$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

4 stars
Ismaninger Strasse 42 - 44, Munich, 81675
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
22 reviews
Quaint, quiet hotel with outstanding breakfast

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days at the beginning of June 2014. The hotel is close to downtown (2... See full review

  • Silke1972
  • Jun 14, 2014
Lovely smaller hotel

I loved the smaller bed and breakfast feel of this hotel. Nice change from the larger chains. Would... See full review

  • Aggie
  • May 27, 2013
Picturesque setting for four-star hotel overlooking the River Isar

Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel stands overlooks the River Isar and in the shadow of the famous golden Friedensengel (Angel of Peace). This boutique hotel is designed according to the traditions of Bavarian elegance, with furnishings that unite good taste with modern comfort. 

Highlights

  • Onsite bar and restaurant
  • Picturesque setting
  • Heated bathroom floors
  • Free breakfast

Rooms

The 65 rooms and suites come in five grades and are decked out with Bavarian luxury and charm. All come with in-room air-conditioning control, private bathrooms, queen-size beds, bathrobes on request, safe, mini-bar, hair dryer, double glazed windows, and high-speed Internet access (fee applies). Junior suites and studios have king-size beds and generous seating areas with a table and sofa-bed. Suites have separate living and sleeping rooms and complimentary bathrobes and slippers. Some rooms allow smoking.

Features

Mornings at Prinzregent am Friedensengel begin with complimentary breakfast in the homey restaurant Votivstuberl or in the light-filled winter garden. Prinzregentenbar is a Munich institution where guests can enjoy drinks and socializing.  

The Bogenhausen district of Munich, overlooking the River Isar, is a charming region where art and nature are among the top attractions. The woody river banks around the golden Friedensengel are an extension of the Englischer Garten. The Prinzregentenplatz U-Bahn station hosts an art nouveau theater of the same name, the Villa Stuck civic gallery, and numerous cafes and restaurants.

The hotel has three meeting rooms (maximum capacity 40), and guests receive a discount at a nearby gym and fitness center. 

Transportation

  • Prinzregentplatz U-Bahn station (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Munich Central rail station (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Munich Airport (25.3 mi/40.4 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Marienplatz (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest field) (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Frauenkirche (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Hofgarten (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Olympic Park & BMW museum (5.6 mi/8.9 km)

Business

  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • 3 meeting rooms with capacity up to 40
  • 4.8 miles (7.7 km) to Munich Exhibition Center 

Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel Rooms

Comfort Room
Comfortable room with 20 sqm. Equipped with aircondition, Wireless-Lan, french beds, TV and minibar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.1393 11.5995
Area served
Munich.
Nearby airports
Franz Joseph Strauss, 30 km.
Area description
The hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel is located in Bogenhausen and infront of the Villa Stuck. Tram and Underground are in walking distance and go directly in the city center. The fair ground is 7 km and the airport 30 km far from the hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Friedensengel: 0.2 mi
  • Prinzregententheater: 0.3 mi
  • Schackgalerie: 0.3 mi
  • Bavarian National Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Archaologische Staatssammlung: 0.5 mi
  • Museum fur Volkerkunde: 0.6 mi
  • Gasteig: 0.7 mi
  • P1 club: 0.7 mi
  • Haus der Kunst: 0.7 mi
  • Altstadt-Lehel: 0.7 mi
  • Food Market: 0.8 mi
  • Kammerspiele: 0.8 mi
  • Prinz Carl Palais: 0.8 mi
  • Isartor: 0.9 mi
  • Hofbrauhaus: 0.9 mi
  • Friedensengel: 0.2 mi
  • Prinzregententheater: 0.3 mi
  • Schackgalerie: 0.3 mi
  • Bavarian National Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Archaologische Staatssammlung: 0.5 mi
  • Museum fur Volkerkunde: 0.6 mi
  • Gasteig: 0.7 mi
  • P1 club: 0.7 mi
  • Haus der Kunst: 0.7 mi
  • Altstadt-Lehel: 0.7 mi
  • Food Market: 0.8 mi
  • Kammerspiele: 0.8 mi
  • Prinz Carl Palais: 0.8 mi
  • Isartor: 0.9 mi
  • Hofbrauhaus: 0.9 mi
  • Deutsches Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Nationaltheater: 0.9 mi
  • Bavarian State Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Hofgarten: 0.9 mi
  • Residenztheater: 1 mi
  • German Museum: 1 mi
  • Bavarian opera house: 1 mi
  • Staatliches Museum Agyptischer Kunst: 1 mi
  • Alter Hof: 1 mi
  • Royal Residence: 1 mi
  • Odeonsplatz: 1 mi
  • Palais Preysing: 1 mi
  • Heiliggeistkirche: 1.1 mi
  • Old City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • English Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Theatinerkirche: 1.1 mi
  • Marienplatz: 1.1 mi
  • Peterskirche: 1.1 mi
  • Viktualienmarkt: 1.1 mi
  • New Town Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Rathaus Glockenspiel: 1.1 mi
  • Marien Square: 1.1 mi
  • Palais Holnstein: 1.1 mi
  • Kultfabrik: 1.1 mi
  • Palais Porcia: 1.1 mi
  • Salvatorkirche: 1.2 mi
  • Staatstheater am Gartnerplatz: 1.2 mi
  • Frauenkirche: 1.2 mi
  • Munich Stadtmuseum: 1.3 mi
  • Palais Pinakothek: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1400

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visit to EU
Houston/Moscow/New-York
Jun 19, 2014

Trip to Munich

We visited Munich in June for 2 days. Our stay at Prinzregend Hotel was va very pleasant experience, specifically hotel's staff was very friendly and helped us a lot to become familiar with local sites, traditions and rules. I would recommend for people who want to stay not in a center of the city, but in comfortable and clean hotel with easy access to all sightseeing sites in Munich.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take tram 16 to all major sites in Munich.

Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Silke1972
Knoxville, TN
Jun 14, 2014

Quaint, quiet hotel with outstanding breakfast

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days at the beginning of June 2014. The hotel is close to downtown (2 subway stops from Odeonsplatz, 3 subway stops from Marienplatz and Karlsplatz/Stachus); the next subway station is approximately 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The river Isar and its associated park and trail system is only a 5 minute walk as well. Despite being located on a fairly busy road and next to a large hospital the hotel is amazingly quiet. Our room was in the back of the hotel, and even with the window open we heard almost no street noise. The room was clean, and the bathroom was nice (albeit small) with a very good shower. The hotel overall has the nice feeling of a family owned "old style" (in a good way!) accommodation. The breakfast area and hotel bar are decorated in classic Bavarian fashion (tasteful, not obnoxious). The hotel staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. Somewhat surprising for such a relatively small hotel the reception is occupied 24/7, and help is available any time you need it. The breakfast buffet is outstanding and (at least for us) was included in the room reservation. They serve anything from classic Weisswurst to cheese/coldcut platters, salads, fruit, cereals etc. A variety of egg dishes are made to order, and they have an extensive list of complimentary drink options. Another really nice feature was that they have bicycles for rent - The bikes were better and the rent was cheaper than at a big bike rental place downtown. Finally; we only visited the hotel bar once, but they have an amazing variety of drink options and great service. A relatively minor thing and probably my only suggestion for improvement for this hotel is the internet access - Wifi is available in the room but not cheap (various plans; 5 Euro/30 minutes). They have a laptop with free internet access available in the hotel lobby. This computer is ancient, with missing keys, you need to be logged in by a hotel staff member any time you want to use it, and the internet connection is excruciatingly slow. It would be nice to upgrade or alternatively offer Wifi in the rooms free of charge. Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay, and we will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Multiple good restaurants in immediate proximity to hotel, including an Italian restaurant next door and a branch of the famous "Kaefer" restaurant chain just around the corner

Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
London Pride
Kent
Jul 14, 2013

Excellent for Weekend Away

The hotel is typical German Style. Staff and amenities very good. Breakfast was excellent - I would defy any one not to find something they liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aggie
USA
May 27, 2013

Lovely smaller hotel

I loved the smaller bed and breakfast feel of this hotel. Nice change from the larger chains. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Great rooms, fantastic staff and wonderful breakfast served. It truly was a fantastic experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday boy
Bolton
Oct 28, 2012

Bavarian Style

Our second visit to this hotel,first time we had a suite which was excellent, this time we had a 'comfort room' which was quite small. It's a little out of the city but close enough to U-Bahn stations. Englishe Garten nearby is a massive parkland area. Hotel is clean, breakfast choice is good. Overall a little pricey for what you are getting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hofbrauhaus, have the pork knuckle.

Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toxoman
New York City
Sep 24, 2011

Nice, but pricey for what it is

This is a very nice boutique hotel with a charming staff, a great breakfast room, a beautiful lobby, and a modern parking garage. However, it did not give me quite what I had hoped for. Munich is an expensive town if you want to find hotel value close to the city center. It 's especially expensive during Oktoberfest. That being said, I was willing to forgive the higher-than-average prices for the Prinzregent am Friedensengel. I needed a nice place close to Oktoberfest for my last night after a long road trip to store my car and get a good night's sleep and I wanted more than the usual plastic furniture and rock-hard mattresses you generally find in German hotels. However, there was nothing about the room or the bed that warranted the price. The bed was not especially comfortable, the safe was broken, there wasn't much closet space, and the bathroom, although pretty, was as small as the head on a boat. The carpet and decor were tired and the springs on both chairs poked up into my tail-bone. The good side was that I was greeted warmly by the young lady at the check-in desk and there was a very large elevator so that I could bring my bags up from the parking garage. They had even cordoned off a parking space for me with my name on it - nice touch. I very much liked coming and going through the beautiful lobby, and the subway to Oktoberfest was only a 5 minute walk away on a quiet safe street. The waiter in the breakfast room was very fast, efficient and friendly, making the start of the day a pleasant experience. Over-all, my one night here left a favorable impression on me...just not on my bank account. I will definitely look into this hotel again on my next trip to Munich if I need to be down-town, but I am sure it will be easy to find a better priced hotel on the fringes of the city center. I have always been drawn to boutique hotels over the larger modern ones and this hotel has a few nice things to offer any traveler with the same outlook.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a left out the front door of the hotel and the Max Weber Platz subway is at the end of the block. Only two stops to Marienplatz.

Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toxoman
New York City
Sep 24, 2011

Nice, but pricey for what it is

This is a very nice boutique hotel with a charming staff, a great breakfast room, a beautiful lobby, and a modern parking garage. However, it did not give me quite what I had hoped for. Munich is an expensive town if you want to find hotel value close to the city center. It 's especially expensive during Oktoberfest. That being said, I was willing to forgive the higher-than-average prices for the Prinzregent am Friedensengel. I needed a nice place close to Oktoberfest for my last night after a long road trip to store my car and get a good night's sleep and I wanted more than the usual plastic furniture and rock-hard mattresses you generally find in German hotels. However, there was nothing about the room or the bed that warranted the price. The bed was not especially comfortable, the safe was broken, there wasn't much closet space, and the bathroom, although pretty, was as small as the head on a boat. The carpet and decor were tired and the springs on both chairs poked up into my tail-bone. The good side was that I was greeted warmly by the young lady at the check-in desk and there was a very large elevator so that I could bring my bags up from the parking garage. They had even cordoned off a parking space for me with my name on it - nice touch. I very much liked coming and going through the beautiful lobby, and the subway to Oktoberfest was only a 5 minute walk away on a quiet safe street. The waiter in the breakfast room was very fast, efficient and friendly, making the start of the day a pleasant experience. Over-all, my one night here left a favorable impression on me...just not on my bank account. I will definitely look into this hotel again on my next trip to Munich if I need to be down-town, but I am sure it will be easy to find a better priced hotel on the fringes of the city center. I have always been drawn to boutique hotels over the larger modern ones and this hotel has a few nice things to offer any traveler with the same outlook.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a left out the front door of the hotel and the Max Weber Platz subway is at the end of the block. Only two stops to Marienplatz.

Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eyedo
Dallas, Texas
Sep 23, 2011

Fall European Holiday

Wonderful little family operated hotel with excellent staff, rooms, breakfast, and location (access to subway). BUT!!!!!! Don't get rooms facing the street. The traffic noise is really bad. Especially when the tram comes by. Rooms on the inside are much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Travel around Munich by Ubahn easy. U4 and >U5 are just down the street and the first stops are downtown. Also easy access to Oktoberfest.

Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eyedo
Dallas, Texas
Sep 23, 2011

Fall European Holiday

Wonderful little family operated hotel with excellent staff, rooms, breakfast, and location (access to subway). BUT!!!!!! Don't get rooms facing the street. The traffic noise is really bad. Especially when the tram comes by. Rooms on the inside are much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Travel around Munich by Ubahn easy. U4 and >U5 are just down the street and the first stops are downtown. Also easy access to Oktoberfest.

Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Beijing
Jan 25, 2011

Old-fashioned Boutique with History

I got a single room on the 1st floor (2nd floor by US way) just for one night. However, the noise of traffic outside the window downstairs are quite disturbing, especially when the trams pass by. The inner decoration is old-fashioned and the whole hotel shows long history. The breakfast buffet was good, especially at a table in the glass-roofing dining room. The location is convenient to public transportation and is also close to the river-side park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top