$156 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

4 stars
Ismaninger Strasse 42 - 44, Munich, 81675
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
14 reviews
Quaint, quiet hotel with outstanding breakfast

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days at the beginning of June 2014. The hotel is close to downtown (2... See full review

  • Silke1972
  • Jun 14, 2014
Trip to Munich

We visited Munich in June for 2 days. Our stay at Prinzregend Hotel was va very pleasant... See full review

  • Visit to EU
  • Jun 19, 2014
Picturesque setting for four-star hotel overlooking the River Isar

Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel stands overlooks the River Isar and in the shadow of the famous golden Friedensengel (Angel of Peace). This boutique hotel is designed according to the traditions of Bavarian elegance, with furnishings that unite good taste with modern comfort. 

Highlights

  • Onsite bar and restaurant
  • Picturesque setting
  • Heated bathroom floors
  • Free breakfast

Rooms

The 65 rooms and suites come in five grades and are decked out with Bavarian luxury and charm. All come with in-room air-conditioning control, private bathrooms, queen-size beds, bathrobes on request, safe, mini-bar, hair dryer, double glazed windows, and high-speed Internet access (fee applies). Junior suites and studios have king-size beds and generous seating areas with a table and sofa-bed. Suites have separate living and sleeping rooms and complimentary bathrobes and slippers. Some rooms allow smoking.

Features

Mornings at Prinzregent am Friedensengel begin with complimentary breakfast in the homey restaurant Votivstuberl or in the light-filled winter garden. Prinzregentenbar is a Munich institution where guests can enjoy drinks and socializing.  

The Bogenhausen district of Munich, overlooking the River Isar, is a charming region where art and nature are among the top attractions. The woody river banks around the golden Friedensengel are an extension of the Englischer Garten. The Prinzregentenplatz U-Bahn station hosts an art nouveau theater of the same name, the Villa Stuck civic gallery, and numerous cafes and restaurants.

The hotel has three meeting rooms (maximum capacity 40), and guests receive a discount at a nearby gym and fitness center. 

Transportation

  • Prinzregentplatz U-Bahn station (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Munich Central rail station (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Munich Airport (25.3 mi/40.4 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Marienplatz (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest field) (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Frauenkirche (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Hofgarten (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Olympic Park & BMW museum (5.6 mi/8.9 km)

Business

  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • 3 meeting rooms with capacity up to 40
  • 4.8 miles (7.7 km) to Munich Exhibition Center 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel Rooms

Comfort Room - Garden view
Rooms with Queen-size bed (1.60 x 2.00 m). Room size approx. 20 sqm, situated on the quiet garden side. These rooms are equipped with individually adjustable Air-Conditioning / Seating area with table / Wifi / Safe, mini-bar / Flatscreen TV with Sky TV and radio / Robe on request / Hairdryer / Some with terraces/balconies / Double-glazed windows.
Comfort Room - City view
Rooms with Queen-size bed (1.60 x 2.00 m). Room size approx. 20 sqm, situated on street side. These rooms are equipped with Individually adjustable Air-Conditioning / Seating area with table / Wifi / Safe, mini-bar / Flatscreen TV with Sky TV and radio / Robe on request / Hairdryer / Double-glazed windows.
Twin Room " Garden view
Rooms with Twin bed (0.90 x 2.00 m). Room size approx. 20 sqm, situated on the quiet garden side. These rooms are equipped with Individually adjustable Air-Conditioning / Seating area with table / Wifi / Safe, mini-bar / Flatscreen TV with Sky TV and radio / Robe on request / Hairdryer / Some with terraces/balconies / Double-glazed windows.
Junior Suite
Rooms with Twin bed (0.90 x 2.00 m). Room size approx. 33 sqm, situated on the quiet garden side. These rooms are equipped with Individually adjustable Air-Conditioning / Seating area with table / Wifi / Flatscreen TV with Sky TV and radio / Robe / Safe, mini-bar / Hairdryer / Double-glazed windows.
Family Room
Room with Twin bed (0.90 x 2.00 m). Room size approx. 33 sqm, situated on the quiet garden side. These rooms are equipped with Individually adjustable Air-Conditioning / Seating area with table / Wifi / Flatscreen TV with Sky TV and radio / Robe / Safe, mini-bar / Hairdryer / Double-glazed windows.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Friedensengel: 0.2 mi
  • Prinzregententheater: 0.3 mi
  • Schackgalerie: 0.3 mi
  • Bavarian National Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Archaologische Staatssammlung: 0.5 mi
  • Museum fur Volkerkunde: 0.6 mi
  • Gasteig: 0.7 mi
  • P1 club: 0.7 mi
  • Haus der Kunst: 0.7 mi
  • Altstadt-Lehel: 0.7 mi
  • Food Market: 0.8 mi
  • Kammerspiele: 0.8 mi
  • Prinz Carl Palais: 0.8 mi
  • Isartor: 0.9 mi
  • Hofbrauhaus: 0.9 mi
  • Friedensengel: 0.2 mi
  • Prinzregententheater: 0.3 mi
  • Schackgalerie: 0.3 mi
  • Bavarian National Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Archaologische Staatssammlung: 0.5 mi
  • Museum fur Volkerkunde: 0.6 mi
  • Gasteig: 0.7 mi
  • P1 club: 0.7 mi
  • Haus der Kunst: 0.7 mi
  • Altstadt-Lehel: 0.7 mi
  • Food Market: 0.8 mi
  • Kammerspiele: 0.8 mi
  • Prinz Carl Palais: 0.8 mi
  • Isartor: 0.9 mi
  • Hofbrauhaus: 0.9 mi
  • Deutsches Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Nationaltheater: 0.9 mi
  • Bavarian State Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Hofgarten: 0.9 mi
  • Residenztheater: 1 mi
  • German Museum: 1 mi
  • Bavarian opera house: 1 mi
  • Staatliches Museum Agyptischer Kunst: 1 mi
  • Alter Hof: 1 mi
  • Royal Residence: 1 mi
  • Odeonsplatz: 1 mi
  • Palais Preysing: 1 mi
  • Heiliggeistkirche: 1.1 mi
  • Old City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • English Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Theatinerkirche: 1.1 mi
  • Marienplatz: 1.1 mi
  • Peterskirche: 1.1 mi
  • Viktualienmarkt: 1.1 mi
  • New Town Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Rathaus Glockenspiel: 1.1 mi
  • Marien Square: 1.1 mi
  • Palais Holnstein: 1.1 mi
  • Kultfabrik: 1.1 mi
  • Palais Porcia: 1.1 mi
  • Salvatorkirche: 1.2 mi
  • Staatstheater am Gartnerplatz: 1.2 mi
  • Frauenkirche: 1.2 mi
  • Munich Stadtmuseum: 1.3 mi
  • Palais Pinakothek: 1.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A 70 sqm conference room is available for events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1400

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday boy
Business
Bolton
May 25, 2010

Excellent

If we ever return to Munich, we shall look no further than this hotel. Full of Bavarian charm and excellent staff, room had all necessary facilities, good breakfast choice, reasonably quiet location yet close enough to walk into city center or even closer to underground.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday boy
Business
Bolton
Oct 28, 2012

Bavarian Style

Our second visit to this hotel,first time we had a suite which was excellent, this time we had a 'comfort room' which was quite small. It's a little out of the city but close enough to U-Bahn stations. Englishe Garten nearby is a massive parkland area. Hotel is clean, breakfast choice is good. Overall a little pricey for what you are getting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hofbrauhaus, have the pork knuckle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
London Pride
Business
Kent
Jul 14, 2013

Excellent for Weekend Away

The hotel is typical German Style. Staff and amenities very good. Breakfast was excellent - I would defy any one not to find something they liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 17, 2009

Hotel Prinzregent in Munich

This hotel is a little out of the center of Munich, but it's a short 10-15 minute walk to the English Garden and many museums. It's a good choice if you prefer a less touristy area. The neighborhood is a residential/commercial mix. Our room was small, but nicely appointed. The windows faced the street, which was noisy, but the windows are sound proofed and with the windows closed the sound is minimal. Breakfasts are very good, and there's a small bar on the ground floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
-Prague travelers
Business
Prague
Jul 7, 2010

Nice Hotel, Friendly people

We went for a shopping weekend in Munich and chose this hotel. It was a good location. Reception and Bar staff were excellent. Room was small, but comfortable and with AC. Breakfast was well prepared, and had a nice selection of hot and cold but the staff was a bit disorganized. They often ran out of items on the buffet, but replaced them when pointed out. Overall it was a very nice place, located near the English Garden and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eyedo
Business
Dallas, Texas
Sep 23, 2011

Fall European Holiday

Wonderful little family operated hotel with excellent staff, rooms, breakfast, and location (access to subway). BUT!!!!!! Don't get rooms facing the street. The traffic noise is really bad. Especially when the tram comes by. Rooms on the inside are much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Travel around Munich by Ubahn easy. U4 and >U5 are just down the street and the first stops are downtown. Also easy access to Oktoberfest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toxoman
Business
New York City
Sep 24, 2011

Nice, but pricey for what it is

This is a very nice boutique hotel with a charming staff, a great breakfast room, a beautiful lobby, and a modern parking garage. However, it did not give me quite what I had hoped for. Munich is an expensive town if you want to find hotel value close to the city center. It 's especially expensive during Oktoberfest. That being said, I was willing to forgive the higher-than-average prices for the Prinzregent am Friedensengel. I needed a nice place close to Oktoberfest for my last night after a long road trip to store my car and get a good night's sleep and I wanted more than the usual plastic furniture and rock-hard mattresses you generally find in German hotels. However, there was nothing about the room or the bed that warranted the price. The bed was not especially comfortable, the safe was broken, there wasn't much closet space, and the bathroom, although pretty, was as small as the head on a boat. The carpet and decor were tired and the springs on both chairs poked up into my tail-bone. The good side was that I was greeted warmly by the young lady at the check-in desk and there was a very large elevator so that I could bring my bags up from the parking garage. They had even cordoned off a parking space for me with my name on it - nice touch. I very much liked coming and going through the beautiful lobby, and the subway to Oktoberfest was only a 5 minute walk away on a quiet safe street. The waiter in the breakfast room was very fast, efficient and friendly, making the start of the day a pleasant experience. Over-all, my one night here left a favorable impression on me...just not on my bank account. I will definitely look into this hotel again on my next trip to Munich if I need to be down-town, but I am sure it will be easy to find a better priced hotel on the fringes of the city center. I have always been drawn to boutique hotels over the larger modern ones and this hotel has a few nice things to offer any traveler with the same outlook.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a left out the front door of the hotel and the Max Weber Platz subway is at the end of the block. Only two stops to Marienplatz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beijing
Jan 25, 2011

Old-fashioned Boutique with History

I got a single room on the 1st floor (2nd floor by US way) just for one night. However, the noise of traffic outside the window downstairs are quite disturbing, especially when the trams pass by. The inner decoration is old-fashioned and the whole hotel shows long history. The breakfast buffet was good, especially at a table in the glass-roofing dining room. The location is convenient to public transportation and is also close to the river-side park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott Brown
Business
Tampa Florida
Oct 7, 2010

Very Nice Hotel

We have stayed in several other hotels in Munich and this one is one of the best. Location was a 10 minute walk from U4/U5 Max Weber station. We arrived about 10AM and our room was ready in 10 minutes which was a nice surprise. Rooms were small but very clean and priced appropriately. Staff was great and so was the breakfast. We also liked Exquisit but it was booked and is typically more expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visit to EU
Business
Houston/Moscow/New-York
Jun 19, 2014

Trip to Munich

We visited Munich in June for 2 days. Our stay at Prinzregend Hotel was va very pleasant experience, specifically hotel's staff was very friendly and helped us a lot to become familiar with local sites, traditions and rules. I would recommend for people who want to stay not in a center of the city, but in comfortable and clean hotel with easy access to all sightseeing sites in Munich.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take tram 16 to all major sites in Munich.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top