hotel is located adjacent to the central station of Munich. That was convenient for us as I returned rental car at the station and took airport bus departing from the station. U-bahn, S-bahn and Tram are all within a few minutes walk. When I felt like it, I walked 10 minutes to city center for meal and/or beer. The building of the hotel looks impressive - well worth of 5 star hotel. The room is very modern and high-tech. I would imagine some like it and others do not. I personally liked it, but I can easily imagine family with little child would not appreciate sharp corners and glass doors everywhere. I liked the bed. It was big, and soft enough for me. There was a Bose audio that you can connect your iPod. There were connectors for HDMI, USB, PC Video, and S-Video that I assume you can connect your device to playback on a flat TV in the room. Very nice shower. Slow filling but good bath tab. The vanity was a little too modern to me and I found it a little hard to use. I did not like the toilet as it was small and was not completely isolated from the rest of the room. Overall, I could not believe that they asked for less than $200 per night for such a nice room. I would need to pay double or more in the states for a similar hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Spend 5 minutes and learn public transportation. Take tram in front of Hotel to go around the town. For example, Tram 18 to Deutsches Museum, Tram 19 to Residenz. Take S-bahn to Marienplatz.

Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Apr 19, 2010

Munich follow up

Overall very good. Had to change rooms because of two reservations with different room types. Would have been nice for hotel to comp. the upgrade rather than make me pack up and move.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ATB
Couples
Chicago, IL
Sep 18, 2009

Munich getaway

VERY nioe and swanky hotel, walking distance to the downtown train station and tour companies. Very cool bar and spa. Rooms and showers are very nice as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a great location if using the train station for travel and/or guided tours. I highly recommend if affordable to you.

Back to menu Return to top