$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

4 stars
HOCHSTRASSE 3, MUNICH, 81669
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
46 reviews
Holiday

Location is excellent as is view of city from room on top floors. Breakfast was also excellent.... See full review

  • Shep
  • Sep 25, 2014
center city location

Way too far to take a taxi but is on the train line right from the airport. See full review

  • k.ann
  • Jul 16, 2014
Comfortable hotel in the center of the Bavarian capital

Holiday Inn Munich City Centre is opposite the Gasteig cultural center, and just a 10-minute walk from Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt. The hotel's 582 modern bedrooms are designed to suit any guest, whether on holiday or attending a corporate event. Holiday Inn Munich City Centre features a restaurant, Bar Hoch3, and lounge on site. High-speed Internet access is available in the lobby, conference areas, and in guest rooms (fees apply).

Highlights
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • On-site restaurant, bar, and lounge
  • Multilingual staff
Rooms

The Holiday Inn Munich City Centre has 582 modern bedrooms and suites, ideal for any traveler. Accommodations include cable television, a work desk, direct-dial telephones with voicemail service, high-speed Internet access, coffee- and tea-making equipment, and a mini-bar. All rooms and suites feature private bathrooms with bathtub and hair dryer. All rooms are non-smoking. Accessible accommodation is available.

Features

The hotel's on-site restaurant, Grat3 restaurant, offers a great choice of international cuisine in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. The hotel chefs prepare modern Bavarian cuisine at a live cooking station, allowing guests to be fully immersed in a culinary journey through the delights of southern Germany. A well-balanced breakfast buffet is also served here.The Bar & Lounge is open all day Hoch3, serving cocktails, drinks and snacks in the vivid atmosphere of the hotel lobby. The all day meeting point - for a morning coffee, afternoon tea, late night drink or just a chat with your friends. 

Transportation
  • Rosenheimer Platz transport hub (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • München Hauptbahnhof train station (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Munich Airport (23.3 mi/37.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Frauenkirche (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Theresienwiese, Oktoberfest venue (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Konigsplatz (2.5 mi/4.0 km)
  • Englischer Garten (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Nymphenburg Castle (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Olympic Park, BMW headquarters (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Botanic Gardens (8.7 mi/14 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Technical services team
  • Catering
  • Green meeting package
  • Facilities accommodate up to 600

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Mini bar
Outlet adapters
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Gasteig: 0.1 mi
  • Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Deutsches Museum: 0.2 mi
  • German Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Isartor: 0.5 mi
  • Museum fur Volkerkunde: 0.5 mi
  • Kammerspiele: 0.6 mi
  • Hofbrauhaus: 0.6 mi
  • Altstadt-Lehel: 0.6 mi
  • Staatstheater am Gartnerplatz: 0.7 mi
  • Heiliggeistkirche: 0.7 mi
  • Viktualienmarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Old City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Alter Hof: 0.7 mi
  • Peterskirche: 0.7 mi
  • Gasteig: 0.1 mi
  • Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Deutsches Museum: 0.2 mi
  • German Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Isartor: 0.5 mi
  • Museum fur Volkerkunde: 0.5 mi
  • Kammerspiele: 0.6 mi
  • Hofbrauhaus: 0.6 mi
  • Altstadt-Lehel: 0.6 mi
  • Staatstheater am Gartnerplatz: 0.7 mi
  • Heiliggeistkirche: 0.7 mi
  • Viktualienmarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Old City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Alter Hof: 0.7 mi
  • Peterskirche: 0.7 mi
  • Nationaltheater: 0.8 mi
  • Marienplatz: 0.8 mi
  • Bavarian State Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Friedensengel: 0.8 mi
  • Schackgalerie: 0.8 mi
  • Bavarian opera house: 0.8 mi
  • Marien Square: 0.8 mi
  • New Town Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Residenztheater: 0.8 mi
  • Rathaus Glockenspiel: 0.8 mi
  • Munich Stadtmuseum: 0.8 mi
  • Bavarian National Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Isarvorstadt: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Residence: 0.9 mi
  • Archaologische Staatssammlung: 0.9 mi
  • Prinzregententheater: 0.9 mi
  • Staatliches Museum Agyptischer Kunst: 0.9 mi
  • P1 club: 0.9 mi
  • Haus der Kunst: 0.9 mi
  • Hofgarten: 0.9 mi
  • Palais Preysing: 0.9 mi
  • Frauenkirche: 0.9 mi
  • Glockenbachviertel: 0.9 mi
  • Palais Porcia: 1 mi
  • Prinz Carl Palais: 1 mi
  • Odeonsplatz: 1 mi
  • Asamkirche: 1 mi
  • Theatinerkirche: 1 mi
  • Palais Holnstein: 1 mi
  • Kultfabrik: 1 mi

Dining

Grat3 The Restaurant
Our restaurant Grat3 will not only provide you a pleasant atmosphere and a superb service, but also a novel food conception named Modern Bavarian Food.Our chefs offer you an one of a kind culinary travel through regional and worldwide delicacies on our Li

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KJF
Business
Tampa, FL
Oct 17, 2009

Terrible front desk experience

I checked in mid-afternoon. The clerk was inattentive, disappeared twice for several minutes without explanation while I stood there, and took an entire phone reservation as I waited in front of her. When I finally received my key, I found that I had been given a smoking twin room, versus the non-smoking king I had prepaid for. After waiting another 20 minutes to work my way back through the line to get back to the counter, the girl who had checked me in told me she had given me that room because no others were clean at that time!!! WTH?!? I am an experienced traveler as well as a former employee of a well-known hotel company, and this is obviously not how an inventory issue should be handled!! After waiting another hour in the nasty lobby I finally got the room I had requested. On checkout, the same incompetent employee was managing my line. She literally handled one customer for every five that the other clerks were handling. I generally use Holiday Inns as my backup locations in Europe. After this horrible experience, I will never again consider your chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Awesome traveler 22
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 16, 2014

Terrible Experience

My experience at this hotel was extremely disappointing. I booked this hotel because I believed that it was never possible to go wrong with this hotel chain-it had always been, in my experience, a safe, reliable, hotel. Not the one in Munich "City Center." First of all-this hotel is not located in the City Center. It is two subway stops away from the city center, which is somewhat close, but not truly in the city center. The neighborhood surrounding it can be described as "seedy." There are no good coffee shops or restaurants close by. If you are in Munich for sightseeing, this hotel is probably not the best choice. When I booked this hotel, the website told me I would be getting a "standard room" which included two double beds. I was on a two week trip to Germany with a friend, so this was perfect. When I got to the hotel I was told a standard room had double twin beds or one queen bed. After complaining about what was on my reservation I was denied my request. So we took the twin beds. Secondly, the hotel website stated that wireless internet was available. Since this hotel was given a four star rating, I took wireless internet for customers to be a given. Apparently wireless internet does not come with the room-you either have to pay for it or be an IHC member. When I complained about this I was given a temporary pin number to use the internet for the evening and was then refused further requests for pin numbers. There is one computer with wireless internet available in their lobby which was always in use. I am apalled, that in the year 2014 a four star hotel does not provide wireless internet to its customers. To me this is a total rip-off and a scam, especially if you are a traveler. Last but not least, our hotel keys stopped working on the second day of our stay and we had to go and have them changed. We were also accused of using the mini bar in our room (when no one had even been in the room to clean it that day) when we had not used it. I noticed that every time I went up to the front desk and there was another customer there, the person at reception would try and charge them for using the mini bar. I honestly don't know how a hotel that operates in this fashion is even in business. The reviews on this website are also clearly rigged to give the hotel better reviews than it deserves. I would highly advise not booking this hotel and advising your friends to do the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a large public library across the street that has very fast, and free wireless internet. Do not pay this hotel for internet usage that it should already be providing to its paying customers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC
Nov 10, 2009

Get ready to be charged for everything

There was an internet cord prominently displayed, so I plugged in thinking it was free. Later, after I found a card on the opposite side of the table I also found they charged 22 Euros per day! Insane! And to be so sneaky about it, it just seemed... dastardly. The whole experience reeked of this similar attitude. The location is good, and easy to get onto the U-bahn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakview, Ca.
Nov 3, 2010

At least they try !!

Listen up ! No porter for bags. 16 Euro's for parking. 10 Euro's per day for internet access in room. 3.80 Euro's for an the 8 ounce cheapest draft beer! I wasnt very happy portering my own bags but did so and asked my wife to wait until I was done and meet me in the bar. When I returned the manager was there and I basically told him to buy me a beer because of this. Nope !! Didnt work. When checking in they asked if we wanted a smoking room. My wife said no. So very early in the morning I went to the corridor to obey the rules and smoke ! Within 30 seconds security was there and told me i couldnt smoke. I said really ? I dont see any signs. He said the whole building is no smoking ! Hmmmm, I guess he doesnt know about the smoking rooms ! The staff was polite but not friendly. Everything in the hotel was clean and the food was average for Germany. There isnt any value for the dollar at this hotel and it is clear they are trying to, and succeeding ripping you off for every dollar they can. If you like this, stay here !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a tour with others to avoid the high German prices, buy small food items in the grocery store and use the mini bar refer and eat at the restuarant named raftskellars I think in the marplatz square in the big church building. Its the best reastuarant I have ever eating at for all the right reasons and obviously, im PICKY !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Old soldier
Business
Miami, Fl
Jul 6, 2011

great trip

Hotel as good and breakfast was a big plus. Front desk was disorganized the first day. Internet services very expensiv ($20 daily)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Innsbruck, Austria

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Germangirl
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 29, 2012

Great hotel, rip-off restaurant and fees!

This hotel is great if you are traveling to Munich on business and your company is paying for breakfast, parking, etc. Otherwise, if you are traveling on your own penny, stay elsewhere. The location is great, but their breakfast buffet was a total rip-off for the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buster17356
Business
Staten Island, NY
Mar 11, 2013

we enjoyed our stay

We had a family trip to Germany and here are the problems that we run in to... 1. Gym...it’s says that they have a gym...and they do, but you have to pay 10 EURO per person per day! 2. The hairdryer....for some reason they have it in the room, hided inside the draw and you can’t take it with you to bathroom to dry your hair. So, imagine drying you hair in the room without a mirror and the cord being plugged in inside the draw! 3. Parking....they have a parking garage (16 EURO per night) or you can park on the street (if you'll get lucky to find a spot# but still have to pay 6 EURO per night 4. NO SAFE IN THE ROOMS!!!! 5. the TV’s…we had a suit with bedroom and living room, so there were 2 TV’s… in the living room we had a flat screen #like now days everyone has) but in our bedroom it was a fat, tube and old TV like from the 90’s. Really?! I didn’t think that those still exist!! 6. The restaurants....they have 2 places where you can eat: 1 for breakfast & 1 for lunch & dinner...Awesome food & descent prices! But overall, the hotel is very clean and in the great location, so we enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MarkMD
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Oktoberfest 2011

The hotel is located in city center and is right in the middle of it all. Easy access to the subway. The receptionists all spoke English and offered good guidance with regards to places to see and things to do. The rooms are SMALL and there is only one channel in English...CNN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC
Oct 6, 2010

Expensive! but great location

We booked the night before Oktoberfest, so i expected to pay out the wazzoo, but i do feel robbed. Fantastic location, excellent and friendly staff, breakfast was delicious! Rooms were clean, but our's was TERRIBLY cramped!! We booked for 3 people, and ended up with a room with 2 twin beds and barely enough room to turn around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hofbrauhaus! Fantastic food, magical beer, lively atmosphere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Good hotel bad guests
Business
Cleveland, OH
Aug 8, 2009

Good hotel but out of control guests

The location of the hotel was good but you couldn't use any of the amenities because of unruly guests. Check- in and check- out took around 1 hour and we did not get adjoining rooms or even rooms on the same floor for this stay. The parking situation was not good and was overpriced. I go to Munich once a year and will not be back to stay here inspite of its convenience and cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top