$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

KINGs HOTEL First Class

4 stars
View map of Dachauer Strasse 13, Munich, 80335

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for KINGs HOTEL First Class

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of KINGs HOTEL First Class

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weatherman With a Plan
Business
Ansbach, Germany
May 26, 2014

Great hotel, great price, don't miss it!

Bottom line up front: For the central location, proximity to tourism/food/night life/travel, you can't beat this hotel. After reading a couple harsh reviews I was skeptical, but this hotel turned out to be just fantastic. Aside from some overpriced in-room snacks and its location on a slightly sketchy street, the hotel was great. There were a number of bums across the street and in a big American city I might have been concerned about the area. But don't get me wrong, Munich has extremely low crime rates, and there was never an air of hostility in the area. The room was comfortable with a European-style king bed. The amenities were great, with free in-room Nespresso. (Avoid all the other goodies though, as they're definitely not free.) Wireless was fast and seemingly secure. You're not going to get a sweeping panoramic view, but you'll have a quiet, dark, uncommonly comfortable room for only a small dent in the pocketbook. Also recommend the Cafe Kosmos bar just toward the train station from the hotel. Impressive selection, great bar tenders, and a quick stumble from your room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Kosmos

Review of KINGs HOTEL First Class

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southlake, Texas
Jul 4, 2010

Wonderful Hotel!

Wonderful Hotel in convenient location near train and city. Rooms were very nice and very clean! Staff was wonderful and great breakfast in a.m. Would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of KINGs HOTEL First Class

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Belmont, CA
Mar 15, 2010

Best decision I made

This was the perfect place for us. It was quaint and the location was great. In addition to being close to the train station, there was a small market next door, and a couple of bakeries close by. We rec'd a bottle of complimentary water each day, and the little espresso machine was wonderful. Room was too warm sometimes, but it was a minor inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The large department stores have large deli/food sections. One night we made our own sandwiches and picked up a nice salad to eat in our hotel room where I had my stash of diet pepsi. It was nice not to have to go out every night (especially since it was <30 degrees outside. (A tiny bottle of Coke light in the restaurant cost me 3 Euros. Husband said I should switch to drinking beer.)

Review of KINGs HOTEL First Class

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
delroyf
Business
Mountain View, CA
Jul 4, 2009

Convenient Location

The hotel is a 5-minute walk from the central train station, which is a major plus as it provides easy access to all of Munich. Alternatively, it's about a 10-15 minute walk to Marienplatz and many other popular sights. The rooms themselves are well-appointed in a cozy, antique-ish sort of way. They are well-maintained and clean. The neighborhood around the train station is not particularly charming with a bevy of youth hostels and a few strip clubs although the location seems perfectly safe and busy at all times of day and night. A grocery store sits next door as do several internet cafes and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You may conveniently rent a car at the Central Train station for a beautiful driving trip to Ludwig's Fairy Castles.

Review of KINGs HOTEL First Class

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nuevo Road Warrior
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jul 8, 2009

Nice, quiet and convenient

We were there a short day before catching the early morning train to the airport for our return to the states. The hotel is about two blocks from the Central Station and an easy walk with luggage. The rooms were very quiet, good bed, and clean with nice furniture and very nice bath. The room was one of the smallest we stayed in on our trip but was very comfortable. We weren't relly there long enough to check out the staff. Breakfast was 15 Euros, pricy but not as bad as others we experienced on the trip. Internet was also high. This was a problem in Vienna and in Munich. Overall the hotel was good for those needing to be close to the rail but there are others in Munich we like better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of KINGs HOTEL First Class

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jersey jess
Business
West Belmar, NJ
Mar 23, 2010

Beautiful room, great location

I had been to Munich before and recognized that this hotel was steps away from the main train station (Hauptbahnhof) in town. We easily found the hotel, were welcomed by very friendly and helpful english-speaking staff, and shown our room quickly. The room was not large however it was beautiful with a canopied bed, spotless bathroom, and flat-screen TV. We were on the quiet inside portion of the hotel which was very serene. Beds were firm but similar to all other hotels in which we stayed throughout Germany and Italy (unfortunately, as my husband and I like softer mattresses). The room was consistently overheated as well, but we just cracked opened the windows and slept comfortably that way. The hotel provided wake-up calls for us (there is no clock in the room so bring an alarm clock if you'll need it) and were very helpful with all sorts of information. We did not eat in the restaurant but we did have a few drinks at the lobby bar and found all but one of the female bartenders to be lovely, personable, and friendly. There is a coffee/pastry shop and internet cafe directly across the street - I was able to call the US for $2 for 10 minutes and spent less than $1 using the Internet for 30 minutes. The walk into the pedestrian zone/Marienplatz area of town was only about 10-15 minutes. I greatly recommend staying at the Kings Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Kings Hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from both the Augustiner Brauerei and the Lowenbrau Braurerei - two wonderful biergartens/restaurants. During Lent (March/April), Munich celebrates "Starkbierfest" which is the locals' version of Oktoberfest and tickets can be purchased in advance to these two breweries for great food, music, dancing and of course beer! Prosit!

Review of KINGs HOTEL First Class

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO, USA
Jun 6, 2010

Great Base for Exploration

The Kings Hotel First class was a great base for our sightseeing. We walked all around the city and the train station was around the corner. The rooms were cozy and quiet, the mattresses were comfortable, and the staff very pleasant and helpful. We rented a car and parked behind the hotel. It was expensive, but convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The staff suggested a restaurant, Cafe in the Park, a short walk from the hotel. That was a very nice place for an end of day meal.

Review of KINGs HOTEL First Class

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EnjoyWalking
Business
San Francisco
Aug 27, 2014

Convenient location

Short and easy walk (dragging luggage) from the main train station. Also an easy stroll to center of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of KINGs HOTEL First Class

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Exploring 365
Business
Dublin
Mar 5, 2014

Nice hotel but location not great, plus expensive breakfast

The hotel itself is nice but the location isn't that nice! Very clean, friendly staff. However the advert here is a bit misleading - it turned out breakfast wasn't included and it was €18 per person per day!!!! The rooms are a bit small but the price was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of KINGs HOTEL First Class

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jonnyh
Business
England
Nov 3, 2012

Excellent location near Munich Central Station Hauptbahnhof

Excellent location for getting around Munich. The downside to the hotel was they demanded €50 euros off us when we checked in as a deposit towards the mini bar. We told the staff we had no intentions of using the mini bar but we still had to hand it over. This was a pain as we were on a tight budget. The hotel needs to let guests know about this before arrival to plan for it. The experience we had with the staff were they were very miserable and not helpful. The rooms are lovely, very clean and a stylish modern en suite. The main rooms do need updating as they are very " wooden" in style. We didn't have breakfast as it was €15 each, a bit steep! Overall, fantastic location and rooms, they just need to work on customer service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you go to Salzburg, you pay for one ticket at €22 and then each additional person is only €4! Don't buy seperate tickets!!!

Back to menu Return to top